Love Actually

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 371 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 371

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MichaelL.
    Jan 7, 2006
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie. I feel terribly cynical trashing it, and that's why I'm giving it a middling 5. Actually, I'm giving it a 5 because there were some superb performances--Emma Thompson, Laura Linney and Bill Nighy among them. But, my God, what a maudlin mish-mash of overbaked optimism! I loved the film best when reality took over--which was all too rare: I really wanted to like this movie. I feel terribly cynical trashing it, and that's why I'm giving it a middling 5. Actually, I'm giving it a 5 because there were some superb performances--Emma Thompson, Laura Linney and Bill Nighy among them. But, my God, what a maudlin mish-mash of overbaked optimism! I loved the film best when reality took over--which was all too rare: Linney's hopeless romance, Collin Firth walking away from his linguistically-challenged infatuation. Thompson's initial heartbreak. It was real, bittersweet, and true. When I had to suffer through yet another bumbling romantic performance by Hugh Grant (who, besides Americans, would elect someone this idiotic to their land's highest office?), a school play that looked like the finale of "American Idol", and a wedding that resembled the parade sequence of "Hello Dolly", I was actually angry. At its best, "Love Actually" is sweet and true and optimistic. At its worst--as it often is--"Love Actually" is manipulative, unbelievable, and just plain stupid. I think a 4 is a better vote...actually. Expand
  2. IlzeS.
    Dec 26, 2004
    5
    Not as good I expected, but enjoyable. I think that other romantic comedies are much more interesting. That?s all!
  3. PatC.
    Jun 28, 2004
    5
    Like Moulin Rouge, it maintains that love is the predominant and only worthy positive force in the human condition, and like most romantic comedies pretends that that force exists in a vacuum apart from the rest of life's realities. So far so, so good, with clever writing and fine performances all around, but then shifts to become a parody of itself. It has a much more gratifying Like Moulin Rouge, it maintains that love is the predominant and only worthy positive force in the human condition, and like most romantic comedies pretends that that force exists in a vacuum apart from the rest of life's realities. So far so, so good, with clever writing and fine performances all around, but then shifts to become a parody of itself. It has a much more gratifying breadth of perspective than Moulin, but it just cannot resist piling on a series of forced improbabilities at the end like something it has earned the right to do in its sensitive exposition of developing relationships. Good point that people under the surface are caring creatures. Tasteless and crass in not simply letting that point speak for itself. The show tips its hand early on when the prime minister tells off the the 5-o'clock shadow president, who he finds offensive, not because it's what his constituents want to hear or anything like that. This film could have been so good, but in the end is a ghastly contrivance. Expand
  4. TaraC.
    Nov 7, 2003
    4
    A movie for the Pottery Barn set. It looked great and commenced in high spirits and hopefulness. Then, descended into a really syrup-y love fest that spun outta control with a small boy eluding legions of Heathrow security and the PM making out on stage at a Christmas pageant. Too many hijinks, too much chicken soup for the soul.
  5. Parms
    Jan 5, 2004
    5
    The movie was really good but there were bits in it that were so stupid that they made me cringe everytime i think of them. That idiot that goes to theUS to find easy american women. And that little kid who comes runs into the airport. So much for tightened security. The woman at the end jumping on the Prime Minister. Come on Curtis. What a load of crap. Your characters made the movie, The movie was really good but there were bits in it that were so stupid that they made me cringe everytime i think of them. That idiot that goes to theUS to find easy american women. And that little kid who comes runs into the airport. So much for tightened security. The woman at the end jumping on the Prime Minister. Come on Curtis. What a load of crap. Your characters made the movie, definately not your story. Expand
  6. LowellA.
    Feb 1, 2004
    4
    ... bit off WAY more than it could possibly chew. Too many stories cloud the narrative and, in the end, this all ends up like wrapping paper discarded on the living room floor after the presents have been opened. A sad, sad product of a very novel idea.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    I can see how it would have seemed great as an idea. You tell a bunch of short stories involving the various stages of love featuring a varying cast, and then connect everyone, expecting your audience to be enlightened. They aren't, because Love Actually, actually doesn't work, not to mention that its a good half hour too long.
  8. DaveC.
    Jul 17, 2004
    6
    A warm, fuzzy film. If it doesn't quite provide much in the way of interesting characters it is still very nicely packaged. To be sure the film is flawed. After all, for a film that preaches about love being transcendent and universal, I couldn't quite get my head around the fact that every single one of the get-togethers in this film were white and heterosexual, especially now A warm, fuzzy film. If it doesn't quite provide much in the way of interesting characters it is still very nicely packaged. To be sure the film is flawed. After all, for a film that preaches about love being transcendent and universal, I couldn't quite get my head around the fact that every single one of the get-togethers in this film were white and heterosexual, especially now that there shouldn't be any restrictions on the representation of such things in the media these days, even when the rockstar declares his love for his manager, the film feels the need to assert his heterosexuality when he says "come on, lets watch some porn"... way to make a certain 10% of your audience feel left out of the love of Christmas time. Indeed, the film's greatest strength is its greatest weakness, its willingness to please the masses leaves it with offensive right wing sentiments. I'm not saying that every romantic comedy these days should have ethnic minorities and homosexuals in them, but I think you're obliged to in a film that is aiming to be everything to everybody so to speak. Nevertheless, this is still a funny, entertaining film that manages to be fanciful without being delusional, ambitious without being self-indulgent and melodramatic without being banal. It comes as a great surprise that I am happy to say I enjoyed this piece of fluff. A true guilty pleasure, see it. Expand
  9. MarcK.
    Nov 24, 2003
    6
    This time, I agree with the critics, and not the moviegoers who rate this on MetaCritic. A strong opening, and an even stronger ending, but the middle was uneven. I agree with others that cutting down the story lines to something a bit more manageable would have given the story lines that stayed a little more depth. Keira Knightley is drop-dead gorgeous in this movie, but that story line This time, I agree with the critics, and not the moviegoers who rate this on MetaCritic. A strong opening, and an even stronger ending, but the middle was uneven. I agree with others that cutting down the story lines to something a bit more manageable would have given the story lines that stayed a little more depth. Keira Knightley is drop-dead gorgeous in this movie, but that story line could have been easily taken out without damaging this movie. Expand
  10. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    There are better movies of two hours length. I loved Bill Nighy's performance, however, as well as Linney's. Mark's love for Juliet was poignant. Little Sam's story might also have worked as a subplot. Rest of the stories were trash.
  11. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    There are countless ensemble comedies such as this--some of them actually quite successful. Love Actually contains some wonderfully connected stories but, unfortunately, too many of them.
  12. Dec 15, 2014
    6
    While this wasn’t my flick it was still engaging. I thought the film had an interesting premise and this was a film viewing experience I’ve never had. Some of the relationships worked, the film had a good cast, and the presentation was good. I guess I’m just too into romantic films and I’m not British so a lot of the British humor probably went over my head. If you are a girl though in theWhile this wasn’t my flick it was still engaging. I thought the film had an interesting premise and this was a film viewing experience I’ve never had. Some of the relationships worked, the film had a good cast, and the presentation was good. I guess I’m just too into romantic films and I’m not British so a lot of the British humor probably went over my head. If you are a girl though in the mood for a nice feel good romantic comedy to watch around the holidays this will do. Also, act fast because this is leaving Netflix at the end of the month and is it true that on Christmas you tell the truth. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    70
    Enough of Curtis' lovably crazed characters do succeed in finding love in all the unlikely places that you leave the theater with your heart humming happily. He has his dark -- well, darkish -- side under control. Which is to say that he is an Englishman, well practiced in masking pain and absurdity and descents into sheer goofiness with mannerly behavior, sly irony and stiff upper lips.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A roundly entertaining romantic comedy, Love Actually is still nearly as cloying as it is funny…its cheeky wit, impossibly attractive cast and sure-handed professionalism are beguiling.
  3. Reminds you of an elaborate Christmas card that tumbles apart with pop-up figures, silly/charming greetings and perhaps even a jingle. It probably cost more than the gift it heralds, and you can't help but laugh at the audacity of such an aggressively cheerful card.