DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: May 27, 2005
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 217 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
124
Mixed:
69
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MonkiReviewsMay 27, 2017
This movie starts and ends great, but the middle is very forgettable. The characters are actually very funny as well as the songs. I would tell you to watch this whole series, it is fun and worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LostVisitorNov 26, 2016
the lemurs are so funny i cracked up laughing and dancing about that song so everybody stop giving this movie a low score and MOVE IT! MOVE IT! MOVE IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersNov 1, 2016
The first in a series of highly popular DreamWorks films, "Madagascar" still stands as a pretty great film. Funny, visually great and featuring some extremely charming and outstanding characters (notably King Julien), "Madagascar" is aThe first in a series of highly popular DreamWorks films, "Madagascar" still stands as a pretty great film. Funny, visually great and featuring some extremely charming and outstanding characters (notably King Julien), "Madagascar" is a surprising winner after the struggle that was "Shark Tale" and it's certainly a worthwhile watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Aug 25, 2016
Madagascar is a good movie. It lacks real emotion to me, and it can just get to weird and crazy at times,but it still has some good characters and jokes to make it an enjoyable ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
The penguins were hilarious. The lemur king was also amusing, and so was Melman the the giraffe. It was, however packed with corny jokes and some of the sub-plots dragged on a bit. I won't be seeing the sequel if their is one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorApr 9, 2016
Madagascar is a colored adventure, full of corny jokes and great characters, that uses simple story-telling and an unremarkable plot. Despite the negative antecedents of this nothing-special film, it's a true family-friendly film, that moreMadagascar is a colored adventure, full of corny jokes and great characters, that uses simple story-telling and an unremarkable plot. Despite the negative antecedents of this nothing-special film, it's a true family-friendly film, that more than the half of the audience will like, specially united families. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 21, 2016
It's another animal adventure from DreamWorks. If you like to move to the beat, this movie's for you. It's not that memorable anyways, but the feelings are granted and the funniness works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: A whitty animation that will appeal to adults and children alike - 'Madagascar' is paugh out loud funny. The characters are well realised (partially thanks to their voiceovers) so everyone can get into the story
WHAT I DIDN'T
WHAT I LIKED: A whitty animation that will appeal to adults and children alike - 'Madagascar' is paugh out loud funny. The characters are well realised (partially thanks to their voiceovers) so everyone can get into the story
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's not the most interesting film in terms of plot, so isn't as classic for family watching as a pixar etc.
VERDICT: A fun and pacey animation that everyone will enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Dec 9, 2015
this is a great zoo movie, Marty is great, Alex is great, Gloria is a great hippo, and melmon is my favorite hypochondriac. all around amazing,and what I expect from dream works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 12, 2015
THIS is the best in the series. It's the original and the most underrated. The penguins are brilliant comic relief characters and the Lemurs are pretty good too. I have no idea why it's the lowest rated in the franchise. Oh well. At least theTHIS is the best in the series. It's the original and the most underrated. The penguins are brilliant comic relief characters and the Lemurs are pretty good too. I have no idea why it's the lowest rated in the franchise. Oh well. At least the users gave it a "generally favourable" score. I agree with them a lot more than critics here. If you like Dreamworks, you'll like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
43in2014Aug 1, 2015
Before watching this film: No related film precedes this.

Premise: A couple of city zoo animals were wrongly released back into the wild after a animal rights protest and a boat sinking and the animals must adapt to live in the jungle.
Before watching this film: No related film precedes this.

Premise: A couple of city zoo animals were wrongly released back into the wild after a animal rights protest and a boat sinking and the animals must adapt to live in the jungle.

Pros:
1) The big four animals are fun and interesting.

2) The penguins, monkeys and lemurs are great supporting characters and they often outperform the main four animals in making the film good.

Cons:
1) The film slowed down in the third quarter and there were less jokes as the film becomes introspective. This should not have been allowed to happen.

Score: 4/5 (no half score). Good enough to watch it in the cinema.

Who would be satisfied with this film? All children would love it. For others, the older you are, the less you would love it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
buttonscasperJul 6, 2015
This gave the franchise a great start but it should have featured more of the penguins!!! the characters can sometimes be quite annoying but it definatley has some good comedy in there as well!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Pretty funny, and all voices are perfect. The best characters by far are the penguins. They have the best lines, the creepiest voices, and are just so darn entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
f3l1p3Oct 5, 2014
Madagascar, um dos filmes de desenhos animados mais cativantes e legais que eu já assisti. Talvez esse, junto com Shrek, sejam os melhores trabalhos da DreamWorks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 30, 2014
Madagascar is an okay movie, but it lacks in substance and story. Most of the movie relies on corny jokes and sight gags to get its humor, which can be hit or miss.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticNov 15, 2013
A delightful ploy of city animals desperately attempting to get back home, 'Madagascar' has a sort of panache that most animation films try to have, but fail. All the animals are fun and hilarious, significantly the penguins. I don't see whyA delightful ploy of city animals desperately attempting to get back home, 'Madagascar' has a sort of panache that most animation films try to have, but fail. All the animals are fun and hilarious, significantly the penguins. I don't see why this film is an average. It's a charming spectacle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellMar 9, 2012
A fun animated film. While it does have little of a lesson to learn from it, the characters are fun and the story is unique (until The Wild was released).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HappymonkNov 30, 2011
A fun movie. It's quite funny, the plot's all right and it's well voiced. It's not as good as Shrek, or anything Pixar have made but it is one of the better Dreamworks films. Falls short of greatness due to the fact that it is now starting toA fun movie. It's quite funny, the plot's all right and it's well voiced. It's not as good as Shrek, or anything Pixar have made but it is one of the better Dreamworks films. Falls short of greatness due to the fact that it is now starting to show it's age, which is a shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 18, 2010
its not an excellent movie, but to be fair, its rather perfect. the animation is nice, the characters aren't so bad, and the songs are so nice and cool. Madagascar is a perfect summer flick for kids and adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianS.Nov 1, 2006
Funny,Sweet and Highly Addicting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mAug 6, 2006
Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamiW.Jun 3, 2006
the lemurs are so funny i cracked up laughing and dancing about that song so everybody stop giving this movie a low score and MOVE IT!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JoeyMay 10, 2006
I could see a fantastic movie here - until the end. It was really good start -middle but it just ended suddenly. I enjoyed the film but I would've given it a higher score if it had a better ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenD.Dec 31, 2005
It was a beautiful masterpiece, even more exciting than star wars. Filled with sensational dialogue and heart warming comedy, the zoo animals take us on an exciting adventure through the WILD. Rivaling the Godfather, Citezen Kane, and Star It was a beautiful masterpiece, even more exciting than star wars. Filled with sensational dialogue and heart warming comedy, the zoo animals take us on an exciting adventure through the WILD. Rivaling the Godfather, Citezen Kane, and Star Wars for the greatest cinematic experience of all time with superb animation. I LOVE this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
I was expecting the best animated feature film of the year, it wasn't, but it has the wit and style we look for in one. It's funny and the kids will love it. ps: the penquins are hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigT.Nov 19, 2005
One of the best movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
laurenr.Nov 12, 2005
Best movie i've seen in a while. i love the movie so much i quote it on a regular basis. who will ever be able to forget the penguins and their escapades. whoever thinks that this movie was bad must have lost their sense of humor. to Best movie i've seen in a while. i love the movie so much i quote it on a regular basis. who will ever be able to forget the penguins and their escapades. whoever thinks that this movie was bad must have lost their sense of humor. to them i say, "If you have any poo fling it now." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mememem.Nov 1, 2005
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful