Malcolm X

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    In Spike Lee's epic tale of legendary civil rights leader Malcolm X, he successfully creates one of the most provocative, disturbing, but enlightening biographical dramas I've ever gotten the chance to watch. A film that is not only a way for African-Americans everywhere to rightfully embrace their heritage, but a film that gives people of all creeds, races, and ethnicities a chance toIn Spike Lee's epic tale of legendary civil rights leader Malcolm X, he successfully creates one of the most provocative, disturbing, but enlightening biographical dramas I've ever gotten the chance to watch. A film that is not only a way for African-Americans everywhere to rightfully embrace their heritage, but a film that gives people of all creeds, races, and ethnicities a chance to realize that we can live in perpetual harmony with one another. The movie is anchored by arguably one of the most moving, dynamic, and emotional biographical performances thus far - Denzel Washington's Malcolm X. Washington gives such a diverse and vivid portrayal of the man. From his troubling days as a misunderstood youth, to his successful moments as a rising voice within the Nation of Islam, to his final days as an enlightened, reformed human being, Washington depicts every moment to a sharp and polished degree. Every technical aspect of the movie is executed to a near perfect degree. Whether it's the camerawork, the lighting, the sets, or the score, Spike Lee successfully manages to use every one of the aforementioned factors to add to the film's thick mood. "Malcolm X" is a drama that is long, yes, but it is necessary for everyone to see. For the rise and fall of this young man is not only complex and tragic, but it's unbelievably inspiring. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Denzel Washington's performance as the the controversial Malcolm X is very charismatic and smart. Spike Lee's biopic is very unique in a lot of departments.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    A fascinating illumination of one of American history's most influential, charismatic and complex individuals, "Malcolm X" has a raw, passionate power steeped in Spike Lee's sweeping, evocative direction and the towering performance of Denzel Washington in the lead, who throws himself into the role of Malcolm X so completely it's incomprehensible any other actor could do a better job.
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Spike Lee has brought one of the best biopics in american history with a performance from Washington that brings out the angry intensity his controversial character was known for.
  5. MasumM.
    May 30, 2004
    10
    A great and inspiring movie that may as well change your life.
  6. SeamusS.
    Mar 20, 2006
    7
    Compelling and mostly entertaining. A good job.
  7. AvonB.
    Jul 2, 2002
    5
    I wasn't so wild about this film. I had seen a bunch of documentary footage of Malcolm, enough for me to realize that Denzel's performance really couldn't handle to the real thing. (Sort of like Will Smith trying to play Ali.) X and Ali were in their primes during the age of T.V. Their charisma is tough to match. Why do films on their lives when we've already experienced them?
  8. R.T.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    Loved it.
  9. JamalK.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    This movie was hot.
  10. AkhilK.
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    Wow! What can i say? Amazing? Excellent? Invigorating? No amount of adjectives are enough to appreciate this movie. So inspirational and so entertaining and yet i am dissapointed that it got pretty underrated reviews, not to mention not one oscar! (cmon, Denzel should have won) A must see in every sense of that term.
  11. Marko
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Denzel Washington 'became' Malcolm X. It is still eerie and brilliant today. The film gives rare insight into Malcolm's 'anger' and life in America in the 40's-60's.
  12. EriccaP.
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    GREAT!!!! GREAT!!!!! LOVED IT.
  13. KevinS.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    This film was necessary for our nation's film history. It was a colorful illustration of the life of Malcolm X not just in the media but behind the scenes. Spike Lee's colaboration with Denzel Washington to make the movie was not only a smart movie move but also a smart political move as an actor with Denzel's capicity was necessary to acurately depict Malcolm X with all This film was necessary for our nation's film history. It was a colorful illustration of the life of Malcolm X not just in the media but behind the scenes. Spike Lee's colaboration with Denzel Washington to make the movie was not only a smart movie move but also a smart political move as an actor with Denzel's capicity was necessary to acurately depict Malcolm X with all the white hot fires of ambition and greatness flowing through his veins. I give it a 10 because it is, simply, the greatest film ever made about Malcolm X. Great show! An epic for the ages! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    A spiritually enriching testament to the human capacity for change -- and surely Spike Lee's most universally appealing film.
  2. A mortal movie about an immortal subject and the very fact that it succeeds as well as it does is a testament to Lee's skills as a filmmaker.
  3. Lee has tried hard to give this shapeless picture some visual patterning though the cluttered effect created by his mistrust of silence is even more harmful than in the past.