User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    If "Titanic" was the iconic bloated romance novel of movies, then "Lost in Translation" is the quiet, poignant poem that is all the more affecting because of that.
  2. JasonK.
    Feb 6, 2004
    9
    to say this movie is unworthy of recognition because it's "degrading japanese culture" is kind of ridiculous. thats like saying "chicago" shouldnt have won an oscar because it, in fact, needled american culture. this movie was excellent. the characters acted how real people would probably act if dropped in the middle of a strange environment.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Frail, dreamy, beautiful, with the most gorgeous Scarlett yet to be displayed on screen. Leaves you shaking with hyped sensitivity. Too bad so many people associate Bill Murray with goofyness; this was a piece of humanity, shy with desire to experience closure. Unfortunately, beauty, like many other things these days, needs to be exagerated for people to get it.
  4. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    There is something to be said about the kind of quiet elegance that Lost In Translation slowly sweats out over the course of 102 minutes. Most art films claim to be visual poetry. If that is true, the films of Sofia Coppola are visual songs, with quiet, melancholy guitar strings, and fuzzy, indistinct feedback.
  5. SteveB.
    Oct 1, 2003
    9
    Great! Beautifully filmed and acted. Funny, poignant and thought-provoking. Go see it.
  6. ChadK.
    Oct 13, 2003
    9
    Coppolas' writing and direction is solid. I loved the juxtapostion of a growing, simple friendship with the fast paced, busyness of life in Tokyo. Murray and Johansson are fantastic! Other than freeing two Junior Mints stuck in the bottom of the box, my eyes never left the screen. This is a great movie!
  7. JoshH.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    I feel that this would qualify as both one of the bests movies I have seen in a long time, and a movie worthy of several oscars. I would like to respond to some of the criticisms of it first. Some argue that it is unrelated to "real life," and that an "ordinary" person could never enjoy it, only an "artsy" critic. Frankly, that statement is flat out bogus. Look at the reviews posted here. I feel that this would qualify as both one of the bests movies I have seen in a long time, and a movie worthy of several oscars. I would like to respond to some of the criticisms of it first. Some argue that it is unrelated to "real life," and that an "ordinary" person could never enjoy it, only an "artsy" critic. Frankly, that statement is flat out bogus. Look at the reviews posted here. None of them are professional critics, and at least 70% of them have awarded this movie a 9-10 rating. Second, it has been said that the movie has no plot, or is exceptionally boring. In case you didn't notice, life doesn't have a plot. This isn't a typical movie; you should have realized that before you got to the theater. This movie is about the characters, their lives and emotions and pain. Certain posters have stated that the movie is racist and that it portrays Japanese in a stereotypical manner. I've never been to Tokyo, or Japan for that matter, so I cannot in good conscience respond to that allegation. There is an obvious disparity in the reviews here. Some have found it excellent and beyond compare (such as myself), and others have found it just so much garbage. One of those who felt the movie was not all it was cracked up to be commented that people who liked this movie (and I am paraphrasing) "are those who spend more time whining than actually doing things." In a sense, this is true. People who enjoy this movie probably are more contemplative than not. They can look back on their lives, and forwards as well, and feel regret and the sense of roads not taken, or raods that could not be taken. Look at the ending - they part and go their seperate ways, leaving this strange and isoltaed incident in their lives behind. And yet they had a powerful connection; they had each found someone they could relate to on a very deep level. Can you imagine forming a relationship like that, knowing that it's only for a few days? Could you leave it? And that bried incident will stay with them throughout their lives. Yes, people who enjoy this movie are those who can look beyond this moment and reflect on their lives, times both happy and sorrowful, and feel a sense of melancholy. Perhaps those who have a personal experience that they can somehow relate to this movie found it enjoyable. In case you couldn't guess, I feel some melancholy at times. However, this does not mean that I sit around all day whining about my life and how much it sucks. That's the part of that comment I find offensive. Though I may feel regret, I still live my life, and am not a whiner. Before I sign off, one last comment - I'm sixteen. Just thought it should be known that people from the younger demographic do not universally find this movie worthless. Even people my age can find something to relate to in Lost in Translation. Expand
  8. JohnP.
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    The majority of the negative reviews seem to emphasize the current of (non-existent) racism in the film. Does everyone work for the ACLU now? Have any of these naysayers been to the 24-hour Tim Burton nightmare that is Tokyo? When a film is set in New York and some of its inhabitants are portrayed as rude or careerist or trendy, no one complains because they know it's pretty The majority of the negative reviews seem to emphasize the current of (non-existent) racism in the film. Does everyone work for the ACLU now? Have any of these naysayers been to the 24-hour Tim Burton nightmare that is Tokyo? When a film is set in New York and some of its inhabitants are portrayed as rude or careerist or trendy, no one complains because they know it's pretty accurate. Anyway: brilliant music, muted and poignant cinematography, human performances. Great movie. Expand
  9. Ryan
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    So good.
  10. ScottE.
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    This film is actually a fascinating study of human nature. While Sofia Coppola has given us two completely characters to study, she pushes them toward each other in a steady "Matchmaker" type of way. This movie definitely marchs to a different drummer, as we're allowed to voyeuristically become the observer as these two personalities intermingle and react to each other. This film is actually a fascinating study of human nature. While Sofia Coppola has given us two completely characters to study, she pushes them toward each other in a steady "Matchmaker" type of way. This movie definitely marchs to a different drummer, as we're allowed to voyeuristically become the observer as these two personalities intermingle and react to each other. Coppola's deliberate pace will not please everyone, as she deftly manages to inch forward in character development by small steps instead of leaps and bounds. And while this May-December romance seems doomed to failure from the start, we are allowed the privilege of watching these great actors work their magic as they try to connect with each other on a more personal level. For example, while Murray labors at his obligation to shoot a whiskey commercial ("More like Roger Moore, please"), Johannsen tries to cope with the solitude of being stranded in a foreign city. And yet, this strange concept ends up working in the end. It's not that Murray's performance is such a departure from his typical physical slapstick, but because we begin to accept these characters as human beings with real needs and emotions. Is this what we were expecting from a regular night out at the movies? Probably not, but it's almost certainly one of the most pleasant surprises of this moviegoing season. Expand
  11. Meat
    Oct 27, 2003
    8
    Don't know why, but the shot of her ass at the beginning set the tone... Very entertaining throught-out and Murray was really engaging to watch (good witty humor). Also, you have to love any movie with Peaches and My Bloody Valentine in the music score. Too cool!
  12. JZslawosky
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    Not for the Adam Sandler crowd. Subtle and full of charm and at times outrageous. It was worth the price of admission to hear a karaoke version of Sex Pistols " God save the Queen."
  13. ChadD.
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    It took me a 2-3 views to really appreciate all this movie has to offer. There is so much that is unspoken and even unseen. If quiet, visceral films are not your thing; if you prefer stories that are more linear and "eventful," you should probably skip this one. It requires a little patience and for you to allow some personal investment, but will reward you for allowing it to seep in.
  14. MikeH
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Not to sound pretentious, but the people who don't understand the film are the ones to give it low scores. The only thing that the movie has going against it may be it's inaccessibility. It's funny, artistic, sensitive, endearing, subtle, and powerful. It's film at it's best, and if you like pop-garbage movies than I'm sorry, you won't like this. Not to sound pretentious, but the people who don't understand the film are the ones to give it low scores. The only thing that the movie has going against it may be it's inaccessibility. It's funny, artistic, sensitive, endearing, subtle, and powerful. It's film at it's best, and if you like pop-garbage movies than I'm sorry, you won't like this. It's not "action-packed!" or "sexy, kinky, shit" it's genuine and calm. Expand
  15. JohnB.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Actually, Brandon, you missed a lot. This is a wonderful movie. It's a simple, slow-moving character study of two people in a foreign land who have little more waiting for them at their homes. They are lost and find one another. It's not plot-oriented in the cliched sense (hence, the numerous low scores, many, though not all, from people like Ed F. who need plots or action Actually, Brandon, you missed a lot. This is a wonderful movie. It's a simple, slow-moving character study of two people in a foreign land who have little more waiting for them at their homes. They are lost and find one another. It's not plot-oriented in the cliched sense (hence, the numerous low scores, many, though not all, from people like Ed F. who need plots or action spoonfed to them). I agree with Alex, it's not mindless entertainment, but a soulful, beautiful film that touches on much deeper feelings than most films. Believe me, as someone who loves all movies, from silly comedies and action thrillers, to the most obscure highbrow art flicks, this is a fantastic movie. Expand
  16. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Lost In Translation is a great romantic beautiful that I ever seen recently. The storyline is great and Bill and Scarlett are great actors. It doesn't matter how old they are, the chemistry just works and they do belong together in the end.
  17. KenG.
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece; a stunning film of 2 lost souls finding some salvation with each other, in a super neon-lit Tokyo crammed with colorful characters and a wondrous cacophony of arcades, parties, strip joints and hotel bars. Bill and Scarlett are perfect, as is everything else about this movie.
  18. BarryR.
    Oct 1, 2003
    9
    "Lost In Translation" is an interesting and satisfying film. It is a second film made by Sofia Coppola who both wrote and directed it. There is tenderness, sensitivity and pathos throughout this extraordinary film with kudos to Bill Murray and a very charming and talented Scarlett Johannson who literally own this picture. It is hard to imagine anyone else playing Murray's character. "Lost In Translation" is an interesting and satisfying film. It is a second film made by Sofia Coppola who both wrote and directed it. There is tenderness, sensitivity and pathos throughout this extraordinary film with kudos to Bill Murray and a very charming and talented Scarlett Johannson who literally own this picture. It is hard to imagine anyone else playing Murray's character. His timing, his subtleties and his genuine film presence alone make this a movie worth seeing. Nothing is overdone in this picture and each movement and iota of dialogue is used sparingly and with precision. It is filmed beautifully and written and edited with a maturity and seasoning far beyond Ms. Coppola's years. There is always a burden on the offspring of a celebrity to try to approach the talent and creativity of the parent who in this case is daddy Francis Ford. Ms. Coppola need not worry. She has done a really fine job which proves that the apple, especially the "delicious" kind, does not fall far from or off the family tree. Although the film moves slowly throughout, it is paced like thehe lives it is describing and always keeps your interest. This is not a comedy but it has comedic moments just as does life itself. I recommend this film and give it 9.0 Expand
  19. RichardE.
    Jan 30, 2004
    9
    Great movie for people who don't want to see cars blow up. It is a mood based film, and most of us Americans are too lazy and impatient to understand it.
  20. PatC.
    Jan 5, 2004
    9
    A gem of a movie that limits itself to telling a small touching story very well. Most world travelers should recognize the phenomenon where, after returning from a foreign land, one suddenly realizes he/she has no idea what was said to them or how they came across. And yes, sometimes mature guys don't pursue sex with very sexy women in sexually tense situations and risk breaking the A gem of a movie that limits itself to telling a small touching story very well. Most world travelers should recognize the phenomenon where, after returning from a foreign land, one suddenly realizes he/she has no idea what was said to them or how they came across. And yes, sometimes mature guys don't pursue sex with very sexy women in sexually tense situations and risk breaking the spell of the moment, a spell that can exist guiltless in spite of domestic commitments at home. This movie is about such a spell, which seems quite plausible on Planet Jet-Lag populated by quirky aliens. As for stereotypical racism, one with a limited worldview might dwell on this non-issue. It is not prejudice to not pretend one simply does not connect with a different people or their culture. Murray is tolerating the Japanese, not judging them. Overall, this is a movie without a single pretense, and its main characters are just people as they cope in the real world (including the mundane non-entertaining moments). Expand
  21. DavidG.
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    Another excellent example of the lofty, artistic opinions of most critics differing greatly from those of the average viewer - but they are right. Beautifully directed, amazingly acted, and incredibly moving, this is the type of movie that deserves the word "cinema".
  22. DakotaP.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Most of the kiddies are NOT going to get this one, due to the fact that it's an honest to goodness MATURE film! ::GASP:: Not in the sense that it's filled with senseless gore and #!#@$ profanity, but in the sense that it takes an older mind, filled with doubts and grown up fears, to appreciate some of the issues dealt with and reflected upon. One person offers another some of Most of the kiddies are NOT going to get this one, due to the fact that it's an honest to goodness MATURE film! ::GASP:: Not in the sense that it's filled with senseless gore and #!#@$ profanity, but in the sense that it takes an older mind, filled with doubts and grown up fears, to appreciate some of the issues dealt with and reflected upon. One person offers another some of those fears, in the form of the aging actor played by Bill Murray, reinforcing the hopeless cliches of lost happiness upon one's mid-life -- but also some hope and encouragement. All the while, we're thrown through a topsy-turvy culture not our own, feeling lonely, out of place, and confused. These aren't themes that make up a Bill Murray comedy... but that's probably because this isn't a comedy. But it IS a fantastic film. Expand
  23. TaraB
    May 3, 2009
    10
    Just a simple film told in the most graceful, lyrical way, with subtle, perfectly cast performances but Murray and Johanson.
  24. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    There are many things "lost in translation" during the film ranging from language to hand gestures in this sleek, moody yet humorous modern classic. With fantastic performances from Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, Lost in Translation is a melancholic piece of cinema from Sofia Coppola, who in the end reminds us bound-to-be lone-wanders that that the only thing universally understood isThere are many things "lost in translation" during the film ranging from language to hand gestures in this sleek, moody yet humorous modern classic. With fantastic performances from Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, Lost in Translation is a melancholic piece of cinema from Sofia Coppola, who in the end reminds us bound-to-be lone-wanders that that the only thing universally understood is true love. Translations may vary, but the message is always understood. Expand
  25. RonW.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    A film that can only be described as a histrionic bout of lesbionic despair. I LOVE YOU SCARLETT. lovey-dovey smoochey-smooch.
  26. JoeT.
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Most people like "action movies" or "answer movies". This movie is more of a poem, and a lovely one. You don't get car chases, and you aren't left with answers - just an excellent metaphor for the modern human dilemma, in which we are born in one culture but inevitably grow up to find ourselves in a very different and ultimately impenetrable one in which all the young people Most people like "action movies" or "answer movies". This movie is more of a poem, and a lovely one. You don't get car chases, and you aren't left with answers - just an excellent metaphor for the modern human dilemma, in which we are born in one culture but inevitably grow up to find ourselves in a very different and ultimately impenetrable one in which all the young people talk funny and say "word" at odd times, etc. etc.. Lost in Translation asks us to be nice, anyway, and give a damn anyway, even if the world has changed; but for those extremely attached to the culture of their youth - say because they're still hanging young enough to want to hang on to it desperately, I'm guessing that's a threatening message. So many movies exist to confirm the laughable but comforting prejudices of the audience. Be glad there's at least one that doesn't - this one. Expand
  27. LostinTranslation
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Best music by Peaches, fun Bill Murray's acting and lovely hips by Scarlett mmmm.
  28. DestanyL.
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    One of my favorite movies. Bill Murray is incredibly, one of his best performances yet.
  29. J
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, funny, touching, great acting, great direction, great cinematography, really great soundtrack. One of the best mood pieces ever. The thing people don't understand about this movie is that you don't WATCH it, you FEEL. it. Most movies are like classical music. LiT is like jazz. Most movies must follow rules, LiT doesn't follow any rule. There's no structure Beautiful, funny, touching, great acting, great direction, great cinematography, really great soundtrack. One of the best mood pieces ever. The thing people don't understand about this movie is that you don't WATCH it, you FEEL. it. Most movies are like classical music. LiT is like jazz. Most movies must follow rules, LiT doesn't follow any rule. There's no structure and that's a compliment. Like jazz, it's free flowing and to enjoy it you must let yourself go and just enjoy the ride. If you can't do that then you're going to be disappointed. Watch it alone late at nightand it just might change your life, but only if you let it. Expand
  30. SuzannH.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    For those who have an inner life, this is a great movie.
  31. Alex
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    A thinking person's movie, with powerful performances by the lead actors....clearly not everyone's cup of tea but the movie is actually a mirror of real life with all of its sadness and poignancy.
  32. MarcB
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Along with Sideways and No Country For Old Men this is one of the three best films of the decade. I love how these two characters connect for a brief moment in time when they are at very different places in their lives. It becomes a bond so intimate, that by the end, even we arent allowed into the privacy of their love(Im thinking of their last scene together). Great film. This film Along with Sideways and No Country For Old Men this is one of the three best films of the decade. I love how these two characters connect for a brief moment in time when they are at very different places in their lives. It becomes a bond so intimate, that by the end, even we arent allowed into the privacy of their love(Im thinking of their last scene together). Great film. This film creeps up on you and lingers. All of a sudden this simple story about strangers in Tokyo becomes something more, about the fleeting bonds of unexpected friendship, love and time and chance, and how it can change your life even though it goes so quickly. I love how there is no real time limit on the space they inhabit together. Like, it doesnt go from point a to point b and then end at point c. One minute they are there, amidst the swirling lights of Tokyo, the next moment they are gone. Back to whatever reality is for both of them. Its almost like a dream. All you know is, they connected. If only briefly, they got lost together. Expand
  33. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    The best movie ever made. Period. Sublime in every delicious aspect.

    If you don't 'get it', don't worry, its the same reason that you 'don't get' abstract algebra or number theory. Its complex and you're not.
  34. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    Another great movie with Bill Murray in it. I've always loved Japan and many things that come out of that country so the setting of this movie was a real treat for me, with a beautiful plot and a great cast. All of these things make this movie one of my favorites.
  35. Dexxa
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    This film was great. Great actors. I realy enjoyed this movie because it was based in the best countrie ever tokyo. For the people that did bad reviews. Fine you have your own say but the film is a good one. Because it doesnt contain sex. fights etc. They dont make a film good. Its the acting. And if you think that then you should go back to watching thomas the tank engine and the This film was great. Great actors. I realy enjoyed this movie because it was based in the best countrie ever tokyo. For the people that did bad reviews. Fine you have your own say but the film is a good one. Because it doesnt contain sex. fights etc. They dont make a film good. Its the acting. And if you think that then you should go back to watching thomas the tank engine and the tweenies. They will be more up your street. The film was good and imma gonna see it again. Expand
  36. DavidS.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    If you have ever spent any time in Japan you will love this movie!! The filming is great and I think the story has more to offer than most are saying. Go see this movie!!
  37. BradG.
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    Excellent movie. It was not racist! At points did not bob embrace japenese culture?(the music?) The chemistry between them was great! It truly captured human emotion and internal struggle and does it with some comedy. For everyone that raves racism: learn to relax and laugh. I can laugh at myself.
  38. DaryaP.
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    Sublime, Bill's performance is totally worth this year's Academy Award.
  39. AndrewL.
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    Just after finishing the film I felt that it was less than fantastic. It seemed to me as though the tourist-cam bits were a cheap way to keep the viewer intrigued but that they failed to engage. Less than 24 hours later, the damn film won't get out of my head. I lived in Asia for two years and I am reminded, poignantly, of some of the darker moments of that experience. Tears well Just after finishing the film I felt that it was less than fantastic. It seemed to me as though the tourist-cam bits were a cheap way to keep the viewer intrigued but that they failed to engage. Less than 24 hours later, the damn film won't get out of my head. I lived in Asia for two years and I am reminded, poignantly, of some of the darker moments of that experience. Tears well into my eyes as I reflect upon the cold emptiness of being in a foreign place, of having had to face all that I am and am not. Within our own cultures and in our day to day interactions, we wear a frail veneer of confidence and control. This falls away too easily when we find ourselves Lost. And, so, what is left? Often, it is the realisation that we do not live up to our own expectations; that the veneer only covers our disappointment and our sadness. It is this emotional state that Coppola so carefully and exquisitely constructs within this film. Of course, Coppola has created this film with more in mind than just human isolation and its companion despair. Coppola has given us a love story, a tale of friendship, a taste of rudderless youth and of the quagmire that is middle-age. With each of these gifts she fills out the human experience in this film and thus allows us to enter into a small, simple story and yet we leave with a feeling that we?ve passed through something greater than the sum of its parts. Expand
  40. MitchG
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    Most movies that tried to establish a relationship between two such diverse people would have been unbelievable and trite. Sofia Coppola has struck the perfect notes with these characters and shows a very poignant and completely believable relationship. It's also amazing the way Tokyo is shot - it makes you feel like you are experiencing the city rather than it just being a backdrop Most movies that tried to establish a relationship between two such diverse people would have been unbelievable and trite. Sofia Coppola has struck the perfect notes with these characters and shows a very poignant and completely believable relationship. It's also amazing the way Tokyo is shot - it makes you feel like you are experiencing the city rather than it just being a backdrop for the movie. Murray and Johansson both put in Oscar-worthy performances. This is a slow-paced character study about two people feeling disconnected in a foreign city - anybody expecting uproarious comedy obviously didn't do their homework before seeing this movie. Definitely one of the best of the year. Expand
  41. Whitney
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    This is a spectacular movie, and is a huge step foreward for Sofia.
  42. StevenK.
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    I went to see this movie with nothing more than a simple interest, mixed expectations I suppose. Surprising to me, when I left the theater, that simple interest had been manifested into a pure love for this film. There was not a single moment of this movie that I did not enjoy...whether you marvel at the neon lights of Tokyo, the intricasies of the story, the brilliant acting by both Bill I went to see this movie with nothing more than a simple interest, mixed expectations I suppose. Surprising to me, when I left the theater, that simple interest had been manifested into a pure love for this film. There was not a single moment of this movie that I did not enjoy...whether you marvel at the neon lights of Tokyo, the intricasies of the story, the brilliant acting by both Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, the cinematography, or the superb direction by Sophia Coppola, this film offers nothing short of a masterpiece in every meaning of the word. I always use emotional involvement/intensity as one of my criteria when reviewing a movie - not only was I emotionally invested in each of the two main character's, I very nearly felt intimately involved in the relationship that developed on the screen in front of me. This movie draws you in in ways I've never been before. One of the best developments in this film is how the two characters fall in love and share an intimate relationship without ever compromising their marriages by involving any physical lust. They bond in a truly pure and genuine manner, which I think is what allows the viewer to become so involved as well. Anyone who overlooks this film as one of the best obviously doesn't appreciate the process of adapting and perfecting a story into a film that can be appreciated by many for years to come. If you are the type of person that looks at a movie on the surface and doesn't delve into the intracisies beyond the surface, then don't go see this movie. And for those who think it is in some way racist or demeaning to the Japanese, c'mon...you're really reaching. This film is definitely one of the best I have ever seen and is without a doubt a must-see for any avid movie-goer. It's a shame that it has to share it's bid for picture of the year with Lord of the Rings III because each film deserves the award and is a masterpiece in it's own. Expand
  43. MelissaH.
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    Best Movie of 2003. Listen to the real film critics who rate this movie highly and not the Philistines who post low scores here.
  44. MikeM.
    Mar 10, 2004
    9
    The essence of this movie is sexual tension. This tension fills all of the long moments of silence, avoided eye-contact, and action frozen by uncertainty. What is lost in translation is not an understanding of Japanese, but the cultural wall that divides the generations of Americans. Bill Murray's character and that of Scarlett Johannson cannot fully connect with each other because The essence of this movie is sexual tension. This tension fills all of the long moments of silence, avoided eye-contact, and action frozen by uncertainty. What is lost in translation is not an understanding of Japanese, but the cultural wall that divides the generations of Americans. Bill Murray's character and that of Scarlett Johannson cannot fully connect with each other because they know that wall between generations will go up again when they return home. They connect emotionally, but they live in two different worlds back in the States. Watching them struggle to break this cultural divide by jumping into teen Japanese culture is half the fun of the movie. A sidelight in this film is the great cinematography around Tokyo. Expand
  45. LucaV.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Beautiful, delicate film!
  46. Matoyla
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    For anyone that has ever travelled alone. For anyone that has ever stood on that precipe and wondered "what would have happened...?" And could Bill Murray singing karaoke to Scarlett be one of the most sad and profound romantic scenes ever shown.One of my top 10 films.
  47. MarcJ.
    Mar 9, 2009
    9
    This is a great movie. It moved into my top 20 list a long time ago. Many films follow a very traditional structure. You know- a fully structured plot, a clear climax, and a "feel good" resolution at the end. These films generally treat you as a passenger, explicitly making it clear when these points in the story are happening (perhaps by showing a big explosion or a car chase). It's This is a great movie. It moved into my top 20 list a long time ago. Many films follow a very traditional structure. You know- a fully structured plot, a clear climax, and a "feel good" resolution at the end. These films generally treat you as a passenger, explicitly making it clear when these points in the story are happening (perhaps by showing a big explosion or a car chase). It's a great formula for entertainment, and there is a place for these movies. But Lost in Translation is not one of these movies. It leaves some room for the viewer to interpret events, the nature of relationships, and so on. It's not that people that don't like it aren't smart enough to understand it- it's just that they're likely approaching the movie the wrong way. Expand
  48. KieranJ
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    A lot of these reviews give this movie a 1 or a zero, usually citing reasons such as ' it was actionless' ' boring' ' where was the plot? i didn't get a climax, something which I've been socially conditioned to look forward to!' This movie is subtle, maybe it lacks action, but not everything's about action. The exploration into ideas about A lot of these reviews give this movie a 1 or a zero, usually citing reasons such as ' it was actionless' ' boring' ' where was the plot? i didn't get a climax, something which I've been socially conditioned to look forward to!' This movie is subtle, maybe it lacks action, but not everything's about action. The exploration into ideas about isolation and loneliness and poignant romance shared between the two characters is something special. Expand
  49. GW
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    No wonder the (intelligent) critics all love it. Lost is an amazing movie, and the acting is unforgetable. I've watched it a dozen times, and will enjoy it again and again.
  50. SamR.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    If you hate this movie ... you have no heart. Sophia, YOU are the stone fox x.
  51. D
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest films ever made and probably the greatest by an American director. If S. Coppola continues to make films anywhere close to the standard of this masterpiece she could be considered alongside the masters of modern cinema such as Rohmer and Antonioni.
  52. J.C.V
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    I think that the message this film give us is very important. There's some comments under mine that says this movie is boring, without climax, drama or something else, but that's the typical kind of comment that an average person would say. The movie is not so direct as "Requiem for a dream" (for example) is, may be kinda slow for some people but I think that the main topics are I think that the message this film give us is very important. There's some comments under mine that says this movie is boring, without climax, drama or something else, but that's the typical kind of comment that an average person would say. The movie is not so direct as "Requiem for a dream" (for example) is, may be kinda slow for some people but I think that the main topics are wonderfully expressed. [I'm sorry because my english is not so good but that's what I have to say. I loved that movie, and I think is one of the best I've ever seen...]. Expand
  53. elisabethh
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Lost in Translation is such a deeply memorable and idiosyncratic movie. I've watched it (and marveled at its amazing portrait of dislocation and connection) many times.
  54. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    The most subtle and emotional film I've seen, indeed the best there is. If you're looking for some true emotions and a true experience unlike anything else, you've come to the right spot. People who gave this bad reviews obviously require a revolution, death counts over 9000, and some stupid **** "earth is gonz dye nd ve ndd tu gu torwds marz!" to even notice a slight bit of emotion. ButThe most subtle and emotional film I've seen, indeed the best there is. If you're looking for some true emotions and a true experience unlike anything else, you've come to the right spot. People who gave this bad reviews obviously require a revolution, death counts over 9000, and some stupid **** "earth is gonz dye nd ve ndd tu gu torwds marz!" to even notice a slight bit of emotion. But if you're mature, and you can understand emotions and people in general, yes, you will love this. Expand
  55. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Honestly, if there was one movie that I could take to a desert island, I think this might be it (assuming Godfather counted as a trilogy). Thoughtful, real and splendidly written, directed and acted.
  56. ChristopherS.
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    This movie is such a breath of fresh air compared to the majority of crap that surfaces from present-day hollywood. The lack of sexual contact between the two characters made the movie and the fact that Harris (Murray) did not abandon his responsibilities was respectable. Those critics who did not like this masterpiece are too engulfed in the current trend of 'if the characters get This movie is such a breath of fresh air compared to the majority of crap that surfaces from present-day hollywood. The lack of sexual contact between the two characters made the movie and the fact that Harris (Murray) did not abandon his responsibilities was respectable. Those critics who did not like this masterpiece are too engulfed in the current trend of 'if the characters get intimate, they have to f.ck for it to be a good movie'. To step away from that current norm is such a delightful shock. Expand
  57. LindsayL.
    Oct 9, 2003
    10
    Best film I've seen in a long, long time.
  58. Radical
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    Incredible. Coppola's fantastic attention to detail and mood provides a delicate and heartfelt study of the characters. She continually surprises with gorgeous little moments allowing us to peer directly into her characters. Then, as we begin to predict and define, she deceives us and proves to us that humans are incredibly detailed and often unpredictable. A beautiful, emotionally Incredible. Coppola's fantastic attention to detail and mood provides a delicate and heartfelt study of the characters. She continually surprises with gorgeous little moments allowing us to peer directly into her characters. Then, as we begin to predict and define, she deceives us and proves to us that humans are incredibly detailed and often unpredictable. A beautiful, emotionally charged, understated vision. Expand
  59. StringerB.
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    Simply a beautiful film. In my theatre, when the credits started to roll, nobody moved. The emotion between Bob & Charlottte is palpable, and the relationship is explored in an entirely fresh, original, and honest way. I'm going to have to see this one at least a couple more times. I'll be shocked if it's not nominated.
  60. JonA.
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    This is the kind of film that you think about for days afterwards. Understated instead of the usual over-the-top, manipulative stuff produced today. Funny, sad and powerful. I loved it.
  61. OrlandoT.
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    Easily the most elegant film I've seen this year.
  62. AnwR.
    Sep 17, 2003
    9
    Simply one of the best movies to be released in a long time. Certainly the best movie I've seen all year. Sophia Coppola improves on her superb debut, creating a film that is equally part a mood piece and captivating entertainment. Multi-layered and more complex than the simply, beautiful imagery would lead you to believe, Lost in Translation is a treatise on change and transition. Simply one of the best movies to be released in a long time. Certainly the best movie I've seen all year. Sophia Coppola improves on her superb debut, creating a film that is equally part a mood piece and captivating entertainment. Multi-layered and more complex than the simply, beautiful imagery would lead you to believe, Lost in Translation is a treatise on change and transition. Perhaps the best recommendation I can give it is that it's incredibly honest, more so than perhaps any movie I've ever seen. Truly amazing moments and epiphanies are few and far between, the movie tells us, but those are what you have to live for. It's also remarkably honest in some less than flattering ways. Those that have bashed the movie for its supposed xenophobia or racism are missing the point. Bob and Charlotte are the archetypal Americans touring the world, something we're honestly not very good at. Though they try to appreciate the culture (and Charlotte definitely has multiple scenes in which she appears to have realizations about the culture, Bob to a lesser extent), they're feeling of superiority and disconnect as Americans ultimately leads to their isolation in Japan and their discomfort with local customs. Coppola doesn't condone Bob's and Charlotte's politically incorrect banter, but she does force the viewer to question its source and meaning. This is the story of two complicated, complex, but oddly endearing characters searching for meaning in a world that seems nonsensical to them. They are flawed, yes, but the movie isn't. Indeed, the careful writing and directing (both Coppola's work) as well as the glorious cinematography and music (Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine contributes some choice moments) work together to create a whole, nearly perfect work of art. Expand
  63. TomB.
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    Absolutely wonderful film! As far as any silly notions that there's anything insulting to Asians in this flick I can tell you after having spent time living and working in Japan that this film doesn't even come CLOSE to portraying all of the weirdness that a traveller will encounter over there.
  64. MatthewP.
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    Excellent work from Bill Murray, Sofia Coppola, Scarlett Johansson, and Lance Accord. This is easily one of the finest films of 2003, but is surely not for those who feel as though great films must be humorless and overly dramatic. This is a fine, down-to-earth film, and I only wish more people made films like this.
  65. JPCardoso
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    A very special film. Without ever once wandering into nostalgia or trivia, Coppolla defines yearning and melancholy in a way I've never, ever seen. To those sensitive to the nominally politically incorrect Asian jokes peppered throughout, I would argue that they only emphasize Bob and Charlotte's emotional and physical limbo, as well as their connection.
  66. Joe
    Sep 25, 2003
    8
    I empathized a lot with the characters and my take on the theme; that happiness and that moment when you click with someone is fleeting in a confusing world, so you better enjoy it while you can. It especially struck a nerve with me considering my current personal life. However, about the racist jokes. They are stingers, though not enough for me to be taken out of the movie. Yeah, the I empathized a lot with the characters and my take on the theme; that happiness and that moment when you click with someone is fleeting in a confusing world, so you better enjoy it while you can. It especially struck a nerve with me considering my current personal life. However, about the racist jokes. They are stingers, though not enough for me to be taken out of the movie. Yeah, the jokes are supposed to convey the insular views of Bob and Charlotte. But those characters are suppose to mirror Sofia too, so she comes off as a cad. An extremely hip and gifted filmmaker with a knack for visuals, but still a cad. Expand
  67. PhilJ.
    Sep 25, 2003
    9
    great performances by Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson. just a great movie.
  68. ChadS.
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    "The best rapper is white, and the best golfer is black," said Chris Rock, "and the best director is a woman," is my appendage to an astute observation, which sounds like hyperbole, but Sofia Coppola may live up to that billing someday. "Lost in Translation" feels like a working heart, and is a perfect antidote to reality TV, the Billboard Hot 100, and the other films playing at your "The best rapper is white, and the best golfer is black," said Chris Rock, "and the best director is a woman," is my appendage to an astute observation, which sounds like hyperbole, but Sofia Coppola may live up to that billing someday. "Lost in Translation" feels like a working heart, and is a perfect antidote to reality TV, the Billboard Hot 100, and the other films playing at your cineplex. You fall in love with the characters, the Japan exteriors, and even, the hotel. In a studio film, once the characters meet, you wouldn't have dialogue-less scenes of solo introspection. It's this sort of finesse which makes Coppola an artist, and "Lost in Translation", a work of art. More than this? No. This is, it. Expand
  69. AndyC.
    Jan 19, 2004
    8
    The beauty of Murray's acting lies in the fact that you can barely tell he is acting. I thought the film was a gem, more of a study on aspects of life than anything else. As for stereotyping the Japanese, I think most who would accuse Copolla of this are individuals who think the entire world shares the same culture and features as the USA. It was more about Murrays fealings of The beauty of Murray's acting lies in the fact that you can barely tell he is acting. I thought the film was a gem, more of a study on aspects of life than anything else. As for stereotyping the Japanese, I think most who would accuse Copolla of this are individuals who think the entire world shares the same culture and features as the USA. It was more about Murrays fealings of isolation in relation to this alien culture and its people. Expand
  70. DJBozo
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    CLASSIC!! The BEST film of 2003 hands down!!
  71. Ummm
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    This movie is based on real life more than hollywood. Sometimes things don't work. Not everything is in perfect harmony. Accepting the world we live in, and knowing what cannot be, but still dreaming of the possibilies of the impossible. As you can see by the scores, some people just won't get it, and yet others will love it. If you want strickly hollywood plots, please seek This movie is based on real life more than hollywood. Sometimes things don't work. Not everything is in perfect harmony. Accepting the world we live in, and knowing what cannot be, but still dreaming of the possibilies of the impossible. As you can see by the scores, some people just won't get it, and yet others will love it. If you want strickly hollywood plots, please seek another movie. Expand
  72. DaveF.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Don't listen to most of the people who have posted here, you're better off listening to the real critics. This movie is amazing, funny, intelligent and moving. It may be slow, but that isn't a bad thing in this film. 'Lost in Translation' restored my faith in movies.
  73. UnaccountedFor
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    The matter of taste which will divide all viewers over "Lost in Translation" is really one of maturity: of course I am speaking of many different aspects of this film. Modern day cinema has been reduced to seeing one absurd spectacle try to top the last(often in ludicrous sequels) such as the extreme cruelty and violence of "The Passion" and "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", the over the top The matter of taste which will divide all viewers over "Lost in Translation" is really one of maturity: of course I am speaking of many different aspects of this film. Modern day cinema has been reduced to seeing one absurd spectacle try to top the last(often in ludicrous sequels) such as the extreme cruelty and violence of "The Passion" and "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", the over the top special effects of "The Matrix" movies, and the juvenile humour of gross out films like "American Pie" and "Club Dread". Chances are if you really enjoyed these movies that you will probably not find "Lost in Translation" very appealing. It's a movie that's goals are not in fufilling the popcorn stuffed stocking of the average viewer. It is more documentary like in it's approach to both alienism and the passage into an affair. More for the History Channel viewer than the MTV, Lifetime, or Spike TV fan. There are no special effects. The acting is that of restraint in an attempt to appear real instead of attempting a charicture. There are NO special effects. And Sofia Coppola does not feel that it is neccessary to explain her actors actions or emotions by detailing them through dialogue. Instead the viewer is asked to analyze the expressions of the actors and their actions. There is no overdubbing of inner dialogue, instead a grimace and enviroment is supplied, as Sofia does not spoonfeed the obvious(sic. not condenscending toawards the audience). For example as Murray's character begins to toy with the idea of having an affair he begins to distance himself from his married life. However if one does not know or recognize the tell-tell signs such as dwindling care for the decoration of their house(as it is becoming less their house and more hers) one may become oblivious to the focal plot line. The failure to recognize these points is not due to Coppola or the actors failing to convey them but rather that one of two things has occured. Either the viewer does not have the life experience(hence maturity) needed to view this movie or much more likely their minds have been turned into tripe by the wasteland of trash that passes for a modern movie going experience (see vertical limit for a good example). If you are going to the theater or renting a copy from your local movie store I'd suggest not checking your brain in at the door. This post is not a critique of the movie but of those who go to see the movie.... The movie itself is as brilliant as it will be timeless. Superb acting, beautiful cinematography, a mature and intelligent plot, and perhaps the only movie I have ever seen that I could say was truely filled with joyful melancholy or melancholy joy(I forget which one). Expand
  74. ChesterG.
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    Bob Harris is an American movie star travelling abroad in Tokyo as he endorses a whisky. Charlotte is the young American girl staying in the same hotel as Mr. Harris, in whom he finds a kindred spirit. The two form a platonic relationship as they deal with the many barriers needed to be overcome while visiting a foriegn country. Directed by Sofia Coppola, "Lost In Translation" is a Bob Harris is an American movie star travelling abroad in Tokyo as he endorses a whisky. Charlotte is the young American girl staying in the same hotel as Mr. Harris, in whom he finds a kindred spirit. The two form a platonic relationship as they deal with the many barriers needed to be overcome while visiting a foriegn country. Directed by Sofia Coppola, "Lost In Translation" is a flawless film. The breathtakingly beautiful shots, courtesy of cinematographer Lance Acord perfectly compliment the very cool soundtrack featuring AIR, The Jesus and Mary Chain and original music by Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine, as well as the amazing script written by Sofia Coppola. With a rather slow pace and virtually no plot "Lost" might bore some of the typical moviegoers, but for people looking for a film about the true beauty of life and its most infinite moments this splendid cinematic masterpiece will surely be a treat. Expand
  75. Jayj
    Feb 4, 2004
    9
    i did get a little nudge in my brain when they started to talk about the l's and r's but it wasn't mean or anything like that. it's just how it is and what the characters noticed and reacted to. i think this is a visually beautiful movie with honest characters that i enjoyed getting to know. (also, anna faria is hilarious too!)
  76. JoshW.
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    This movie is destined to find itself of the cannon of great cinema. Bill Murray not only gave the best performance of his life, but one of the finest performances I've ever seen in a movie. Sofia Coppola has out done any of the movies her father has done in the last three decades. Plainly said, this movie is something special.
  77. DaveH.
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    Definitely one of the best films of the year, in my book. I'm kind of amazed how it seems to have zoomed over the heads of so many here. The "crazy Japanese" scenes aren't even remotely intended to degrade the Japanese, they're clearly intended to give the [Western] viewer a quick-shot of the alienation that Bob and Charlotte feel -- on the surface, being newcomers in Japan Definitely one of the best films of the year, in my book. I'm kind of amazed how it seems to have zoomed over the heads of so many here. The "crazy Japanese" scenes aren't even remotely intended to degrade the Japanese, they're clearly intended to give the [Western] viewer a quick-shot of the alienation that Bob and Charlotte feel -- on the surface, being newcomers in Japan (very much the mixture of alienation and awe I felt in my 10 days in Tokyo), but more to the point, as the story develops, in their married lives. As a long-time fan of Japanese cinema, I have to claim that even the story and the ending are influenced by Eastern story telling. It's about subtilties -- like Mizo soup. There's not the usual big elements of a Western story: big plot development, melodrama, nice packaged ending. That's not a flaw -- that's what made this a great film, IMHO. Expand
  78. Los
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    One word, fascinating. I was in awe throughout the entire movie. A visual masterpiece.
  79. NormanC.
    Mar 27, 2004
    9
    I found the chemistry between Bill Murray and Scarlett Johanson enchanting. The idea, expressed by some that there they could not invest in the characters I think expresses more the limitation of those reviewers than the film.
  80. Lorna
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    I despise myself that I wanted to know what he said to her finally. I suspect it's because I am conditioned to want the ends of the strings tied up. I also want to walk away into the rest of my life without that significant other with such happiness glowing from within. I want to know, if, when they were talking themselves into comforted sleep, their bodies formed a Japanese sigla I despise myself that I wanted to know what he said to her finally. I suspect it's because I am conditioned to want the ends of the strings tied up. I also want to walk away into the rest of my life without that significant other with such happiness glowing from within. I want to know, if, when they were talking themselves into comforted sleep, their bodies formed a Japanese sigla for a word meaning contentment or something along that line of meaning. I think I want to know that too. Who doesn't, at some point, want these things. There were exquisite moments of non/communication. Long haiku, with pictures. They did make it look almost too easy. It is suitable that Oscars were not 'awarded'. I thought this was art, not just a movie. Expand
  81. Chinitaj
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    It was a deeply moving movie--both sad and humorous (albeit mostly sardonic) at times. Among other things, it makes you think of philosophical questions--life and relationships. On the most basic level, it portrays the lives of expats in a totally foreign land accurately. A lot of people may find this movie slow-paced, but for someone who has lived in a foreign land where language is a It was a deeply moving movie--both sad and humorous (albeit mostly sardonic) at times. Among other things, it makes you think of philosophical questions--life and relationships. On the most basic level, it portrays the lives of expats in a totally foreign land accurately. A lot of people may find this movie slow-paced, but for someone who has lived in a foreign land where language is a barrier, this movie will awaken all these emotions once again--emotions of helplessness and amusement, despair and spurts of hope, and the reminder that all it takes is to see things in a different way coupled with a huge dose of good-natured (and resigned) humor. Expand
  82. PinklineJ.
    May 11, 2004
    7
    Sofia Coppola's second feature film is quite encouraging but on the other side of the Nikkei Dow ? she hasn?t earnt the title of Master Craftmeistress just yet. Coppola undoubtedly offers us a soulful and original screenplay with ?Lost In Translation? - her second feature film - and it has understandably been a major success at the box office. No doubt it should also prove to be a Sofia Coppola's second feature film is quite encouraging but on the other side of the Nikkei Dow ? she hasn?t earnt the title of Master Craftmeistress just yet. Coppola undoubtedly offers us a soulful and original screenplay with ?Lost In Translation? - her second feature film - and it has understandably been a major success at the box office. No doubt it should also prove to be a big hit in Japan ? soon to be released there as ?Getting Old Man Need a Hug? - in keeping with that country?s bizarre tradition of butchering foreign language film titles. The story is straightforward enough. Ageing actor, ?Bob Harris?, played with appropriate disinterest, by Bill Murray, has come to Tokyo to film a Suntory whisky commercial whilst ?Charlotte? played by the alluring Scarlett Johansson is accompanying her nerdy boyfriend, who is on some sort of hazy photographic assignment. Both parties are ?doing it tough?, holed up in Tokyo?s super deluxe Park Hyatt hotel and its not long before their pensive characters start to get comfortable together like a pair of old tinea-riddled moccasins. The senses-battering hulking metropolis that is Tokyo, provides a suitable backdrop to accommodate a story of two lost souls searching for some love and meaning in their lives beyond the introspective confines of their flawed relationships. The film opens with a still shot on Charlotte?s pink panty-clad rear (as the eyes of all cinema perverts light up), for no clearcut reason other than it probably seemed to be the arty farty thing to do. The action then switches to Bob's ?doing it tough? limo ride entry into the neon-soaked alien ?Land of The Too Much Wasabi ? Quick What?s the Japanese word for Water?. After a string of typical Japanese formal welcoming exchanges the film cuts to the shooting of the Suntory commercial. The Japanese commercial director ? played for maximum comedic value by Yopparoshi Osake (okay I couldn?t find his real name) proceeds to issue Bob with a string of commands which is then worked into a cliched ?humour? piece in the form of an abridged translation from the director's female colleague. Ha ha ha ho ho hum zzz. Geez I hope this is going to get better. Bob's occasional grumpy and slightly arrogant behaviour is a little hard to come to terms with at times especially when one is trying to get a handle on his lonely and unhappy ?predicament?, given that he IS supposedly receiving a cheque for two million bucks to do the ad. Okay ? let?s flick to ten year old girl classifying a pile of used syringes in Calcutta. Oh yes I see where he?s coming from. As for Charlotte, things are not all sushi and ice cream for the young wife neither. Her awkward-speaking nerd husband appears far too busy to pay much attention to her and more or less continually waltzes off stage left after short bursts of shallow input which is not a bad thing as he hardly sets the world on fire with his acting skills in the time that he does have on the screen. There has been criticism of this film relating to the treatment or roles of the Japanese actors - allegations of restricting their parts to comical lightweight relevance but that is a little unfair and missing the point; There are a few moments in the film where the delicate formalities and traditions of Japan are touched on and respected. Coppola apparently loves Japan. But this is not meant to serve as an expose on Japanese culture or an attack on it - its really about the two central characters and nothing more. Its easy to appreciate that this is Coppola's second film ? given for example, the schoolkid sense of humour depicted in one of the early scenes , where the tall Bill Murray has to (laugh hysterically not) adjust the shower head at his hotel, and the really silly inclusion of a hooker being sent to Bill's room. And yes we know that the Japanese have difficulty with English Rs and Ls which could have been mildly funny but instead materialises as a rather arrogant effect in the ludicrous hooker scene so as to allude to some kind of superior American theory of Utopia - where everyone speaks and understands perfect English. Whilst the essence of the ?lost? theme is obvious - Coppola doesn't seem to really shape her story to help maximise (without being corny) our feeling and empathy for Bob and Charlotte - instead content to let the tale lazily amble along not going any particular place and it at times becomes a bit like an overlong bus ride to nowhere or a sight seeing tour around Canberra. On the positive side - Bill Murray's acting IS very good as is Charlotte's. The film is enjoyable in the sense that it is refreshingly different from the pile of cheap cinema-drivel that oozes, like a river of pus, from the flagrantly capitalistic plastic hearts of the American film houses - and perhaps its a shock to people's senses to see something so foreign to their normal cinema diets. But in truth the French and European cinema have been producing these types of understated films for donkey's years and not meaning to be cruel but doing a better job at it. However this film does have its positives and its pleasing to see a director have the courage (but mostly the funds) to deviate from the mainstream. Lost In Translation is rewarding and enjoyable even though it is nowhere near perfect but that?s understandable given the relative inexperience of the writer/director. Expand
  83. R.Knights
    Jun 7, 2004
    8
    Very well structured, touching and frank. Conveyed the feeling of "alone" being in a foreign land unwillingly very well and contained the kind of content that in-your-face blockbusters lack. Wry humour is probably lost on many of the posters here.
  84. AndyM.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    I loved it....but I can't put my finger on why. A beautiful film, with a beautiful actress. It made me want to learn Japanese.
  85. JordanL.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    I just loved this movie. It is most likely my favorite movie of all. ~Jordan Lockwood
  86. Sinisa
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    A perfect movie. Period.
  87. MikeL.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    You know, it's the one of the best movies have i ever saw!!! It's great! it's very emotional and quiet at the same time. It's a wonderful story about happiness and hope. About miricles what could happend to us. And about clear love. Only one qustion that disturbing me since i saw this film first time - what he whispered her in the end? I can't live without an You know, it's the one of the best movies have i ever saw!!! It's great! it's very emotional and quiet at the same time. It's a wonderful story about happiness and hope. About miricles what could happend to us. And about clear love. Only one qustion that disturbing me since i saw this film first time - what he whispered her in the end? I can't live without an answer )) It's really bothering me. Expand
  88. Cheri
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Sublime perfection, truly. If I could give it a 100 I would. I have viewed this more times than I can remember, let's say at least 100. Really. And it holds up to the test of watching watching and rewatching. There are VERY few movies that can do that. Even the sound of it is flawless, sometimes I put it on when I'm working and stressed and need to be soothed.
  89. Mack
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    A work of pure genius.
  90. RichC.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    My favorite movie of 2003.
  91. OLuc
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    One of the best films of recent years. A visual masterpiece in everyway!
  92. JamesA.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    So quietly captivating; beautiful.
  93. GS.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Perfectly shot. Excellent on-screen chemistry. Original...need I say more?
  94. DanielA
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Most who are critical of this movie point to its "lack of a plot" and meandering story as serious faults, and therefore claim they hate it. Yet they've become so used to these substandard, 3 act, plot-twist-filled, muddled messes that Hollywood churns out every year that they can't see the simple and powerful beauty of Lost in Translation. They're jaded with films, and Most who are critical of this movie point to its "lack of a plot" and meandering story as serious faults, and therefore claim they hate it. Yet they've become so used to these substandard, 3 act, plot-twist-filled, muddled messes that Hollywood churns out every year that they can't see the simple and powerful beauty of Lost in Translation. They're jaded with films, and expect to see actions and consequences, when in fact a lot of LiT is about inaction and restraint: what the two protagonists DON'T say to each other, what they DON'T do together, etc. These people who bash the film may or may not be of sub-standard intelligence; who knows. But it's clear that they cannot appreciate subtle genius and beauty, and that masterpieces like this and La Dolce Vita would go right over their heads. Expand
  95. apostolosa
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    A movie-trip across your heart! A sound deep into your soul! Yes, we are awake listening to Bob and Charlotte's whispers, taking us far away, above the cityscape of Tokyo! Sofia created a masterpiece! Just for the soul-listeners.
  96. JulieC.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    An outstanding movie and outstanding performances. Bill Murray deserves Oscar's nod. No one else could have pulled it off.
  97. ThomasM.
    Oct 13, 2003
    9
    Simply put, it's a great movie. At some points it's a little slow but Bill Murray's performence, Oscar worthy, pulls you through it. Relative newcomer Scarlett Johansson sets the bar very high for herself. We will be seeing a lot more from this litlle lady in the future.
  98. SherrillD.
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    It's the most beautiful friendship between two unlikely strangers that I've ever seen. I could watch it over and over again, and learn a new life lesson every time.
  99. Triniman
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    This is an excellent film, if you can apprecaite subtleties and nuances and are tired of most formulaic, mainstream Hollywood films. Two American strangers meet in a Hotel in Tokyo and strike up an intimate, loving friendship. Peppered througout the film are scences of the Bill Murray character worked on film shoots or in studios. In one over the top scene, he is feted by an absolutely This is an excellent film, if you can apprecaite subtleties and nuances and are tired of most formulaic, mainstream Hollywood films. Two American strangers meet in a Hotel in Tokyo and strike up an intimate, loving friendship. Peppered througout the film are scences of the Bill Murray character worked on film shoots or in studios. In one over the top scene, he is feted by an absolutely manic Japanese talk show host, who is supposed to be the Japanese verison of Johnny Carson. Scarlet Johansen and Bill Murray have smoldering chemistry, without any cheap scenes between them. She's got an edge to her style and thus distinguishes herself from many of today's young actors/ actresses. This is not an overt comedy or a tense drama but it will to a more sophisticated audience than most of what is playing today. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 80
    Not much happens, but Coppola is so gentle and witty an observer that the movie casts a spell. [15 September 2003, p. 100]
  2. Coppola both wrote and directed, and there’s a pleasing shapelessness to her scenes. She accomplishes the difficult feat of showing people being bored out of their skulls in such a way that we are never bored watching them.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    80
    The film's unhurried pace will target it for discerning audiences only, but its wry humor and coolly amused observation of contemporary Japan should score with smart urbanites.