User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 139
  2. Negative: 33 out of 139

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2014
    4
    The whole Machete thing has always been a joke. When the fake trailer appeared in the Grindhouse, it was a funny one. Then it got out of hand. The first movie was pretty watchable, but the joke was starting to get overused, you can't make a good movie out of a single gag (or at least Rodriguez can't). This time, the sequel has come very close to the line that separates a crappy movie from a mediocre one. Utter senselessness, poor visual effects, cheesy acting and stupid forced dialogues just don't go unnoticed.
    Who pulls this from the depths of awfulness are Michelle Rodriguez (she's hot), Amber Heard (she's even hotter), Mel Gibson (it's a shame he's had a blow to his reputation, he's still same ol' awesome Mel) and Charlie Sheen (because any movie gets better with jokes about Charlie Sheen and hookers or drugs).
    So, Machete Kills is barely watchable and gets a very weak 4 out of 10, which is actually 3.5 rounded to 4, something like that. And considering the open nods to an even more ridiculous sequel set in space, things will get worse.
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2014
    0
    Barely any good movie . When I saw the trailer I thought that this movie would be an interesting action movie but when I watched it i realized that I was terribly . First of all lets see uhm oh yeah the budget is only 20 million U.S
    which is fairly cheap that especialy hurts on the gun animation which basically sucks . And second off all oh lets see the story sucks. its About a mexican
    of a U.S or where ever he's from who must stop a drug lord . but then it turns out he saves him . so theres another character which is lady gaga or akon or whatever and she/he kills every one she meets . I didn't even finish watching before I had to throw up . so yeah Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    3
    I'm unimpressed with a crazed killer flying around the world aimlessly. Sure, Danny Trejo embodies an exciting Machete--but there's no point to it. It's campy where a film shouldn't be. Even Lady Gaga's cameo is useless.
  4. chw
    Aug 21, 2014
    4
    I really should have seen the first Machete before I saw this, because after I watched all of this, I didn't want to watch any Robert Rodriguez movies at all (unless it was Sin City, Sin City is so badass).
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    i love the danny trejo as machete . this is better then the first one i love trejo's violence it is more epic and rockness and more thrilling i can wait for the thrid one
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    This is a good movie, the ending could have been better and the plot and story where all over the place but I still managed to enjoy the film, if you enjoyed the first one you will enjoy this
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want a smart and artistic film this is not your movie, but if you want fun and violence, can be better than the most of Hollywood movies,
    Si lo que tu buscas es una película inteligente y artística enserio esta no es tu película, pero si lo que tu buscas es diversión y acción puede que resulte mejor que la mayoría de las películas de Hollywood
    Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2014
    1
    While I wasn’t a fan of the first film, I kinda get why it resonated with certain audience members. Dark comedies are fantastic (in my opinion) and Machete was just an unapologetic jumble of boobs, blood, guns and sheer ridiculousness. However, the sequel fails to recapture that formula and, ultimately, ended up feeling like a parody or like someone was making fun of Robert Rodriguez and the first movie. The jokes are terrible, the action is forgettable and the story is a sloppy excuse of a Grindhouse parody. While some of the characters might have been intriguing or even awesome, Rodriguez wastes them and treats them like they are nothing more than filler to make the film get to a feature length. The only saving grace is that Mel Gibson is incredible as the film’s bad guy. Other than that, the film was just a sequel that didn’t need to be made…but that’s not shocking when you take into consideration that the film is a sequel to a movie that was created from a fake trailer. Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    4
    While there are a myriad of characters, explosions, celebrity cameos and violence this film is far too simple and dumb to be that interesting. Only the promise of a sequel set in space makes this worth a watch and even then as it seems less grindhouse and more spoof.
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    Honestly, I liked the first film enough to give this one a shot and I hated it. It just was not good at all. I can deal with the poor acting, generic plots, and terrible special effects but honestly, I expected something at least watchable/entertaining and this was neither.
  11. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    In my opinion this is a really unnecessary sequel with a huge cliffhanger to another unnecessary sequel. The first Machete had some noncence in it, but it actually had some story behind that. Machete Kills seems like nonsence for the sake of noncesnce and nothing more. There are some cool moments, but overall I didn't really like it.
  12. Jan 3, 2014
    3
    Película desagradável muito abaixo da primeira, certamente um dos piores filmes de 2013, um descaso de genialidade da produção e do diretor, fraco, ruim e mal feito.
  13. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Not as good as the original, but worth seeing if you liked the first one. Notable for the jokes far more than the action sequences. Charlie Sheen is a hoot as the president.
  14. Dec 28, 2013
    3
    While the first movie is an enjoying experience Machette Kills is just to much of all and feels like a parody and not like a hommage to the genre, like the first on was.
  15. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    Ever start laughing because the movie is so bad, well Machete Kills is that. Everything about the movie deserves a F, including the effort to try and make something even remotely interesting. The movie is a pile of garbage that happens to be one of the worst movies in a very long time.
  16. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    Let me start off by saying love love love the first Machete. I can watch it anytime... This one, not so much. Robert Rodriquez swung for the fences with this one and it missed. Some people will never ever say anything bad about the guy and some will genuinely like it, but to be honest.. it just didn't have that X factor the first Machete did. This time around Machete is more like a super hero. He is sent on a mission to Mexico by the President (excellent choice of casting Charlie Sheen, using his birth name of Carlos Esteves). But other than that, (and of course Danny Trejo and Michelle Rodriquez), the rest of the cast just didn't fit. The schizo Mexican revolutionary didn't fit, Cuba was completely out of place, wasn't really feeling Lady Gaga or Amber Heard (even though she is gorgeous) and the gorgeous Sophia Vegara was just a little too manic. But it really wasn't that.. the film just was kind of flat, even the action scenes weren't clicking. Maybe because they gave away too much in the previews. Maybe its because they made Machete inhuman.. All I know is that when I was in the theater, 3 people around me fell asleep and 4 people walked out a hour after the film started... AND it wasn't that many people in the theater. Gosh I wanted it to be so much better.. This is a rental, at best Expand
  17. Dec 5, 2013
    3
    This sequel is so bad I questioned whether or not I even liked the first movie. I want to post spoilers to help you save money but I won't. Avoid this gigantic troll of a movie.
  18. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    Very fun movie. Over the top action, characters and full of well known actors playing this ridiculous characters. If you liked the first movie you will like this one as well. Can't wait for Machete in space hahaha.
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    Cheesy visuals, dry humor, and predictable in every way describe this movie pretty well. Don't waste your time on this when there are much better comedies out there.
  20. Nov 14, 2013
    2
    All of the ingredients of the original but somehow none of the result. An ill put together bore-fest you are better off re-watching the original which remains a classic.
  21. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    How can this man stand in front of this great selection of superstars? I mean looking at his face makes me just think "where's my pimple pick? yack!" but in the next moment all these models come and the peak of stupidity I can only see watching Germany's Helge Schneider. It's a hard trial for my tolerance in irony, it's such a trash movie that I must look for the next hard drink to feel like a real MAN. Oh how ridiculous! Go away! Trejo! Does humour belong in sinkholes? Expand
  22. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Bizzare settings and extreme violence, Machete Kills is good in it's all way. The movie may not be suitable for some viewers, though. Please think wisely before watching as it can be quite disturbing.
  23. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE most badass movie of 2013! I loved every minute of it! Basic plot is that Machete is now going after a nutjob who wants to nuke the world. Standard Grindhouse plot but oh does it set up for what could be THE BEST SEQUEL EVER! PROS: +Danny Trejo is once again AWESOME as Machete and this time is giving some more lines to say (EX: Machete Don't Tweet---No One Knows Machete) +Charlie Sheen (Credited as Carlos Estvez, his real name) plays a REALLY good President of USA +Lady Gaga can ACTUALLY act! AND she is dressed normal! No meat dress, no bubble dress, just a standard dress +Marko Zarzor as the body guard...oh my god can this guy fight and kick! +The two helicopter kills +Madame Desdemona (played by Sofía Vergara) is on crazy SOB! Her weapons include a TEC-9, her "Double D's" (which have to be seen to believe!), and the Robert Rodriguez famous "Crotch Rocket Pistol". +Alexa Vega returns and BOY did she change! +Two of THE most badass machetes out there: A Three bladed one and one I won't DARE spoil! +Mel Gibson +A Cameo by a certain "Star Trek" AND "Star Wars" item +A couple cool twists (One you see coming and a few you don't) +The Molecular Disrupter Pistol. Probably the GORIEST weapon I've seen in any movie! +The Border Patrol Returns in one of the funniest scenes in the film! CONS: -Antonio Banderas is only in the film for a few minutes or so - La Camaleón, while a interesting concept, is sorta lame at points -The Flamethrower aftermath (I thought the burns on the face would've been more server) -Madame Desmonda and her girls disappear after a car chase -Tom Savini's cameo is.....eh? -More of a nitpick, but what the heck was up with the idiot shooting an Ak-47 one handed and sideways at the beginning of the film?! -The scene with the president and Machete sorta copies the first films scene between Michael Booth and Machete FINAL SCORE: 9 out of 10 Expand
  24. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    7
    I had a lot of fun seeing Machete Kills at the theater. The action is over-the-top and I thought Mel Gibson gave a memorable performance as the villain. If they ever make the next movie that they tease in the intro and outro, I'll be there.
  25. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    Machete Kills is a insane and frequently hilarious sequel that is as over-the-top as it is bloody and stands its own against its predecessor. Though this film was intended to be bad, critics seem to have forgotten that, which is a great shame. The acting is great and the pace is break-neck. This may did have some somewhat unnecessary scenes and characters and may even feel a little bloated at times, but most of the time, its constant entertainment value covers this. Machete Kills, in the end, is an underrated sequel that is on par with its predecessor and is mind-melting entertainment. I cannot wait for Machete Kills Again...In Space. If it will ever happen of course, since it is not making a lot of money in the US, which is a shame. Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    "Machete Kills" is inferior to the first one, has no cohesive plot, and the best thing in this movie is Mel Gibson! But it works as it is, mediocre parody with some creative kills!
  27. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This movie is good solid fun. If it is given a bad review it is because the person reviewing it has no sense of humor. Slap stick much like Austin Powers, only much funnier. I laughed from the beginning to the end.
  28. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a good film it made me laght i can't wait untill another one comes out it will be awsome all the actors they have in the film are well known all over the world and each and every one, It's so freaking ridiculous, even more so than the original in all the right ways. The action is great, bloody and creative. The plot is so bonkers and unpredictable you'll always be wondering what will happen next, the casting is excellent and many of the many many maaaaaany characters are likeable an Expand
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Danny Trejo is back as the grizzled tough guy, out to save the US from several crazed maniacs. Director Robert Rodriguez has returned to grindhouse territory with over-the-top violence, hot women and cheesy special effects. His script is too often talky and the dialogue isn't that clever. Some of the action is inventive, while a lot of it is just noisy. The star-chocked cast doesn't go far enough into camp (again, blame the writing). When this movie is good, it's loads of fun, but it's not as outrageous or inspired as the genre demands. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for 2 outtakes. Expand
  30. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    As a fan of the first Machete film I really liked this movie. Great escapism over the top fun as well as a good parody of the grind house type films I saw as a teen in the 70's at local theaters both drive-in and otherwise. My only complaint about this movie was the lack of gratuitous female nudity. Hopefully Mr. Rodriguez will make up for this in the next installment "Machete Kills Again... in space!" Looking forward to that one. Ignore the negative reviews! This is a fun, entertaining film; it doesn't take itself too seriously and nor should the viewer, Watch it and enjoy! Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen in the theater in my entire life. And that is saying something. Whatever political or social themes this movie wanted to convey...it confused itself with the absurd to the point that there is nothing here to really watch. And I'm saying this as a fan of the first one which was a very sexy movie. The sequel is not sexy, has no nudity, and makes no sense. It tries (but fails) in any attempts at humor, has an uneven plot, and the action simply does not compare to the first one. Maybe some movies just shouldn't be done again. It seems like a third one might be in the works. They are milking this one dry, but when it all becomes about the money...quality is the true cost that is lost. Expand
  32. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    For a movie like this, it's all just based off of this joke. If you're into the joke, then you'll absolutely love this movie. But if you're not, then you'll completely hate "Machete Kills". Overall, while it's suppose to pull off this cheesy old look, it's still not that good of a movie. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  33. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The film is very steep, it is saturated with militants 80 years, clean trash, which of course, is not like a movie worth seeing everyone!Excellent continuation of the first film, all the critics are going to hell!
  34. Oct 11, 2013
    5
    Machete suffers from too many co-stars and drags on and on. It also ends abruptly. There are a few things I would of done differently in the editing room too. Enough hate though, this movie does have some good qualities. One of them is Charlie Sheen (Estevez!) as the president of the free world. Of course Machete is the front man for this ensemble of characters that keeps the movie flying along at a roadrunners pace. I liked the first one a lot!!!! This one was entertaining as grind-house cinema but not much more. Expand
  35. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Guns don’t kill. Machete Kills! Actually, the opening scene of this bizarre sequel to the even bizarre-er 2010 original Machete shows that guns do kill. They just don’t kill Machete (Danny Trejo), whom you’ll recall from the first film survived a shot to the head when the bullet was blocked by another bullet, already lodged in his skull. Machete Kills continues director/co-writer Robert Rodriguez’s penchant for outrageous plot developments performed by “what-the?” casting choices. Mel Gibson plays a villain straight out of a Bond film Moonraker, to be precise. Charlie Sheen (listed in the credits by his birth name, Carlos Estevez) follows in his father’s footsteps as the U.S. President. And Lady Gaga is introduced as “whoever she wants to be.” Name your box-office poison. If Fatty Arbuckle were still around, he’d have a cameo for sure. Yet somehow, the results work. That’s probably because Rodriguez takes nothing seriously. The plot which could fit on the back of a cereal box, but only the really sugary kind involves a Mexican madman (Oscar nominee Demian Bichir) who wants the U.S. to clean up the corruption in his country, or he’ll fire a nuclear warhead at Washington. (Apparently he’s been reading Madman Tactics for Dummies.) President Sheen, or Estevez, or whatever, calls on Machete to help. “You know Mexico,” he tells the taciturn strongman. “Hell, you are Mexico.” Helping him will be a government agent played by Amber Heard. Her cover identity is beauty pageant winner Miss San Antonio, but has the operative gone too deep into character? In one scene she texts Machete: CU There! More about the story I cannot reveal. It’s not that I’m against spoilers; I just wasn’t sure what was going on most of the time, although whatever it is, it’s as funny as a roadrunner cartoon and only about 2.5 times as violent. Machete faces off against La Camaleón, a shape-shifting assassin played by a bewildering array of actors (Cuba Gaga Banderas Jr., etc). He crosses paths with Desdemona (Sofia Vergara), whose 32F brassieres pack a 38-calibre punch. (You’ll never guess where she keeps her backup firepower.) He hooks up with former partner Luz (Michelle Rodriguez), who sports a sexy eye patch and has a feminist revolutionary poster on her wall that reads Shé. And he makes use of a road-tunnel under the U.S.-Mexican border, stolen directly from 2009’s Fast & Furious. The movie runs for 107 minutes but features a ticking-clock timeline that allows it to pack more into 24 hours than, well, 24. And it opens with a fake trailer for Machete Kills Again In Space! At least, I think it’s a fake trailer. You may recall that the first Machete sprang from just such a bogus teaser, attached to 2007’s Grindhouse. So while Machete likes to say “Machete don’t” lines Machete don’t smoke, tweet, joke, etc. the one thing Machete seems destined to do is return. Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    What an amazing movie. It's so freaking ridiculous, even more so than the original in all the right ways. The action is great, bloody and creative. The plot is so bonkers and unpredictable you'll always be wondering what will happen next, the casting is excellent and many of the many many maaaaaany characters are likeable and they have some epic lines. Machete Kills is the most fun I've had at the cinemas since Pacific Rim. If you and your friends want to have a good, absurd time, then this is the movie for you. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Oct 11, 2013
    40
    The odd vivid shot reminds you of Rodriguez's dynamic visual imagination, but also what it's wasted on here: a project as indifferent as some of the trash that inspired it.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 11, 2013
    25
    When a celebrity chef like Rodriguez is just going through the motions, we can smell that the grindhouse fad is way past its expiration date. It's time to put a fork in it.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Oct 11, 2013
    50
    The picture is assembled with energy and a smidgen of style, but it's tiresome and slight.