User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2483 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel is what a Superman movie should be. It has solid acting and a great retelling of Kal-el's origin story that fits this generation. the thing i found most impressive was that it showed a "realistic" effect a character like Superman would impact our world and way of life.This is the first time we've seen Superman's powers portrayed as they should be, how someone who is almost omnipotent can change the world and not always for the better. some minor plot discrepancies aside this is in my humble opinion the movie of the summer and the best Superman movie to date. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    I have to say, I thought this movie was awful. Superman had no character. He barely even had any lines. The story flowed without much logic and it made the movie feel like a 3 hour trailer. It felt a lot like a Michael Bay movie, except everyone knows what they're getting with him. Bay makes Bad Boys and Transformers, not exactly high caliber material to begin with. Snyder plays with some pretty important works and just totally blows it. 4/10 Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I went into the theater with great expectations but what I am left with is just pure disappointment. So what went bad Snyder is more interested in blowing up things, things he come upon road, sky, etc. than establishing his characters to intimate levels. If people are to see the disintegration of skyscrapers and such, they can always have Michael Bay at their disposal. But why Superman This could have been
    a much better movie with little expansion of Clark's Kansas story and
    limiting the explosions for a few occasions. I tried to see through if
    there's anything more than just detonations but I couldn't possibly do.

    There is some serious lack of charm in Cavill's Kal-El and so does in
    Amy Adams' Lois Lane. In occupying the screen presence, only Costner
    seems to pull it off and Crowe in parts here and there. And there's
    this non-linear telling, which should have accounted for some
    fascination, actually back fires. Had the script been filled with some
    take-the-cake cliff-hanger moments, it could have worked. I am a fan of
    superman myself but, in all conscience, I cannot imagine me liking the
    movie despite its flaws, thanks to all the deafening things happening
    in the last hour.

    Not entirely soulless though. At least not until when Zimmer is around.
    The living legend with all his might gives this undirected thing a
    background score to rejoice. I cannot believe Nolan is a part of story
    credit. Rest in peace, Superman. and if you are to resurrect, I wish to
    god, let there be some less noise.
    Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    very entertaining movie with fight scenes that shows how superhumans fight. but something was lacking.
    christian bale was batman, rdjr is iron man... but henry, just wasn't superman enough.

    but hey, maybe because its just begun... we did not get to see the clark kent we all know till the end. MUST watch!
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In all my years I've been waiting for a new superman movie and it finally came. Man of Steel is one of the greatest hero films ever i am very proud of watching the movie it is really a great story line of telling superman how his struggle in the world to become what people really need him to be the savior of earth. I thank you to Zack Snyder, David S. Goyer, and Christopher Nolan who made this film to put DC back in it's place and to bring back the greatest superhero come to life again. Man of Steel is the perfect movie to watch over and over. I also would like to thank the cast members of playing their role in Man of Steel they did a excellent job at being the characters and making this movie happen. What ever critics are saying that man of steel is not a good superman movie they are wrong this movie captured everything including great story details, this is a new generation a new era where superman will once again reign supreme as the greatest superhero on earth and in films. #1 MAN OF STEEL is GREAT
    #DC Nation all the way.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    The best superhero and action movie ever launched at theaters. With the action,effect, and the epic scene on the big screen. Better than the avengers. Can't wait for the sequel
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    I had doubts about the movie at first. And I was right. It didn't feel like I was watching Superman, but a guy who had his powers. He was a gloomy character and seemed more like a over powered irritated babysitter than a a protector of good. And through out the whole movie all kept saying to myself is why did they do that or why didn't they do this. I guess Nolan and Synder thought that by adding a ridiculous amount of special effects and destruction that it would carry a movie with a horrible story. But one plus about the movie is that the kid inside me loved it. But I have been a grown-up for a while. Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    Quick Review: Compared to Dark Knight series, not as good. Plain and simple. Lois Lane is annoying, and if she was not in the movie, the plot would have been exactly the same. One point of the movie Lois Lane's boss is trying to save an intern that the audience has no idea who she is, nor does the audience care for them, and it is just a stupid scene. There are plenty of awesome action scenes in this movie, but if you want to see this movie because of the story, you are going to leave the theater empty handed. Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    In my opinion, the best movie adaptation of Superman's origin story to date. It has some awkward editing moments and the action generally drags on for a little to long, but everything else is so well-done that you HAVE to ignore that 55 rating from the critics. Go out and see it for yourself.
  10. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    An awesome use of special effects to create the best superman movie to date. Along with the almost never ending action the fight scenes in the film are the best I have ever seen in our cinema to date.

    9 out of 10
  11. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Well... this was... I´m kind of confused here. Going into the theater I had enourmous expectasions for this movie. I was pumped and ready to go into a new emotional take into the famous story of Superman. And what I got was more or less forty five minutes of that and the other hour and a half... well let´s say it didn´t stik with my that well.
    The way the trailers made me expect this
    movie was more of a slowly dedicated and emotionaly striking version of the man of steel (especially the third one, damn!). Still the fourth trailer was more focused in action than in story and that´s how saw this movie at the end.
    The beginning of the movie which takes place in the exotic planet of Krypton, (yeah, when I say exotic I mean giant alien rhinos and really got me emotionaly atached to Jor-El (Superman´s dad). It actually pulled on my parents strings! Seeing the planet implode in such a way was breathtaking and kind of harsh!
    Then came the stretch of the movie which I actually feel confused about: The becoming of Superman. From Kal-El beeing sent to earth it immediatly cuts to him all grown up and going. I felt good about this decision, it gave us the feeling of mystery! Then came the flashbacks and these were reeally good! I felt the confusion of Clark and his attachement to his earth parents, the Kents. But then when this ends, (mainly at the reveal of the Fortress of Solitude) I felt that they were going too fast and the buildup lacked something. Then immediatelly Zod shows up! And I was like "Woah! I espected this farther into the movie! I´m not ready!" And then from the first attack on Smallville everything goes crazy! At first I thought the effects where amazing! and the fast paced action was dynamic. But then the scene dragged, and dragged, and dragged. And I felt overwhelmed and kind of bored. I was praying for an break to get into the deeper aspects that the movie had shown us at the beginning! Then it stopped! I was relieved and interested about where it would go from here! And then more action... and more action. I saw that they where going in with those world tearing machines that I saw in the trailer and actually felt worried for the character of Perry running from the destruction! But those scenes dragged even more! The action was spectacular but it lacked substance! Except for one part where Superman can´t destroy the machine across the globe and Perry is trying to save the other chick. That was intense. That was... Nolan! Finally! I found you! And then... guess what!! More empty action sequences... Damn, someone went haywire with the effects. The fight between Zod and Clark began with a good setting of... well ash. It was nice to see something new. That fight I really liked but maaan, content pleease! Then the movie ends and Clark goes to work at the Daily Planet and and yeah, the second half of the movie left me so mind numb that I didnt give a about the ending. Otherwise I would be cheering for that scene.
    An aspect that I want to highlight is the relationship between the Kent mom and Clark. I really felt something in that mother to son relationship.
    Henry Cavil also lacked some emotion. Russel Crowe and the Kevs Costner were pretty good and inspiring in their roles.
    To summarize my experience I cried more in the trailer than in the movie. That beeing said, it was not BAD! I only expected something greater.
    Expand
  12. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    As a long time Superman fan I had great hopes and expectations for this film. I was very disappointed with this film. Superman: The Man of Steel is NOT a good Superman film; it's not even a good movie. I could go on and write a short story length review of this film and list what's wrong with it but instead I'll just get to the main points. First, Zack Snyder was a poor choice for director (where is Richard Donner when you need him?). He is NOT the right director for the character of Superman. He was great for Watchman but Superman is not anything like WATCHMEN. Second, the score was AWFUL! There are no discernible themes for anything in this movie. Thirdly, the action scenes were WAY over the top and just ridiculous. This movie was so bad it makes Superman Returns look like a classic and Superman:The Movie look like the best movie of human history (which it almost is!). Bottom line: don't waste you time on this piece of cinematic garbage. Especially if you are a fan of Superman. You WILL be disappointed. I only hope this movie fails to meet the studio's expectations so we don't see anymore of these abominations!! Expand
  13. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    Lengthy, slow and toiling at the beginning the movie retells the Superman origin unnecessarily. Once the lead actually becomes Superman the movie picks up some steam, but by then I had already given up hope for being engaged. Further, this is a bleak, dark film which does not suit Superman thematically. The character is best used when he creates hope, justice and honesty. A reflection of the best ideals on humanity. While they took a stab at this it comes off as whiny and vacillating as opposed to firm and inspiring. Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel is the perfect Superhero film. Do you come to watch a (SUPERHERO FILM) for Romance or drama? No, you come to see it for action and seeing your favorite Superhero fight super villains. Man of steel gives you just that and does it in epic fashion. It's not to say this movie doesn't have drama or a little bit of romance because it does, It just doesn't dwell on it.

    The movie
    gives you a little bit of everything, it shows you krypton, which we have never seen before. Don't listen to all the people that talk bad about it, mostly its critics. Its the best Superhero film I have seen as well as the best Superman anything that has ever been created. Superman has always had it hard when it comes to media other than comics, like video games and movies. Do yourself a favor and go see this movie, you won't regret it. Expand
  15. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    Terrible movie. It's more a "War of Worlds" and "Independance Day" than a Superman movie. You see more shooting, close combat, spacebattle and explosions than actually the main character evolving in the story. The medieval appeal of the Krypton doesn't fit at all my view of the home world of Superman. Sure, it was formed by the first movie from the late 70's but flying on dragons is something I wouldn't expect from Superman's father. It felt a bit like "Game of the thrones". Sure, the special effects are nice but the story suffers a lot. Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Man Of Steel is emotionally griping, the action scenes are brutal and overall a powerful story, this is not the next dark knight but this film makes it look like marvel is its
  17. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Amazing film, but if you're looking for another typical, wise cracking superhero film then this is not the one for you. This is a sci-fi film, through and through. It explores first contact.

    Those that are critical of a lack of warmth, emotion and humour in the main protagonist, seem to be missing the point. He's an alien! Does he lack humanity? No, but he's been trying to find his path
    and a sense of belonging for 33 years. It's something I've struggled with in adulthood and I'm from this planet! (Mum,I am from this planet, aren't I? Mum?!?)

    All of the characters were well written and well acted. The 2 father figures were particularly impressive. It was good to see Jor El get some serious screen time and back story. Likewise, it was interesting to see more of Krypton than we ever have before. The world and its people became more real than ever. You felt a real sense of the impending doom that would befall their planet and the effect that would have on their (Zod and his followers) "humanity".

    There is perhaps one criticism that is being levied at the film by critics that I would regard as fair. The action is intense (which is good), but it could be said (or rather, IS being said) that the action scenes are too long. I accept the point, but we are talking about near indestructible super beings fighting against other near indestructible super beings! However, the amount of action perhaps had the effect of blunting the senses somewhat. But if there was less, would we be suggesting the film was less epic? Perhaps, and it is for that reason that I would not be too critical of seeing such action on screen.

    Watch it. Love it. Get excited for a sequel!
    Expand
  18. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Los flashbacks que muestran a Crark son mis partes favoritas, el es un alien PERO (es mas humano que algunas personas que existen en el mundo que no tienen corazón, aquí su vida es trágica) Los momentos de Kevin Costner padre e hijo muy emotivos (la escena del tornado es la mas tristona, y muy importante a pesar de que algunos crean que fue una muerte tonta) se te salen las lagrimas. Luego la película me parece un poco larga, pudieron cortar algunas escenas de explosiones como la de ‘terraformar’ (que es algo pesada)…Las batallas entre Kryptonianos son BRUTALES (Zack Snyder of course), nunca lo habíamos visto repartir y recibir golpes de esa forma en el cine live-action, ese ”CRACK!” cuando le rompe el cuello a Zod es supremo! (luego se nota su arrepentimiento, es un momento épico, algo como: “No use mis poderes y deje morir a mi padre, ya es suficiente, ahora el mundo se puede ir a la mierda si no los uso”) La escena final pudieron hacerla mejor, pudieron recortar algunas explosiones casi innecesarias y así darle unos minutos mas (es fugas) ademas la cinta prueba que la serie de tv Smallville es innecesaria ya que en Man of Steel se cuenta la historia de Clark muy claramente y de manera mas emotiva… sales muy satisfecho del cine. 9/10 Expand
  19. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    Man of Steel Director: Zack Snyder Starring: Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Michael Shannon, Diane Lane, Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner Runtime/Rated: 2hr. 28min/PG-13 ‘Man of Steel’ was my very first Superman movie I have ever seen. So, how did it far with me? Did I enjoy it? Can it be better then ‘The Dark Knight’ films? Well, let’s get started! The story starts at Superman’s home planet called Krypton, where we’re introduced to Jor-El, (played by a good Russell Crowe). Jor-El is at the council talking to the elder people and mentions that their world is in danger of being destroyed, I don’t know why this is happening, I don’t know if its because they didn’t explain it, or maybe I just didn’t hear it. I don’t know. Then General Zod comes zooming in, (played be Michael Shannon who is one of the main reasons why I some what liked this movie). Zod comes in and starts causing havoc, and saying this planet is DOOMED!! Again, I don’t know why its DOOMED?!? After this encounter with Zod, Jor-El breaks away from him and goes to his son and sends him off to Earth as Krypton is being destroyed. Then for about a good hour of the film we have half ass character development for Clark Kent. It’s told through to many tedious flashbacks and monologue talks from his father and mother (played by Diane Lane and Kevin Costner). Finally, after sitting their an hour of painful and dull acting and character development, General Zod comes back to save the day! From here, the story kicks back up again and Zod wants to transform Earth into the next Krypton.

    One of the main reasons why I didn’t love this movie is the poor character development. Using Flashbacks as a tool to show development for Clark Kent didn’t work for me. When you first see Kent, he’s already a man, so the film jumped their story about 25 years later after the events on Krypton. Then the movie takes you back years later for when he’s a kid. That’s the development for Superman FLASHBACKS most of the flashbacks were all the same anyways, Clark saves the day by using his power, then has a long speech with either his father or mother. This happened four times in the movie. Another big problem I had with this film, which is a huge one, is the emotions I did not feel between the characters. The whole relationship between Kent and Lois Lane felt extremely fake, it felt like there was no connection through those two characters. Most of their interactions felt dull and stale this might have felt like this because of the very bland Henry Cavill but even with all of the other relationships between the characters, i still didn’t feel any real emotions. I would say that the only relationship that I connected with was Kevin Costner’s and Henry Cavill’s, which felt very real. The ending also was dull. When Superman takes the first punch of the movie, and I mean first REAL punch, that’s when you feel the most adrenaline pumping through your body, but that fads pretty fast, and by the end of the film you’re more excited for it to end then it to keep playing.

    ‘Man of Steel’ defiantly has plenty of flaws, but with saying that, I still enjoyed the movie. I loved the visuals and effects, which could very be the best effects I will see this whole year. Most of the action was nice to look at, especially when Superman is whooping everybody’s ass. Like I mentioned before, Michael Shannon had a brilliant performance and stole the show every time he was on screen. The true summary of ‘Man of Steel’ is, “it looks to par, but lacks the emotional depth that it NEEDS to make it stand out then all the other generic action summer blockbusters”. Also, I would like to mention that Zack Snyder has a great visual approach to his movies, but when it comes to story, he’s one of the worst.

    To answer the question if i enjoyed my first Superman movie or not, i would say that yeah, i enjoyed a good chunk of the movie, but for the most part was extremely disappointing.

    See this movie as a matinee showing.
    Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel: Best movie of the freakin' year! This movie is incredible! Finally, a great Superman movie! There has never been an actual good live-action Superman movie until now. If you liked those old Christopher Reeve movies or Superman Returns, then I'm sorry, but you know nothing about Superman. In all the Comics and cartoon, Superman always had very Sci-Fi stuff involved with a lot taking place on other planets with different technology and had a lot of action and destruction. None of this awesomeness happened in those older movies. Instead, a bunch of stupid crap happened, like Superman flying around the world to turn back time and him sleeping with Lois, which he would never do. The series should've been rebooted a long time ago, and finally it has been. This movie is just as good of a reboot as, if not better than, Batman Begins, The Incredible Hulk, and The Amazing Spider-Man. This is the first time I actually felt like Superman in a live-action movie was actually super and awesome and actually had a threat that was worthy of him. And this movie had one of the most exciting and shockingly fantastic climaxes to a movie ever. I don't know how people could not love this film. Expand
  21. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Superhero movies do not get better than this. Can you believe the cast of supporting characters? Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner, Amy Adams, Lawrence Fishburne, and on and on. Everyone had great performances with solid material to work from. I am a passionate sci-fi and fantasy fan who has never really been into Superman, but this movie just changed it all. Great work, highly recommend. Can't believe the critical reception. Expand
  22. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Just like any other movie written by Nolan, it will naturally have layers. And any movie directed by Snyder will look spectacular. But if it was edited differently, it might be more pleasing to the fans. Nevertheless, I thought it was fantastic! By far it is the best Superman film yet.
  23. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We always wished for a Superman movie that was an epic above all.. Man of Steel is that one. Good script and direction, above all the action is just unbelievable.. this will convince you that Superman is not only much more powerful than any human and that he has an attitude too.. when need arises he can break some necks. Expand
  24. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    When the teaser trailer hit, i was interested. When the full trailer hit, i was really excited. Then i saw the movie, which I was looking forward to as being one of the best of the summer. What a disappointment. The action is boring and overly-long. The plot is only there when it needs to be. The acting is sub-par at points. The writers took the plot from The Matrix, added in some Avengers action scenes and called it a day. This movie is mediocre at best. Expand
  25. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fact: This movie is 100 times better than any previous Superman effort.

    NON SPOILER REVIEW:

    Superman does NOT give the world a roofie like in the Donner films.
    Superman does MORE than just lift stuff like in Brian Singer's 'Superman Returns' in which Supes lifted a plane, a car, a woman, a boat, another plane and a giant rock (in that order).
    Superman DOES make some difficult choices and uses his strength to great effect in some awesome action scenes.

    SPOILER TERRITORY:

    Favorite bits:
    ~ They show us Krypton. The wildlife and technology. It isn't just lip service. You actually get to spend a good deal of time on Krypton in its final moments.
    ~ The Terrence Malick like vignettes of young Clark's childhood are beautiful. If "Tree of Life" suddenly had a plot and amazing action scenes, you'd have Man of Steel.
    ~ Faora. The way she moves, her brutality. It is awesome to watch on screen.
    ~ Jor-El. Crows part in this movie is much bigger than I was expecting and I really dig his ghostly mentoring of his son.
    ~ Supes: Henry Cavill must have devoured like 7 Hugh Jackmans to bulk up for this role (I hear Chris Nolan had a truckload of extra Jackman's lying around after 'The Prestige'). Cavill is huge. He has hair on his chest. He is a manly guy. An all American farm boy. It's awesome.
    ~ Destruction: The devastation of Metroplis is massive. The "terraform engine" ravages much of the city and when Zod and Superman finally fight, it is amidst the hollow ash covered ruins of massive buildings.
    ~ When Ma Kent's house is destroyed, and her sons future is uncertain, and the whole world is going to hell because of alien invaders, she is found looking through what remains of her home for her photo albums. Amidst all the chaos, those memories of her son were important to her. The director didn't point it out or make a big deal of it, but I found it touching.
    ~ The final Costner vignette got me in the feelers. Maybe because I'm raising two boys, one of which is constantly wearing a read cape, but it got me.

    CONCLUSION:

    The critics are high as a kite. But not as high as Man of Steel because this movie kicks ass. It is on par with Batman Begins as a setup movie and with a good story and great casting of Luthor or some other Supes villian, there is no reason the next one can't be every bit as good as The Dark Knight.

    Cheers. Go see it. Enjoy. Superman is back.
    Expand
  26. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    the man of steel is the best movie of all the time, including all the marvel movies that are a joke, I recommend this movie because it is very epic, and emocialmente serious. I stole a couple of tears I assure you.
  27. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    What???? Superman is Jesus??? Who would'a thought it Jesus/Superman is a naturalised American bought up in Texas.
    So, let me get this straight, Jesus/Supermans' nemesis is the Super Villain Zod/Bin Laden who is trying to change America by destroying buildings and changing the environment to make it habitable for his Race???
    To add to this heady mix, it seems that Jesus/Superman is a
    Superhero by way of Twilight. Bland sexless uninteresting and 2 dimensional, but at least the American Military love Jesus/Superman and he loves them. Which is sweet.
    I would also like to thank the Producers and Studio for letting me know what make of camera I should be buying. The product placement in this movie was better than the Hol(e)y plot line.
    Lois Lanes' character was as fleshed out as a skeleton on a diet, and her relationship with Jesus/Superman was as wet as a wet thing on a wet day in wet land.
    Bad acting
    Overlong tedious and dodgy CGI.
    Apart from that the movie was pretty bad
    Expand
  28. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    DO NOT LISTEN TO THE CRITICS ON THIS ONE. Clearly the average person loves it, and reviews from most people who have actually read Superman (or even any comic book) are glowing. It is the Superman movie you've always wanted: Shed of the silly Reeve portrayal that kept people from taking him seriously; Containing more action in the first 5 minutes than there was all throughout Superman Returns; writing on par with (better, in my opinion because I love Superman more) the incredible scripts found in Nolan's Batman films. Also, Hans Zimmer nailed it again with a score I personally like more than Williams' classic. Go see this movie: It's moving, thrilling, deep, and a spectacle like nothing else you've seen. Expand
  29. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    I did want to give it 10/10 for making Superman cool again. But film has it's issues. And I get it why critics don't like it. This is a movie with such satisfying action scenes, such great score and feel associated with it. Yes, there could have been more character development, and there is a point where action can get a bit boring. But this is a great foundation for a franchise. Zack Snyder made his best movie to date. And, man, I'm telling you, action sequences in this movie are incredible. Among that there is a great origin story that you can believe in and there are great characters in the movie. This is a diamond like no other, just you wait for the next entry in the series. We might get Superman on a Dark Knight level. And I truly believe that this one delivered too. Expand
  30. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Is a new generation for Superman.Realism does not mean pessimism.Man of Steel is under the sign of Hope.Clark finally discovered who he is and why he is here.He now knows his real name Kal-El. Film that the world needs these days.A unifying symbol for America and for all peoples 10/10
  31. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Despite what others wanted. I have been waiting for a superman movie that was willing to go darker and violent then its previous attempts. Though this movie was far from perfect it was very enjoyable and truly showed what kind destruction someone of this magnitude can cause.

    I find it comical that some critics are upset that its to serious and not loaded with humor like the Avengers.
    Its a directors vision of how he wants the movie why should be follow suit of previous superman movies. I found a few scenes funny so maybe its just their humor that needs readjusting.

    The movie really focuses a lot on Kal-El internal struggles accepting who he is and his powers. This movie shows some emotional depth in the man of steel, we finally get to see how he really struggled and that he truly is not perfect like everyone complains about. Ultimately he is faced with a decision that changes him into the Superman we all know and love.

    I went into the movie with very high hopes and this movie did not fail to deliver. Its not going to win an oscar but will keep you glue to the edge of your seats and Superman fans will find it a treat.
    Expand
  32. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Overall, despite all the eye rolling ludicrous moments and plot holes, I was entertained by this film. The acting was good across the board, although I wasn't crazy about Michael Shannon's performance as the bad guy, General Zod. Too one note. I also get tired of people beating each other to a pulp only to get back up without a scratch on their body. That is the norm in super hero movies, however. I also felt the movie had one battle too many, and was way too destructive. New York City is decimated in this film. This film is LOUD! The special effects were excellent and the 3D good. Overall, a success, but not great. Expand
  33. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Man Of Steel is like a mash up of the two early Superman films, but that's not a bad thing. I'm not going to compare this film to the earlier ones other than to say that this one is more serious in tone, but I liked that. There is nothing wrong with some humor in a film, but when there is an apocalyptic event going on, like in this film and Avengers for example, I don't think humor fits in too well. With billions of dollars in damage and people surely dieing, I don't know why Iron Man would be cracking jokes, but anyway.
    The story starts out on Krypton of course and this is a vision that is brand new. It was very nicely done and I wish this part of the story was actually longer, but it was still good the way it was. Fast forwarding to Earth, Clark's childhood is told in the form of flashbacks. I didn't mind this aspect either. One thing that did bother me somewhat was when he actually becomes Superman(with the suit and all), this part feels rushed. Unlike on Krypton which I felt could've used more build up, but was ok, this part of the film was quick and to the point. Could've used more development. The Characterization that is being mentioned in other reviews is very well done for Kal-El/Clark. This comes at the expense of some of the other characters just because of the screen time taken up, but I don't think it really takes away from the movie. The sequel can be used for more character build up for the supporting cast. The special effects are very well done and FINALLY do we as fans, get a Superman movie with TONS of action.

    The final act has a scene or two that some people may or may not like. I didn't mind them and thought they brought a bit more depth to the movie overall.

    This was a great action movie, an even greater Superman movie and a great comic book movie. I look forward to the sequel and maybe if this does well, which does deserve the support of fans and non-fans alike, we can see a Justice League movie or a World's Finest Batman/Superman team up in the future.

    8/10 overall.
    Expand
  34. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Man of Steel is something I give the benefit of the doubt, why I still prefer the likes of Christopher Reeve flying around with a toothpaste commercial smile in a story reminiscent of Kal-El's innocent upbringings in small town Kansas I was constantly reminding myself in my seat "This is a modernization", but does it hold up to what we expect from a superman story?

    Short and personal
    answer no. I found myself hoping it would take on the form of it's impressive teaser trailer back in 2012, majestic shots, large choir orchestra sounds and heavily inspiring words of wisdom on right and wrong.

    What we got was Zack Snyder's best film to date given the talent who was involved i.e Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer respectively, Zack's Filmography is a puzzle to me, he's an extremely talented man in the visual department and I loved the look of all he's previous work regardless of story and some minor casting calls but ultimately none of them manage to carry the weight and depth when tackling something so large on scale such as Superman.

    But I wont lie Man of steel looks fantastic, for it's flaws which are many, the spectacle of the movie is in it's destruction scenes be it Krypton or Earth, they outweigh all of what we've seen from Superhero Movies so far. the flying looks spectacular and as stated before Zack manages to bring scope and something much larger to screen then many could envision, even myself with my expectations was still very impressed with the routes they ultimately took and the consequences that follow.

    Which brings me to the weight and depth point I mentioned earlier, half the characters are generally not that interesting, big names with small parts who should've had a lot more screen time, I really wanted to see more of Kevin Costner, Laurence Fishburne and hell you make Jimmy Olsen a female called Jenny which I'm all for but she says and does virtually nothing that emphasised her character or the story that mattered at all (I know that the last thing isn't to big a deal because Jimmy is underplayed in all the movie series but it's why I bring up the next point). I found the exposition in this film startling, it goes from one scene to another so fast any interaction from the landscape or human interaction isn't really well executed, like the characters the audience is expected to just go with it, quick explanation, next scene.

    What does work is aside from effects is that Henry Cavil makes a welcome change for Superman, though the films ideal was to hit a darker tone such as the recent Batman Trilogy, Batman and Superman are both different for obvious reasons emotionally and ideology, so to see Superman (Cavil) go Batman is new for a superman story, but it just doesn't fit for my personal expectations, that said I did enjoy his performance to an extent and would definitely like to see him play the character again in more familiar superman traits.

    Ultimately though Russell Crowe and Michael Shannon steal the show entirely, Crowe's Jor-El gets a lot more screen time than I thought we would see but it's a wonderful performance that comes off more real than just comic book commodity, and with that holy hell Shannon's performance as Zod is so terrifying fierce and soulless to me it rivals that of Heath Ledger.

    So after covering both Performance and Visuals how was the story? well that's it there isn't one, one that's particularly memorable anyway. Superman trying to find himself, to an extent does, finds bad guys, puts them down, done the end, typical superhero flair, character motives are basic never bigger than what's explained or seen from the actual characters, so when the visuals are great, acting in some areas solid or flat and overall average story (y'know Zack's trademarks?) why does Man of Steel make the grade?

    Because and ultimately it's different, plain and simple not different from the directors standpoint sure but for superman it's both familiar and unfamiliar like a reboot should be. but does that mean it's good? I kind of know the target audience who will really enjoy this movie will be the ones who don't know that much on Superman, trust me I'm no stellar fan yet I've read John Byrne & Grant Morrison serials religiously and watched all the old films regardless how bad the later ones got, am I the only one who thought "Superman Returns" felt way too "Smallville"?

    Man of Steel to me got alot of things right and wrong but ultimately it's succeeds in it's mission of Modernizing Superman, I would happily watch it again no doubt and I love the set up for hopeful future instalments but as an introduction to one of America's greatest fictional characters? do yourself a favour and look for the real deal. 7.5 Thanks for Reading.
    Expand
  35. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Reviewers need to calm down and stop comparing this to the reeve films, why cant they understand that this is different.People saying its a "Special effects fiasco" are idiots its a Superman movie he flies, shoots lasers out of his eyes, and lifts cars, and fights robots i didn't think the special effects are a great addition in the movie
  36. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    This was one of the best remakes ever made. Man of Steel kept a distance between 78's Superman. Zack did a very good job as a director, and the writers did a great job with the story. The fighting sequences were awesome. This movie felt like a modern reimagination of Superman with new technology. The movie is definetely a summer blockbuster and will hit the billion mark.
    I give Man of
    Steel a 10/10... Expand
  37. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel is nothing short of an action epic. This movie has probably the greatest action I've ever seen. People are complaining about the action, but really, do you want another Superman Returns?! This movie has good character development through a series of flashbacks featuring the key moments in Clark's past, that make him the man he is today. This is Superman like we've never seen him before in a movie, there's no Clark Kent fumbling round the offices of the Daily Planet (I'm sure that will be in the sequel) but instead there is a man on a mission to discover who he really is, where he came from and what his purpose is in life. The opening scene to Man of Steel got me fully invested into the film, the action kicked off straight away and set up the villain for the rest of the film. General Dru Zod is one fantastic villain for the first film in a hopefully long franchise, he was menacing, fierce, but had reason behind his cruel and violent actions. The performances in this film were brilliant. Henry Cavill is the best Superman but on the screen so far, yes I said it, Christopher Reeve was a fun Superman, may he rest in peace, but this Superman is a character you want to root for, to save the world at the end of the movie. Henry Cavill really gave Kal-El depth and emotion, and I hope he stays on as Superman for a long time to come. Russell Crowe as Jor-El, Kal-El's biological father, was a very some very good casting, a big improvement from Marlon Brando. Amy Adams was a good Lois Lane, although I believe they should have saved the Lois and Clark relationship for the sequel, it felt quite rushed in this film, but what women wouldn't fall in love with a flying man who just saved the world. Michael Shannon is a very good General Zod, he is menacing enough for the audience to fear him, but gives the character depth and reason behind his actions, and at some times even makes us sympathize with Zod. Kevin Costner as Jonathan Kent gave some great emotional scenes and gave some great lessons to Clark about who he is going to grow up to be. The CGI was fantastic in the movie and the excessive use of it did not take me away from the movie at all. All round I do believe this Superman is the best we've ever had, the performances are great, the score is miraculous, Zack Snyder's direction for this is pleasing and the pacing of the movie is great! You can definitely see Christopher Nolan in parts of this film. David S Goyer's script is fantastic with little hidden gems like Lois' line 'Welcome to the planet' which had me smiling like an idiot. And keep a watchful eye DC fans, for those subtle easter eggs to other villains and characters in the DC universe. Ii am very pleased with Zack Snyder's take on Superman, and I hope he stays on as director for future movies. I only had a few issues with Man of Steel, and believe me they are few. For one, a line that a women soldier says at the end of the film 'I don't know, I just think he's kind of hot'. Seriously, what is that?! There is one scene that should have been changed to a more emotional and character building scene rather than just Superman fighting mechanical tentacles. And the relationship between Lois and Clark should have been saved for the sequel, because as I said before it felt rushed. Overall I think Man of Steel is one fantastic movie, the best of the summer so far, and the best of the year. I'm giving Man of Steel a 4.5/5. Expand
  38. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Man of Steel serves as a triumphant and bold return after the box office disappointment that was Superman Returns. Henry Cavill is brilliant as Superman. He plays the role with conviction and passion. All of the cast was well picked, and they all fit their roles. This Superman goes farther into Kal-El/Clark Kent's back story. As Krypton's core is collapsing, Jor-El(Russell Crowe) and Lara(Ayelet Zurer) have just given birth to the first natural baby in centuries. Unfortunately, the Council of Krypton refuse to stop drilling for resources from the core, and Jor-El and Lara send their son, Kal-El, to Earth so he can live a better life. He lives without being exposed of this information for 33 years, until General Zod(Michael Shannon), the former military leader of Krypton which is now nothing. Now Zod is leading his group into Earth to populate and overthrow the people of Earth. Superman must work to protect the people of Earth from the Kryptonians. The Special Effects in this movie are amazing. The only major complaint which I've also seen with other people is the last scene. It's 45 minutes of mayhem. While I felt it was an epic conclusion to an epic blockbuster, 45 minutes was certainly way too long and upset many people in the audience. Overall, anyone who isn't upset by loud noises should definitely see Man of Steel. Expand
  39. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I'm a die hard fan of Superman so I might be a little, although it might also make me more critical like I was for Dark Knight Rises, but this was more than i could've hoped for a Superman movie and it kept every major theme I love about him. You need to see this movie not only is this movie amazing, also this is the movie that the whole potential franchise will be based off of, so anyway you look at it this is a Must Go! Expand
  40. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    8/10 for a super hero movie 9/10 for a Superman movie. Great origin movie and easily the best Superman movie to date. Visual effects and fighting is amazing story is a bit simple, but it has it's moments. Highly recommend seeing in 3D AVX or some other kind of Digital Projector.
  41. Jun 17, 2013
    0
    I judge movies based on what they promise versus what they deliver. The first MoS trailer and the following trailers promised a deep story centered on Clark and his quest on finding his place in the world to ultimately become the savior of humanity, this is what they were teasing in a nutshell. But instead what we got is a glorified Transformers-like movie: no real characters, no deep story, mostly stuff exploding for half the movie. The screenplay is particularly inept, it tries to cram so many insignificant details (do we absolutely need to know what the codex thingy came from or look like for example...) at the expense of smooth transitions (scenes can literally jump from two people in a room to them standing in the desert), character development (the characters are cardboard cut outs, and no, 3 flashbacks of 5 mins are not enough to actually flesh out a character sorry), and most importantly storytelling: indeed the whole movie is constructed like one giant exposition, you spend most of the time catching up on things that already happened instead of having the story naturally unfold before you, and it's not a particularly interesting or original one at that. So in conclusion, my hat's off to the marketing team, because they did a hell of a job hyping up this movie and making it look like something worthy of interest, I just wish the actual filmmakers could have been as competent as them. Expand
  42. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Awesooooooooooooooooooooome *_*

    This film is just perfect

    You could not ask for a better man of steel or to launch the project justice League

    I dream since childhood

    Snyder makes my dream I love you
  43. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Esta película es fantástica los efectos especiales son espectaculares la lucha impresionante es genial Snyder.

    Muy de la Justice League

    Viva Man of Steel
  44. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    If you go in with no expectations, and you can make it past the beginning, the movie is decent. It's not amazing. Three really good fight scenes trying to carry an otherwise boring movie that raises questions to people not familiar with the story in almost two and a half hours isn't helping the case.
  45. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    This is a DragonBall Z Movie become a Real Movie! Deep and meaningful story, it explained why the Superman need to suit up, why the Kryptonite stone will weaken the man of steel. And the last part of the movie is SUPER ACTION PACKED! Just like DBZ come alive! punching through giant building, destruction and lightning speed fighting! One of the best action scene in recent years!
  46. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Overall a fantastic superhero movie. But a little disappointment that General Zod the powerful enemy of superman dies in a little fight which should be extended for next part and there is disappointment from Henry Cavill's acting although he have a great body which is suitable for Superman but I think Superman Should at least looks like the "Captain America". I think this movie create new standards for action movies. Surely this is a next level of action in any action movie Expand
  47. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    For all those comparing this to Iron Man 3 and saying it 'sucks' compared to it, please take the next train to a standard centre of learning and keep yourself there till you can properly review a film. I'm old enough to have seen the original TV series that had Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher, all the Superman films and the spin off Smallville. I'm telling you, this blows them all out of the water. The acting is top notch, the music even more so, the special effects so well done that you wouldn't be able to spot in a fault in a single bloody pixel. I loved it, and everyone I saw it with loved it too. As far as i'm concerned as this was a story in a movie, which would be no mean feat to achieve, and made the whole production that much better. Expand
  48. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    “Man of Steel” is a new interpretation of Superman for the modern post “Dark Knight” age of superhero films. The story is more serious and asks the question of “will I be accepted into this world or be feared?” While I like the new take on the Superman origin story and how uniquely it’s told, I found the script to be rather weak. The character moments are scarce, everything feels a bit rushed, and the dialogue comes off as super cheesy almost to the point where I was cringing. However, I am a huge fan of how this film is directed. Zack Snyder does an awesome job with what he has. The action sequences are choreographed amazingly, quit possibly the best action all year. Camera work in this film is really well done and the editing is spot on. There are some really inventive shots and the final fight sequence with Zod is riveting.

    The actors do a fine job with their characters. However, no one really stands out aside from Henry Cavill as Superman. While he’s no Christopher Reeve, I really like his take on the character. Amy Adams as Lois Lane is decent, but the way the character is written is kind of weak as I never really cared for her and she came off as a bit forced. Michael Shannon is pretty good as Zod, but the character could have used more screen time. Russell Crowe and the rest of the cast is solid and play their roles well.

    Visual effects in this film are top-notch. From Kypton to Earth, everything from a visual standpoint is breathtaking. I’ve always been a fan of Zack Snyder’s visual style in film and here he’s put them to great use. The score on the other hand is okay. While it’s great in the film, it’s rather loud and forgettable.

    Overall, “Man of Steel” is a solid piece of cinema and it has me pumped for more Superman movies as well as a potential Justice League film. However, it does fall short in the story department. I felt like I was going from one ride to the next without having a chance to breath. The film has some interesting things to say, but only on a few occasions does it take the time to say it and even then not very clearly. On the bright side though, we get the most action packed Superman movie and quit possibly superhero movie of all time. There’s a lot of fun to be had, but if you’re looking for something deeper and thought provoking this isn’t the place. I give it 3.5/5, weak story that is made better with great action, stunning visual effects, and fantastic direction.
    Expand
  49. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    As expected from the duo of Christopher Nolan and Zack Snyder..this was an amazing piece of movie making talent...the actors did their job well...David S. Goyer's work on screenplay was seen by all...and adds a lot to the totality of this movie's presentability...The makers have to be given the credit for presenting Superman in the way it should always 've been...A big thumbs up for no Underwear on pants and just wear a specs to hide ur identity..Man of Steel does complete justice to our Fav superhero..The vision of a person's struggle with his own identity...and what he he finally does..is absolutely stunning & beautiful..though at times it lacked momentum which was dealt with...Those giving -ve reviews...should consider the fact that this was just the first movie of a series...There's a lot more to come....giving a hope for better superhero movies......This movie stand true to the 'S' symbol of hope!! Expand
  50. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    I really like the movie. It kind of let me down though. It was really dark, their was few comedy. The old supermans were not like that. And their was to much mass destruction. Their was more explosions in this film than all the marvel movies combined. Snyder has done 300 and watchmen. And those were just like this. It put me on the edge of my seat more than I can enjoy. I think they were trying to be to original. Their also wasn't enough interaction between lois and clark. One second he is saving her and the next they are kissing. It was to rushed. I wasnt to big of a fan of the shaky camera thing that he did. All in all. Casting for everyone was perfect. Story was great. I just really wish that Zack Snyder didn't do this movie. This movie had so much potential. But he I truly believe is the reason this movie doesn't have a metacritic score higher than 60 Expand
  51. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Action was superb and the effects were as good as any I've seen, if not better. A small concern though is the lack of thought concerning all the damage done by the fight. Superman cares about that sort of thing and it wasn't highlighted too much in this film.
  52. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall "Man of Steel" is very entertaining and does a good job encompassing the "Superman" we all know today. However I did have my qualms detailed below (in no particular order).
    Cons:

    1. The beginning of the movie was very non-linear with flashbacks and present time, making it mildly difficult to draw connections from Clark Kent's past to his present day situations.

    2. Understanding the meaning of a sacrifice from Jonathon Kent to protect Clark's secret was extremely clear, however it was tactfully done to save a dog? I would have been much more satisfied to see the man that bestowed all of his values and ideals to superman die trying to save a human being.

    3. When Clark first boarded Zod's ship with Lois, he underwent some type of reaction to the atmosphere in the ship, later referred to as Krypton's atmosphere. Zod goes on to explain to Clark that it is an adverse reaction since Clark has become so acclimated to Earth's atmosphere he cannot sustain his strength in Krypton's. This makes perfect sense, but since Zod made it clear that it was Clark's acclimatization to Earth's atmosphere that was causing his weakness, then why is Clark able to sustain life in space without any problems when space clearly is not composed of the same atmosphere as Earth?

    4. Way to much destruction and explosion. Was this a Michael Bay film or a Zack Snyder film. Metropolis, which was not established early enough as the city being pictured, is now completely destroyed. Clark Kent, the ultra-moral and ethical Superman, seemed to have no hesitation or apprehension in destroying anything in his path to fighting Zod. i.e. when Zod threatens Martha Kent, instead of fighting Zod in the open acreage of a farm, Clark sees it fit to carry Zod into urban territory, through a party store, gas station, and into an oil tanker causing tons of destruction and probably multiple injuries or deaths. The Superman I usually picture in my head would most likely deal with his enemies in the least destructive way, with minimal casualties and damage to surrounding structures.

    5. Cheesy Dialogue, “Sorry Sir, but I just think he’s kinda hot” Was that really necessary? Everyone watching the movie has eyes and can see for themselves that Henry Cavill is a good looking guy. There were multiple lines like this including Lawrence Fishburne telling his Co-worker to stay while she is pinned under hundreds of pounds of concrete rubble. It was also somewhat off-putting that the Kryptonians had identical dialects/dialogues to humans. These seemingly extremely advanced race from 100,000 years ago talks the exact same way that humans do in the 21st century?

    6. At the end of the movie when it flashes back to Clark as a child and his father watching him play with his dog, it is probably confirming the foreshadowing of Clark’s father’s repetitive notion towards the prophetic idea that Clark is destined for great things. But why is he playing with a red towel attached to his back like a cape? Who the hell is he imitating? I assume it’s little red riding hood, because I know when I did that same thing when I was a kid, I was imitating Superman.

    7. Zod’s character progressively develops into an evil Superman like nemesis that sports the same powers as Superman and yet Superman cannot be killed and Zod is killed? If I snap Clark Kent’s neck her should die?

    Pros:

    1. Very entertaining and a lot of back story information for those not exceptionally versed in DC comics like myself.

    2. Great ending with Clark Kent killing Zod, effectively illustrating his biological father’s dream for him come true. The bridging of two people. Clark exercised his gift of free choice in killing Zod given to him by his father, and reaped to moral consequences on his conscience after doing it, the result of a human upbringing on earth. Jor-El’s vision of Kal-el being the bridge of two people becomes literal as he is ultimately a bridge of two people in Kal-El and Clark Kent. As well as in his system of beliefs and biological makeup, housing the DNA of a billion Kryptonic people.
    Expand
  53. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    This movie wasn't bad, but wasn't great. It definitely doesn't rise to the level of Nolan's Batman trilogy, but it does return Superman back to the upper echelon of superhero franchises (we can officially forget Superman Returns).

    With that said, there were many moments that the movie got painfully slow. The dialog and plot movement lacked a spark that the Iron Man series possesses,
    and simultaneously lacked the "take me serious" edge that Batman Begins and The Dark Knight clearly held. It's not either of those, but it is more enjoyable (and even more plausible) than The Dark Knight Rises.

    The movie rates a solid 7, however, because the action sequences and creative elements take Superman in a new direction. This is not a remake of Salkind Superman series from the 70s. It definitely transforms itself into a legitimate 21st century film approach of porting a comic book.

    My hope is that with the sequel (and we know there will be one), that we avoid the Transformer-esque "destroy everything" and get back to some of the fun, humor, and ride that has always made Superman so fun. I never thought I'd say this, but I kind of missed Lex Luthor.
    Expand
  54. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    Strength: Visual Effects
    Weak: Kyptonian Society Premises.

    The has the best Kypton Myth and i concur but it could have been better if the script writers made kept closer adherence to the concepts of Plato, which would have made the Kyptonian Society much more viable. Instead, we have Russel Crowe mouthing haphazardly a single line, without justification, about the demerits of Krypton,
    like a sales person brushing off claims of excellence of his rival's products, and Superman, with visible lack of compunction, ripping apart Krypton's solution to the questions asked by all intelligent being about existence (the Genesis chamber ship) with his EYES (who can blame him? It is unlikely for twelve-year olds to be able to read beyond Plato's words). Anyone with a smattering of understanding about Plato's thoughts would have winced and railed at such scenes.

    Of course, it is the intention of the script writers to pitch freedom against societal pre-destination, with Superman, bastion of freedom, choosing to do Good and besting the best warrior of the totalitarian Krytonian society, who did 'Evil' in his attempts to fulfill his purpose of protecting his people.

    In the end, General Zod's death speech bespeaks a grander character in the man than in that of an alien in tights parroting about freedom and choice, as he is brought up to do.
    Expand
  55. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    While I'd hoped for an intro to an outstanding trilogy to die for which director Christopher Nolan succeeded to do in his making of "The Dark Knight" Trilogy, I got in return a 143 minute movie that contained 60 minutes of origin story, 60 minutes of a plot outline, 20 lousy minutes of fighting, and 3 minutes of Clark Kent's future life as the lover of Lois Lane and a citizen of Metropolis. All in all, I would say to wait for the movie to come out on DVD if you do however have interest of even seeing the movie at all. Expand
  56. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    I REALLY enjoyed this movie. I didn't find it too "serious" or lacking humor the way film critics did, as I felt that fit the story. I think my few gripes and why I didn't give it a 10 are simply with the direction of storytelling following the transition to Earth. I feel like the flashback approach felt way too choppy and unnecessary. I feel it could have all been settled with even one simple flashback upon him in the water that lead to coming back out after, minus the end scenes with his father that could have then been brought about in a "finalizing" flashback after. Also, him finding the ship, due to the choppiness, felt extremely rushed and out of place. I'm hoping for and extended cut that gives slightly more story there and transition. Also, while it was necessary for the current story, Lois Lang's story felt arbitrary overall, with her almost put into scenes and events by the "hand of God". She didn't get time to really be her OWN character, instead more there ONLY to develop Clark. Those minor gripes aside, the rest of the story-telling was, especially everything related to Krypton, Zod, and the interaction and plot there-in was stellar! Expand
  57. IMR
    Jun 16, 2013
    10
    one of the best movies of this and all times, it is difficult to make a superhero movie that has serious tone and not just romp and jokes. It shows the human side of Kar-El, in trying to be just one of us, but his fate will prepare something bigger "The ultimate hero of humanity".

    It shows a Clark who suffer the consequences of being different, their emotions, their feelings. Facing
    decisions between who he is or who he should be.

    The cast was amazing, everything fit to perfection: Henry Cavill, Michael Shannon, Russell Crowe, Amy Adams, Antje Traue, Kevin Costner, Laurence Fishburne ..

    The music is beautiful and powerful

    Indisputably 10/10 Movie
    Expand
  58. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This film was everything I expected out of a Director-Writer combo like this, that is Zack Snyder and Christopher Nolan, respectively. In my deepest opinion, I believe the writer/director team can make or break a film as easy as a twig as far as audience satisfaction is concerned. Well, they definitely showed up for this film, and supported a beloved superhero no less. This film was more "realistic" approach to Superman's origin. It covered the short demise of Krypton, and was just enough screen time to understand why it happened, and for Superman's transit to Earth via Krypton.

    To make a great story short, this movie is loaded with tons of action, great acting, and great replay value. You won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  59. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    The movie was perfect. The music fit the action and themes in every scene, I didn't find any of the dialogue to be cheesy and over the top and the action was believable and what you would expect from a superman movie. It was like one of the DC animated movies brought to live action.

    The visuals were honestly flawless because even though the action was fast paced the camera kept you in
    it with pinpoint accuracy. The Plot was perfect for an introductory type film. You know what I mean like Batman Begins, Green Lantern, Thor etc. they had to introduce the character in a way that would appeal to a broad audience and they did it perfectly.

    The action was absolute SUPERMAN! I mean the only movie I could compare the "action" to is the Hulk and it outpaced that by leaps and bounds, watching this you truly felt like you were witnessing a battle between gods! This is the modern up to date remake we were all waiting for. Go out and support the movie because we need more DC movies on the big screen and that's where it starts.
    Expand
  60. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Man of steel doesn't need the typical introduction that I usually give a film, because this is just a retelling of the original tale. Although the main difference is the villain; who is General Zod, and is told in a different way. I was excited for this movie for a while, but when the trailers started showing up; especially the: "How does Superman shave?", I started loosing interest. Seeing in how it looked like it was more focused on visuals than stories, and I wasn't too far off. With that said, this is pretty epic. Of course the visual effects are very pretty to look at, the planet Krypton is both mystic and futuristic. However the effects for the action scenes are the major problems. For a while I enjoyed watching them, but after seeing over a half an hour of superman punching people and them punching back, it gets really old and doesn't look convincing. Mainly the chick that hangs around Zod the most does this sort of super dash, which is annoying. Speaking of Superman, the actor they got was ok. He doesn't do anything that makes him likeable; I'd better explain myself before I get hated. I know he saves people which make him instantly likeable, but he doesn't have a interesting personality. Sure he protects people, but when he's not he is just sort of this serious boring guy. The other actors however were better; in my opinion, especially the guy they got for General Zod. It's a good performance; he does take some traits from the original: Terence Stamp, the character is a bit different though, but for the better I thought. It is strange in how I think they shouldn't have changed Superman's personality and yet changing Zod's is good, but at least here it makes him into an understandable villain. He was raised to be a warrior by the Kyptonian way, and is now protecting the future of the Kryptonian race. Also it's funny that Russel Crowe is like Marlon Brando from the original, in that there big stars only in minor parts, and he does okay. He doesn't take up the scene, but he does have this wise man routine down pretty well. The other supporting cast like Lois are fine; in that she doesn't male any negative impressions, but nothing great. With all that said, I still enjoyed watching this movie. I like the action at certain parts, the drama is good and is even great at times, and the actors do an okay job overall. This is definitely worth your money. Expand
  61. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    I rewatched superman returns and i gave it another try..i have to admit i was tired when i first tried it..its not the terrible mess its portrayed as...
  62. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Finally the Superman movie I have been waiting for my whole life. People who rated this low where hoping to find something that just doesn't need to be exist in order for this movie to please. You will never be able to enjoy the older superman movies after watching this. Literally the most amazing super hero fight scenes in cinema to-date! it makes the avengers final battle look like a school yard fight in comparison. Expand
  63. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    Poorly paced, poorly directed mess of a film. Snyder was a bad choice for this. The CGI battle scenes were gratuitous and unnecessarily long, the Clark/Lois Lane romance felt forced and rushed, and Snyder's use of the shaky-cam was distracting and silly. If you want to watch Superman fly around and punch people into buildings without any care or consequence to anyone, you're in for a treat. Otherwise, wait till DVD/Blu Ray. Oh, and please see it in 2D, 3D is not worth the extra cost for this. Expand
  64. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    I was uncertain whether this was going to be a redo of a redo or what, but one needn't worry. Although the general plot elements that make it Superman were there, IMO, this is a new movie. The elements that make it familiar are present, but the ideas injected into the story essential remake it. It's not heroic DC, it's science fiction, and good science fiction. It also has a injection of realism that a welcome change from the saccharin fare usually in this genera of film. People in the audience actually applauded at the film's end. Expand
  65. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This movie is AMAZING.The backstory is great as well as the story,it is very emotional in some parts and has some on the best effects I have ever seen in a movie theater.
  66. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    A very good movie. Yes it has a lot of action near the end, however the same can be said about The Avengers. CGI is used a lot, but that is because it is to support the fact that these are aliens that are fighting, not real people. These were clearly shown in the trailer. If you loved the trailers, then you would know that there is a lot of action scenes and CGI used. Character development is really focused on Superman, Jonathan Kent and Jor El. Superb acting from Henry Cavill, Kevin Costner, Russel Crowe and surprisingly, Amy Adams. I had my doubts about her, but she did an amazing job as Lois. This is not a throwback to the old Superman movies. You must accept it like Batman Begins, an origin story that is much different than what you are used to. The only problem comes from the fact that we didn't really understand Clark's struggle as an adult like we did with Bruce in Batman Begins. They could have explored it further. The story was great for what it was. I think that now that we have characters set up, we can expect an even better sequel. It might not have lived to the hype for some, but there is no argument that this was a great movie. Especially when compared to Superman 3,4, and Returns. I think it is on the same level as Superman 2. Some could argue that it is better. Just watch the movie and prepare to be amazed. Expand
  67. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Re-boot in every way imaginable. I found it quite enjoyable although slow in some parts. The action sequences were particularly entertaining. The story of Superman being a MAN and his relationship with both sets of parents was done very well. Although traditional Superman fans may disagree with changes to Kal/Clarks story and other characters, I believe it made this version better and fresh.
  68. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Superb movie. Nothing like I expected in the sequencing of the storytelling, but a very refreshing change up from the normal superhero "origin" movie. Henry Cavill was tremendous in showing a vulnerability that no one has seen before in Superman. Well done Snyder and Nolan!
  69. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    The two huge issues I had were the over-glorified destruction and death of millions, simply played for entertainment, and the poorly developed, half-baked romance between Kal-El and Lois Lane. Other than that, I really enjoyed it. It had very poor pacing as well, but a fun summer movie none-the-less.
  70. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Critics are conflicted but I felt "Man of Steel" was the best movie I had seen in a long while. It's not big on plot development (let's face it, pretty much everyone watching it knows how Superman started) and some liberties are taken with characters (not too noticeable though), but it was a masterful synthesis of action, screenplay, and meaning that will take you away if you let yourself become immersed in it.

    I'm just glad it didn't go down the old dreaded path of "Superman is invincible until exposed to a magical sample of glowing moon-rock", which has been the bane of practically everything Superman to date.
    Expand
  71. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Man Of Steel. First word to describe it is WOW. Some of the best action and special effects I have ever seen, jaw dropping stuff. Also some really big ideas and themes of being a God among men. I really liked Cavill as Superman as well. However I can't help but compare to things like The Dark Knight and Avengers, and its not as good. It doesn't have the true darkness of Batman and doesn't have the wit and charm of Avengers. I don't think Man Of Steel has one joke and as good as the action is, maybe there is just too much which takes away the impact. However I still really enjoyed it and it has to be seen at the cinema. Expand
  72. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Finally, Superman pitched in epic battle doing things we have only imagined from still images in comics or animated films. While I hope to see more of the backstory develop over the course of the trilogy, this is definitely a movie not to be missed and evidence once again that the critics have no idea what the audience wants in an action packed film. Best film of the summer!
  73. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This is the Superman movie people have been waiting years for earnest, not smirking or offering obvious fan service, no camp, no apologizing for the source material at all. The tender moments have true weight and give the viewer a sense for what goes on behind making a Superman his parents, his friends, his experiences growing up, his view on the world, ranging from the great to the terrible. The villains are introduced as evil yet not moustache-twirling caricatures. There is no fat on this movie, everything has its purpose and every character even ancillary ones are given their place in the (Earth's yellow) sun. Expand
  74. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Super Amazing and Super Intense. The movie was great but there were some parts that didn't make sense like the part when superman healed lois with his heat vision. It had so much action that it was really hard to remember the story. It also showed way to many flashbacks the entire movie. To me it kind of felt like a remake of superman 2. Its a must see film for all the DC comic fans like myself.
  75. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    As a lifelong Superman fan and reader of the comics, I enjoyed the new approach which also kept the essence of the cannon. This film finally saw Superman let loose against a global threat in a scale worthy of the comic books. Henry Cavill looked and acted the part extremely well. There is an argument for more story in the second half but it would have sacrificed the action which many fans have been waiting to see for a long time. Expand
  76. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    went out with the Mrs to see the latest from Mr Snyder and Mr Nolan and have to say WOW!! as reboots are concerned,well done.the origin of baby Kal-El is fleshed out much more then in past iterations of the story.Superman's father Jo-El is given far more weight story wise.its the Fathers(plural)that do play a bigger role in the formation of Kal's character which i found on of all times,fathers day weekend,rather refreshing.when we do get to see Mr Cavill in blue spandex and cape,the journey he has taken to get to that point,fulfilling his destined role feels far more substantial because of the Jor-el/Kent dynamic.this of course was lost entirely by some of the big mainstream critics,who seemed to focus more on the massive collateral damage of the super fist fights Superman engages in later on in the film.i chalk this up to the jaded sensibilities of people whose world view is steeped in the 1978 film with Christopher Reeve.i find their revulsion at the level of violence and scale of the action rather quaint.this is what i would expect a SUPER-HERO movie to have in it,characters with incredible power at their disposal engaging in urban renewal on a massive scale.for those whom probably have never picked up and read any of the comics back in the day i can understand their trepidation.i just think its silly.i greatly enjoyed the movie for both the story and the spectacle.there are some gaffs performance wise by some of the players in certain spots,but nothing so jarring as to pull you out of the experience.ultimately its what a summer movie has come to be.big,grand,EPIC! and well worth a trip to you're local theater. Expand
  77. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Superman has been redeemed.... It explained the story of superman origin so well and the action scenes were so well done! If you haven't seem it already I recommend you do so as soon as possible!! Well done Snyder well done...
  78. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    The best film of the year! The best superhero movie since The Dark Knight! We finally have an epic superman movie with great visual effects, action, actors, and villain! When you compare this to other films: Its way better than the stupid Superman Returns; Iron Man 3 was ok which shouldn't had a lot of money; Avengers was very good but tired of watching it (never with Man of Steel); But it is close to The Dark Knight! The Dark Knight is still the best superhero movie of all time! This is one of my favorite films of all time! It has humor but little because of the serious tone brought by Christopher Nolan who is a badass! But the humor was good enough! General Zod played by Michael Shannon, is the best villain since The Joker! I am still trying know what the critics were watching because the ones such as Richard Roeper, and others, dont understand of how a DC movie should look like rather than thinking this movie should be like Marvel movies! Screw Marvel! Dont listen to the critics and have your own opinion about this movie! Go see it! We need this movie to kick Iroman 3's ass in the boxoffice to prove that Man of Steel is the biggest movie of the year! Expand
  79. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Best superman movie period. The people who rate this movie as the worst movie ever are trolls and all their comments are childish and offensive to other reviewers. This only lead me to think all the haters are really just nuts and childish people.
  80. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel delivers the beginning of something greater, I couldn't ask for anything more from a origin story. The building blocks are in place for the DC Universe to expand upon.

    Stunning, Amazing, Beautiful, Exhilarating!

    MASTERPIECE
  81. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    The main problem with this film is that it contains an inordinate amount of essentially pointless content. Roughly 30 minutes is spent on exhaustive (if superbly rendered) fight scenes, all of which could be described as totally unnecessary given that the films ending is so obvious: good over evil, difficult moral choice, bright future et al. The Christopher Nolan touch is apparent in the quality of the film's production, but not in it's plot. Furthermore, at times the dialogue descends into superhero movie cliché, none of which is as rewarding as it is in say, the Tobey Maguire Spiderman series. Aside from this, the film makes for an enjoyable watch, with some genuinely moving, epic and humourous moments, and it provides an excellent platform for what could be a fitting followup series to the Dark Knight trilogy in the DC Universe. Expand
  82. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    And yet again, Superman franchise is reborn! The best thing about this movie is Henry Cavill, fits his role perfectly, actually all actors did amazing job! Main plot is good, but the story progression isn't. Action part is probably the best this year so far. It's a ok start for Superman saga, even though it's not flawless!
  83. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    I've loved the movie. It's a nice well dine reboot of superman with many details improved from previous versions. I liked it more than many of the Avenger's films (teamed or solo) even more than Spider-Man.
    It lacks the twists of Dark Knight but still effective entertainment.
    Some times the special effects are way too cluttered near the end but let's salute the quality of them.
  84. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    This movie was truly fantastic. The common grievances regarding too many stories packed into one film are legitimate which is what holds this review back. But truth be told, the movie was a fantastic re-imagining of the series. The DC universe is being made darker and people should be prepared for that going into the movie. If you, like many critics, are going in expecting charming "save my cat, mister" or Christopher Reeve-era Superman then you are looking for a different movie and should readjust your expectations. This is an impressive film that explores a truly "human" alien and his evolution into a new version of the shining light we all know and love. It's a new Superman for a new age. Bring on the sequel, Snyder and Goyer! Expand
  85. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Good, but not perfect. A decent Superman movie at the very least, but i've seen better superHERO movies. If I could give you one tip? Don't expect too much from Lois Lane. She's basically there to be stared at.
  86. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    As a lifelong fan of Superman I had been waiting for a movie which captured the character I saw in my head when reading a Superman comic. The Donner films were great, don't get me wrong, but that was silver age Superman. Where was the post-crisis, Byrne Superman. Thanks to Zack Snyder, Henry Cavill and company I now have my Superman. The cast was spot on in their interpretation and despite what some "professional" critics claim the character development was was engaging. I absolutely can't wait to see where the story goes from here. Congratulations to all involved, to you I tip my hat and offer a very gracious Thank You. Expand
  87. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    The movie is great! I felt like I'd seen quite a bit going into the theatre and, I was correct! From watching all the trailers you get the sense that you see alot before going to the big screen but, believe me, the movie was worth it! Great action, awesome soundtrack, and the acting is right on par from each character. For some reason though, there were another of characters from Battle Star Galactica... LOL! Anyway, go see it! Expand
  88. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    I walked into this movie with high hopes provided I love a good movie. Being produced by Christopher Nolan and a huge fan of generally speaking all of his work, I really expected alot from this movie. I came in expecting a movie that really dwelved deep into superman's character, but unfortunately none of my hopes manifested themselves. It ended up being a movie where the important character development was explained in its entirety in promotional trailer of the movie. Another problem I had coming into this was my expectations for a modern superhero movie with semi-interesting plot and some character development, but instead felt as though I was left with 300:Superman Edition. The first 40 minutes kept throwing new information at me that I hoped would go somewhere. Hope that it would become something more, but those hopes quickly died. after the first 40 minutes the movie turns into that epic battle scene that lasts 2 hours too long. Beyond that, the story was faced with many plot holes, a superman that fails to be connected with, an a love interest that feels forced and rather stale. If you go to a movie simply to see a plethora of CGI, by all means, this is the movie for you, but if you are looking for a movie with any level of development your money would be better spent purchasing rope and an afternoon in your garage. Expand
  89. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    Superman? More like superboy. An after spending the first 20 min establishing an irrelevant relationship with his father and nemesis, an early scene shows what this version is really made of. Our hero is confronted by an ignorant truck driver and humiliated. Superboy's solution is to walk away without saying a word. Very shortly we find out that he walked out and committed an obviously adolescent act by destroying the truck of the driver. The rest of the movie is built around justifications for superman behaving like a boy while all the women and men in uniform treat him like the second coming of christ. At one point he is even juxtaposed with the image of jesus as if the messiah message was to subtle. Visually satisfying at some moments is the best i can say about this movie. Wait for netflix. Expand
  90. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    P.s do not trust the critics review here it is complete bull. Obviously the user reviews here are far more reliable than the critics. It doesn't matter what the critics think, it matters more what the people thinks. Again this movie is amazing, do not let a couple of bad user reviews and critics review stop from watching man of steel.
  91. Jun 16, 2013
    3
    Something tells me that many of the high scores and posts are from some PR firm hired by Warner Bros., because this movie was a train wreck. Anybody with a modicum of taste in a well scripted, paced and directed film would agree. Attempting to bring a Batman-like seriousness to Man of Steel was an EPIC FAILURE! "Batman" had a well executed story! True, it's my opinion...although my teenage boys didn't even like it! That's pretty telling. It's not an awful movie, it just seems to be two distinctly different movies in one. One part, life of a young boy dealing with being different while being raised in a small town (which, was not bad story telling in this film), and the other part, this over the top Michael Bay "Transformers" battle to the death, chock full of extraneous dialogue. Cavill is a "good looking" Superman for the eye candy crowd, in fact in the movie a character of a female cop sheepishly admits to this. However, this Superman is not a lot of fun, in fact he's pretty bland. Perhaps this Clark Kent should spend some time hanging out with "Iron Man" Tony Stark for a lesson in loosening up a bit. Expand
  92. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to the critics, Man of Steel is an epic Superhero MASTERPIECE !!!

    Best comic book movie of ALL TIME, I loved this movie.

    10/10 need JLA
  93. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    I feel this movie was lacking in heart and wholesomeness, something that I would have expected to find in a Superman origin story. This movie also failed to properly immerse me into, or even introduce me to, the world of Superman... and by "world" I mean Metropolis and Smallville. However, neither of these are my primary complaint. For a first installment of a franchise, this movie went overboard on its plot and action. My main complaint is that they needed to start on a smaller scale and give the sequels room to up the ante. Expand
  94. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel=The GREATEST COMIC BOOK MOVIE EVER!!! Best Movie this Year Overall. I was waiting for something like this for so many years and finally we have it!
  95. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    While mainstream critics are correct in saying the much of the movie is a action spectacle, I believe most of the general audience already had a solid footing on who Superman is and his origin. Warner Bros. picked up from where the whole idea of Superman has always left off. They gave Superman something to fight for but didn't take an hour to set it all up and it worked.
  96. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Thus was a great movie the performances were good there were very good fight scenes. I have given the movie a 9 because i think that the movie went on a little long and the use of 3D was not that great but apart from that great movie one of the best of this year
  97. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Man of Steel is a great summer movie that makes up for all the action and spectacle not seen in Superman Returns. All of the characters are great and performances. The action is a lot of fun and Snyder's visuals are of coarse stunning. Hans Zimmer's score is PHENOMENAL! Man of Steel has a little choppy editing but nonetheless is still a great Superman film. Man of Steel: A-
  98. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MoS es una película donde se ve claramente el estilo ya marcado de David.S.goyer con el inicio justificando las motivaciones de Superman y esos falsos clímax. La única actuación que no me convenció fue la madre alienigena que al ver a su esposo muerto, tardo en reaccionar. No le doy 10 por problemas con el montaje, el inicio es confuso, y esos saltos entre presente y pasado hace que la historia no la termina de asimilar, he incluso la transición entre escenas es inmediata perdiéndome por no saber cuanto tiempo ha pasado Con respecto a Louis Lane, es un personaje creíble, intrépida como son los periodistas y con una excelente personificación por parte de Amy Adams, pero en el guion por tratar de ponerla como protagonista queda en situaciones forzadas, ella es humana, no puede estar en todas partes. Como por ejemplo cuando la gente de Zod se la lleva al espacio sin justificación y cuando en la pelea final, luego de Superman y Zod pelear por toda la ciudad, alejándose por km de donde empezaron, Louis llega a los minutos al sitio. El hecho de planificar la película como un unitario fue lo que hizo que fuera extensa tratando de abarcar toda la historia, por lo que fácilmente se puede dividir la película en dos, una donde muestra a Jor-El luchando por sacar a su hijo de Krypton y la infancia de Kal-El y la otra donde por fin vemos que Zod amenaza a la tierra. El papel de Crowe que pensábamos que seria olvidado luego de su muerte tiene una importancia incluso mayor que las que tuvieron los padres adoptivos. Shannon hace de villano espectacularmente, sera todo un reto conseguir un villano más fuerte que él para la 2da entrega. Los padres adoptivos de Clark- Kent entre salto y salto en el montaje hace que se pierda su objetivo que es ser la parte nostálgica y reflexiva de la película. Cavill como Superman mostró un gran carisma que Routh no pudo lograr en Superma Return. La maldición de Superman se ha roto! Creo que puliendo estos detalles( un montaje más ordenado, Lane en situaciones propias a sus limitaciones como humana, consiguiendo un villano cruel) la segunda parte será igual o mejor que The Dark Knight Expand
  99. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This movie isnt perfect but it definitely is a good start for where they want to head with this. I am happy to say that it is in the right direction.

    The ACTING was superb by everyone, just the actors on Krypton had be engaged. I like how they world builded Krypton instead of it being a boring white planet like the past movies...

    The ACTION was great but I dont understand the hate
    for the too much when it was Zod vs Superman; I'm sorry but if you have two or more Kryptonians fight, the environment around them id bound to get immensely destroyed.

    The STORY was a great origin story, but I can understand some people not on board with the whole flashback way but for me it workds. The way it was intertwined with present events worked well imo.

    My only complaint will have to be some of the pacing, it wasnt awful but it could be improved, there were just some parts when you are waiting for things to happen but it wasnt that bad. The pacing was just fine.

    I think the critics are wrong for comparing this to Donner bc
    1) Its a reboot,
    2)Donner didnt make Superman.
    You should definitely walk in with an open mind forgetting Donner and instead expect a movie that goes by the comics instead of the Donner films for once.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 14, 2013
    60
    What it fails to supply much of — surprisingly, it must be said — is fun. This is serious business, Snyder seems always to be saying. This is badass. And given the sheer logistical size of the spectacle on display, it's a position that's hard to argue with.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 13, 2013
    75
    David Goyer, who wrote the script for Man of Steel from a story he concocted with Christopher Nolan, found a new way to make us care: The title character is disturbed by everything in his adopted home.