Menemsha Entertainment | Release Date: January 19, 2005
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
2
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KrisV.H.Aug 2, 2006
Excellent movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
erikaQ.Oct 15, 2005
You have to see it. i personally liked that there is not narration in the movie the enables everybody including the audience t o havea personal feeling for the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zumikotOct 25, 2006
This the best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardG.Jul 28, 2006
Rented this film from blockbuster, watched it twice and then bought it. One of the best foreign language movies I've EVER seen. Would love to see a sequel set in the present day where the two boys meet up after all those years apart. Rented this film from blockbuster, watched it twice and then bought it. One of the best foreign language movies I've EVER seen. Would love to see a sequel set in the present day where the two boys meet up after all those years apart. would be really interesting. Great soundtrack too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisV.H.Nov 11, 2005
Excellent movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelicaS.Nov 2, 2006
One of the best movies I have ever seen! It depicts Chile's political events through the friendship of 2 children - a boy from a shanty town and an upper class boy. Both of them are meant to have a future depending on their background One of the best movies I have ever seen! It depicts Chile's political events through the friendship of 2 children - a boy from a shanty town and an upper class boy. Both of them are meant to have a future depending on their background and opportunities it provides, although being children they don't know it themselves and only the human aspect of their friendship is important to them (as it naturally is for children). Very moving, sweet story, which makes you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GLENTMar 13, 2008
Arguably the most viewer-friendly depiction of a bloody era in Chile. I lived in Santiago at the time, and I'm amazed about how closely the makers were able to reproduce the real street scenes; the public phone cabins, vehicles, Arguably the most viewer-friendly depiction of a bloody era in Chile. I lived in Santiago at the time, and I'm amazed about how closely the makers were able to reproduce the real street scenes; the public phone cabins, vehicles, fashion, social drama, interior design, period media, ... fascinating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GarethWApr 27, 2009
Ehhh. The scene with condensed milk was totally uncalled for and unnerving. The soundtrack ruined it for me, the music that was playing was often inappropriate for the tone of the scene. Think upbeat mariachi music at a funeral. Gonzalo was Ehhh. The scene with condensed milk was totally uncalled for and unnerving. The soundtrack ruined it for me, the music that was playing was often inappropriate for the tone of the scene. Think upbeat mariachi music at a funeral. Gonzalo was kind of a "chubby mope." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayaDec 31, 2005
If I could I would rate this above 10. Very well developed and played charactors. The story was excelent. This shows the true wall of rich and poor (applied everywhere) and yet the common dinaminator of being a human being having the same If I could I would rate this above 10. Very well developed and played charactors. The story was excelent. This shows the true wall of rich and poor (applied everywhere) and yet the common dinaminator of being a human being having the same needs. I grow in Iran and this was so close to home for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lucasfallsOct 14, 2011
Lovely film, well done and I have to say it, I am not a big fan of Chilean Movies but this is the best Chilean Film that I've ever seen. The story is so common in Chile and the actors are not brilliant but is worth seeing this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jamesj3111Jan 28, 2017
Excellent film. The film portrays the recurring historical/political themes that blind people (nationalism, etc.) and can cause them to act with cruelty to each other. The film is highly relevant and informative based on disgracefulExcellent film. The film portrays the recurring historical/political themes that blind people (nationalism, etc.) and can cause them to act with cruelty to each other. The film is highly relevant and informative based on disgraceful immigration events currently in progress in the US in 2017. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews