Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in modern Beijing, Man of Tai Chi, Keanu Reevesâ
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Oct 30, 2013
    83
    For fans of wushu flicks — or action movies in general — Man Of Tai Chi presents a rare appreciation for the art of conveying movement on screen, while also serving as an impressive physical showcase for its star, stuntman Tiger Chen.
  2. 70
    It’s the kind of solid, small-scale, entertaining action flick we probably need more of these days.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    The story is so-so, in other words, but the pummeling is primo.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Nov 1, 2013
    55
    Basically the anti-"Kill Bill." Both movies are quilted together from their auteurs' favorite Asian action flicks, but where Tarantino's was overheated, Reeves' is elegantly iced.
  5. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Oct 31, 2013
    50
    A modestly entertaining martial arts melodrama with impressively staged fight sequences that help compensate for a stale plot and some less-than-stellar acting.
  6. 50
    The script here is pretty stale stuff, with an under-developed side story of the cop (Karen Mok) on Donako’s trail and dialogue (in English and Chinese) that is often banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Oct 29, 2013
    30
    The film is stale Chinese popcorn from the get-go, with only Chen's wiry guilelessness and wicked athletic skills to keep it remotely edible.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this was a brilliant directorial debut from Keanu. It's very well put together, with tons of brutal action, a banging soundtrack, a great concept for the story and just all round entertainment. Keanu seems to capture the spirit of the classic martial arts flick perfectly, demonstrated not only by the directing style but in his role as the archetypal lead henchman. His performance borders on Grindhouse and makes me think he'd be perfect for that genre too. I don't know how the guy looks so young as well. He's either been cloned at some point or as had a facelift. A great martial arts flick and one I'll definitely be watching again. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    It may not be groundbreaking, but Man of Tai Chi represents an agreeably old-fashioned picture for martial arts fans and a solid debut for first-time director Keanu Reeves. The music is sizzling and Tiger Chen doesn't need wires, it's spectacular. Man Of Tai Chi is one of the best martial arts films after Gareth Evans's The Raid. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    The film is very good but I wanted it to be great. The martial arts in this film are amazing and shot quite well not from up close (Hollywood trick that I hate to make seem action seem more intense) but from a wider angle to show case the amazing choreography. The action doesn't need help to be intense and starts early and is frequent and varied until just after halfway where the movie goes a touch too slow through the dramatic story line before an ending that was almost great. Keanu is great as a director and for first-time out has made a very watchable film with incredible action sequences while showcasing us the incredible artist Tiger Hu Chen whose skills I look forward to seeing more of.
    If you enjoy this genre don't miss this film.
    Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    While other reviews would suggest that the film's story is quite generic it manages to put a 3rd act twist in the makes you re evaluate the film taking it in a different and more personal direction to similar martial arts tournament films.
    The fighting is very high calibur and fans of the matrix will be most at home here with reeve's directing and Tiger Chen's choreography eliciting that same feel. Man of Tai Chi does for tai chi what Only the Strong did for Kopiera but is also very engaging.
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    7
    Directional debut for Keanu Reeves which was partially based on stuntman Tiger Chen's life story. Since the story was inspired by a Chinese character, the movie was co-produced by Hollywood and China in Cantonese and Mandarin languages with a little English. Keanu Reeves appeared in a negative role and his friend Tiger Chen as himself.

    As the Keanu Reeves's first movie as a captain it is evident that he had faced tough challenges to capture in some of the scenes. Clearly the fight choreographies were the best parts of the movie. Since his friend Tiger Chen is a stuntman they had no troubles in those areas. Those who love martial arts will like this movie for its awesome stunt sequences. Drama portions were little sloppy, due to the similar fashion storyline that already we had seen in some of the earlier releases.

    It is not a finest martial art movie of the year, but fights were the movie's highlight. I can't appreciate Keanu Reeves direction, but somehow he handled everything nicely from this movie being a junk. He's a good actor than a director, though he may improve in his next project, but I don't know.

    I expected this movie to be fast paced, exciting one, but what I got was opposite. The reason was the story of individual character did not fit into as a single movie. For example, Tiger Chen's master and his story, Hong Kong Police and their criminal chase, all these looked a bit weird together. Removing commercial elements could have made it a better movie.

    This is not the first time a western director flew to the east to make a movie. It has been done many times in the past in movies like 'The Last Samurai', 'Kundun' and the recent one '47 Ronin' et cetera. So no wonder Keanu Reeves made this with his best friend Tiger Chen. The question is, is this movie worth to have a peek? I would say it was not the best nor the worst.

    6.5/10
    Collapse
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    Nice movie, amazing fight choreography, a bit of a cliche` story but quite nice and appropriate music soundtrack. Script leaves something to be desired at times and Keanu Reeves' acting is below par in certain scenes but overall nice. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    2
    Very generic story with Ok fight scenes, Nothing groundbreaking nor is it top tier when it comes to other martial arts films. The acting is ok, Hate to say it but Reeves was rather disappointing in this one. Overall, Man of Tai Chi is a fine enough directing debut from Reeves but it's far from good. Expand

Trailers