Lost in Translation

Lost in Translation Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Unable to sleep, Bob (Murray) and Charlotte (Johansson), two Americans in Tokyo, cross paths one night in the luxury hotel bar. This chance meeting soon becomes a surprising friendship. Charlotte and Bob venture through Tokyo, having often hilarious encounters with its citizens, andUnable to sleep, Bob (Murray) and Charlotte (Johansson), two Americans in Tokyo, cross paths one night in the luxury hotel bar. This chance meeting soon becomes a surprising friendship. Charlotte and Bob venture through Tokyo, having often hilarious encounters with its citizens, and ultimately discover a new belief in life's possibilities. (Focus Features) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    Longer on atmosphere and observation than on story, but you don't mind: Coppola maintains her quietly charged tone with a certainty that would be unbelievable in a second film if you didn't suspect genetics had a hand.
  2. Isn't about a May-December romance or a brief encounter in a faraway place. It's about being alone in a crowd and the power of unexpected friendships.
  3. What's astonishing about Sofia Coppola's enthralling new movie is the precision, maturity, and originality with which the confident young writer-director communicates so clearly in a cinematic language all her own.
  4. 90
    As bittersweet a brief encounter as any in American movies since Richard Linklater's equally romantic "Before Sunrise."
  5. A lovely, quietly thrilling thing.
  6. 88
    It's a sign of just how much Coppola respects her characters that she doesn't make us privy to that final line: It is only meant for them to share. But like the rest of the ethereal Lost in Translation, you don't need to have it spelled out in order to feel it.
  7. Coppola hasn't delivered a turkey--it's a cute little movie, if not as rich as her brother Roman's similarly themed "CQ"--but when work this potentially satisfying remains flatly obvious, it's almost worse than being flat-out bad.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. MichaelH.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Pure perfection. Moving and touching everytime. The ending brings tears every watch.
  2. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    Filled by excellent performances by Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, great writing, great directing, loveable characters, realisticFilled by excellent performances by Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson, great writing, great directing, loveable characters, realistic dialogue and the total opposite of your typical Hollywood movie clich├ęs. This movie highly deserves to be in my top 15 movies of all-time. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    If "Titanic" was the iconic bloated romance novel of movies, then "Lost in Translation" is the quiet, poignant poem that is all the moreIf "Titanic" was the iconic bloated romance novel of movies, then "Lost in Translation" is the quiet, poignant poem that is all the more affecting because of that. Expand
  4. May 23, 2015
    9
    Lost in Translation is one of the most engaging films I have ever seen and I think this film will only gain more recognition as it ages and ILost in Translation is one of the most engaging films I have ever seen and I think this film will only gain more recognition as it ages and I will likely appreciate the film more as I age. I think this is the type of film that you take more from each time you watch it. Bill Murray, there are just no words to describe the performance he gave in this movie. I think he was truly perfect, and it is one of the best portrayals I have ever seen and although I liked Mystic River as well I think Murray's performance beats out Sean Penn's for the 2004 Academy Award. There is also an amazing performance by Scarlett Johansson who was only 18 years old when this film was released, this role displays a mature woman far beyond her years and it would be nice to see a performance like this in the future. Warning for people who hate slow movies! This is a slow film but if you like to watch movies that change your outlook on life and opens you mind then there may be no better film than Lost in Translation. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    The magnum opus of Miss Sofia Coppola. She proves with Lost in Translation that she is more than capable of upholding her family's name in theThe magnum opus of Miss Sofia Coppola. She proves with Lost in Translation that she is more than capable of upholding her family's name in the filmmaking industry. Expand
  6. BobA.
    Jan 15, 2006
    3
    A nice concept with good performances but in the end, its a meaningful ending slapped onto a film that never thematically gets us there. A nice concept with good performances but in the end, its a meaningful ending slapped onto a film that never thematically gets us there. (like being walked to third base, and thinking the movie had hit a triple). In essence a less stylized, less meaty version of In the Mood for Love. Would have worked great as a short. Expand
  7. Something
    Sep 10, 2005
    0
    The worst film ever made. Boring, pointless, meandering garbage that feels as though it was conceived by an infant. Sofia's dumb script The worst film ever made. Boring, pointless, meandering garbage that feels as though it was conceived by an infant. Sofia's dumb script is so tedious that the movie becomes instantly forgettable. I would sooner watch Deuce Bigalow 2. The makers of that film put more effort into it than anyone did in "Lost In Translation", which should have been lost in a dumpster. Expand

See all 382 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.