IFC Films | Release Date: April 25, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
4
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
jAbMaNMar 1, 2011
One of the best indie movie I ever seen in my life. Joseph, Zooey and Don are all great actors in this movie. The movie has great directing and the best writing.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
KingmushSep 26, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/manic.html

Manic. I was suggested this movie by a friend of mine who loves Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon Levitt. And I'll admit, me too. Loved them in (500) Days of Summer and seeing as how Manic
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/manic.html

Manic. I was suggested this movie by a friend of mine who loves Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon Levitt. And I'll admit, me too. Loved them in (500) Days of Summer and seeing as how Manic was their first movie together I gave it a shot. Didn't really know what to expect but by the end of it I was blown away. If you're looking for an intense movie about teenage psych ward patients and their stories of violence, rape, and general anger. Watch this. I give it a 5 out of 5 which is pretty rare for me.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Manic is in my opinion, undoubtedly a great movie. Not only because it possesses my personal favorite Indie stars Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but because the performances executed by the actors are just brilliant. All of theManic is in my opinion, undoubtedly a great movie. Not only because it possesses my personal favorite Indie stars Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but because the performances executed by the actors are just brilliant. All of the juvenile delinquents are played to an extent of realism that it makes most of the flaws easy to overlook. Joseph Gordon-Levitt portrays a disgruntled teenager to perfection, and is ultimately the highlight of the film. The emotion that is created by the man vs self conflicts is just perplexing. Although the overall plot does not go anywhere, this is a thorough exposure of societal misfit teenagers and their mindsets. Also, the contrast between Don Cheadle's character and the teenagers create an interesting comparison between "normal" and "delinquent." It conveys how even a commendable individual is not too far off from the difficulties faced by looked-down upon teenagers. Overall, I recommend watching this Independent drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UltraviolenceJul 8, 2011
I had never seen Joseph Gordon-Levitt play this kind of a character before, and he does it perfectly. His perpetually pent anger is like no other. I enjoyed his reluctantly dynamic nature in that the circumstances force him to change into aI had never seen Joseph Gordon-Levitt play this kind of a character before, and he does it perfectly. His perpetually pent anger is like no other. I enjoyed his reluctantly dynamic nature in that the circumstances force him to change into a contradiction of himself. Don Cheadle's performance was also effective in both showing his character's inner conflict, as would be imaginable in someone who has to deal with potentially violent and uncomfortable situations every day. As for the handheld camera style, I think it contributes to the fact that the film shows a very real part of life in that life isn't steady - especially not in a place like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Aug 10, 2013
Lyle Jensen (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has a few issues with anger management. Most of the time, he's in complete control, but one day, during a baseball game, he loses it and almost kills someone. Lyle's not quite eighteen yet, so he's sent to aLyle Jensen (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has a few issues with anger management. Most of the time, he's in complete control, but one day, during a baseball game, he loses it and almost kills someone. Lyle's not quite eighteen yet, so he's sent to a psychiatric hospital, where he learns that compared to others, his problems are nothing. I've said it before and I'll say it again, Joseph Gordon-Levitt is the single most underrated and under appreciated actor in all of Hollywood. I've seen a lot of his films, some are great and some are awful, but the fact remains that he always gives a strong performance and makes even the worst movie that much better. Manic was a rare inside look at a youth psychiatric facility, but there wasn't much of a story behind it. Of course we meet Lyle and the other patients, finding out why they're there, but there really isn't a point to it. The quality of the film further decreases with the way it was filmed, as every scene features constant movement from numerous angles. Similar to these camcorder films, I honestly found it pretty distracting, not to mention nauseating. The best part of Manic though is clearly the performances. This was released in 2001, before any of the stars were household names, however after seeing the film, it's easy to see why they all became popular. Don Cheadle is another actor that doesn't get the recognition he deserves, playing the Doctor in Manic, he is the glue that brings everyone together. Even with JGL's performance, this film is a mess of nonsense without Don Cheadle. Manic is somewhat disturbing and filmed in a way that makes it hard to watch, but the performances are just about as good as it gets and make this film worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TTW107Apr 10, 2012
I definitely enjoyed seeing Zooey and Joseph in their first movie together. I didn't enjoy the camera work, towards the beginning it was really shaky and it was always too zoomed in on people's faces. Camerawork aside the movie does have someI definitely enjoyed seeing Zooey and Joseph in their first movie together. I didn't enjoy the camera work, towards the beginning it was really shaky and it was always too zoomed in on people's faces. Camerawork aside the movie does have some powerful moments but I didn't really come out with a cohesive message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThePeebsOct 20, 2013
Once you get past the shaky camera, this movie shows off strong performances by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Cheadle, and Zooey Deschanel. The only gripe I had was with the plot development. At times the story felt like it wasn't really goingOnce you get past the shaky camera, this movie shows off strong performances by Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Cheadle, and Zooey Deschanel. The only gripe I had was with the plot development. At times the story felt like it wasn't really going anywhere. Even with that gripe this is still a good movie and I wouldn't let that keep you from watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews