Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: June 3, 2005
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
9
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JulesM.Jul 6, 2005
Agreed, it's not as good as the documentary...but any film that can first appall you with the characters' amorality and recklessness and then make you understand and empathize with those very qualities surely deserves far better Agreed, it's not as good as the documentary...but any film that can first appall you with the characters' amorality and recklessness and then make you understand and empathize with those very qualities surely deserves far better than a 56. And these are the same critics who so overpraised "Howl's Moving Castle" that every viewer I've talked to couldn't help but be bored and disappointed by its real, tho overexaggerated virtues. BAH HUMBUG! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshJun 25, 2005
This was an amazing movie and it captured the Z-Boys perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jun 8, 2005
As Skip Engblom, Heath Ledger is quite remarkable as a functional drug-addled entrepreneur, but his career-changing performance has the unintended, yet uncanny appearance of a screenwriter getting revenge against his mentor for not being As Skip Engblom, Heath Ledger is quite remarkable as a functional drug-addled entrepreneur, but his career-changing performance has the unintended, yet uncanny appearance of a screenwriter getting revenge against his mentor for not being picked to be on the original Zephyr team. When Ledger is perched on his surf shop roof, that other film which sanitizes another singular seventies' pop culture experience with subjective doses of nostalgia, "Almost Famous", is made explicit by echoing Billy Crudup's adventure in acid from a similarly high position. Ledger's freakout at a Zephyr team celebration plays like a coded message from Stacey Peralta to Engblom, "No, you're not the golden god. I'm the golden god, or we're the golden gods." "Lords of Dogtown" makes Engblom look pathetic and that's not the cerebral and thoughtful man we saw in "Dogtown & Z-Boys". But this is still a pretty good film. Catherine Hardwicke nails the time and place. Seeing Jay Adams pioneer the aerial manuever at a tournament, Hardwicke shows us the possible implications of his missed landing that we might've overlooked in the Peralta documentary. If Adams stayed on his board when he made contact with the ground, would he be a star, on par with Peralta and Alva, and not just the "seed"? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaN.Apr 30, 2006
This movie is great one of the best movies i have ever seen it is one of my favs. i'm sure going to own it soon, If u haven't seen it, Its a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
parisd.May 30, 2005
Love the way Hartwicke tells the story of the z boys. She is the only commercial director out there who has a hand on the pulse of modern kids. She uses a cinematic language that is modern and accessible with all the energy this material Love the way Hartwicke tells the story of the z boys. She is the only commercial director out there who has a hand on the pulse of modern kids. She uses a cinematic language that is modern and accessible with all the energy this material deserves. I hope she can keep evolving on her current trajectory and not be put off by mainstream critics who have been left behind in the old cinema. She deserves alot of credit for her boldness and artfulness almost totally missing from mainstream movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhilT.Jun 2, 2005
I'm not into skateboard but I found this film pretty good. But the soundtrack is the real star here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
vicd.Jun 3, 2005
Stacy Peralta was always the brains of the z-boy bunch. I was happy when his documentary came out a couple of years ago, and am even more stoked about this one. The direction is great and the handling of these characters is nearly perfect Stacy Peralta was always the brains of the z-boy bunch. I was happy when his documentary came out a couple of years ago, and am even more stoked about this one. The direction is great and the handling of these characters is nearly perfect from what I remember about these guys when I was a turning a teenager in 1977. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NoahSJun 4, 2005
All things considered, this film could have been alot worse. After seeing the truly first rate documentary, I initially wondered just what the hell a hollywood dramatization could add. Hardwicke and Peralta have certainly succeeded in All things considered, this film could have been alot worse. After seeing the truly first rate documentary, I initially wondered just what the hell a hollywood dramatization could add. Hardwicke and Peralta have certainly succeeded in bringing a bit more drama to the story without commercializing it. What I found interesting is how the lead characters are portrayed here. Its pretty fair to say, that Peralta is the only one of the bunch who isnt portrayed as either a moron, complete stoner, narcissist, or emotional basket case. Could the fact that he wrotte the screenplay have something to do with that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanD.Jun 5, 2005
Enjoyed this movie. I had seen the documentary and the fictionalized version far exceeded my expectations. I thought the casting was excellent. The actors played the drama, comedy and action well. I never felt the presence of stunt doubles Enjoyed this movie. I had seen the documentary and the fictionalized version far exceeded my expectations. I thought the casting was excellent. The actors played the drama, comedy and action well. I never felt the presence of stunt doubles and the actors did a great job learning to skate. Solid summer flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VickiWJun 7, 2005
It made me think. But jay never should have shaved his head.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shanea.Jun 17, 2005
This movie is amazing! Forget the nonesense some over paid fools write in their reviews, they never skated anyway!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Jun 7, 2005
Great movie. This captured the mid seventies perfectly and brought back many memories for me. The characters were fully presented and the acting was strong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorJul 6, 2005
I thought it was the bbest movie I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahP.Jul 29, 2006
it was amazing! i totally loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiJun 11, 2005
GREAT MOVIE!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GarrettH.Jun 15, 2005
This movie is amazing! It perfectly recreates the time and the rebelious attitude of the z-boys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelS.Jul 25, 2005
I absolutly loved it. The documentary was awesome too. And Victor Rasuck, Emile Hrisch and John Robbinson all did a great job and cant help but sya they are very attractive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Lords of Dogtown is a film about the legendary Z-Boys, who are credited with the creation of modern day skateboarding. The film chronicles the height of their success in the late 70's and their struggles in creating and rising to the top of aLords of Dogtown is a film about the legendary Z-Boys, who are credited with the creation of modern day skateboarding. The film chronicles the height of their success in the late 70's and their struggles in creating and rising to the top of a whole new industry. The story is terrific, written by one of the actual Z-Boys, but the way it was filmed was problematic. The beginning of the film is very choppy and confusing, honestly it's difficult to know who is who and what's going on until about the half way point of the film. The Z-Boys are the basis and stars of the film, but it's Heath Ledger who steals the show. He really had a gift for picking up on every mannerism and movement a person makes. People who know his character, Skip, say it's scary how much like him Ledger was. He was a truly gifted actor who would have been a legend. As for the film, it was interesting and a lot of information about a sport I always liked but never really thought much about. It's a bit confusing and shot in a weird style, but overall it really was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avamiller21May 8, 2016
This movie will definitely make you laugh and even make you cry. All wrap in emotions of high and lows excellent acting and great screenplay.

Watch it online for free:
This movie will definitely make you laugh and even make you cry. All wrap in emotions of high and lows excellent acting and great screenplay.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-6c7-Lords-of-Dogtown-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews