Lucy

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 689 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    Lucy is a pretty cool action flick with a heavy dose of intelligent writing. Whether backed by real facts or, assuming, made up ones- it doesn't really matter as the ride is a consistently interesting one that feels like a really juicer primer for a (hoped for) sequel. Morgan Freeman is solid as the reassuring center to the spinning, frightening reality in which Lucy is thrust.
  2. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scarlett Johansson's acting ability is impressive. Morgan Freeman delivers exposition as beautifully as expected. The movie was at times fun to watch. And I'm happy the people writing screenplays are currently fascinated with transcending human limitations through science (although in this case the black market designer drug variety of science). I wish the people in charge of allocating government research funding in real life were half as fascinated. Unfortunately that bunch seems more interested in the type of research that makes things (and people) blow up. Not that this movie didn't have plenty of that. Not that I mind when it's a movie. Here ends my praise for Lucy, here begins the snark and spoilers. Don't say you weren't warned! The movie starts falling apart around the time drugs turn Lucy's eyes a CGI shade of blue. Then it manages to recapture my interest during a police standoff in which Lucy meets her ever-after-to-be-bewildered love interest. But only Robert Heinlein could have created a terser 'boy meets girl, well that's all settled then' sequence. Immediately after she kisses him so he'll keep following her around like a bewildered collie dog, a car chase ensues. It lacks all suspense because Lucy is behind the wheel and obviously isn't going to wreck (wreck herself, anyway, she manages to ruin the day and increase car insurance rates for plenty of innocent bystanders). Here the dialogue really rubs logic the wrong way when Lucy proclaims that no one ever really dies, even as she races with obvious urgency and aforementioned vehicular carnage to extend her own life, apparently in order to share what she has learned with the rest of humanity. But really, what's the rush, won't it all come around again or something mystically eternal like that? The movie then collects itself a final time for an ending I found superficially profound. Until I thought about what the message is in the context of the movie itself. The plot wraps up with Lucy's voiceover, “Life was given to us a billion years ago. Now you know what you can do with it.” Okay, who doesn't want to control time and everything else? (Shut up, yes you do. You just don't want anyone to think you're a control freak. You'd jump at the chance.) But what steps is this movie suggesting we take in order to attain such lofty post-human heights, exactly? Step 1: Have a shady boyfriend encourage you to drink lots of alcohol, distract you from your studies, and get you mixed up with ruthless drug dealers before he gets himself killed. Step 2: When circumstances permit, arrange to become an unwilling drug mule for the ruthless drug dealers, get groped by one, and make sure he slaps you around a bit so as to accidentally release a lot of designer drugs into your system. Now you should have some transcendent power flowing through your veins, so move on to Step 3: With those powers you can straighten everything out (except road safety in France) by first gaining control over yourself, then getting control over other people (shut up, you know you want to make your mother-in-law river-dance on the Thanksgiving Turkey this year), then getting control over pretty much everything, and finally take control over time itself. At which point you can go directly to Step 4: turn yourself into an organic super computer, then go back in time and have a chat with one of humanity's furry predecessors, or at least lock eyes and touch pointer fingers E.T.-style with one. But when you return to the present there's still violence, blood, gore, and ignorant humanity, so you pass along what you've learned while your new, cleaner-cut (at least as far as the standards of French police goes) boyfriend kills some guy who was about to shoot you in the back of the head while you were time-surfing. Proving that you sure didn't change anything with that whole time travel trip. Which step was that one again? Sorry, I lost track. But I guess maybe we can pretend that step made sense because maybe the time-line branched off when Lucy met anthropology Lucy (yes, that Lucy) and in some other branch of time humanity evolved into something much more decent? Whatever. On to the Final Step: Text message your new love interest to let him know you are everywhere. Very stalkerish. Don't worry, he won't mind. In fact, judging by his expression, it seemed to clear some things up for the poor befuddled fellow. Or at least cheer him up. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2015
    7
    What happens when one can access the human mind to one's fullest extent? Luc Besson's "Lucy", despite its obvious plot holes and ridiculous ex machines, does show its own creative answer to the question as the film does manage to be a smart, ingenuous, and action-packed as it shows.
  4. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Just leave any and all expectations at the door and you will enjoy this one. Tries to create a new type in its world building but that comes with mixed reviews. Freeman gives a lecture staggered in bits through the movie to give us simple minded folks a few ideas on what Lucy was doing other than just hallucinating or thinking about National Geographic shorts. I think Scarlet gives aJust leave any and all expectations at the door and you will enjoy this one. Tries to create a new type in its world building but that comes with mixed reviews. Freeman gives a lecture staggered in bits through the movie to give us simple minded folks a few ideas on what Lucy was doing other than just hallucinating or thinking about National Geographic shorts. I think Scarlet gives a better performance in the movie "Her" which has a similar plot just not as much pseudo-fu as this flick. This movie just left me with one question in the end. Was that memory stick USB3.0 or USB2.0? If it was 2.0 then it would take a whole lot longer to copy his files. :) Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    Really great Movie with a really Great Plot.

    What's good:
    -People speak their Native language (Korean, Chinese, German, French,...) (subtitles are available)
    -Really good Cinematics
    -Really good Effects

    What's not so good:
    -Many Facts are really wrong. For example: Studies show that People do not use 10% of their Brain. The whole Plot is based around this wrong thesis.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    It's ambitious, strange, moronic, cerebral, and propulsive fun all at once. The effects can be cheesy at some points, but other times they can actually be really cool. At least they're all used creatively. It's almost impossible to really label this movie. It's so strange that I can see why a lot of the critics are polarized. There are a few thought provoking ideas here, even if theIt's ambitious, strange, moronic, cerebral, and propulsive fun all at once. The effects can be cheesy at some points, but other times they can actually be really cool. At least they're all used creatively. It's almost impossible to really label this movie. It's so strange that I can see why a lot of the critics are polarized. There are a few thought provoking ideas here, even if the movie lacks the impact and believable logic to truly reach its full potential. But to be honest, how often do summer movies have any ideas at all? It's definitely the most unique action movie of the summer, even if it's not the best. I'd say to go see it. Just don't expect something on the levels of The Matrix or Inception. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    Lucy feels a bit short and under explained. Never the less, Scarlett Johansson is iconic and stars in one of the coolest, smartest action movies of the summer.
  8. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higherPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  9. Sep 8, 2014
    7
    Lucy is an unusual film. What starts out as routine superhero stuff diverts into something much stranger and unique. It's an acquired taste that feels least satisfying in the traditional areas (super-power battle sequences, for example) and most satisfying in it's delving into evolution, science and religion. Lucy is one of those films destined to become a cult classic in the future.
  10. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    Weird - that's the word describing a movie most. The idea of movie is intriguing, but its realization is ... strange. I don't want to say it is bad, it is actually quite good, just strange. Movie looked like to me very short and unfinished. I really thought there should be something after "I am everywhere." She is everywhere, right ... so what? I feel like movie didn't tell what its mainWeird - that's the word describing a movie most. The idea of movie is intriguing, but its realization is ... strange. I don't want to say it is bad, it is actually quite good, just strange. Movie looked like to me very short and unfinished. I really thought there should be something after "I am everywhere." She is everywhere, right ... so what? I feel like movie didn't tell what its main point - looks kinda unfinished. But I don't agree with those low ratings. 7-8 from my point of view, but not 5. Expand
  11. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    "Lucy" is the first secular, sci-fantasy, international Western I've seen. The "black hats" are one dimensional, Asian villians; the "white hat," Scarlett Johansson, is a literal bombshell, who finds her moral compass in her expanding frontal lobe. This is Johannsson's movie to win or lose as she plays a steroidal game of "Beat the Clock." with criminal minds and a cocktail of mind-blowing"Lucy" is the first secular, sci-fantasy, international Western I've seen. The "black hats" are one dimensional, Asian villians; the "white hat," Scarlett Johansson, is a literal bombshell, who finds her moral compass in her expanding frontal lobe. This is Johannsson's movie to win or lose as she plays a steroidal game of "Beat the Clock." with criminal minds and a cocktail of mind-blowing chemicals. It's plot is like a blend of the "Gang that Couldn't Shoot Straight" and "Contact," but Johannsson is convincing, the action fun and the outcome mysteriously begs a better sequel. Should get an Oscar nod for special effects and applause for it's simian anti-drug message. Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    Lucy aims to entertain cinema-goers with SFX. Don't take any of it seriously. It's a SCIENCE FICTION. There's an element of fiction at play here. You'll leave the cinema dumber for believing any of it. However, the visual experience makes up for all of it. Entertaining and worth viewing on a mammoth screen.
  13. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    This is female revenge fantasy with a sci-fi gloss, and it works. Scarlett Johannson is the best killing-machine hottie since Darryl Hannah scissored Harrison Ford in Blade Runner. The character she plays has been heavily dosed with a drug that makes her supersmart. Although the script ultimately fails to describe convincingly how a vengeful woman with an off-the-charts IQ would deal withThis is female revenge fantasy with a sci-fi gloss, and it works. Scarlett Johannson is the best killing-machine hottie since Darryl Hannah scissored Harrison Ford in Blade Runner. The character she plays has been heavily dosed with a drug that makes her supersmart. Although the script ultimately fails to describe convincingly how a vengeful woman with an off-the-charts IQ would deal with a gang of murderous, very well-armed Chinese thugs, it makes up for this shortcoming with rapid-fire pacing and a good sense of humor about blood. The Chinese gangleader is one bad-ass, but not entirely believable as a worthy foe for Scarlett. Even so, seeing him get done in (twice) was satisfying in a way that only a good revenge fantasy can be. Expand
  14. Aug 21, 2014
    7
    - a somewhat sci-fi thriller that depicts the origin of life.
    You could say it starts off as a bit of a joke. Or just a really bad version of a 007 wanna-be-badass replica. Even Johannson’s acting starts off like a joke; literally, she seems to be laughing more than crying herself through the first ten minutes of the film.
    However, Lucy transcends with every passing minute – as if the
    - a somewhat sci-fi thriller that depicts the origin of life.
    You could say it starts off as a bit of a joke. Or just a really bad version of a 007 wanna-be-badass replica. Even Johannson’s acting starts off like a joke; literally, she seems to be laughing more than crying herself through the first ten minutes of the film.
    However, Lucy transcends with every passing minute – as if the quality of the film and it’s acting were corresponding to the percentage of brain capacity that the protagonist female-gone-super-human android is using.
    It is one of those films, whose idea clearly surpasses cinematographic capabilities - time, space, gravity, and the origin of cells that build life and our reality - it is one of those films, that you watch skeptically, but are patient and open to giving it a chance. You watch, learn and enjoy, but after that start are all the while still deciding whether this is total guff, whether you have been ripped off at the theatre counter, and served quantum-physics starters-pack drivel with some Scarlett glitter on top to cover it up?
    About midway through, I decided to give it a chance. A real chance. A chance at blowing me away and taking my mind to places unexplored, allowing my brain synapses to dance and go wild, tying together all my theories about life with what I was learning whilst fixing my eyes upon the screen. It worked.
    The key is, to see film as art. To take what you can get from it. Not to critizise (and believe me there was a lot of moaning and dis-missing going on in the seats around me) but to make the most of it. Yes you CAN.
    Once this happens (and there have been a lot of films where it just doesnt happen, let me just say ‘The Counsellor’) you are free to go and experience that wonderful world of time, intelligence and purpose of life that is Lucy. Maybe I am an optimist who was fed cyborg-bullcrap and went off on it – maybe I fell in love with the idea of being- and playing Scarlett’s part, but in any case, I am glad to have seen this film, as it let me exit that cinema with sharpened senses and let me glide into the night feeling alive, thursting for knowledge, finding life intelligent and beautiful. Each step was beautiful.
    Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    The best thing about futuristic, sci-fi is when it shows us truly mind-blowing concepts and visuals. In this case, that's literally what happens. Scarlett Johansson plays a woman who accidentally ingests a substance that enables her to use increasingly large portions of her brain's ability. This gives her powers that allow her to control the world around her. The film is full of cool ideasThe best thing about futuristic, sci-fi is when it shows us truly mind-blowing concepts and visuals. In this case, that's literally what happens. Scarlett Johansson plays a woman who accidentally ingests a substance that enables her to use increasingly large portions of her brain's ability. This gives her powers that allow her to control the world around her. The film is full of cool ideas that are illuminated with strong special effects. Johansson is up to the challenges of super skills, both mentally and physically. Writer/director Luc Besson has added his signature action (that crazy car chase) to give the visuals even more of an impact. A fun trip! Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    I liked the story and I liked the subject matter. I though that Scarlett did a great job in a difficult situation making it seem like she "was" using all of her brain. I wish the movie wouldve been at least 30 mins longer to make it a 2 hour movie. Its like they cut it to make it more of a summer blockbuster movie. So i hope the video has an "uncut" version. The movie touches on someI liked the story and I liked the subject matter. I though that Scarlett did a great job in a difficult situation making it seem like she "was" using all of her brain. I wish the movie wouldve been at least 30 mins longer to make it a 2 hour movie. Its like they cut it to make it more of a summer blockbuster movie. So i hope the video has an "uncut" version. The movie touches on some Hawking time issues and even imaginary time issues. Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My analysis of Lucy is skewed somewhat due to how much I enjoyed Limitless. This should not be construed. Limitless saw Bradley Cooper use a drug called NZT. Lucy was handcuffed to a briefcase and taken away by an Asian mafia. The plot centers around a girl being given the opportunity to use her whole brain. Showing clips of how she acted at 20%,30%,40% and up lastly at 100%. I noticed there wasn't any withdrawal effect and her power gradually increased dynamically as she raised percentages. The movie was loopy. It had a great supporting performance by Morgan Freeman and I believe Ken Watanbe who starred in Inception. Lucy wasn't very likeable, she was more of a destructive superhero with revenge on her mind. It played out somewhat like a Quentin Tarrantino movie with screen captures of power percentage then showing her abilities afterwards. She was on a mission from the very start and carried the movie throughout. This isn't a must see, but I recommend to anyone who enjoyed Limitless. Expand
  18. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    _the beautiful Scarlet once again embraces us with her action skills! Lucy brings me back to BBC's Earth and the formation of our Planet. The car chase scene was one of the best considering it was never seen before.
  19. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    I have watched the three stooges, it is fuuny. I love it. but my friends may not like it. my friend like " cast away" film, but I may not like it. . Don't think that if you like "avator", you friend will also like it. No. Different people have differnet likes
    nice movie. 7 stars.
  20. Aug 2, 2014
    7
    Entertaining film. Although the 10% myth is flawed, the movie is decent. I would have liked to see more blood and action scenes in the movie. I could see why people didn't like the movie as much because it tends to get more philosophical toward the end which makes it a bit confusing. I did like however, the idea of increasing your mental capacity. Not a horrible film. Decent movie to see,Entertaining film. Although the 10% myth is flawed, the movie is decent. I would have liked to see more blood and action scenes in the movie. I could see why people didn't like the movie as much because it tends to get more philosophical toward the end which makes it a bit confusing. I did like however, the idea of increasing your mental capacity. Not a horrible film. Decent movie to see, if you have nothing else to do on a Saturday. Not a movie to be taken too seriously. The silver lining is sarjo proves she has the skill to lead an action film and it also opens the door for more action films with leading women in it in the future Expand
  21. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    Okay, first of all, you're going to have to suspend all reality when you see this movie. Once you get by that, it's kind of slick. Scarlett Johansson's character morphs from a kind of "party girl" to a benign and eminently watchable "Terminator". Morgan Freeman adds to the movie as professor aligned with "Lucy". Choi Min-sik (as the villain) and Amr Waked (as a supportive, ifOkay, first of all, you're going to have to suspend all reality when you see this movie. Once you get by that, it's kind of slick. Scarlett Johansson's character morphs from a kind of "party girl" to a benign and eminently watchable "Terminator". Morgan Freeman adds to the movie as professor aligned with "Lucy". Choi Min-sik (as the villain) and Amr Waked (as a supportive, if befuddled police officer) add to the international cast. A fun ride. Expand
  22. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    It's an entertaining movie and interesting idea. Nearing the end when i was expecting a bizarre scene, suddenly just 'poof'. A complete let down at the end, but a happy ending one i guess. It still a good movie to watch on the big screen.
  23. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    Lucy was a lot of fun and wildly entertaining. The hokum made sense in its way, but I think you need some knowledge of science and evolution to appreciate Besson’s riff on it. (Maybe that explains why it is getting as many negative user reviews as it is here, but then I was one of those people who liked The Family and thought it was very funny although I think you needed to haveLucy was a lot of fun and wildly entertaining. The hokum made sense in its way, but I think you need some knowledge of science and evolution to appreciate Besson’s riff on it. (Maybe that explains why it is getting as many negative user reviews as it is here, but then I was one of those people who liked The Family and thought it was very funny although I think you needed to have experienced France and know its stereotypes to really enjoy it.) And certainly this movie was better than Transcendance, which made more sense but was also more conservative and sadly was much less wild and fun. I also thought Scarlett Johansaan was very good, and now that she has been convincing as a neurotic flirt in Woody Allen films and an automaton in others, I hope we get to see if she can add yet a third character type to her repertoire. Expand
  24. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    A movie that truly opens your mind up to the realm of possibility. Although unrealistic, it is a movie that challenges you to push the limits of your thoughts and your mind. Scarlett Johansson does an amazing job as always, and Morgan Freeman is captivating just by speaking. Not incredible, but a good, fun Sci-Fi movie that is also pretty visually impressive.
  25. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    Great popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with each episode advancing her mental capabilities by 10% and depicting her new abilities. Yeh, that would be righteous.
  26. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, so this movie is far from flawless, and it probably would've worked much better if it was a TV shows with several seasons so people can actually get how the science works into the fiction. However, with all the limitation, this movie is actually tremendously entertaining and satisfying. Scarlett delivers a slick performance with Morgan Freeman being, okay, quite "under-used". For a science-fiction, this is probably the best since Edge of Tomorrow came out three months ago. The formula clicks in and the ending is super smart, with Lucy becoming "omnipotent"; nowhere but everywhere with her 100%-working cerebral function. Thumbs up! Expand
  27. Ozy
    Oct 1, 2014
    8
    I cant argue anything about the science the movie talks about. Although it seemed excessive towards the end i was still very entertained. Its a very interesting movie.
  28. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    awesome movie, luc besson at his best. the storyline was a bit predictable ( that's why it didn't get full 10), but I enjoyed from the beginning til the end.
  29. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    Since it is based on pseudo-scientific concept (humans use less than 10% of their brains), it qualifies as pseudo-science-fiction. However, overall, great entertainment ... as long as you try not to use more than 10% of your brain.
  30. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    More than just an action-adventure flick, this is a mind-bending story that reminds us of what we already know to be true about the transitory, illusionary, energetic nature of all things. Go with an open mind and leave with it opened even further.
  31. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    Lucy starts like a Keanu Reeves Sci-Fi adventure, feeling more like Johnny Mnemonic than The Matrix. Lucy is the innocent bystander in a designer drug deal on Taipei gone bad, which leads to a speculative fantasy of potential human evolution catalyzed by the drug. From there it feels more like 2001: A Space Odyssey as Lucy transforms to a über-human in a LBD. Good special effects with aLucy starts like a Keanu Reeves Sci-Fi adventure, feeling more like Johnny Mnemonic than The Matrix. Lucy is the innocent bystander in a designer drug deal on Taipei gone bad, which leads to a speculative fantasy of potential human evolution catalyzed by the drug. From there it feels more like 2001: A Space Odyssey as Lucy transforms to a über-human in a LBD. Good special effects with a nod to scientific philosophy. Have fun, but take it with a boulder of blue salt. Expand
  32. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Kinda dumb premise, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of humor to offset the ridiculousness of the concept(s). If you like Sci-Fi and Scarlett, go see it just for fun. If you liked the movie "Limitless" (clear pills that made a person access all of their brain capacity), you will probably like this, although Limitless was a much better movie.
  33. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities.
  34. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    Intelligent, witty. Synthesis of an updated 2001: A Space Odyssey with a decent action/adventure picture. Perhaps unnecessarily violent, but that was probably planned to pull in the younger crowd. Johansson is perfect in this.
  35. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don’t get me wrong, Lucy is a step in the right direction for action/sci-fi movies, especially on the visual effects side of it as they were incredible to look at. It was a great build up of a movie with each stake getting higher and higher as we watched. But unfortunately even with the amazing Scarlett Johansson (and she was amazing) in the lead kicking some ass, don’t expect a complete sci-fi revelation like Edge of Tomorrow. Expect a sci-fi action thriller that is smart enough to give you some fun summer entertainment, but at the same time will leave you a bit confused towards its closing credits. Expand
  36. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Lucy is a crazy, mind boggling mess of a film. A film that crosses over a variety of genres. Luckily, having Scarlett Johansson in the movie, Besson can do whatever he wants.

    Being set up by her boyfriend in Taipei Lucy (Johansson) is forced to be an unwilling drug mule for a dangerous Asian drug cartel, after being surgically inserted with a secret super-drug in her body. Life being
    Lucy is a crazy, mind boggling mess of a film. A film that crosses over a variety of genres. Luckily, having Scarlett Johansson in the movie, Besson can do whatever he wants.

    Being set up by her boyfriend in Taipei Lucy (Johansson) is forced to be an unwilling drug mule for a dangerous Asian drug cartel, after being surgically inserted with a secret super-drug in her body. Life being threatened, she is forced to go and transport her part of the stash. Being beaten by other captors, the packet of drugs bursts open in her body. Almost immediately the overwhelmed Lucy beings to evolve into the first person to use 100% of her brain.

    We were/are all set up for the whole picture early on for Johansson to be a "bad ass" and do whatever it took in the film. Scarlett doing the "zone outs" and focusing on people and matter is a great move on a futuristic scale. Besson could have made the film use more action and killing in the scenes after she got free, which would have made it even better. Also, the film makers could have done more on the development of the drug. All in all, the movie was good.
    Expand
  37. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Luc Besson and Scarlet Johansson and teamed up to produce a powerhouse sci-fi/action thriller not seen since The Matrix. It offers everything you could want in regards to this genre. A 'must-see' in my opinion.
  38. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    This is the surprise hit of the summer for me! Went in with low to mediocre expectations and was along for the ride the entire movie. Certainly more fiction than science, once you suspend disbelief, it's an engrossing movie with plenty of action. Well worth the price of admission!
  39. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    A kickass sci-fi/metaphysical thriller that packs a punch, both in its visuals and its content. What a treat it is to watch a cinematic thrill ride that also delivers on its profound subject matter. If you want some depth from your action-adventures, go see this one -- you won't be disappointed.
  40. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    This is ScarJo's first female lead Sci-Fi action thriller. Luc Besson (5th Element) did good picking an android emotionless feme fatale (see Under the Skin). But ScarJo really can't act. She does her lines and cries crocodile tears, and is the perfect Chess Piece for a controlling director like Luc (who both directs and shoots!) ScarJo certainly has the t*ts / waist / a** ratio,This is ScarJo's first female lead Sci-Fi action thriller. Luc Besson (5th Element) did good picking an android emotionless feme fatale (see Under the Skin). But ScarJo really can't act. She does her lines and cries crocodile tears, and is the perfect Chess Piece for a controlling director like Luc (who both directs and shoots!) ScarJo certainly has the t*ts / waist / a** ratio, (probably digitally altered - NOTHING is real in cinema) which is worth the price alone. I am very judgemental; I've only given 8 / 10 recently for Prometheus, Avatar, Edge of Tomorrow. Slick music, hip, druggie, fun. DocSavage recommended. Expand
  41. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Admittedly I was very skeptical towards the movie as I walked into the theater. However, my perception of the movie got changed rather quickly.
    I was truly blown away. I agree that the theories used in Lucy seem doubtful. The movie was very thought provoking, regardless. The negative reviews seem unjustified to me.
    10/10, well deserved.
  42. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    This movie was with no exaggeration mind blowing. I didn't move or blink in over 89 mins which seemed to go by in 20. In this movie, real scientific discoveries mixes well with various theories on the human potential to give a possible meaning to all life. Bravo.
  43. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    Lucy has an interesting idea for a movie but the plot doesn't blend properly with the action. The movie is
    less than 2 hours and after the story is set up, the viewer is bombarded with action. Basically if you
    watch the movie solely for the action you'll have nothing to complain about.
  44. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    If you are smart and open to the future, then, you will value the concept of this movie. It will caught your attention from the beginning. Scarlets is amazing as usual, so Morgan Freedman. On the contrary, if you are not too smart and you are waiting just to see action, sex and rock and roll, this movie it is not for you. A great concept of evolution and how we can evolve as a human andIf you are smart and open to the future, then, you will value the concept of this movie. It will caught your attention from the beginning. Scarlets is amazing as usual, so Morgan Freedman. On the contrary, if you are not too smart and you are waiting just to see action, sex and rock and roll, this movie it is not for you. A great concept of evolution and how we can evolve as a human and develop our brain capacity. Expand
  45. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    If you wanted to be Neo after the first two Matrix movies, you will want to be Lucy after seeing this movie.

    This is the latest spiritual movie alert! The pattern is movies taking on the topic of individual transformation and upliftment, in any authentic way, receive primarily negative and so-so reviews, by mainstream reviewers, across the board. This pattern continues here. I’m
    If you wanted to be Neo after the first two Matrix movies, you will want to be Lucy after seeing this movie.

    This is the latest spiritual movie alert! The pattern is movies taking on the topic of individual transformation and upliftment, in any authentic way, receive primarily negative and so-so reviews, by mainstream reviewers, across the board.

    This pattern continues here. I’m writing this review as this is the only spiritual movie I have given a ten to in about five years.

    For me Lucy stands with Besson's best work, which I consider to be Fifth Element and The Transporter, first one.

    I have read other reviews, before I saw Lucy. I was expecting to agree with the reviewer who said it was a mediocre Besson effort with all the familiar rhythms and disappointments. I very much expected a script without a third act.

    Surprise! I found Lucy quite coherent, fresh, entertaining and engaging thru to the end. There is no holding back. As far as I can tell, no expense has been spared in the special effects and chase sequences. They are both top-notch.

    The actor for the main villain deserves special mention for anchoring a formidable presence to balance the intensity of Scarlet Johansen's character and performance. The French police lieutenant who arrives mid-film is also a fresh face providing needed counterpoint.

    Today I read a film review mentioning the curse of the underwritten woman's role. Writers on this topic point to the heroine in the Matrix movies as the archetypal underwritten woman's role, fierce yet inconsequential to the plot, despite her great potential.

    Here in Lucy we get to see a woman both kick ass and develop her full potential--if you subscribe to any kind of personal-spiritual growth beliefs or aspirations.

    My view is: let’s support ‘spiritual movies’ when they arise so the system makes more of them.
    Expand
  46. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Lucy es una película de ciencia ficción que te mantiene estimulado desde el primer momento que empieza la película hasta su final.

    Sin dudas esta película es un film bastante acelerado, en donde lo único que hace es ir directo al grano en cada punto de la trama, manteniendo al espectador en un estado de adrenalina bastante consecutivo, convirtiéndola en un largometraje que mantiene un
    Lucy es una película de ciencia ficción que te mantiene estimulado desde el primer momento que empieza la película hasta su final.

    Sin dudas esta película es un film bastante acelerado, en donde lo único que hace es ir directo al grano en cada punto de la trama, manteniendo al espectador en un estado de adrenalina bastante consecutivo, convirtiéndola en un largometraje que mantiene un ritmo veloz durante todos sus 89 minutos, entregando al público y siendo una ciencia ficción de ideas.
    Expand
  47. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    The science is just not true, but who cares, we have plenty of factual science shows if we want hard science. Instead we want a beautiful woman being a superwoman. And we get it...Taipei, Triads, Paris, Rome, an irreverently hilarious English guy. Morgan Freeman being cool.....and Scarlet being fantastic.. Lucy the first humanoid female is here too with a little spirituality thrownThe science is just not true, but who cares, we have plenty of factual science shows if we want hard science. Instead we want a beautiful woman being a superwoman. And we get it...Taipei, Triads, Paris, Rome, an irreverently hilarious English guy. Morgan Freeman being cool.....and Scarlet being fantastic.. Lucy the first humanoid female is here too with a little spirituality thrown in..Not a 10 really but 5.7 is way too low.. Expand
  48. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
    Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
    Don't know how people can give this a ZERO that's a bit ridiculous.
  49. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    The old "we only use 10% of our brains" thing has become widely talked about, especially as of late. Writer and director Luc Besson takes that scientific theory/urban myth and creates a wildly entertaining action sci-fi movie. While things get quite absurd it never breaks the bounds of reality anymore than other sci-fi movie has, so I really don't get the complaints surrounding that.

    At
    The old "we only use 10% of our brains" thing has become widely talked about, especially as of late. Writer and director Luc Besson takes that scientific theory/urban myth and creates a wildly entertaining action sci-fi movie. While things get quite absurd it never breaks the bounds of reality anymore than other sci-fi movie has, so I really don't get the complaints surrounding that.

    At least in this movie is in on it. There are quite a few nods to the audience that say Besson knows just how out there this whole thing is. It leads to some humor injected to the mix. The action is solid, but don't expect it to be a non-stop thing. The real treat comes from the impressive visual effects and Johansson's performance. As the character becomes less human Johansson becomes more interesting and fantastic.

    Watching "Lucy" flick through periods of time like she's swiping an iphone is an incredible treat to behold. The visual effects are marvelously done and as they get more intricate the more fun you'll have with this film. It's sci-fi at it's most fun. O

    This is one that takes the absurdity of it's premise and runs fully with it. Because of that certain elements of the plot can feel disjointed. For instance outside of one key plot-point surrounding Freeman's character, the supporting cast feels useless. However that never stopped me from enjoying it. Don't let the fact that's it's a science-fiction movie turn you away. There's a little something here for everyone.

    I give "Lucy" an 8.4/10.
    Expand
  50. Mar 1, 2015
    7
    The Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” the acronym for which was LSD, comes to mind in this film where the drug of choice is called CPH4. It’s not clear that this drug puts the addict in a pleasurable state of mind since it appears to cause much suffering, angst, and if overdosed, death or molecule disintegration and an omnipresence that is usually only attributed to God.The Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” the acronym for which was LSD, comes to mind in this film where the drug of choice is called CPH4. It’s not clear that this drug puts the addict in a pleasurable state of mind since it appears to cause much suffering, angst, and if overdosed, death or molecule disintegration and an omnipresence that is usually only attributed to God.

    Scarlett Johansson in the title role captures just the right balance of female vulnerability and steely superpowers that make her a force to be reckoned with. She is abducted in Taiwan by Korean bad guys, who sew a bag of the blue crystal-like substance into her abdomen with the plan to send her home and have the bag removed by the drug dealers. But first she is roughed up in a holding area, again by Korean hoodlums, who accidentally cause the bag to rupture and leak into her system. The drug has thus been administered to her, and she starts to obtain extrasensory powers and phenomenal strength because CPH4 allows the recipient to start using more than 10% of her brain. This is the primary theme of the plot, and all else hangs from this premise; it justifies the supporting role of Morgan Freeman, the neuroscience professor who has based his career and about 6,000 pages of publications on the study of how humans can use more of their brain matter.

    Unfortunately, this nineteenth-century belief has been dismissed long ago, but if one keeps up with the controversy about the power of Artificial Intelligence (AI), this dilemma is not as far-fetched as it would seem. We use 100% of our brain, but our intellect, reason, logic and enormous creative powers are based on only a tiny portion of our DNA that is different from that of a chimpanzee. We share about 96% of the same genetic material as a chimpanzee. That last bit is enormously powerful and is what makes us human. It has been hypothesized that if we can make a robot that emulates a human brain and then perhaps wire it to be just a little more evolved than a human brain, we are in danger of making a robot that can evolve by itself into something that may be omniscient, omnipresent, and dangerous, which is to say, we may unleash forces that we cannot control. Billionaire inventor Elon Musk and others are raising the alarm about the unpredictable dangers of AI. Lucy, if she were actually a human or a robot whose brain has been tampered with to jump ahead on the evolutionary ladder, may be a sample of what we would be dealing with.

    Just a slight revision in the film’s explanation behind how the fictional drug works changes the implausible premise of the film to a realistic one. Johannson is superb in the rendering of her transition from human to demigod. And Egyptian-born Amr Waked is excellent as the French police officer who feebly offers her protection even though she could wipe the floor with him. And it seems that Hollywood has found a new source for evil—Koreans. Russians used to be the bad guys, and then the Cold War ended. And many ethnic groups get offended if they are portrayed as stereotypical thugs; by the time The Lion King was produced, the only acceptable bad guy was a Brit (Jeremy Irons as the evil uncle) since Englishmen cannot claim to be ethnic. (They are the standard by which all ethnicity is measured.) Director Luc Besson did not overlook this option—Julian Rhind-Tutt is a bad guy who is also an English twit. In any case, some excellent Korean actors like Min-sik Choi (as Mr. Jang) will now be more employable.
    Expand
  51. Dec 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm just gonna cut right to the chase.

    Is this movie based on science fact?

    LOL. No. But it at least tries to tie into it.

    This movie is right up the same vein as Kill Bill or Pacific Rim.

    It's live-action anime.

    Sit back, and enjoy the show.

    SPOILERS:

    It's re-imagining of Metropolis
    Expand
  52. Dec 14, 2014
    7
    Apart from the B class script, performances and direction "Lucy" can still be entertaining, though never really lifts into full gear. An unoriginal backbone with hardly any scenes or reasoning, fails to shock even the simplest of audiences. Lucy never fully grasps what it wants to be, skipping this film could do you justice.
  53. Dec 28, 2014
    7
    Lucy. An innovative, epic and original science fiction/thriller film that completely surpassed my expectations.

    Just the action alone is superb, not to mention the incredible performance from Scarlett Johansson. The evolution-theme gives the film a great push, especially the opening scene. I wouldn’t define Lucy as a boring film, not by a long shot. It’s groovy and spectacular. But
    Lucy. An innovative, epic and original science fiction/thriller film that completely surpassed my expectations.

    Just the action alone is superb, not to mention the incredible performance from Scarlett Johansson. The evolution-theme gives the film a great push, especially the opening scene. I wouldn’t define Lucy as a boring film, not by a long shot. It’s groovy and spectacular. But unfortunately does Lucy have many flaws. It’s very hard to watch this film without notice that the film is based on “the ten percent of brain myth”. The film has great science fiction, but it should have been presented a bit more credible. It feels to extreme. This it the biggest flaw in Lucy. Another downside is the script, because the conversations feel enforced. There’s also no clear structure in the film, where’s it going? Other minor flaws are the CGI (which are great but some of them are not so well done, the SFX are on the other hand awesome). The film also feels a bit to excessive on some places. But, it’s still a cool and great film that I really recommend everyone to watch. The first act might not be so awesome as the second and the third, but it’s still a great film!

    There are much positive, but also negative sides of Lucy. I really like this film but the excessive amount of flaws pulls down my rating under an 8.

    Lucy gets a 7.8/10.
    Expand
  54. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    Its sad but seems that lots of people didn't understand the message of this movie. They probably waited something like Iron Man or X-Men etc, or White House saved by some super-heroes again. This movie is deeply philosophical and you should have already have some concerns in order to understand it. Probably its not for the masses, but at least it made a great effort to pass its importantIts sad but seems that lots of people didn't understand the message of this movie. They probably waited something like Iron Man or X-Men etc, or White House saved by some super-heroes again. This movie is deeply philosophical and you should have already have some concerns in order to understand it. Probably its not for the masses, but at least it made a great effort to pass its important message. There is no word in English to describe "To Όλον" (Greek word), which its close to "the Whole". In real reality, which is impossible to experience because of our limited senses, in universe there is no duality. Meaning, for instance, that there is no feelings because a feeling exist because we have experienced its opposite (this is duality, which also Greek philosopher Socrates talked about). You say you feel angry because you have experienced the feeling of joyfulness etc. I dont want to make spoiler, so I dont want to refer some of the movie scenes for this matter, and also I don't want to expand my review to my philosophical views. All I suggest is, some of the guys that found the movie boring or meaningless, they should try and watch it again in their after some years. Maybe, only maybe, they are in different way of thinking.

    This movie is on my top ever favorite list!
    Expand
  55. Feb 10, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how someThis is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how some people use their imagination in critical moments. Expand
  56. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    Good action flick provided you can check your brain at the door and ignore the ridiculous science explanations (Morgan Freeman has never sounded so unconvincing). It's a bit predictable in parts but alot of the film is pure eye candy including most of the special effects and the main chase scene! Very watchable
  57. Oct 14, 2014
    7
    A quick review, couple of hours after watching the movie...
    Couldn't really decide whether it was good or bad. Or both.
    The movie is rather suspenseful, I'll give you that. I was never sure what's going to happen next and the movie keeps you tensed and following the plot. I found some of the scenes shocking and a little disturbing, but that could just be me. The movie is centered
    A quick review, couple of hours after watching the movie...
    Couldn't really decide whether it was good or bad. Or both.

    The movie is rather suspenseful, I'll give you that. I was never sure what's going to happen next and the movie keeps you tensed and following the plot.
    I found some of the scenes shocking and a little disturbing, but that could just be me.

    The movie is centered around some woman which gets the ability to use more than 10% of her brain, an ability which regular humans lack according to the movie (and I'm not sure if that's entirely correct).
    Anyway, the movie sways randomly from silliness to sophistication, with senseless violence in the middle. That's definitely how I'd describe it in one sentence.

    It made me keep thinking about it after watching it, it made me go write a review ...
    That's good enough, I guess.
    The movie surely is entertaining, in a somewhat cheap way with some smart touches.
    If you're into sci-fi andor human mind stuff, give it a try.
    Expand
  58. Jan 31, 2015
    7
    I have been a pretty big fan of Luc Besson's work in recent memory. He's be responsible for a lot of Liam Neeson's recent projects, like Taken and he directed the Family which was a pretty good movie as well. I thought Lucy was so good for the first hour and ten minutes. I was really shocked that the overall product could be this good. The topic is way over everyone's head but I thoughtI have been a pretty big fan of Luc Besson's work in recent memory. He's be responsible for a lot of Liam Neeson's recent projects, like Taken and he directed the Family which was a pretty good movie as well. I thought Lucy was so good for the first hour and ten minutes. I was really shocked that the overall product could be this good. The topic is way over everyone's head but I thought Besson did a good job not to let it get too out of hand. I imagine there is a lot of stuff in this movie that is scientifically inaccurate but I tried to ignore that and I managed to enjoy it. This movie would have gotten a way better score from me if the ending wasn't so crazy, all over the place and hard to understand. I also like the casting of Scarlett Johansson. It nice to see Black Widow doing some more action movies. I'd watch another action movie with her in it. Expand
  59. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    I was highly entertained for the majority of the runtime, even though the movie seemed irrational at times for its scientifically inaccurate plot, I must give it credibility for its creative hypothesis. The Action sequences were impressive and the visual effects were stunning.
  60. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    I really love this film! This's best sci-fi i ever watch! With so much scientific and proving, some kind like making that the film is real, the theory is real! I hope see Lucy 2 soon!
  61. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    I found this movie a good excuse to get an entertainment time...that´s all..You can´t asking more of the film. However I will googling a while to find out if the scientific facts they talk about in the movie could have a bit of truth.
    Encontré esta película una buena excusa para entretenerme un rato... eso es todo.. no se le puede pedir más al filme. Sin embargo, voy a googlear un rato
    I found this movie a good excuse to get an entertainment time...that´s all..You can´t asking more of the film. However I will googling a while to find out if the scientific facts they talk about in the movie could have a bit of truth.
    Encontré esta película una buena excusa para entretenerme un rato... eso es todo.. no se le puede pedir más al filme. Sin embargo, voy a googlear un rato para averiguar si los hechos científicos que hablan en la película podría tener un poco de verdad.
    Expand
  62. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie.....i thought it would be boring because of the name, but surprisingly it was the best movie.... I think they should make movies like Lucy
  63. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    Lucy is a high-intensity science fiction spectacle with strong, realistic characters that endure great development through the story. The concept and script are excellently written with sublime special effects and visuals. The film lacks the typical action associated with Luc Besson's writing but with the lack of action benefits the strength of the sci-fi concept. However, the story isLucy is a high-intensity science fiction spectacle with strong, realistic characters that endure great development through the story. The concept and script are excellently written with sublime special effects and visuals. The film lacks the typical action associated with Luc Besson's writing but with the lack of action benefits the strength of the sci-fi concept. However, the story is shown in such an interesting and dynamic way that it doesn't waste the only measurement worth anything: time. Expand
  64. WJS
    Aug 1, 2015
    8
    Scarlett Johansson is brilliant and magnetic in this fast passed, intriguing and entertaining Sci Fi action thriller that's very well directed by Luc Besson. It's at times very violent and crazy but still very entertaining with some great action set pieces and the supporting players are also very good, especially Morgan Freeman. Some of the visuals are also very interesting and I thinkScarlett Johansson is brilliant and magnetic in this fast passed, intriguing and entertaining Sci Fi action thriller that's very well directed by Luc Besson. It's at times very violent and crazy but still very entertaining with some great action set pieces and the supporting players are also very good, especially Morgan Freeman. Some of the visuals are also very interesting and I think that this film is well worth the time spent watching it. Expand
  65. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    A thinker + Scarlett Johanson being the most awesome badass ever = 10

    A crazy action film with Scarlett being a badass, with a great performance from Morgan Freeman and Other actors who's names I've never heard before, and plenty of philosophy to go with it (it's just one of those movies that make you walk out of the theatre or your living room like: whooah!") than its awesome!
  66. Jan 26, 2015
    8
    It's a good movie with good action scenes. Yes the science behind the plot is all wrong but it's a movie, and when has Hollywood ever gotten science or history correct in there films. So if you can not take everything so serious then you should enjoy this film. It's surely not gonna win film of the year but it's certainly is and entertaining 90 minutes.
  67. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Great movie, I really loved the plot. It's not a movie you would want to watch over and over, but it's worth watching. This movie is what I like to call brain candy. There's no point to watching it, it's just a good movie.
  68. May 16, 2015
    10
    Lucy (2014), a film by Luc Besson, considered a science-fiction movie which hasn’t really received many good critical reviews is way more than meets the eye (or the mind). If words can reach its infinite meaning, I will be trying to do this here.
    What started as a drama in which some characters were being victims of a drug cartel ended up as a philosophical and, literally, mind-blowing
    Lucy (2014), a film by Luc Besson, considered a science-fiction movie which hasn’t really received many good critical reviews is way more than meets the eye (or the mind). If words can reach its infinite meaning, I will be trying to do this here.
    What started as a drama in which some characters were being victims of a drug cartel ended up as a philosophical and, literally, mind-blowing movie – compared only to Inception or the very few similar ones. The main character, a woman named Lucy, is a common woman who is forced to transport, she believed, a syntectic drug. Yet, it proves to be much more than that when she is accidentally affected by that after some (can you imagine) kicks in her stomach. From here on, she becomes much more than a woman, as the professor interpreted by Morgan Freeman explains in flashbacks through the beginning of the movie.
    As predicted by him, after human beings (in this case Lucy) reaches more than 10% than the human brain potential they beginning to develop what we call paranormal capacities, like controlling gravity, electromagnetism and so on, including other people. And it keeps increasing until one reaches 100% - in which point no one really knows what is going to happen.
    This movie develops in a rapid speed from drama, to action, to (a kind of platonic) romance seasoned with lots of sci-fi elements that many would disregard as silly. What can be done what that, though? It also means that this movie becomes much more than a science-fiction movie (most of them), a philosophical movie (which is also one of the reasons Matrix 1 became such a cult movie after one goes beyond that bullet-dodging moment).
    The ending is as amazing, actually, much more amazing than what we hoped it to be, since one big question pops to mind and stays there: what would humanity do with so much knowledge that is impossible to even fathom? I bet nobody really knows that answer, though it reminds us how the Devil tempted Jesus in the desert, with all the knowledge in the world (and He refused). However this is not a religious discussion, just one of the most crucial aspects of mankind taken into consideration.
    Therefore, I invite you to watch this movie with open mind (pun intended) and no pre-conceptions of what some trailer of some 15 or 30 first minutes can present to any viewer.
    Expand
  69. May 25, 2015
    7
    I would give this movie a 7.5/10 not for its action or anything but for how interesting the whole concept of it is. Yes, it's science fiction because no, if you could fully contorl you're brain you couldn't control time, etc. That doesn't mean it's not interesting to see what new abilities she gets upon achieveing each new level of control over her brian. Too many people complain aboutI would give this movie a 7.5/10 not for its action or anything but for how interesting the whole concept of it is. Yes, it's science fiction because no, if you could fully contorl you're brain you couldn't control time, etc. That doesn't mean it's not interesting to see what new abilities she gets upon achieveing each new level of control over her brian. Too many people complain about "not enough action" and "the science makes no sense." I didn't expect non-stop action and would be disappointed if that's what I got. Well,t here you have it. I enjoyed the movie almost enough to give it an 8/10. Expand
  70. Jun 29, 2015
    8
    Life was given to us a billion years ago, now you know what to do with it. A Young woman whose brain has become powerful enough to have access to every information of this universe, the approach of the movie is one that gives us the access to the dearth of human life and its marshalling. A mind boggling, mind- expanding, exhilarating thriller. Scarlett Johansson in the movie has actedLife was given to us a billion years ago, now you know what to do with it. A Young woman whose brain has become powerful enough to have access to every information of this universe, the approach of the movie is one that gives us the access to the dearth of human life and its marshalling. A mind boggling, mind- expanding, exhilarating thriller. Scarlett Johansson in the movie has acted gracefully, beautifully and in the unique expansion as is given to her in her deserving role of superwoman from an indie-film icon and Marvel-universe sidekick, netting unity to the infinity of the concept. Although the concept was a recalcitrant one, the philosophy is the one that says more than the fantastic concept of using your brain to its maximum capacity. The fast pacing movie is one to be watched with an open view, and not with the circumspection of finding logic in it. By and Large, a fantasy that will get you challenged with grand notion that with great power comes genetic transformation and a baffling imaginary to support this pseudoscience. Expand
  71. Aug 11, 2015
    8
    Despite an instantly unlikable character in the lead role (Lucy) this movie dazzles with intelligence, dark humor and a fierce attack on the current limitations of humankind. Everyone has heard that people use only 10-15% of their brain-power and "Lucy" takes that concept to a satisfying extreme. With allusions to witchcraft, near-death-experience and LSD, theDespite an instantly unlikable character in the lead role (Lucy) this movie dazzles with intelligence, dark humor and a fierce attack on the current limitations of humankind. Everyone has heard that people use only 10-15% of their brain-power and "Lucy" takes that concept to a satisfying extreme. With allusions to witchcraft, near-death-experience and LSD, the script/direction/acting/effects encompass nearly everything a viewer could expect from the concept. (Lucy being the name of the oldest female human skeleton found on Earth is quite funny, in that Lucy in the film starts out at 7% capacity.) Like in the movie "Her," Johansson wraps her mind around artificial intelligence and manages to exude a cool congeniality while becoming superhuman. Sadly, Morgan Freeman as a professor of neuroscience (parodied in Scary Movie 5?) seems more like an afterthought than anything integral to the plot. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    This undeniably silly, but raucously entertaining, off-the-wall transhumanist actioner is an absolute riot.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.