Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 14, 2013
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3434 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,470
Mixed:
592
Negative:
372
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
spacebear1Dec 9, 2017
Zack Snyder's Man of Steel is, for me personally, the best Superman film yet. Henry Cavill was an amazing choice for Superman and I also liked Michael Shannon as General Zod. A lot of people complained that the film was dark in both tone andZack Snyder's Man of Steel is, for me personally, the best Superman film yet. Henry Cavill was an amazing choice for Superman and I also liked Michael Shannon as General Zod. A lot of people complained that the film was dark in both tone and absence of a lot of color. I have two things to say about that. One, that's just Zack Snyder's style. Two, not all superhero films have to be rainbows and unicorns and always happy. In the end, this is a film that is very enjoyable and is great with some room for improvement. My rating would be 7.8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShaManaDec 3, 2017
This is a beautifully executed movie which may or may not be faithful to the character but never the less its a very emotional flick. The music is fantastic and the tone consistent through out the movie. I love it more than most and the castThis is a beautifully executed movie which may or may not be faithful to the character but never the less its a very emotional flick. The music is fantastic and the tone consistent through out the movie. I love it more than most and the cast for it is perfect. Yes the end is overly simplified for the sake of the spectacle but everything before makes for an extremely enjoyable experience. Henry Cavil is a fantastic Superman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
StewmistaNov 26, 2017
A bunch of boring set up with an even more boring finale. Good casting couldn't help this snooze fest from its terrible action, terrible villain and poorly constructed introduction on Krypton with a bunch of nonsense with Russel Crow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mrdr4gonNov 15, 2017
Somewhat underwritten, the visceral nature of the action scenes paper over the cracks and make you overlook the sheer excess of it all for the most part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bugger217Sep 3, 2017
Man of Steel is a well-intentioned film that doesn't always hit the mark, but when it does, it hits hard. There's some strong thematic work in here, and while those themes aren't always fully explored, it's still more interesting to watchMan of Steel is a well-intentioned film that doesn't always hit the mark, but when it does, it hits hard. There's some strong thematic work in here, and while those themes aren't always fully explored, it's still more interesting to watch than a lot of other superhero movies. It helps that Zack Snyder is a strong visual director. The film is stunning to look at and the action is some of the best ever in a film like this. That's not to say the movie isn't over-indulgent or misguided at times, because it is, but the things it gets right, in my mind, more than make up for the missteps. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Termin8terSep 7, 2017
Look, this film was nowhere near as good as Nolan's The Dark Knight, but is a great flick. The production values are great, Hans Zimmer's soundtrack is amazing, the fight secenes are epic, and the acting and writing is on point mostly. YouLook, this film was nowhere near as good as Nolan's The Dark Knight, but is a great flick. The production values are great, Hans Zimmer's soundtrack is amazing, the fight secenes are epic, and the acting and writing is on point mostly. You may not like it, but this film should be given a shot by anyone who likes DC or any recent DC film adaptions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kes4278Aug 1, 2017
I thought it was a great origin movie.It's definitely my favorite superman film.Henry Cavill was great as the man of steel.Amy Adams was meh. I give a 10/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HJRodrigoJun 16, 2013
I feel this movie was lacking in heart and wholesomeness, something that I would have expected to find in a Superman origin story. This adaptation completely failed to immerse me into, or even introduce me to, the world of Superman... and byI feel this movie was lacking in heart and wholesomeness, something that I would have expected to find in a Superman origin story. This adaptation completely failed to immerse me into, or even introduce me to, the world of Superman... and by "world" I mean Metropolis and Smallville. The destruction of Metropolis and death of Pa Kent failed to illicit any emotion out of me, as the movie did not develop these key elements of Superman's life. The audience is just expected to care about these occurrences by default. However, these are not my primary issues with the movie. For a first installment of a franchise, this movie went overboard on its plot and action. DC should have had this movie's plot take place on a smaller scale, therefore giving a sequel sufficient room to up the ante. Marvel did this very well with their superhero franchises. Marvel started their hero's initial movie on a fairly small scale and increased the threat level in subsequent films till it reached the high level of world destruction we saw in the "Avengers". Unfortunately "Man of Steel" has already desensitized the audience to the world being at risk of destruction; therefore, the only way a Justice League movie can up the ante is now with the destruction of the galaxy or universe. I don't even know how a sequel to the "Man of Steel" can up the ante properly. Zod is arguably the only villain to be Superman's true equal as they are both Kryptonians. The ridiculous level of collateral damage done in this movie, due their battle, was way over the top and made the fight between the Hulk and Abomination from "The Incredible Hulk" look like child's play. In order for a sequel to top this movie, Superman will have to face somebody on the scale of Doomsday, Darkseid or Brainiac. In future installments, A villain like Lex Luthor would seem too tame in comparison to Zod. How could a villain like Lex Luthor compare with the total annihilation of humanity? In my opinion, Lex Luthor should have been the first villain introduced and the story should have started out on the smaller scale of stopping the villain from taking over the city or country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gzayas91Dec 21, 2014
The real superman film I wanted. I didn't not care for original series. I thought they were lame and boring, the acting, the action, writing, the story, BLAND!!!. This is the film that should been critical acclaim and adore by fans. TheThe real superman film I wanted. I didn't not care for original series. I thought they were lame and boring, the acting, the action, writing, the story, BLAND!!!. This is the film that should been critical acclaim and adore by fans. The better story, acting, writing, action, and climax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eva3si0nJun 11, 2017
Rather sad movie. The single plus is special effects and setting. Quite good mounting and computer graphics, but scenario totally ludicrous. There is no development of characters, generally there is should speaks what motives are pursued byRather sad movie. The single plus is special effects and setting. Quite good mounting and computer graphics, but scenario totally ludicrous. There is no development of characters, generally there is should speaks what motives are pursued by characters? It is necessary only to guess ¯/_(ツ)_/¯ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Jun 10, 2017
I panned this film at first glance, it almost felt like a Michael Bay movie with mass explosions and a bare bones story. After a second and maybe third viewing, I think this movie grew on me a bit more. Its a solid origin story that focusesI panned this film at first glance, it almost felt like a Michael Bay movie with mass explosions and a bare bones story. After a second and maybe third viewing, I think this movie grew on me a bit more. Its a solid origin story that focuses on Clark's time in Krypton and General Zod's lust for power in a time of crisis. The standouts for me are Kevin Costner, Russell Crowe, Michael Shannon, Diane Lane and Henry Cavill who were all good castings and did well with their rolls. The story does a good job of being its own movie while not trying too hard to set up for future movies or installments. On the downside, I did find the film to be unnecessarily dark at times, there was also I felt a over use of CGI and not enough practical effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TJUC123Jun 8, 2017
A beatiful origin story and a beautiful movie overall. Man of Steel is a story of heartbreak and rises to happiness. It is a twist on a story we have seen before. Sure there are things that I don't like personally like, but I will put thatA beatiful origin story and a beautiful movie overall. Man of Steel is a story of heartbreak and rises to happiness. It is a twist on a story we have seen before. Sure there are things that I don't like personally like, but I will put that aside as this is a movie for everyone, an not just an individual. Overall this movie is a recommendation for families who just want to leave the real world for a moment and just have fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterJun 4, 2017
A first glance, I did not like it that much, but after the second viewing, I realized how great of a movie it was. Great cast, great action, great script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
007FilmReviewerJun 4, 2017
my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready my body is ready
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Equalizer_77Jun 3, 2017
For what it represents, by history, by music and effects,I think it is a film that is very little valued.Is a very good start to good saga. The act of amy adams did not have much argument to give, but the rest in the movie was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
With the imminent destruction of Krypton, their home planet, Jor-El (Russell Crowe) and his wife seek to preserve their race by sending their infant son to Earth. The child's spacecraft lands at the farm of Jonathan (Kevin Costner) and MarthaWith the imminent destruction of Krypton, their home planet, Jor-El (Russell Crowe) and his wife seek to preserve their race by sending their infant son to Earth. The child's spacecraft lands at the farm of Jonathan (Kevin Costner) and Martha (Diane Lane) Kent, who name him Clark and raise him as their own son. Though his extraordinary abilities have led to the adult Clark (Henry Cavill) living on the fringe of society, he finds he must become a hero to save those he loves from a dire threat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 27, 2017
I enjoyed the action and story of this movie. The only downfall was when the story was going slow, and lasted longer than it should. It deserves a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
connor34May 18, 2017
A beautifully shot movie and one that does extreme justice to Superman. I'm happy that Zack Snyder took this seriously and didn't introduce DC as a Marvel Movie. This is a proper DC movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 4, 2017
Biraz geç kalınmış fakat Marvel'ın ardından sinemaya evrenini aktarmaya çalışan DC ilk olarak dünyayı yok etmek isteyen Superman'in düşmanları ile evrene başlamış ve Superman'e yer vermiştir. Hikayenin orta seviye olduğu filmde aksiyonBiraz geç kalınmış fakat Marvel'ın ardından sinemaya evrenini aktarmaya çalışan DC ilk olarak dünyayı yok etmek isteyen Superman'in düşmanları ile evrene başlamış ve Superman'e yer vermiştir. Hikayenin orta seviye olduğu filmde aksiyon yeterli düzeyde. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MindtricksFeb 28, 2017
Despues de superman 1, Man of Steel se convirtio en una de las mejores peliculas de superheroes seguido de Watchmen, The Dark Knight, y Spiderman 2, Zack Snyder logra darle un giro nuevo a Superman exitosamente demostrando como seria si unDespues de superman 1, Man of Steel se convirtio en una de las mejores peliculas de superheroes seguido de Watchmen, The Dark Knight, y Spiderman 2, Zack Snyder logra darle un giro nuevo a Superman exitosamente demostrando como seria si un kriptoniano existiera en la vida real, acompañado con un hermosos soundtrack, increibles batallas y escenas memorables que logran convertirla en mi top de mejores peliculas de Superheroes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amai2739Jan 25, 2017
Zack Snyder's Man of Steel to me was absolutely what we deserve of the hero. If Superman was to exist in the real world, this is how I'd imagine it to be. The story, the visual, and the action choreography (was 1 of the best for a superheroZack Snyder's Man of Steel to me was absolutely what we deserve of the hero. If Superman was to exist in the real world, this is how I'd imagine it to be. The story, the visual, and the action choreography (was 1 of the best for a superhero movie). I remember when fans would complain that Superman was a boring character because not anyone can take him on, so the director had him take on General Zod & kneel before him. Henry Cavill is my favorite Superman to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DanielfosterJan 7, 2017
Worse than X-Men Last Stand and Spiderman 3. None of the story makes sense as the whole film is full of contradictions. Several characters manage to impossibly show up wherever the plot needs them to as well. It's hard to side with supermanWorse than X-Men Last Stand and Spiderman 3. None of the story makes sense as the whole film is full of contradictions. Several characters manage to impossibly show up wherever the plot needs them to as well. It's hard to side with superman in this film as you watch him do more harm than good. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
TheMoeJan 4, 2017
Man of Steel takes Superman and makes him realistic. The movie has superman fighting like he never has before and truly shows a world where superheroes can live in. The movie is amazing in its character development and action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FreedomFightersJan 3, 2017
You win some, you lose some, I guess. Not every superhero film can come out and be a well-received, outstanding film, a la "The Dark Knight." And it's a shame, because after seeing the film multiple times, I really don't want to say that "ManYou win some, you lose some, I guess. Not every superhero film can come out and be a well-received, outstanding film, a la "The Dark Knight." And it's a shame, because after seeing the film multiple times, I really don't want to say that "Man of Steel" is just okay. I really want to give the film a higher score and I want to say that I loved the film, but unfortunately, I just can't bring myself to say that. Visually, it's stunning, and it's also well-acted, action-packed and generally exciting. That said, the writing and the characters just aren't as amazing as the pretty visuals and the action, and it's a shame. I really really want to say that "Man of Steel" is an amazing Summer blockbuster film that everyone will enjoy, but I just can't say that. I can say that "Man of Steel" is a decently entertaining superhero film, just nothing extremely spectacular. Go in with your expectations tempered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moheetoDec 22, 2016
This is good. I think it's user score reflects that this film is much more highly regarded than various internet douches would have you believe. I liked the structure, it mixed things up a bit but was entirely coherent. It looks gorgeous, ofThis is good. I think it's user score reflects that this film is much more highly regarded than various internet douches would have you believe. I liked the structure, it mixed things up a bit but was entirely coherent. It looks gorgeous, of course. The performances are universally good. Zod is threatening but you can see why he does what he does. Clark and Superman are beautifully portrayed by Henry Cavill. I love the uncertainty he brings to early Superman. The Smallville action scene is genuinely awesome. On the downside, the climax is mis-judged, not because of the amount of death and destruction but it's just too long and the CGI grates. The scene on board the Kryptonion ship is a bit hokey. But I do believe this to be in the top three super-hero movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iserlohn14Dec 18, 2016
Pure exhilaration. Nolan's contributions to the script definitely helped, but it looks like Snyder finally found a story that brings out his best qualities as a director. Probably has the best superhero action scenes ever, to boot. Cavill wasPure exhilaration. Nolan's contributions to the script definitely helped, but it looks like Snyder finally found a story that brings out his best qualities as a director. Probably has the best superhero action scenes ever, to boot. Cavill was born to play this role. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 11, 2016
Man of Steel in some ways is an odd origin story for Superman but overall I still really enjoy watching this film. I like the casting choices and the heart the movie has. Many don't like the ending, but I personally appreciated the differentMan of Steel in some ways is an odd origin story for Superman but overall I still really enjoy watching this film. I like the casting choices and the heart the movie has. Many don't like the ending, but I personally appreciated the different take on Superman's character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LinttaFlamingoNov 25, 2016
Man of Steel looks and sounds good, and it has some very well directed action, but it has some pacing issues and a lot of weird information pours that felt a bit off in my opinion, but I would say that it's a successful way to introduceMan of Steel looks and sounds good, and it has some very well directed action, but it has some pacing issues and a lot of weird information pours that felt a bit off in my opinion, but I would say that it's a successful way to introduce Superman to the DC Extended Universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ClipStateNov 14, 2016
This is perhaps the best film to introduce the modern audience to Superman. Gripping straight from the start, Man of Steel takes the audience from the new and improved Krypton to the revised childhood of Clark Kent to his first climacticThis is perhaps the best film to introduce the modern audience to Superman. Gripping straight from the start, Man of Steel takes the audience from the new and improved Krypton to the revised childhood of Clark Kent to his first climactic encounter with his titular nemesis Zod. It does everything right in a reboot, and it does it exceptionally well. Zack Snyder's choice for more graphical/ stylistic cinematography more akin to the comics is well implemented and brings back the strength of Superman. Cavill's portrayal of the beginning superhero is near perfect. Casting choices were great albeit character relations seemed a tad off. Despite this, the action never ceases to be engaging and fight scenes were amazingly done on a massive scale. I believe that this movie is extraordinarily underrated as it is able to capture the essence of the modern Superman perfectly. We get to see more of Kent's backstory as well as a more emotional take on the characters around him. The lack of a solid relationship with Amy Adam's character is preferred but not necessarily essential as it has been thoroughly established by the past few films. Overall, this is a magnificent start to the DCEU and sets the stage for the (also excellent) Batman v Superman. There can always be parts that can be be improved upon, but for now this is the best introduction to the modern Superman anyone can get. More emotional than the stiff Superman Returns, while also packing the action nessecary to captivate this ages audience. I think Man of Steel should be the standing example of what a good superhero film should be today. Side Note: When in comparison to films like The Dark Knight, it obviously isn't as well crafted but I'd like to think that TDK Trilogy is in a league of its own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
superbatOct 28, 2016
Man of Steel lands below the bar that was set by Christopher Nolan's epic Dark Knight movies, but it is still a great DC Comics movie. There is great acting and great character development, and Henry Cavill delivers a fantastic portrayal ofMan of Steel lands below the bar that was set by Christopher Nolan's epic Dark Knight movies, but it is still a great DC Comics movie. There is great acting and great character development, and Henry Cavill delivers a fantastic portrayal of Superman. The movie is packed with action, it will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is a truly excellent comic-book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AfNinoAug 23, 2016
What Man of Steel delivers in great action sequences, visual effects and musical score, it dearly fails in its poor storytelling, dull tone and bad direction. The overall pacing of the film was my biggest dislike, going from extreme action toWhat Man of Steel delivers in great action sequences, visual effects and musical score, it dearly fails in its poor storytelling, dull tone and bad direction. The overall pacing of the film was my biggest dislike, going from extreme action to slow storytelling and flashbacks, right back to fast action without keeping consistency on how the plot is developing. The final fight was, even though great action, pretty much pointless from the plot's point of view. Character development outside of Superman was, well....to be fair there pretty much was none. The dull tone of the movie really went in the opposite direction as to what Superman is and what he should be. The moments between Clark and Lois Lane seemed off. There didn't seem to really be a connection.

On the other side though, there are some things this movie does right. Michael Shannon made a great villain in General Zod. Hans Zimmer once again delivers a musical score that, even though at times delivers an unnecessary darker tone, connects the audience with the power that Superman has.

Overall, if you're willing to bypass the obvious storytelling flaws just to see Superman do battle in epic action sequences, this is the movie for you. Everyone else, proceed at your own risk.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UNARMED_JORDAug 21, 2016
although its extreme action sequences are as far fetched as ever, Man of steel offers a different perspective upon the superman story and overall emotion and action are balanced out which make this film a possible masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Muskrat147Aug 15, 2016
Though infused with substantial action sequences and mild bits of emotion, Man of Steel still can't make up for its over-the-top direction, thinly-written story, and controversial finale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
selim99Aug 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man of Steel is neither the best DC film nor the best movie that Zack Snyder has ever created. However, it is the Superman movie that we deserved. Although there are some pacing issues; the story is solid, the acting is great, the action sequences are awesome, and the musical score is just perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nsroehlAug 7, 2016
One of my favorite super hero movies ever made. After seeing this the first time I really like it. Now after seeing it multiple times and as a few years have passed I absolutely love this movie. There will always be parts that could haveOne of my favorite super hero movies ever made. After seeing this the first time I really like it. Now after seeing it multiple times and as a few years have passed I absolutely love this movie. There will always be parts that could have been done a little better, but over all this is the best superman adaption ever brought to the big screen. The music is great, the thought put into the villain and their motivations is great, the thought put into superman feeling like an alien and coming to grips with this is great, and the action is amazing if a bit much at times in the end but what do you expect from Snyder. Easily in my top 5 favorite super hero movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Antgiog1202Jul 29, 2016
Man of Steel is one of the most underrated superhero movies of all time! My excitement for this movie definitely payed off as it is beautifully directed by Zack Snyder as he rivets me from scene to scene. He is not the greatest director ever,Man of Steel is one of the most underrated superhero movies of all time! My excitement for this movie definitely payed off as it is beautifully directed by Zack Snyder as he rivets me from scene to scene. He is not the greatest director ever, but he does manage to give us a pretty bad-ass superhero flick that we should come to expect out of Superman. With his masterpiece of Watchmen, he has proven us that he can indeed create a breathtaking comic-book adaptation -- excluding Batman v. Superman.

Rating: 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CinemaphileJul 29, 2016
Slower than a Malick flick, less powerful than the Lost finale, able to leap critical narratives points with multiple bounds. It's a turd. It's, uh... lame. It's ...

Supermeh! Though well photographed, well acted, and well trussed with
Slower than a Malick flick, less powerful than the Lost finale, able to leap critical narratives points with multiple bounds. It's a turd. It's, uh... lame. It's ...

Supermeh!

Though well photographed, well acted, and well trussed with photo-realistic CG, Zach Snyder's Man of Steel is missing the key element present in his best film, Watchmen - a
compelling story. The Dark Knight's Christopher Nolan, opts to abandon the core Moses/Achilles archetype, retooling the mythology as a darker, more brooding, conflicted Kryptonian orphan questioning his identity. The choice was ill advised and works against the ethos of nearly a century of the character's canon. There are far too few moments which capture the "hope" Superman's sigil is now purported to symbolize. Ultimately, Man of Steel is disjointed, flashback riddled mess with little or no narrative arc. Sadly, Kal El doesn't emerge as the savior of truth, justice or the American way, but an ineffectual buffer against the fallout of his own planet's dysfunctional end. Where Snyder effectively fails is that he doesn't rely on those writers such as Alan Moore, John Byrne or Frank Miller who could - no pun intended - gotten to the core of Kal El's DNA. In fact, Kal El's DNA epitomizes what's wrong with Man of Steel - plot elements need to be connected and purposeful, qualities this incarnation lack in abundance. Though workmanlike in his performance, Henry Cavill cannot give Kal El the gravitas, or the stature the roll demands. Again, trying to give Superman the angst of Bruce Wayne is this film's critical flaw, one which no cast or CG can overcome.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
silencerJul 28, 2016
So, I'm not a comic book fan, so I take this movie for what it is - an entertainment.
And, tbh, it's not a bad entertainment at all.
Sure, the first half is a bit slow, and riddled with flashback, but hey, you gotta develop the character
So, I'm not a comic book fan, so I take this movie for what it is - an entertainment.
And, tbh, it's not a bad entertainment at all.

Sure, the first half is a bit slow, and riddled with flashback, but hey, you gotta develop the character somehow.

The 2nd half is non-stop action, and, stupid fun as it may be, it's still entertaining. Everything is so structurally unsound and apparently filled with explosives it's hilarious! Yes, there's an obvious plot hole based on miscommunication, but I guess they needed to create the tension somehow.

For those who say it's dark and moody - you should really go watch Dark Knight again: that movie was dark and depressing on so many levels. This one is just literally 'dark' because of the color palette used, but other than that, no major deaths and the S-man is always there to save the day. Imho, Terminator 2 has a darker tone than this movies, and that's saying something.

To summarize, it's a nice blockbuster movie with decent entertainment value. It's nothing to write home about, but it's worth the time to see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLover123Jul 26, 2016
Man of Steel is the best interpretation of the Superman character I have seen so far. Many critics don't know how hard it is to create a Superman movie without it becoming corny or downright boring aka Superman Returns. Conclusion, ZackMan of Steel is the best interpretation of the Superman character I have seen so far. Many critics don't know how hard it is to create a Superman movie without it becoming corny or downright boring aka Superman Returns. Conclusion, Zack Snyder, proceed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
luisfelipe1986Jul 5, 2016
an amazing visual film with a modern take on the character a movie that works together with the DCEU movies especially Batman v Superman in terms of character development. a great new superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
Man of Steel is the best Superman movie in my opinion. I was never that into him until I saw this movie. Cavill is the definitive Superman. My gripe with this movie is the over the top action and fight sequences that went on for too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
timjunior5May 18, 2016
Sure, the script is lacking and the action is a bit over-the-top, but "Man of Steel" still succeeds as a fantastic superhero story. The characters seem real and intense, and the score is breathtaking. If you love Superman, you're going toSure, the script is lacking and the action is a bit over-the-top, but "Man of Steel" still succeeds as a fantastic superhero story. The characters seem real and intense, and the score is breathtaking. If you love Superman, you're going to love this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jimi360May 13, 2016
I seriously enjoyed this movie. It is by no means perfect, and the darker tone can sometimes make it a little dull, considering how difficult it is to make a genuinely good Superman movie I feel Man of Steel delivered.

One thing I wanted
I seriously enjoyed this movie. It is by no means perfect, and the darker tone can sometimes make it a little dull, considering how difficult it is to make a genuinely good Superman movie I feel Man of Steel delivered.

One thing I wanted to see was Zack Snyder establish the Man of Steel, and highlight that this is an ORIGIN story. I feel that he delivered here. Superman is instantly shown to be a flawed individual, who has conflicting morales and emotions and, though as he gains more experience as the hero he will become the Superman that we know and love, this current inexperienced, young and emotional Superman is perfect for this new DC Universe. Henry Cavill plays the role very well, I enjoyed his performance and feel he will only get better as the Man of Steel. The score is incredible, and captures the tone and feeling of the movie in different scenes perfectly. Smaller roles such as Kevin Costner's Jonathan Kent and Lawerence Fishbourne's Perry White make excellent additions to the movie also. The main attraction here, as it is with most of Snyder's movies, is the action. The fight scenes with Zod's army and Zod himself are unbelievable, and the best action scenes of any superhero movie I have ever seen. Though it can sometimes become a little hard to follow, there special effects are unreal and must be seen for yourself.

I was not crazy on Amy Adams' Lois Lane, despite being a fan of her acting. I feel she was slightly more of a damsel in distress than she should have been. I also think that sometimes the dialogue and story does fall flat on occasion, which is fairly standard in Zack Snyder movies.

All in all though, I believe the critics have got this one very wrong. It is a very enjoyable movie which could be the start of something great for DC. If they don't mess it up.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
johan12345May 11, 2016
This is how a Superman movie should be made. It was a thriller from start to finish and I enjoyed every second of it. The fight scenes in this movie are legendary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EmpyreaMay 11, 2016
This movie is just great. It has everything: good plot, actors, spectacular special effects and a fantastic soundtrack. The suit of Superman has been improved and is more sofisticated and real than in other movies. I love this movie so much!This movie is just great. It has everything: good plot, actors, spectacular special effects and a fantastic soundtrack. The suit of Superman has been improved and is more sofisticated and real than in other movies. I love this movie so much! If you like superheroe movies and sci-fi, you must see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MetaHumanCriticMay 5, 2016
A lot of the hate against this film is because of the attachment that long time fans had to the late 70's version of Superman. Christopher Reeve did an amazing job with Superman. For it's time and for that vision. He did great. People areA lot of the hate against this film is because of the attachment that long time fans had to the late 70's version of Superman. Christopher Reeve did an amazing job with Superman. For it's time and for that vision. He did great. People are attached to that version of Superman. In 1978 where Lois Lane can't tell the difference between Superman and Clark Kent. Even the 1978 version of Superman had moments of darkness where he went through self doubt in the fortess of solitude and grew a beard and punched people at a diner.
Man of Steel's Superman is so compelling and so well written and acted out by Henry Cavill. It's a compelling story of self discovery. Clark Kent does not become Superman until he is 33 years old. The acting in this film is terrific, Michael Shannon and Russell Crowe steal the show as General Zod and Jor El, Superman's Krypton father. The first 20 minutes of the film are amazing. Sent to earth in Moses like fashion. Rather than being treated like a campy hero in this universe. Superman is a strange alien who is seen as a threat almost devil like. This is exactly what would happen in today's society. Ultimately, Superman accepts the responsibility of being the earth's savior. So many religious tones in this film. Great looking and great feeling film. Very emotional and compelling. Hans Zimmer's music is mesmerizing. Such a beautifully made film that is treated by some in a very ugly fashion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MCSnoahApr 27, 2016
Man of Steel is by the best Superman movie to DATE. Henry Cavill is worthy to the role of Superman once perfected by Christopher Reeve. Michael Shannon as General Zod intimated me and you feel for his character as he wants to make sureMan of Steel is by the best Superman movie to DATE. Henry Cavill is worthy to the role of Superman once perfected by Christopher Reeve. Michael Shannon as General Zod intimated me and you feel for his character as he wants to make sure krypton will still exist regardless of the amount of people he kills. Amy Adams as Lois Lane impressed me because for so long Lois Lane was the stereotypical girl who would always be in danger, where as in this movie she is a self independent woman who give up on a story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UrbanlistenerApr 20, 2016
Great film, definitely one of the better DC movies, Zack Snyder took a drastic new direction with this Superman compared to ones we had before. Much darker, violent and grittier, a style Snyder is known for. You'd think for a Superman movieGreat film, definitely one of the better DC movies, Zack Snyder took a drastic new direction with this Superman compared to ones we had before. Much darker, violent and grittier, a style Snyder is known for. You'd think for a Superman movie this wouldn't work, but it really does, the movie has a lot of emotional weight and you feel more involved. The acting is great, the special effects are incredible and the kind of never seen before Superman storyline is coherent, intriguing and interesting, we also get a lot of Krypton which is very nice. Deserves at least a 75% certified fresh on Rottentomatoes, 56% is very disrespectful to the quality and the efforts put into this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
reviewerd1Apr 18, 2016
I really enjoyed watching this film. There is a lot of action to keep you entertained especially the fight scenes. The characters are played really well and I never got bored. The graphics are impressive and the story line is really strong. II really enjoyed watching this film. There is a lot of action to keep you entertained especially the fight scenes. The characters are played really well and I never got bored. The graphics are impressive and the story line is really strong. I can't see any reason why you wouldn't want to watch this. I highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Man of Steel (2013) is a modern day take on the Superman lore, it introduces the viewers to Superman's past and his birth on Planet Krypton. The movie wastes no time and plunges the viewer into great action set pieces, while building theMan of Steel (2013) is a modern day take on the Superman lore, it introduces the viewers to Superman's past and his birth on Planet Krypton. The movie wastes no time and plunges the viewer into great action set pieces, while building the foundation for the movies lore.

The characters are believable and their performances are very solid for this type of movie. The so called critics who slam the movie for not having enough humour or for over the top action or for whatever unprofessional reason are completely unfounded in their "arguments" and just prove how arrogant non objective they are, this is not 1970's, hero movies must retain a serious tone to be relevant nowadays.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonApr 11, 2016
Henry Cavill makes for a good Superman and there are some entertaining scenes but, to be honest, the movie is a bit of an unstructured mess and I didn't really have much idea what was going on most of the time. I did make it to the end but IHenry Cavill makes for a good Superman and there are some entertaining scenes but, to be honest, the movie is a bit of an unstructured mess and I didn't really have much idea what was going on most of the time. I did make it to the end but I was bored well before the final credits rolled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
farzyy12Apr 11, 2016
The best Superman origin story ever told in a movie format.

Henry Cavill looked and felt like the Superman the world deserves and needed. Russell Crowe was superb as Jor-El. Filled with over-long action sequences and a re-telling of the
The best Superman origin story ever told in a movie format.

Henry Cavill looked and felt like the Superman the world deserves and needed. Russell Crowe was superb as Jor-El. Filled with over-long action sequences and a re-telling of the most iconic Superhero to ever exist in our modern time.
Michael Shannon as General Zod was frightening & intense while at the same time you can understand the reason as to why he does the things he does. Sorely for the people of Krypton!

The romance arc between Clark and Lois felt forced and lacked any real reason as to why they even fell for each other, however I did enjoy the way Lois found out about Superman.

The kryptonite for this film was its weak script. While it didn't kill the film, it certainly hurt it and made it suffer. The dialogue and the pacing could've been handled a lot better with certain sequences being executed poorly.

What did this film do best? It brought a perfect being we know as Superman into a world that is not so perfect. It threw away the Silver Age character we knew of and threw it into a pool we call realism. And that turned a perfect hero into a hero with flaws which made me care about the character. (Why care for a superhero that is always perfect?)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ElectroNickApr 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Zack Snyder's first outing with the DC Cinematic Universe shows some promise but it also faces major stumbling blocks. This reboot tries to depict a more humanized Superman as he tries to be the ultimate bridge between Earth and Krypton. I admire the film for its ambition and there are some good elements that are unfortunately balanced out by serious problems. The film is not your typical Superman movie for better and worse. For instance the entire movie is tinted in a greyish- blue kind of color which sucks the life out of the frame. This choice is supposed to reflect the somber mood but there is barely a balance of life in the frame. Another major failing on the technicals is the excessive use of Shaky cam. There are some scenes when it is called for such as Superman flying for the first time and a few of the crashes but there are other scenes when the shaky cam is used during quiet scenes. It especially got bad during the one scene when Johnathan Kent was trying to teach Clark a life lesson and the shaky cam got in the way of me trying to connect with the scene. On that note, Kevin Kosner played the worst portrayal of Johnathan Kent to this date as he is very apathetic and even encouraged his son to let his classmates die. Lois Lane appears to only be in this film out of obligation since her contribution to the film was very limited at best. Superman himself is very emotional detached and is reckless in his actions causing so much collateral damage that it would even make Michael Bay blush. General Zod is the one character who appears to have some depth to him as he wants to save Krypton at the cost of all life on Earth. The biggest scene that caused controversy is the scene when Superman snaps Zod's neck. This act goes against everything that the character stands for. Superman is a character that represents the best of humanity and he is a character who shows mercy to his enemies as he fights for everyone. This moment could have worked if the film had better established Superman's moral code against killing but it was never built up to that point. A better example of a hero who had to make a moral compromise by going against his no-killing code was Trigun. Trigun was an aneme that heavily establishes Vash's qualm against killing and thus it had more of an impact when he finally had to take a life to save his friends. In this film's case however, the emotional impact of Superman's actions are never brought up again. Despite these glaring issues there are some good elements in this film. The opening scene on Krypton was well done as it shows the despair of the Kryptonions in their inevitable doom. The relationship with Clark and Martha Kent is also well done as she teaches Clark how to focus his powers. In short I do see how people enjoy this film but I cannot. This is a potentially profound film that doesn't live up to its potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
At once frantically overblown and beautifully filigreed, “Man of Steel” will turn on everyone it doesn’t turn off. Summer blockbusters have a way of encouraging multiplex Manichaeism, though I propose a middle way. It won’t be easy. EvenAt once frantically overblown and beautifully filigreed, “Man of Steel” will turn on everyone it doesn’t turn off. Summer blockbusters have a way of encouraging multiplex Manichaeism, though I propose a middle way. It won’t be easy. Even those who patiently ride out the bludgeoning excesses of the film’s final 45 minutes may wonder what happened to the movie — the one about human and humanoid struggles — they watched for the first 100. They may also wonder why no one, anyone, smacked the director, Zack Snyder, in the head and reminded him that he was midwifing a superhero franchise, as the film’s first image, of a yelling, straining woman signals, not restaging the end of days.

Apocalypse Now (a movie that Mr. Snyder nods at), Apocalypse Then: The 21st century has been tough for Superman, at least at the box office. After decades of saving the world on the screen and on the page, the movie character seemed stuck, particularly after the dreary 2006 reboot, “Superman Returns.” The Superman story had been told in so many ways and in so many moods in the comics — he has married and mourned, died and been reborn — but shaping these transformative cycles into a new film, much less a viable series, remained elusive. Christopher Nolan went dark and then darker with another DC Comics legend in the Dark Knight films, but this was Superman, idealism embodied. What was there left to say about the man in the primary-color suit, especially after Sept. 11?

For starters, return to basics, and add a fighting-trim Russell Crowe, a howlingly mad Michael Shannon, that emotional guidepost Amy Adams and a superdude — the British actor Henry Cavill — so ripped that he’s nearly shredded. Much like “Batman Begins,” the first part of the Dark Knight trilogy, “Man of Steel” narrates the how and why of its character, tracing an existential arc from child to man. The difference is that while Batman has to journey into the world (with a layover in a bat cave) to acquire his particular skill set, Superman comes fully loaded. He just needs to burrow into his innermost self, hang out at the Fortress of Solitude and meet the right woman.

He does all that in “Man of Steel,” which was written by David S. Goyer from a story that he created with Mr. Nolan that extracts the canonical account from 75 years of seemingly infinitely layered supermythology. To that end, the film begins at the beginning, back on Krypton where Jor-El (Mr. Crowe) attempts to persuade its council, wearing dour expressions and ornate headdresses evocative of Gothic tracery, that their planet is doomed. It’s a measure of the film’s striking design here that the headdress latticework is echoed in some of the pleated clothing, as well as in the curvilinear buildings, suggesting that someone behind the scenes (the production designer is Alex McDowell) is an admirer of the architect Zaha Hadid and her flowing organic forms.

These graceful contours are further picked up in spaceships that float like jellyfish and in suits of armor that evoke crustaceans, adding to this alien world’s striking conceptual unity. Lovely and imperious, the headdresses are also emblems of the countervailing forces that have led to the ruin of Krypton, a civilization undone by its own advances. The resemblances to Earth are blunt enough for an eco-savvy kindergartner and pop off the screen like speech balloons. But, then, this is Superman, and Mr. Snyder, whose earlier movies include a stillborn adaptation of the graphic novel “Watchmen,” is here playing with different narrative forms as he toggles between cinematic realism and the kind of comic-book-style exaggeration that distills ideas into images.

For roughly 100 minutes, or the running time of an average movie, Mr. Snyder is in control of his material. His handling of the story’s many flashbacks, which fill in piecemeal Superman’s Kansas childhood as Clark, is fluid and apt. Each return to the past becomes another tile in the mosaic, adding to the emerging portrait of the adult wanderer and seeker he has become. His adoptive parents, Martha (Diane Lane) and Jonathan (Kevin Costner), come into focus, as does the bewildered child (played by Cooper Timberline and Dylan Sprayberry), who doesn’t understand why he’s so different. Mr. Snyder borrows too many canted camera angles and too much sun-kissed fluttering laundry from Terrence Malick, but the Kansas scenes solidify the human foundation of a divided identity.

The last 45 minutes is when Mr. Snyder piles on the hammering special effects, becoming yet one more director gone disappointingly amok.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nicholas_lindenApr 2, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Zack Snyder's first outing with the DC Cinematic Universe shows some promise but it also faces major stumbling blocks. This reboot tries to depict a more humanized Superman as he tries to be the ultimate bridge between Earth and Krypton. I admire the film for its ambition and there are some good elements that are unfortunately balanced out by serious problems. The film is not your typical Superman movie for better and worse. For instance the entire movie is tinted in a greyish- blue kind of color which sucks the life out of the frame. This choice is supposed to reflect the somber mood but there is barely a balance of life in the frame. Another major failing on the technicals is the excessive use of Shaky cam. There are some scenes when it is called for such as Superman flying for the first time and a few of the crashes but there are other scenes when the shaky cam is used during quiet scenes. It especially got bad during the one scene when Johnathan Kent was trying to teach Clark a life lesson and the shaky cam got in the way of me trying to connect with the scene. On that note, Kevin Kosner played the worst portrayal of Johnathan Kent to this date as he is very apathetic and even encouraged his son to let his classmates die. Lois Lane appears to only be in this film out of obligation since her contribution to the film was very limited at best. Superman himself is very emotional detached and is reckless in his actions causing so much collateral damage that it would even make Michael Bay blush. General Zod is the one character who appears to have some depth to him as he wants to save Krypton at the cost of all life on Earth. The biggest scene that caused controversy is the scene when Superman snaps Zod's neck. This act goes against everything that the character stands for. Superman is a character that represents the best of humanity and he is a character who shows mercy to his enemies as he fights for everyone. This moment could have worked if the film had better established Superman's moral code against killing but it was never built up to that point. A better example of a hero who had to make a moral compromise by going against his no-killing code was Trigun. Trigun was an aneme that heavily establishes Vash's qualm against killing and thus it had more of an impact when he finally had to take a life to save his friends. In this film's case however, the emotional impact of Superman's actions are never brought up again. Despite these glaring issues there are some good elements in this film. The opening scene on Krypton was well done as it shows the despair of the Kryptonions in their inevitable doom. The relationship with Clark and Martha Kent is also well done as she teaches Clark how to focus his powers. In short I do see how people enjoy this film but I cannot. This is a potentially profound film that doesn't live up to its potential. Collapse Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Swishalicious29Apr 1, 2016
A silly and over-the-top action film. The cast is pretty good and I found the scenes on Krypton to be interesting. Flashbacks to Superman's younger years were good as well. The climax is so ridiculous and the action scenes have no tension dueA silly and over-the-top action film. The cast is pretty good and I found the scenes on Krypton to be interesting. Flashbacks to Superman's younger years were good as well. The climax is so ridiculous and the action scenes have no tension due to it. The tone is too serious at times also which made it feel pretentious. The middle act is pretty boring as well. Man of Steel is a decent popcorn flick, but it really lacks the substance to make it anything more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RedeadhoodMar 28, 2016
And Snyder has divided the audience once again. The movie is definitely flawed but seriously doesn't deserve the backlash. We shouldn't have expected to see the same Superman, especially not when the times have changed and even when theAnd Snyder has divided the audience once again. The movie is definitely flawed but seriously doesn't deserve the backlash. We shouldn't have expected to see the same Superman, especially not when the times have changed and even when the Superman in the comics is no longer what he was. All I can say is that I had a great time and Micheal Shannon was definitely a compelling villain (which most Marvel movies lack). Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
NehuenMar 27, 2016
Muy buen reinicio para este super héroe. Años esperando una adaptación decente para el Hombre de Acero, después de bodrios (III, IV: The Quest for Peace & Returns), al fin llega una película que le hace justicia al personaje. A pesar que elMuy buen reinicio para este super héroe. Años esperando una adaptación decente para el Hombre de Acero, después de bodrios (III, IV: The Quest for Peace & Returns), al fin llega una película que le hace justicia al personaje. A pesar que el Nolan estuvo involucrado en la producción de la película, tiene algunas fallas, tanto en algun desarrollo de a lo largo de la película, aunque no es tan malo. Me encantó que Zack Snyder muestre el verdadero poder del Hombre de Acero en esta película, desde hace tiempo que quería ver a un Superman así. El soundtrack de Hans Zimmer es magnífico en toda la cinta, y en las escenas de acción lo logra mostrar mejor. Me encantó el enemigo de la película interpretado por Michael Shannon, "General Zod", un buen villano, para comenzar este reboot, incluso me parece mejor que la versión de Superman II. Muy recomendable para aquellos que desconfiaban que no iba a haber otra buena adaptación del Hombre de Acero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
Man of Steel is the best Superman movie in my opinion. I was never that into him until I saw this movie. Cavill is the definitive Superman. My gripe with this movie is the over the top action and fight sequences that went on for too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
musicforallMar 25, 2016
Pa Kent is not supposed to fill Clark with fear of humanity. That bothered me much more than the mass destruction. Clark's father believed in both his son and humanity that tomorrow would be better if people weren't afraid to hope. Also,Pa Kent is not supposed to fill Clark with fear of humanity. That bothered me much more than the mass destruction. Clark's father believed in both his son and humanity that tomorrow would be better if people weren't afraid to hope. Also, Clark does not find himself traveling the world but rather is grounded in being from a small, rural American town with family who love and believe in him. That contrast against Batman makes both characters more compelling but the movie tries to make everything like Batman because he sells,

Watchmen was a great movie. Zach Snyder seems to enjoy reflecting heroes in a dark way largely because there's pressure for money and to follow gritty trends but it is disrespectful to the character of Superman.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PeterParkerMar 25, 2016
This is one of the best DC Super Hero Movies ever. Superman is one of my favourite characters ever, i love this version of Lois Lane because is very similar to one of my favourite characters of Family Guy: Joyce Kinney. A great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShetlandVikingMar 24, 2016
Let's get the negatives over-with: I would preferred Ed Harris as General Zod, as he would have been more intimidating. While Michael Shannon is a good actor, there's something a bit goofy about the way he speaks in the role. I did not likeLet's get the negatives over-with: I would preferred Ed Harris as General Zod, as he would have been more intimidating. While Michael Shannon is a good actor, there's something a bit goofy about the way he speaks in the role. I did not like the tornado scene. I liked certain things said by Jonathan Kent, but didn't like the way he was written overall. The were a couple of times certain plot-points could have been resolved more logically. The pacing was a bit off, and there didn't need to be so much CGI spectacle.

Other than that, this is the movie the made me like Superman. That's an achievement in itself. Great action contrasted by some touching little moments with characters like Martha Kent. The visual design of the Kryptonian elements were genius.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Super-Evil-DOOMMar 23, 2016
It has a lot of the same problems Superman Returns did, with more flaws to call it's own. No amount of punches or action can make up for a soulless attempt at making Superman into Batman for the modern audience. It's a boring, pretentious,It has a lot of the same problems Superman Returns did, with more flaws to call it's own. No amount of punches or action can make up for a soulless attempt at making Superman into Batman for the modern audience. It's a boring, pretentious, drawn out film with dull, grim tone that hopes the audience will overlook it because there's a lot of punching going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeMar 21, 2016
Man of Steel – Revisited

DC has entered the cinematic universe, and it all begins with this 2013 entry – ´Man of Steel´. The basics aren’t that well presented, it even goes a bit meh after a couple viewings, even though it still got its
Man of Steel – Revisited

DC has entered the cinematic universe, and it all begins with this 2013 entry – ´Man of Steel´. The basics aren’t that well presented, it even goes a bit meh after a couple viewings, even though it still got its action-glamour. Plot holes, messy action & rushed storylines somehow didn’t get caught up in the writing process. A great background of the man from Krypton is a wonderful aspect yes, it even managed to bring a few ethical dilemmas to light, but the basics didn’t. The action is without any doubt great, but to fail to enlighten the audience a better, and a less odd storyline that doesn’t leave them with an “ugh that was odd”-feel; that’s bad storytelling. Our antagonist is on the other hand understandable, and both him and our main hero are very well established, and we get a lot insides to their past self, even though Zod just is a classic angry-villain. One thing is for sure and undeniable fact with this Snyder-flick; Hans Zimmer’s score might be the best aspect. Meanwhile shaky cam, an overly packed amount of vague CGI & some small fragments of overacting; that’s something BvS really got to overcome. But will Zach Snyder be able to look beyond his past and truly succeed with BvS? For the sake of the DC Universe, he better will.

Personal rating: 70/100
Critical rating: 51/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Man of Steel represents the latest attempt by Warner Brothers to revive a Superman franchise that, since its stunning 1978 revival, has been abominably treated for about 30 years (ever since Richard Donner was unceremoniously fired fromMan of Steel represents the latest attempt by Warner Brothers to revive a Superman franchise that, since its stunning 1978 revival, has been abominably treated for about 30 years (ever since Richard Donner was unceremoniously fired from Superman II). This movie certainly looks and feels a lot different than any of its predecessors, and that's not just because of the crappy 3-D. It's more of a science fiction/fantasy adventure than a superhero movie. In a way that's good, because it doesn't come across like a tired retread of every origin story we've ever seen. On the other hand, it's not good, because the sci-fi feel has been overly influenced by the likes of Independence Day and Transformers. That's right: blow everything up, real good! Pyrotechnics! Special Effects! CGI up the wazoo! For those who crave cinematic mayhem, Man of Steel is right up your alley (and it will make a ton of money). But something important has been lost along the way: heart. This is a cold, sterile motion picture. The characters are so thinly drawn that it's tough to get much feel for them. And one senses that director Zack Snyder is less interested in Superman than he is in the orgy of destruction he gets to rain down on Metropolis. Somewhere, Roland Emmerich and Michael Bay are smiling.

Man of Steel is, first and foremost, a great spectacle. The effects work is first rate and the action sequences, of which there are many, are delivered with a kinetic punch. The tone is dour - humor is at a premium and, on those rare occasions when it's there, the delivery is decidedly low-key. The movie wants desperately to be taken seriously and viewed as something more than a comic book film. Perhaps, in the end, that's one reason why Man of Steel rarely feels heroic and never truly soars. Sure, Superman eventually wins but at the cost of thousands of lives (we're not given a specific body count but it has to be very high).

Christopher Nolan's influence will be hotly debated, especially since the producer has been coy about the full extent of his involvement in the final product, stating only that "it's Zack Synder's film." Indeed, Man of Steel is closer to Watchmen than Batman Begins in terms of its look and feel. It's a style over substance thing, spectacle over heart. Snyder never ceases to amaze visually but one could make a compelling case that he "misses" what defines Superman's uniqueness. It makes sense for Batman to live in the dark but Superman has always been a figure of light and truth. That's one reason he's a difficult movie subject because there's no ambiguity about who he is and what he represents, and there's something about the darkness that pervades Man of Steel that feels wrong for the character.

The choice of Henry Cavill to don the cape is inspired; Cavill is easily the most accomplished actor thus far to fill the role and, while no one will ever fully eclipse what Christopher Reeve brought to the screen, Cavill uses Man of Steel as an opportunity to lay the foundation for what could be a long and memorable run. He combines the matinee appeal of Reeve and Brandon Routh with a stronger resume although, truth be told, the screenplay underuses his range. The main requirement for Cavill is to look the part.

As a cookie cutter supervillain, Michael Shannon does a good job overacting. He snarls and yells and exudes menace. He rants and does all sorts of nasty things. In the end, however, it's the name "Zod" that puts Shannon at a disadvantage because it forces him to exist in the long shadow of Terence Stamp. Stamp's Zod is arguably one of the twenty most memorable movie bad guys and Shannon doesn't touch him. The other casting miscalculation is Amy Adams as Lois Lane. The part doesn't fit. On the other hand, there are some great choices, although most of them are sadly underused. Laurence Fishburne makes a terrific Perry White, although he has very little screen time. Kevin Costner and Diane Lane are great as Clark's Earth parents although Costner in particular deserves more screen time.

Man of Steel delivers forcefully on its promise to take Superman in a different direction. Perhaps that's a good idea; after all, Richard Donner (with an assist from Richard Lester) has done the "traditional" Superman as well as it can be done. But a lot is missing, and the most telling absence is the element that makes Superman more the hero of his own story rather than the pawn of special effects. This is a less promising opening act than Batman Begins because it mines so little new territory. Remakes like Man of Steel are about intangibles like tone and style and how well the soul of the central conceit has been maintained. Snyder succeeds in making this movie sufficiently different to justify its existence. The open question is whether this Superman can spearhead a franchise that aspires to greatness or whether this new "dark vision" is merely window dressing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SanDiegoMar 14, 2016
This is the best movie in 2013, it's awesome, it's heart pounding like hell, Henry Cavill is the best superman I have ever known. The fight scenes is extremely awesome, the world engine is heart pounding, this is an awesome superhero movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FuturedirectorMar 12, 2016
Man of Steel cannot be called "action film". And we gotta add that Superman's new aspect is not the real one. Could be better, developed, but it's not the Superman that we used to watch. Unfortunately, this film is also more violent thanMan of Steel cannot be called "action film". And we gotta add that Superman's new aspect is not the real one. Could be better, developed, but it's not the Superman that we used to watch. Unfortunately, this film is also more violent than action-packed film, but it's able to be called "science-fiction" film, at least. It also brings a great short love story to the cinema, and powerfully moving scenes. Maybe it could have low-human characters, but, why do we spect about superheroes films? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
IxSaruMar 2, 2016
Man of Steel is a partyof special effects,
trying to create morally correct characters, but you get to see cynics , and in some cases gaps ( more than once left a lousy message to the viewer )
thus creating an epic plot fomented by a great
Man of Steel is a partyof special effects,
trying to create morally correct characters, but you get to see cynics , and in some cases gaps ( more than once left a lousy message to the viewer )
thus creating an epic plot fomented by a great soundtrack, but it has no real or credible basis or based.
It has very little coherance many facts , is extremly fantastic and what else to say , try to be serious, but it is difficult take it seriously.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MaxBoyzFeb 28, 2016
Well, I will try to keep this short. I love super hero movies, hater the D.C. universe in particular, and yes I have read the comics, seen previous movies and cartoons. I dont like DC comic. because it's dickhead
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Feb 24, 2016
I liked this superman movie. The action is fabulous, with destroyed buildings, lots of punches, and just superman being a badass again. The story does a good job of explaining supermans orgin as. The only problem I have with this story is theI liked this superman movie. The action is fabulous, with destroyed buildings, lots of punches, and just superman being a badass again. The story does a good job of explaining supermans orgin as. The only problem I have with this story is the love story between superman and lois lane. The villian, zod, is a great dc villian. His quest to controlling earth to rebuild kripton(i dont know how to spell it) is what made him a great character. I think this was a great superman film since superman 2 from the 80s Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pierov100Feb 24, 2016
I just don't have any good enough words to say about MoS.
Its been over 2 and half years now and it is still my best Superhero movie of all time.
I saw it more than 10 times over those 2 years and it gets better every time. Well the truth
I just don't have any good enough words to say about MoS.
Its been over 2 and half years now and it is still my best Superhero movie of all time.
I saw it more than 10 times over those 2 years and it gets better every time.
Well the truth is Supermen's my favorite superhero of all time so this was the movie I have been waiting since the day I firs laid eyes on the big S 20 year ago.
And it is probably my biggest disagreeing with critics ever, I don't know what they saw but I guess not the same movie I did hahaha! ;)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JB562Feb 22, 2016
A nice reboot to the Superman live-action film series. Although the story seems unevenly paced in a few ways, the action scenes are undeniably incredible. In fact, the action scenes are kind of like Dragon Ball Z according to some commentators.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AgentVenom117Feb 22, 2016
Although this film is filled with over the top action and forced Jesus symbolism with Superman, I can't say I didn't have a lot of fun with this movie and I am excited to see what DC has in store for us in future movies such as Batman vAlthough this film is filled with over the top action and forced Jesus symbolism with Superman, I can't say I didn't have a lot of fun with this movie and I am excited to see what DC has in store for us in future movies such as Batman v Superman and Suicide Squad coming out this year. Although Zack Snyder clearly has problems directing and I'm glad Ben Affleck is there to maybe talk some sense into him when he gets to excited and forgets to explain things such as why Lois is so important to Zod in this movie to the point where he demands to have her in this ship. Check it out if you're a DC fan or a Superman fan or watch it with some friends if you want to see a dumb action film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nahtan1244Feb 14, 2016
A very good superman movie after the campy superman returns. I loved this movies first half. The emotional scenes were so raw and real I felt his pain and agony of clark kent and how he was trying to figure out who his is and how to coupeA very good superman movie after the campy superman returns. I loved this movies first half. The emotional scenes were so raw and real I felt his pain and agony of clark kent and how he was trying to figure out who his is and how to coupe with these new powers. I definitely had a Christopher Nolan feel to it even though zack snyder directed it. Henry cavil did a fantastic job as superman and russel crowe as Jor el was so good. Some people have complained about it's lack of romance you know what i say to that blah. I could care less. The one thing i do agree is that it could have had better character development. also In the movies second act the action was powerful and the final fight was well done but I though there could have cut at least one action scene of took a break for just a little. Some people might like this about the movie but i didn't. Hans zimmer was terrific as always. I mean when has the man never delivered. Go out and see this movie it's emotional action packed powerful and definitely the best superman film we have been given in recent years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicJan 28, 2016
Man of Steel, in my opinion, is a decent but not quite as better as the original Superman movie. I felt that Zack Synder tried to recapture the atmosphere and brilliance of Richard Donnor's 1978 version, but with little interest on why the DCMan of Steel, in my opinion, is a decent but not quite as better as the original Superman movie. I felt that Zack Synder tried to recapture the atmosphere and brilliance of Richard Donnor's 1978 version, but with little interest on why the DC Universe movies haven't been a gamechanger throughout the years (The Dark Knight Trilogy doesn't count). I was feeling a bit nervous why they chose Henry Cavill donning the red, yellow cape and spandex with the iconic "S" trademark because Superman just way past his prime. Even though Superman Returns was pretty good, but Man Of Steel is less but kinda bland Superman. The movie's ending went horribly wrong (I saw the whole thing, no spoilers), the whole CGI thing is pointless, Kevin Costner's performance as Clark Kent's own father sucked, the action scenes were inspired unless you make the movie for 2 1/2 hours long. And that's the problem.

I'm a little worried for what's to come during 2016's sorta "Man Of Steel" sequel, "Batman vs. Superman: Dawn Of Justice." Will the movie be any good? Can Batfleck (Ben Affleck) be a better Batman than Christian Bale? Can the movie be as much darker as Marvel's "Captain America: Civil War"? Or can it become the highest-grossing movie of the year? I'm predicting that it's going to get near the 60's at Rotten Tomatoes (or below 50s), but 2016 is full of too much superhero movies. So I might have to wait on that, but as for Man Of Steel, good movie, flawed script, acting is pretty decent, but it's worth a shot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJan 26, 2016
"Man of Steel" was initially in a Superman movie but the trouble is that Superman should add title and it would calls "Superman : Man of Steel" , but the movie was amazing and very powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeJan 25, 2016
Man of Steel tries to impress fans of the DC universe. It actually worked.... what bothers me to say is that this movie tried so hard to impress people like me. The movie's still decent. What went wrong with it is that the movie went so slowMan of Steel tries to impress fans of the DC universe. It actually worked.... what bothers me to say is that this movie tried so hard to impress people like me. The movie's still decent. What went wrong with it is that the movie went so slow after we head off to the middle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
benbuttbusterJan 22, 2016
This is actually the worst superhero movie I've ever seen. All of the characters are unlikable heaps of garbage, the action scenes are seizure inducing **** and the plot is constant nonsensical **** 0/10, not a great one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
XetrusJan 16, 2016
After a second viewing two years later, the movie seems better for me than the first time. The issues I have with it remains from the first viewing (last 40 minutes with no change of rhythm and too much CGI) however, the first hour isAfter a second viewing two years later, the movie seems better for me than the first time. The issues I have with it remains from the first viewing (last 40 minutes with no change of rhythm and too much CGI) however, the first hour is solidified with the first 20 minutes on Krypton and the 40 minutes of Clark finding himself. The movie suffers the absense of a strong actor like Russell Crowe in the end (although they find out a way to keep him in the movie as long as it´s possible) but Henry Cavill does a good job keeping you interested. Not the best material for Michael Shannon but it seems like he could´ve done something more giving Zod more character or memorable things to do or say. The movie is a solid 8 but has problems in the story and the way approaching it. For a 2:20 hs of a film, they put together a lot of things for the future. Maybe in future films the rhythm can be tone down a bit to let big moments sink better. And less CGI goes a long way for a movie that wants us to believe that something like this can happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The first half of this movie is actually ok, Snyder taking some time to peg some characters well, and establish a tone fairly nicely with the use of flashbacks
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Having said that, it does take along while to
WHAT I LIKED: The first half of this movie is actually ok, Snyder taking some time to peg some characters well, and establish a tone fairly nicely with the use of flashbacks
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Having said that, it does take along while to get going, and when it does it's pretty awful. If you thought elements of the first half were far-fetched and ridiculous, you haven't seen anything yet. From here on, the film is a mess of CGI, aliens and bizzare rubbish that will stop you caring even an ounce. A lack of emotion, grittiness and any sort of sense, the whole last hour and a quater of this film is on such a huge scale, but with no real gravitas and just makes you feel kind of empty and bored.
VERDICT: A good film for the first bit, then prety terrible after that. 'Man of Steel' establishes characters well, but does little else in terms of plot, emotion, or... anything much at all.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
I kinda like how the movie started out, but it went all awry very very fast.

Laurence Fishburne as Perry Mason? Really? No Jimmy Olson? Really? Lois Lane finds out from the start that Clark Kent is superman? Really? Kent saves an entire
I kinda like how the movie started out, but it went all awry very very fast.

Laurence Fishburne as Perry Mason? Really? No Jimmy Olson? Really? Lois Lane finds out from the start that Clark Kent is superman? Really? Kent saves an entire bus filled with school children but his identity remains unknown? Really? In spite of that, Kent lets his father die because his father doesn't want him to reveal his identity? Really? And finally, are we really supposed to root for some guy who knowingly destroys half a city along with the future of his own species in the middle of a testosterone fueled fight? Really?

Also, both my girlfriend and I had more sympathy for Zod and his crew (who were more or less the only rational people in the story) than for Clark Kent or any of the other "good guys", which is quite telling considering how one-dimensional the villains were overall.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Olsen134Dec 27, 2015
Wow Just WOW!!! The Special Effects where just AMAZING!!!! Henry Cavil was a Perfect Casting for Superman! The character development was on point and this truly set up Warner Bros to **** on the Avengers
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TinoTrivinoDec 24, 2015
I could give it a 10, or I could give it a 0, but i give it a 6, why?
The First part of the Movie is awesome!!! just awesome. For Fanatic fans like me who was born with Superman, and know about the REAL story will love that, but....
Thats
I could give it a 10, or I could give it a 0, but i give it a 6, why?
The First part of the Movie is awesome!!! just awesome. For Fanatic fans like me who was born with Superman, and know about the REAL story will love that, but....

Thats the problem.. once you reached the half of the movie, its nonsense, boring, and specially: SILLY...

I understand they did it for making a kind of interconnection Superman vs Batman... something i Hate by the way...
So, everything is good, even Clark Kent/Superman, I like very much since Christopher Reeve (the second one), this new Actor, Henry Cavill. He was awesome...
Russel Crowe well, he was good because he act very good, but they shouldnt put heavy well known actors, it takes you away of the movie and yo raelised its a movie.. hard to explain what i meant in english...
So, this Movie is goo, but it could be better...
5/10
Special effects 10/10
Sound 7/10 (some library sounds from other moviebanks)
Soundtrack 8/10 (good choice, good emotive selection, except the end, it doesnt fit well during the fight
Edited 10/10 (good narrative pace)
Story 5/10 (good begining and its the rael Kal-El Story, but the end sucks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Nobilis1984Dec 20, 2015
Leider ein schlechter Abklatch der großen Christopher Reeves Filme. Warum?
Alles sieht zwar visuell klasse aus und Reeves wurde fast 1:1 getroffen. Aber mein Gefühl sagt mir das dies kein richtiger Superman Film ist. Es ist für mich ein Film
Leider ein schlechter Abklatch der großen Christopher Reeves Filme. Warum?
Alles sieht zwar visuell klasse aus und Reeves wurde fast 1:1 getroffen. Aber mein Gefühl sagt mir das dies kein richtiger Superman Film ist. Es ist für mich ein Film ohne Seele.
Sozusagen äußerlich eine schöne Frau aber die inneren Werte kann man vergessen. Keiner braucht dicke Effekte aber eine bessere Story sowie mehr Logik wären von Vorteil gewesen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
weirdcryoDec 10, 2015
I recently rewatched this movie and leave it with a higher appreciation:

First of all I have to say that I also saw recently the JL and batman TDKR part 1 and 2 animated films and despite they are good movies (not great) the Superman
I recently rewatched this movie and leave it with a higher appreciation:

First of all I have to say that I also saw recently the JL and batman TDKR part 1 and 2 animated films and despite they are good movies (not great) the Superman character (and other heroes) is really dull and I didn't like it at all (au contraire of how interesting Batman is written).
They manage to give Superman his own story in a compelling way, the character has depth, he is no a government dog he makes his own decision and he decides everyday what kind of being he wants to be "the Savior" or "the Ruler". Also there are a lot of people complaining about "destruction" there is a lot of destruction in the DCU, I believed them when they talked about the destruction but after seeing the animated universe the fighting scenes are really well done and are one of the higher points of this movie.

Second, after seeing the direction of Batman v Superman through the trailers you realise that the movie has lot of nice details touching religion, how humans can react and that not everybody is prepare or will trust this "god" and how all this set the premise for BvS.

Despite this cool things (and other I don't name), how look the movies looks, etc there are a couple of moments that don't make sense or there are really not reason to be there (like the tentacles thingy, or the military chick saying that superman is hot).

This movie is clearly not perfect but is probably the best superhero movie right know, the actions scenes are awesome, everything looks nice, the constant possibility that is given to Superman to make his own choice is a great touch (despite we all know he is not going "dark side"), how people is not necessary reacting well (sometimes it's beyond stupid how they react but it's also something that happened in the animated universe), personally I don't understand why people are complaining this much about the movie but I'm not a comic book fan and, like I said, I'm talking from what I saw at DCAU (which, to me, isn't perfect neither).
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RobobobNov 28, 2015
I guess the DC fans are working very hard to improve the score of this movie. Notice all of the recent glowing reviews for a movie that's a couple years old. Truth is, that it is a very average movie. Usually when I rate a movie I think ofI guess the DC fans are working very hard to improve the score of this movie. Notice all of the recent glowing reviews for a movie that's a couple years old. Truth is, that it is a very average movie. Usually when I rate a movie I think of a list of things I 'like" against things I "dislike." With this movie I can only think of 2 likes. Henry Cavill is a great Superman and I like the art style and design choices for things like the opening act on Krypton. Other than that I can list many things that don't make sense but a fan online will just argue with you or make grand assumptions. How can Superman be negatively affected by atmospherics (is that a word?) when he can survive in space without breathing? How is Superman powered by our "yellow" sun when it is actually white but our atmosphere changes it's color throughout the day? How does his father just conveniently disappear into a tornado instead of gets tossed around like a semi-truck? How can Zod adjust to Earth in mere hours when it took Clark years of his life? How can Lois Lane survive Arctic weather in a small coat when the Army guy said she would easily freeze overnight?
Too many silly questions that get an easy pass by the super fans.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JKelzNov 28, 2015
Very comic book accurate and gave us a taste of Superman's true power that we see all the time in animated series and movies not to mention the comics. Superman also has always been a bit hot headed and jumps into a fight initially beforeVery comic book accurate and gave us a taste of Superman's true power that we see all the time in animated series and movies not to mention the comics. Superman also has always been a bit hot headed and jumps into a fight initially before thinking. To say what I just said is not true means you are not aware of the comic Superman history or you are just hating on the movie for personal reasons. And by no means am I saying you have to like the movie or any Superman movie but to say that any of the previous Superman movies were better is comical....pun intended. Man of Steel was amazingly written. The best set up for a villain in a comic book movie ever as the first 15 to 20 minutes was used to set up Zod.

Zod's motivation was very clear and in a weird way you sympathized with Zod's point of view of saving his race; it was only his method of accomplishing his goal of saving his race that most disagreed with. Man of Steel also was a movie about a son and his two fathers laying the ground work for Superman. Both fathers wanted to protect their son while knowing that one day he would be great and they were right as his very first task was not saving a plane from crashing but saving the human race from extinction.

Visually this movie showed you exactly what you see in the comics as it relates to Supermans true power which is god like.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bugalugzNov 15, 2015
how did this get a low reviews its quite a good film i liked it 1 of my favourite super hero films superman is bad ass king of super heros but hulk v superman that would be an endless fight hmm anyway good film lol
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Despite the romance being bland, Man of Steel is an exciting, action packed movie that will thrill fans, but disappoint critics. Even though Man of Steel is filled with a surprising amount of action sequences (which were the best parts of theDespite the romance being bland, Man of Steel is an exciting, action packed movie that will thrill fans, but disappoint critics. Even though Man of Steel is filled with a surprising amount of action sequences (which were the best parts of the movie), the movie does an excellent job in telling the tale of Clark Kent and his rise as Superman. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Saad300060Nov 1, 2015
Most underrated movie this movie is a masterpiece people didn't like it because it wasn't marvel which is kid material and this is a new look for superman that I would love to see dc adapt to even there comics and I think people should watchMost underrated movie this movie is a masterpiece people didn't like it because it wasn't marvel which is kid material and this is a new look for superman that I would love to see dc adapt to even there comics and I think people should watch it again so they can rethink about what to rate this its a 10 movie even the flight scene was probably one of the best scene of all time in any superman movie Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
RipandreadOct 29, 2015
This movie was so bad that it made Superman IV look like an academy award nominee.

Starting with reinventing the traditional Superman costume to having Clark Kent work a number of manual labor jobs while he tries to figure out his destiny
This movie was so bad that it made Superman IV look like an academy award nominee.

Starting with reinventing the traditional Superman costume to having Clark Kent work a number of manual labor jobs while he tries to figure out his destiny was bizarre let alone the fact that Lois Lane not only knows Clark is Superman but helps him get a job on the Daily Planet.

Why Brandon Routh was not allowed to reprise his role from “Superman Returns” remains another mystery to many movie goers. Henry Cavil’s performance was mediocre at best. The worst performance came from the actress who played Lois Lane.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithOct 19, 2015
This is an undeniably breathtaking movie. It's visually spectacular, stunningly atmospheric, which has a lot to do with Hanz Zimmer's score, and anchored by a dramatically weighty story. The actors are all first rate, especially MichaelThis is an undeniably breathtaking movie. It's visually spectacular, stunningly atmospheric, which has a lot to do with Hanz Zimmer's score, and anchored by a dramatically weighty story. The actors are all first rate, especially Michael Shannon as the perpetually bitter villain Zod, and Caville makes a pretty decent Superman. The one thing I object to though is that in the third act the action does begin to go on for far too long. The action scenes are all amazingly well done so I won't complain too much but they're too much of a good thing after a while. Nonetheless, this is on a level way above most superhero movies, filled with smart storytelling, and moments that can't be described as anything but awe inspiring. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SilversarahseveSep 29, 2015
Loved Man of Steel, it was exciting and captivating and the acting was flawless. Special effects were great and the portayel of the characters was amazing. Wasn't crazy on who they chose to play Lois Lane but other then that it was by far onLoved Man of Steel, it was exciting and captivating and the acting was flawless. Special effects were great and the portayel of the characters was amazing. Wasn't crazy on who they chose to play Lois Lane but other then that it was by far on of the best super hero movies I saw and I can't wait for the sequel. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
HawkWDSep 28, 2015
A loud mess of violence and poor righting. The destruction of the entire city was tasteless as was some of the violence. Before you get mad at me for being anti-gore or whatever, know that I liked the Dark Knight movies, including theA loud mess of violence and poor righting. The destruction of the entire city was tasteless as was some of the violence. Before you get mad at me for being anti-gore or whatever, know that I liked the Dark Knight movies, including the violence because it fit the theme of the films. This did not. Also Amy Adams portrayal of Lois Lane was insulting to the character. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Aug 27, 2015
"Man of Steel" is a refreshing new reboot of the old superman days with flashing action and eye-catching visuals. The plot does wander off to uncharted territory at times, but overall a good movie to watch during one's spare time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
nascentAug 24, 2015
A Superman film that focuses on the Alien aspect of the story, with more exposition on him home planet than the person that is Clark Kent/Superman. While that may suit viewers that have seen the origin of Superman told over and over again,A Superman film that focuses on the Alien aspect of the story, with more exposition on him home planet than the person that is Clark Kent/Superman. While that may suit viewers that have seen the origin of Superman told over and over again, it means there's little to relate to with this particular Superman.

In fact the Kent family in general are quite heavily de-emphasised in this movie, and while they have as little screen on time as 1978's Superman, they lack the charm of that family, and merely serve as plot devices.

Russell Crowe steals this film, bursting with charisma and presence, whilst making this more a Gladiator in Space than a Superman film. Zod is a shallow character, nothing more than a war machine, and the alien vs alien battle scenes are impressive but overwhelming. I found Man Of Steel a better film than I expected, and an improvement over the gloomy and desaturated Superman Returns, but the writing is lackluster, and the impact is weak.

I hope Superman v Batman is able to have more heart.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
akilles95Aug 15, 2015
This Movie is F'ing awesome. This is what I want to see in a Superman movie. I felt exhilarated and into the movie. Now in saying that make no mistake that this not the Donner Superman movie, as this is not based on the silver age comic bookThis Movie is F'ing awesome. This is what I want to see in a Superman movie. I felt exhilarated and into the movie. Now in saying that make no mistake that this not the Donner Superman movie, as this is not based on the silver age comic book Superman, Think John Byrne's Man of Steel comic book series or post crisis. This is a God with God like powers living in card board world. The pace wasn't a problem for me as I didn't expect Superman to be Superman yet, which is why they don't say that word alot in the film. Its not Lois and Clark with a bigger budget so don't expect a love story, expect a super powered being with real problems and a kick ass last 45 minutes and I promise you'll love it just as much as I did. marvel movies is boring for me i feel like they are for kids, dc knows how to make an good movvie Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisJNolanAug 13, 2015
It goes beyond what we thought about the man of steel character. This movie is way ahead of it. It shows what really we all have been waiting for: soundtrack, acting, and mostly action
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
cliftonrainAug 10, 2015
I heard it was awesome and I went to go see it and I agree what people say. I loved the flashbacks especially and the action scenes that's actual action unlike other movies that have a cheap action sequence. though I don't know why heI heard it was awesome and I went to go see it and I agree what people say. I loved the flashbacks especially and the action scenes that's actual action unlike other movies that have a cheap action sequence. though I don't know why he couldn't just fly away with him instead in snapping his neck but it was a epic neck snap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Mauri15Jul 29, 2015
It is a very good movie, but in history there are many plot holes in the origin of the famous hero, which is "Superman".
The effects are spectacular, Krypton design, the design of armor and ships. I remembered a lot to "Pandora" of "Avatar".
It is a very good movie, but in history there are many plot holes in the origin of the famous hero, which is "Superman".
The effects are spectacular, Krypton design, the design of armor and ships. I remembered a lot to "Pandora" of "Avatar".
Sups when fly is spectacular, and its AMAZING blows
The performances are good, Henry Cavill is a good Superman, with an origin but messy well done and a great villain who is Michael Shannon as Zod SPECTACULAR
8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews