User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 252
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R.Lopez
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing!! Mamma Mia is the first genuinely funny and most lavishing musical I've seen yet. Mamma Mia stars Amanda Seyfried as Sophie a girl on the verge of getting married in two days, there's just one catch. She wants her father to give her away except she doesn't know who her father is, know it's a musical mystery to which of the three men she invited to the villa is Amazing!! Mamma Mia is the first genuinely funny and most lavishing musical I've seen yet. Mamma Mia stars Amanda Seyfried as Sophie a girl on the verge of getting married in two days, there's just one catch. She wants her father to give her away except she doesn't know who her father is, know it's a musical mystery to which of the three men she invited to the villa is her father, could it be Sam Carmichael the architect, Bill the free spirit, or Harry the quiet business man. Which one could it be? That's an answer for you to find out in this amazingly beautiful musical that boast some of the best ABBA song around and some other great music too. Mamma Mai is a treat for the whole family, it's one of those movies you can enjoy watching again and again.I very highly recommended this great film. Expand
  2. RoseD.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    What a blast! This movie was an all out enjoyable, music filled, cake and ice cream party! The theater was packed and we had to sit in the 2nd row. I figured headache in the first 10 minutes, but no. It was easily the most fun movie we have seen in a long time. I think it is telling when the whole (packed) theater is hooting and hollering, clapping and singing during the movie. Gimme a What a blast! This movie was an all out enjoyable, music filled, cake and ice cream party! The theater was packed and we had to sit in the 2nd row. I figured headache in the first 10 minutes, but no. It was easily the most fun movie we have seen in a long time. I think it is telling when the whole (packed) theater is hooting and hollering, clapping and singing during the movie. Gimme a movie where everyone cheers in the end anytime. If you want to go see a movie just for the all out fun, this is the one. There was nothing pretentious or preachy, unlike Wall-E. I went with my 16 year old, 14 year old and 10 year old. My 16 year old even said that it was her ALL TIME favorite movie. We aren't looking for the next Oscar winner, just for a fun time out with friends or family. Expand
  3. DarleneH.
    Aug 4, 2008
    9
    A great movie, uplifting and fun.
  4. RobspiS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    I haven't seen the musical nor am I an ABBA fan but I watched this movie twice! Once on my own thinking it was a lighthearted comedy - can you imagine a 30 year old single man sitting by himself in a theatre filled with women and families! The second time with a female friend, because Dark Knight was sold out. But my companion was in hysterics and laughed so hard we got the I haven't seen the musical nor am I an ABBA fan but I watched this movie twice! Once on my own thinking it was a lighthearted comedy - can you imagine a 30 year old single man sitting by himself in a theatre filled with women and families! The second time with a female friend, because Dark Knight was sold out. But my companion was in hysterics and laughed so hard we got the occasional looks from the crowd. I loved the movie both times. It was kitsch but as a filmmaker myself I have to admit the movie was well crafted and well acted. Not many people understand the complexities of making a film and this is a hit all round judging from the crowd as well. Expand
  5. DottieV
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    I am an ABBA fan, also only 17, but that didn't make a difference o fmy age; Mama Mia was an entertaining and so amusing show. The audience couldn't get enough of it, they wanted more. =) It was great!
  6. MartyA.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    I loved everything about this movie, well there is one actor that can not sing. BUT you must see this movie.
  7. LoriC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Mamma MIa! was great fun, I could have turned right around and bought another ticket immediately. Brosnan has a lovely light tenor, and sings in tune and at tempo, so I've no idea why some folks are complaining about his voice. Want a laugh? Check out Sean Connery singing at the end of Disney's _Darby O'Gill and the Little People_.
  8. JeanD.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie so much I had to see it twice (and I'm the type that doesn't have time for movies). At the risk of sounding sexist, I'll say that this is a great movie for women. I doubt know if many men will love it, but every woman should see it with a girlfriend or a daughter, or a mother. It is so joyful, so funny and so TRUE to life in a hysterical cheesy I loved this movie so much I had to see it twice (and I'm the type that doesn't have time for movies). At the risk of sounding sexist, I'll say that this is a great movie for women. I doubt know if many men will love it, but every woman should see it with a girlfriend or a daughter, or a mother. It is so joyful, so funny and so TRUE to life in a hysterical cheesy 'Greek" kind of way. It captures the spirit of mothers and friends and love. Expand
  9. Lily
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    I agree with the user who labeled this as a camp classic. Not critic material maybe but a wonderful antidepressant on film.
  10. JohnS.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Great fun. If you like Abba, you'll love this movie. Certainly cheesy, and seeing Pierce Brosnan singing doesn't feel right, but you'll have a real laugh!
  11. BrettM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Great Movie. Probably the best all year so far. Loved the songs. Meryl Streep was awesome.
  12. Fantasy
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Who knew Meryl could sing too? Simply wonderful.
  13. CraigH.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    The most enjoyable 2 hours you'll have at the movies all summer - provided you love Abba songs! Sooo frothy, sooo camp, and soooo much fun!
  14. SusanL.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    This is one of those "guys don't get it" kind of movies. Because so many of our movie reviewers are guys, this is a problem. They seem to complain about song and dance numbers. This is a MUSICAL, guys, not Thomas Hardy. Last year, those (mostly) male critics gushed over dark movies about bloody conflicts that nobody wanted to see. Or, you get Momma Mia, a movie that has no blood, no This is one of those "guys don't get it" kind of movies. Because so many of our movie reviewers are guys, this is a problem. They seem to complain about song and dance numbers. This is a MUSICAL, guys, not Thomas Hardy. Last year, those (mostly) male critics gushed over dark movies about bloody conflicts that nobody wanted to see. Or, you get Momma Mia, a movie that has no blood, no guns and no Iraq. Thank God. If you like movies that are pure escapist froth, this is a good one. Pierce can't sing; who cares. Expand
  15. NeilC.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I love the broadway musical and the movie didn't let me down. All the gals are great and that's what ABBA was all about. Streep is sensational. Pierce Brosnan can't sing a note but his all-male rough voice presence was indispensible opposite Streep. A bit slow at first compared to Broadway (too many pictures of Greece) but it picks up the pace and the last hour is a feel I love the broadway musical and the movie didn't let me down. All the gals are great and that's what ABBA was all about. Streep is sensational. Pierce Brosnan can't sing a note but his all-male rough voice presence was indispensible opposite Streep. A bit slow at first compared to Broadway (too many pictures of Greece) but it picks up the pace and the last hour is a feel good riot. We'll buy the DVD no doubt!!! Expand
  16. GermaineB.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Excellent, outstanding 52 is not a true score.
  17. RichardB.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    A good movie with great songs. Love ABBA and most of the cast does a great job with their songs. I'd go see it again!
  18. KerryA
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Superb musical entertainment, brilliantly conceived that left everyone dancing in the aisles. Now that is what I call a 10!
  19. CarolT.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Thoroughly enjoying. Superb cast and of course the music.
  20. Marie
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Loved the movie, it was fun and an escapist two hours. Noticed that people were laughing, clapping and singing along. One of those times that I have to say the critics are way too full of themselves. Also I suspect that that the movie is victim to harsh reviews because it is essentially "Chick flix" material. Amazing how the worst super hero crap gets good reviews but something classed as Loved the movie, it was fun and an escapist two hours. Noticed that people were laughing, clapping and singing along. One of those times that I have to say the critics are way too full of themselves. Also I suspect that that the movie is victim to harsh reviews because it is essentially "Chick flix" material. Amazing how the worst super hero crap gets good reviews but something classed as Chick gets consistently panned. Expand
  21. EdnaE.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Best movie in a long time real fun first time in years the audience clapped after the show.
  22. M.T.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    If you want to come out feeling better than when you went in, go see this!!! Truly uplifting!!!
  23. JaneA.
    Aug 2, 2008
    9
    I thought Meryl Streep's singing was great and I was pleasantly suprised. Pierce Brosnan, however, was a little difficilt to listen to. At least he tried. I had never seen the stage show, but the movie was great fun!
  24. AriB.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    It's fun and gay. What can I say? I love it. Colin Firth at 47 turning 48 soon was absolutely adorable. It's Meryl. It's Greece. It's Abba!
  25. LenR.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Oh come on people, its just pure fun, don't take it so serious! Meryl is great as always and though the songs don't always shift comfortably to the scenes, thats part of the fun! LONG LIVE ABBA!
  26. TimB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    9
    If you like ABBA's music, you'll like the movie.
  27. lynn
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Fun, fun, fun! Can't get Dancing Queen out of my head. Based on the ratings posted here guess you either love it or hate it.
  28. LindaG.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    I have seen it three times in the theatre, the last twice were sing-long. What a blast -- it makes you want to sing and dance!
  29. Ellie
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    Fabulous film, with a real sense of joy and happiness. Seen it 3 times and can't wait to go again. As for Pierce Brosnan, well he can sing to me ANY day. He is brilliant, mature, charming, eminently handsome and just right for the part. They didn't need a professional singer, just someone who was believable. Cheer up you poor sad people who hated it. Go get a life! What a change Fabulous film, with a real sense of joy and happiness. Seen it 3 times and can't wait to go again. As for Pierce Brosnan, well he can sing to me ANY day. He is brilliant, mature, charming, eminently handsome and just right for the part. They didn't need a professional singer, just someone who was believable. Cheer up you poor sad people who hated it. Go get a life! What a change to see a film that is not depressing, full of gratuitous sex, violence, nudity and swearing. Lets have more films like this. Expand
  30. MirmaM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    Put me in a fantastic mood, loved the songs, the enthusiasm and the random dancing and singing extras.
  31. CarleneeG.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    I thought this musical was such a delight. Both my husband and I came away feeling so happy and delighted with the acting, music and scenery. Wow
  32. MichelleB.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    My gosh this was the most fun I've had at a movie in a long time. I went with my 3 daughters and have plans to go again with my best friend. I wanted to get up and dance with them. I would say that 80% of the audience sang every song with the actors. It was like being a part of it, almost interactive. 98% of the audience of course was women but the majority of them were over 40. My My gosh this was the most fun I've had at a movie in a long time. I went with my 3 daughters and have plans to go again with my best friend. I wanted to get up and dance with them. I would say that 80% of the audience sang every song with the actors. It was like being a part of it, almost interactive. 98% of the audience of course was women but the majority of them were over 40. My daughters loved it. I loved it and will see it again and again and definately purchase it when it comes out on DVD. This falls right up there with Steele Magnolias in my book. Expand
  33. GillianC.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    It was a funny, entertaining, masterpiece!
  34. JoyceM.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    I loved it!! It was fun, entertaining, touching and a wonderful way to spend the afternoon with my daughter!
  35. SusanC.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Delightful. I wanted to stay in the theatre and sit through the next showing.
  36. carolb.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    Loved the upbeat music and Meryl Streep stole the show but the supporting cast also did a wonderful job. The scenery made you want to be there. When the movie ended people clapped and there was dancing in the aisles.
  37. BuzzH.
    Jul 27, 2008
    9
    Funny feel good moviet hat will have legs. the pros haVE Panned the movie but viewers seem to luv it a suprise audience is girls younger girls. if u have been to europe will probably like movie.
  38. MKP
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    If you love Abba's music, this movie is for you! I loved it so much that my daughter had to hold me back from dancing in the seats!
  39. DavidL
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Deliciously entertaining 2 hours! Laugh out loud funny and who can forget ABBA's great music! 10/10!
  40. MarkS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Fizzy, exuberant, exhilarating. Beautiful characters, WONDERFUL music. I was singing the rest of the day.
  41. LauraJaneB.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    I took it at face value - a musical put into moving images. I decided I would not judge it but just enjoy it by pretending I was at the theatre - well, I went into the cinema depressed and came out beaming and happy. Even my husband warmed up to it after stating that it was a chick flick at first, we both laughed a lot. Julie Walters was fantastic and Meryl Streep lit up the screen, I took it at face value - a musical put into moving images. I decided I would not judge it but just enjoy it by pretending I was at the theatre - well, I went into the cinema depressed and came out beaming and happy. Even my husband warmed up to it after stating that it was a chick flick at first, we both laughed a lot. Julie Walters was fantastic and Meryl Streep lit up the screen, making me cry when she sang 'Slipping' (Because I live a whole continent away from my mum) and I thought it was her masterpiece performance when she sang 'The winner takes it all'. The film made a refreshing change from the usual evil produced by Hollywood, and should award an oscar to Meryl Streep for her ability to make an audience laugh and cry over Dark Knight which is only curious to see how Heath Ledger portrayed the Joker in Dark Knight - a film which can only depress and give you nothing. Not only is it easier to act out the part of evil than it is to act emotions of the heart - It's also easier to reward the portrayal of evil - than to reward those who portray good and real emotions. What's right isn't always popular and what's popular isn't always right. We have become a very desensitized people by becoming hungry for more action and filth over good clean fun - that makes you smile. Expand
  42. FranC.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    Come on you negative critics! You obviously never enjoyed just plain FUN without analyzing it. I give a 10 to the pros for doing it They have guts. It was a delightful mix of music and mischief.
  43. JOJO
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    DON"T listen to the critics and just GO! Take the whole family. Critics hate it, the way they hated Titanic, My Fat Greek Wedding, and The Sixth Sense. But REAL people who don't get paid to go to the movies will absolutely love this show. I absolutely LOVED it. I could not recommend it enough. There is something for everybody in this film. And for the skeptics, I am a 37-year-old DON"T listen to the critics and just GO! Take the whole family. Critics hate it, the way they hated Titanic, My Fat Greek Wedding, and The Sixth Sense. But REAL people who don't get paid to go to the movies will absolutely love this show. I absolutely LOVED it. I could not recommend it enough. There is something for everybody in this film. And for the skeptics, I am a 37-year-old divorced man with a 13-year-old daughter. I took her to see this last weekend, and YES, she loved it too. She wants me to take her again, and for once I won't mind at all. The last time that happened was after Iron Man opened. Go figure! Expand
  44. BelindaG.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing film, full of life and spirit. Ideal for anyone.
  45. SeanK.
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    I had to be talked into going by my wife. Absolutely love the music and the story!
  46. SharonF.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    The people who don't like this movie remind me of artists who like to tell everyone they don't have a TV. I love ABBA, I loved the movie, I laughed through the whole thing ( and loved Tanya's song). C'mon people, put down War & Peace and lighten up!
  47. AaronL.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This movie is as good as this type of movie gets. it is fun, playful, upbeat, with beautiful scenes of Greece. It is great to see these actors singing and dancing, clearly having fun making the film. this is not a movie about plot, but about singing, dancing and great visuals. Shame on the critics for not rating this movie for what it is, a musical, and therefore rating it so low. I loved it.
  48. DaveK
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Great fun! The critics really missed the mark on this one - it's gonna be a camp classic.
  49. TrentD.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Come on critics. Relax. What wonderful fun and what a way to return to memories of times past. Is this Oscar? No but we will watch it over and over to enjoy and laugh and sing.
  50. ShirleyP.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    This movie was very entertaining and that is what I want movies to be. It was great to leave the theater feeling good and not depressed.
  51. SeanL.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    Total brainless fun time! You leave the theater upbeat! Lip sync??? But they lip synced to their own voices. All musicals are lip synced because of sound recoring issues.
  52. TomM.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    You have to like ABBA. You have to accept that the source material has its flaws. You have to accept the fact that the film has actors who can sing (save for Mr. Brosnan) as opposed to singers who may be able to act. The film embraces the flaws and does not run away from them. This movie is a great deal of fun and, surprisingly, a lot more dramatic than I remember the stage musical. You have to like ABBA. You have to accept that the source material has its flaws. You have to accept the fact that the film has actors who can sing (save for Mr. Brosnan) as opposed to singers who may be able to act. The film embraces the flaws and does not run away from them. This movie is a great deal of fun and, surprisingly, a lot more dramatic than I remember the stage musical. Walters is a hoot. If you day is dreary and gray, this one will certainly brighten it up. Expand
  53. MarkP.
    Jul 22, 2008
    9
    Fantastic fun, so involving and colourful. I loved the fact that the voices (except for the bride) are not perfect (her voice is exquisite). 007 tries so hard to sing well and it really suits the way this movie identifies so well the comedy and awkwardness of being middle aged. I never really liked ABBA but this is a blast.
  54. roystong.
    Jul 27, 2008
    9
    It is hard for a stage musical to transfer to the screen. The result can be 'stagey' and disapointing. But this version of Mamm Mia succeeds becasue of its setting ad the sheer energy and fun displyed by the characters. I am astounded by those critics who were unhappy. Stop being pretentious and just enjoy the movie. And please , let's recognise Meryl Streep again at the Oscars.
  55. RonC.
    Jul 27, 2008
    9
    Very Enjoyable Lots of energy Meryl Streep ,was great Bronson xouold not sing but othjers great!
  56. BAda
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Great story. great music. great acting. Amazing movie.
  57. randyw.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Best movie I've seen in years! You'll love it! Acting and singing are outstanding!
  58. SharronC.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    I loved the movie..it's so uplifting, spirited, "get up and dance feeling" and sing to the top of your lungs...one must keep in mind, it is a broadway musical so it is a different tone than just a regular movie. I give it a 10 plus.
  59. TriciaR.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Loved this movie!!! Full of zest and joie de vivre. Every woman I know who saw it bursts out in smiles and enthusiasm for the uplift and joy of it.
  60. LaverneS.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Best, happiest movie I've ever seen!! Fantastic music, beautiful scenery, laughs - you'll leave singing!!
  61. NoreenM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    I loved this movie. Although the singing wasn't perfect it rather added to the whole experience.
  62. R.Lopez
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    Amazing!! Mamma Mia is the first genuinely funny and most lavishing musical I've seen yet. Mamma Mia stars Amanda Seyfried as Sophie a girl on the verge of getting married in two days, there's just one catch. She wants her father to give her away except she doesn't know who her father is, know it's a musical mystery to which of the three men she invited to the villa is Amazing!! Mamma Mia is the first genuinely funny and most lavishing musical I've seen yet. Mamma Mia stars Amanda Seyfried as Sophie a girl on the verge of getting married in two days, there's just one catch. She wants her father to give her away except she doesn't know who her father is, know it's a musical mystery to which of the three men she invited to the villa is her father, could it be Sam Carmichael the architect, Bill the free spirit, or Harry the quiet business man. Which one could it be? That's an answer for you to find out in this amazingly beautiful musical that boast some of the best ABBA song around and some other great music too. Mamma Mai is a treat for the whole family, it's one of those movies you can enjoy watching again and again.I very highly recommended this great film. Expand
  63. JosephF.
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    The best band of all time.
  64. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An enjoyable movie, I found. I loved the musical, and personally I loved the actors chosen for their specific parts. Under the assumption that Mamma Mia was a sort of comedy as well as a musical, I supposed the hilariously horrendous singing of Pierce Brosnan had to be put in for that reason. I could watch it again. The movie that is. Expand
  65. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Seyfried, Streep, Brosnan, Firth, Walters A Super size Actor in A super size Movie What's wrong about that It's definitely a 10 out of 10 for me Way to Go
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. It's a delightful piece of filmmaking with a marvelous cast topped by Meryl Streep in one of her smartest and most entertaining performances ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Scribe-creator Catherine Johnson (also in her first screen outing) and theater-opera vet Lloyd can't seem to find the right tone or style for their globally celebrated material.
  3. Seyfried (of Big Love and Mean Girls) is a radiant object and can sing, but I'd like to forget the others--especially Brosnan, whose singing is the best imitation I've heard of a water buffalo.