Focus Features | Release Date: September 28, 2007
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
9
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
TimC.Mar 10, 2008
This is a great film if you understand Chinese language and the historic background. It kept me focused throughout the entire movie. Ang Lee knew that there could be cultural barrier for westerners watching this movie, for he said he cared This is a great film if you understand Chinese language and the historic background. It kept me focused throughout the entire movie. Ang Lee knew that there could be cultural barrier for westerners watching this movie, for he said he cared most about how Taiwanese and Chinese people viewed the film. Sense of patriotism exhibited during the Japanese occupation and Chinese feeling about traitors is not easily appreciated. By the way, it is largely based on a true story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
nate8Feb 6, 2013
-tension builds in Leung's silences, Tang's glances, spy angst, and Japanese occupation, then explosive in sex and murder
-title themes reflect emotions of the time, possibly Japanese regional ambition and international diplomacy (?)
-good
-tension builds in Leung's silences, Tang's glances, spy angst, and Japanese occupation, then explosive in sex and murder
-title themes reflect emotions of the time, possibly Japanese regional ambition and international diplomacy (?)
-good substories of acting, mahjong, and women's roles
-big historical events not detailed or tightly tied to plot development
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CjK.Oct 5, 2007
Acting was superb. plot abit draggy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aawJan 6, 2008
"Lust, Caution," is a subtle, exquisite, touching masterpiece. My favorite movie of the year. Beautiful and painful. I nearly missed seeing this film-- don't make that mistake-- see it on the big screen-- definitely worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YUW.Dec 20, 2007
It's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoraLOct 22, 2007
The movie was seductive and I became very wrapped up in the plot. I don't understand a couple of the comments about how raping a woman and giving her a diamond will make her fall in love with you. This unjustly summarizes what actually The movie was seductive and I became very wrapped up in the plot. I don't understand a couple of the comments about how raping a woman and giving her a diamond will make her fall in love with you. This unjustly summarizes what actually happened. By simplifying the plot in this crude manner, you ignore the psychological aspects. Mr. Yee and Wong's relationship was presumably Wong's only relationship and it's understandable that she would develop feelings for Mr. Yee. She even said that although she hated him, she could feel him slowly creeping into her heart. I really enjoyed the film despite the sub-titles. It's one of the better films I've watched this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikolaZ.Sep 28, 2007
Amazing... subtle... powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JodieF.Sep 30, 2007
Lee has perfectly captured the details, textures, sights and sounds of a China caught between East and West, occupied by an ancient enemy and quaking on the eve of an earth-shaking revolution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamM.Jan 23, 2008
A lot of the subtlety are possibly lost on viewers who aren't familiar with the idea that there are many Chinese languages, which is perhaps one reason they complain about the first half being boring, or limp as the Salon reviewer A lot of the subtlety are possibly lost on viewers who aren't familiar with the idea that there are many Chinese languages, which is perhaps one reason they complain about the first half being boring, or limp as the Salon reviewer wrote. The heroine was originally from Shanghai (speak Shanghainese) was posing as someone who grew up in Hong Kong (speak Cantonese). With no exposure of the other language an native Shanghainese (a person that is born in Shanghai) wouldn't understand a word in Cantonese (as in the language), and vice versa. In one scene the heroin and the wives were listening to ??, an art form that originated from Suzhou, a province that borders Shanghai. Suzhou's culture and language is v similar to Shanghai while quite different from Hong Kong's. You can see the heroin was tense all through, pretending that she doesn't really know anything a word of it. The equivalent in terms of European languages would be a Portuguese girl posing as a French girl, sitting through a Spanish play while pretending that she doesn't understand a word of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MacyT.Feb 7, 2008
Unlike the previous films directed by Mr Lee, Ang. This film give me a strong sense of heaviness and tension. I was moved and I had complex feelings about that. It's certainly not a film about erotics. It's a film showing the love Unlike the previous films directed by Mr Lee, Ang. This film give me a strong sense of heaviness and tension. I was moved and I had complex feelings about that. It's certainly not a film about erotics. It's a film showing the love and lust, the human struggling and strikes for survival in that period of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KathleenJ.Mar 28, 2008
I liked the juxtaposition of political vs. sexual passion, intimacy vs. isolationism, and intellectual vs. emotional connections. Also beautifully and convincingly filmed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jorjaL.Mar 9, 2008
Those who didn't "get" this story seemed to have REALLY not gotten it. This is a truly beautiful movie, deeply touching and dramatic. It wasn't a popcorn action movie for people whose attention span can't make it past a Those who didn't "get" this story seemed to have REALLY not gotten it. This is a truly beautiful movie, deeply touching and dramatic. It wasn't a popcorn action movie for people whose attention span can't make it past a 30-second TV ad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MathewB.Oct 14, 2007
After a slow start, a really good movie develops. Very, very subtle with a lot to say. Challenging, but worth it. Great performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michellecOct 17, 2007
Simply Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Oct 21, 2007
Ultimately, "Lust, Caution" received a NC-17 rating by the MPAA because its simulated(?) love scenes are actually hot, not merely graphic. All those positions Yee(Tony Leung) and Wang(Wei Tang) engage in has the unintentional effect of Ultimately, "Lust, Caution" received a NC-17 rating by the MPAA because its simulated(?) love scenes are actually hot, not merely graphic. All those positions Yee(Tony Leung) and Wang(Wei Tang) engage in has the unintentional effect of evoking Trey Parker and Matt Stone's "Team America: World Police". This time, nobody's laughing. In the darkness that looms around Wei's orifice, some audience members may try to determine if the sex is indeed simulated, because Leung(who must be having the time of his life) thrusts with conviction. The sex must be emotionally satisfying to the point of having a transcending effect on both lovers. When they're in talking mode, to my recollection, neither lover ever laughs, or even cracks a smile. "Lust, Caution" is, quite literally, "The Spy Who Shagged Me". Wang is drawn to this tyrant as a sort of surrogate for a fellow comrade who declares his love too late. "Lust, Caution" should've developed this storyline a little better so the audience could better feel its ramifications. If Wang knew he wasn't gay, but just shy about his feelings for her, she could've engaged in the deceitful lovemaking with a sense of detachment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeU.Dec 16, 2007
I loved this movie. It combines beautiful production values, great acting and directing, and a wonderful story, with nuanced phsycological depictions of the characters. Frankly, one of my favorites, and a memorable film for a long time to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertG.Sep 27, 2007
Best film by Lee yet. Beautiful and full of emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Sep 27, 2007
A gripping and absorbing movie. Easily one of the best of the year. I don't think the critics who called this 'lugubrious' or 'monotonous' saw the same movie I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Hollyc.Mar 28, 2008
Lust,Caution is definitely worth seeing if you haven't already. Incredible immersion into WWII China and a group of young college dramatists who take an active role in resisting the Japanese occupation--but more importantly, the Chinese Lust,Caution is definitely worth seeing if you haven't already. Incredible immersion into WWII China and a group of young college dramatists who take an active role in resisting the Japanese occupation--but more importantly, the Chinese upper class who collaborate with the Japanese. Both Tony Leung and Tang Wei are absolutely stellar here. The characters these two become just stick with you--along with their complex relationship/story. The sex scenes were amazing--though I don't think they were matched with the same dramatic/suspense --it's almost as if they were too subtle with much of it--that's just my opinion, though I know others thought it was overt enough. I thought the ending, particularly, was perfect. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
adakFeb 19, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. //Spoiler//
Tony Leung was wonderful but Tang Wei was brilliant, you were able to feel her innocence, a naivee girl abandoned by every man without much say until she meets Mr.Yee. This time she choose to sacrifice herself for him out of love. These were characters with many flaws, broken human beings but love was their escape. Ang Lee carefully weaves you into their psychology and if you are willing can see that they were two very lonely people that found each other in the cold world that they were a part of. In each other they found a piece of themselves. They were able to feel and live again, even if it was for a short while. The ending has to be that way because that is the kind of survival world Mr.Yee lives in. Everyone does what they are suppose to do and take the consequences for their actions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews