Lord of War

Lord of War Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The film, based on fact, follows the globetrotting exploits of arms dealer Yuri Orlov (Cage). Through some of the deadliest war zones, Yuri struggles to stay one step ahead of a relentless Interpol agent (Hawke), his business rivals, even some of his customers who include many of the world’sThe film, based on fact, follows the globetrotting exploits of arms dealer Yuri Orlov (Cage). Through some of the deadliest war zones, Yuri struggles to stay one step ahead of a relentless Interpol agent (Hawke), his business rivals, even some of his customers who include many of the world’s most notorious dictators. Finally, Yuri must also face his own conscience. (Lions Gate) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 88
    A bleak comedy, funny in a "Catch-22" sort of way, and at the same time an angry outcry against the gun traffic.
  2. 80
    An arresting and disturbing piece of work that gets its message across without coming off as overly preachy.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    80
    Brimming with cinematic confidence, cynicism, chutzpah plus dramatic bungles, Andrew Niccol's ambitious Lord of War views today's international arms trade through its anti-hero.
  4. Taken as a whole -- and it kills me to write this -- it just doesn't add up to much.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    Intelligent but not particularly involving.
  6. 60
    Niccol's fatal error is in making the protagonist at once amoral and insipid, an admixture thickened by Cage's loquacious yet stoned voice-over and Moynahan's moist-eyed tremblings as the trophy wife.
  7. The result is a dead pile of information in search of a movie.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 59
  2. Negative: 14 out of 59
  1. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Lord of War is a strong, potent film that (besides adding accurate commentary on gun trading), has many alternative themes about life. ItLord of War is a strong, potent film that (besides adding accurate commentary on gun trading), has many alternative themes about life. It reminds us that sometimes, having everything you want is a bad thing, and that being at war with yourself is far worse than any global conflict. It is well-acted, well-scripted, and never boring. It is a rare 21st century Nick Cage movie that is actually good. Expand
  2. BobQ.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    This a film very well written, the dialogues are very smart.It's a clever action film.Cage is wonderfull.
  3. Chrystal
    Feb 12, 2006
    9
    I though this movie was great. Where everyone is getting boring from, I don't know. This movie is intriguing and interesting. Nicholas I though this movie was great. Where everyone is getting boring from, I don't know. This movie is intriguing and interesting. Nicholas Cage does a great acting job in this film. This movie goes to show that there will never be peace in this world we live in. I'd recommend this movie to everyone. Expand
  4. D.B.
    Feb 5, 2006
    8
    Absolutely terrific. For light entertainment, this one is actually incredibly powerful. It gets under your skin and makes you think. All the Absolutely terrific. For light entertainment, this one is actually incredibly powerful. It gets under your skin and makes you think. All the acting is really impressive, and the whole thing is just so bloody entertaining that it's impossible to dislike, unless you're looking for a bad movie. Expand
  5. JohnM.
    Jan 27, 2006
    7
    i was expecting a movie that wasnt gonna be very good based on the boxoffice, but actually it was alright, Cage pulled off his role great and i was expecting a movie that wasnt gonna be very good based on the boxoffice, but actually it was alright, Cage pulled off his role great and it had some good one liners, ill probably see it again. Expand
  6. JohnP.
    Sep 1, 2006
    4
    Like 'Blow' with guns instead of drugs, and less interesting content. I think Nicolas Cage is a great actor, but I don't think Like 'Blow' with guns instead of drugs, and less interesting content. I think Nicolas Cage is a great actor, but I don't think he quite fit this character. Ethan Hawke was wasted in his role. Expand
  7. SusanM.
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    This is the #1 worst movie I have ever seen. Pathetic waste of time. Terrible story from beginning to end. This movie should never have been This is the #1 worst movie I have ever seen. Pathetic waste of time. Terrible story from beginning to end. This movie should never have been made. It doesn't have a single redeeming quality. Collapse

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.