Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 27, 2012
    91
    The movie is Mike's story, and Channing Tatum proves himself a true movie star. His Mike glides through the world with the ease of a god, and on stage he's electrifying.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 28, 2012
    100
    If it falls short of greatness, it's not by much - and it could end up growing with the years. At the very least, it is exceptional and one of the best and most original pictures to come along in 2012.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 29, 2012
    88
    Director Steven Soderbergh is working very near the top of his game here, and if Magic Mike tells an old, old story about a young man, his talent, his rise, and his fall - see everything from "Saturday Night Fever" to "Boogie Nights" - he brings the confidence of a born filmmaker and a cast that's sharper than their characters and ready to play.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 28, 2012
    88
    One of the pleasures of Magic Mike is its egalitarian spirit and dedication to the ensemble.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 28, 2012
    83
    Magic Mike casts a seriously entertaining spell.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2012
    83
    Even when Magic Mike is skimpier than a g-string it soars on daring, as if Soderbergh asked himself who could possibly make a good movie from such offbeat material, answered "I can," and did.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jun 29, 2012
    100
    As we face yet another summer of brooding superheroes, it's Magic Mike to the rescue! He's got the civilian alter ego and the acrobatic skills to rival Spidey or Batman.
  8. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jun 25, 2012
    90
    The raunchiest, funniest and most enjoyably nonjudgmental American movie about selling sex since "Boogie Nights."
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 48
  2. Negative: 14 out of 48
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ran way too long. See this movie only as a last resort. Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their real life, women wanting to have sex with them 24/7. Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home.. Full Review »