User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 137
  2. Negative: 13 out of 137

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This movie focused on the girl who would have sex and avoid emotional commitment due to her personal emotional reasons of being unstable. She ends up falling in love with this guy who was suppose to be a one night stand. The movie focuses on sex as an outlet of emotional anxiety and as well unravels the turmoils of being diseased and believing no one will love you because of it. I was left quite entertained throughout and it was a good change to the commonly anticipated romantic comedies. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    9
    One of the best Rated R romantic comedies for guys and girls that I've ever seen. Very touching and heart-felt film. Anne Hathaway gives a beautiful performance (and this movie elevates her to an A-list actress in my opinion). And, it's rare that the storyline is the best part of a movie, but with this film it is, as you understand and truly share and experience the characters' love, struggles, and motivations. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Edward Zwick's "Love & Other Drugs" is typical rom-com flare seriously upgraded thanks to a surprisingly adult outlook when it comes to romance instead of using the typical romantic comedy stereotypes such as the bicker till they kiss romance plot line seen in " The Ugly Truth", "You've Got Mail", "Life as we know it". It does not sink to the conventional needs to tell a compelling and surprisingly fast paced love story about two people who do not want to get tied down by commitment. This films explores something that has become a very hot topic in romantic films as of lately they explore the aspect of a relationship without the relationship part no strings attached, no feelings just good sex and just sex but as anyone who has ever loved someone you know that you cannot keep it simple because eve if you keep the relationship just about sex sooner or later one or both involved is going to start forming some kind of attachment to the other person involved in this illicit act. The one thing that helped this film from sinking from above average romantic dramedy to sex comedy is the fine screenplay by Edward Zwick, Charles Randolph and Marshall Herskovitz they don't condescend or play off some of the more overly sentimental in the audience they wisely choose to have the film start out simple and gradually find its dramatic footing as you get in deeper into this films romantic story of fast talking, smooth operator Jamie Randall(Jake Gyllenhaal) and his no strings attached romance with free spirited sexually uninhibited Maggie Murdock(Anne Hathaway). When you first meet Jamie he works at a electronics store and it seems that Jamie is very good at what he does he has the charm to get anyone he comes into contact with in the store to not leave empty handed and he has the looks and the sex appeal to get any women he wants no matter who they are. Everything seems to be good for Jamie that is until he gets offered a job as a pharmaceutical representative for Pfizer pharmaceuticals. from then on everything changes for Jamie in the best and worst possible way he finds his main purpose in life as a slick pharmaceutical salesman he also finds that he now has an endless list of women that he can sack and leave behind if he chooses so. That is until he meets Maggie who isn't looking for anything serious Jamie thinks he isn't looking for anything serious either but deep down inside everyone even players like Jamie Randall sooner or later have to admit that when it comes to love there is no easy way, there is no keeping it simple because when it comes to love it is not simple or easy but there are those rare instances that it is definitely worth the trouble that it can bring with it .






    "Love and Other Drugs" is one of the sharpest , one of the most intelligent and possible one of the sexiest romantic dramedies I have ever seen. This is a quick witted fast paced film in its first half as you watch young Jamie skyrocket up the working ladder from electronic salesman to pharmaceutical salesman making a killing in the sales world and in the sack (which is not bad by male standards). But deep inside you know that Jamie is a hopeless romantic at heart even though he tries to keep it simple with Maggie he can not help himself by falling in love with her it is the way of life. You can not avoid love no matter how hard you try because when you least expect it love happens. "Love and Other Drugs" is the intelligent moviegoers romantic film, a film that does not condescend or play games with you it is straightforward with the audience even when its characters are not with each other, this is a fine example of how a true romantic film should be made(writers in Hollywood take note) "Love and Other Drugs" is a fine film and one of the years best romantic dramedies. I enjoyed this nice little surprise of a film immensely and I will be truthful with you I have never had this much fun watching a romantic film since I saw "Last Chance Harvey"(and that wasn't to long ago either) this truly a great picture and a true testament that love can never uncomplicated but if you ignore it the more complicated it can become, sometimes you just have to give into the feelings and try to make the best out of everyday of your life even if it won't always be easy.
    Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The mix between comedy and drama is great. The plot of the movie makes it a drama (and most viewers don't like to see drama in theaters) but comedia scenes make fun and entertaining. Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyllenhaal correctly interpreted their roles: a sick woman and a seductive man. It's a movie that you see in the theater. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    i think this is the best chick flick i have seen in a long while.. it hit home for me, but thats not why i am saying it was a great movie. call your girlfriend over snugglle up on the couch and sit back and enjoy.
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Love and Other Drugs is simply great. It is not definitely movie of the year, but it is also not the worst movie. I really like Jake and Anne, and they did a great job with this movie, but it has too mush sex scenes, it would be much better that not have it at every 10 minutes. Still, some of you say that this movie is bad, some that is great, for me it is not bad at all, but it could be much better. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I was actually upset when I saw the horrible reviews on here. I really enjoyed this movie, I thought it took your classic romantic comedy and added nudity, raw humor and depth. The illness made you get deeper into the film and Jake's brother in the movie was hilarious. Jake's character was witty and fun to watch and he played it well (so it wasn't one of his deepest films but so what!) Yes, there was a decent amount of nudity but I'm sorry the only people that are going to be upset about that is middle aged or older people. I'm a 21 year old female and my boyfriend and I both loved it. It was not so called "pornographic" it fit the characters and was done tastefully. I would see it again for sure. Expand
  8. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    I saw this movie and I cannot believe such great talent was wasted on this pornographic movie. We got the message at the first nudity and sexual encounter, but it went on and on and on at every 10 to 15 minutes. If I had wanted to see porn I would have gone to an X rated movie. I thought that with these two great actors that they would have used a little bit of discretion before agreeing to produce such trash. It could have been a beautiful love story, but lost me with all the foul language and nudity. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This movie was great. The more I think about it in retrospect, the more I appreciate the portrayal of the intimacy expressed in this film. The nudity was well-done, and not gratuitous in the least. Jake and Anne did a great job becoming "real people" and not just characters. See this movie and enjoy the beauty of a real relationship.
  10. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Love And Other Drugs was generally as expected - a cute, romantic story with the beautiful Anne Hathaway and dashing Jake Gyllenhaal. While it did seem to skip around somewhat, it's not nearly as severe and incomprehensibly scattered as a lot of critics are making it seem; Essentially, it could have had a better story flow, but what they had was still something you can follow and watch just fine. The amount of nudity is also something that seems to be exaggerated. The sex scenes and nudity were fairly "graphic", but not nearly to the point where it made myself, my boyfriend, or our friends feel uncomfortable. It fit the character, so it really didn't seem out of place. The film also had some great laugh-out-loud moments, especially between Jamie's occasional outbursts and his brother's socially-underdeveloped ramblings. Is it the best movie of 2010? No. Does it deserve more credit than critics seem to be giving? Yes, I think so. 9/10, would see again. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    While Hathaway and Gyllenhaal have good chemistry, and director Edward Zwick moves the narrative along nicely, the film is too self-satisfied to be genuinely touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 13, 2010
    60
    The film definitely gets it up, but has some commitment issues.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 13, 2010
    63
    Zwick's "Once and Again" and "Thirtysomething" portrayed emotion more honestly than many TV shows of their time. But in Love and Other Drugs, he unevenly weds the satirical and the sentimental.