Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 17, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 272 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
71
Negative:
98
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
DecepticonPomMar 31, 2009
I'm gay and would normally drool over both Wahlberg and O'Connell but this was so bad, I converted to Christ and preyed for a power cut. It didn't come. The existence of this film and failure for me to be delivered from its I'm gay and would normally drool over both Wahlberg and O'Connell but this was so bad, I converted to Christ and preyed for a power cut. It didn't come. The existence of this film and failure for me to be delivered from its agony are proof there is no higher power! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KeenanS.Jul 15, 2009
To date, I have seen thirteen video game films, and this one of my least favorite of the bunch. Loved the Resident Evil films (All 4), Silent Hill, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children, Tomb Raider films and Hitman. Those were my favorites of To date, I have seen thirteen video game films, and this one of my least favorite of the bunch. Loved the Resident Evil films (All 4), Silent Hill, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children, Tomb Raider films and Hitman. Those were my favorites of all of them. Unfortunately, Max Payne just feels like a lazy attempt to cash in on the game's name instead of actually doing anything remarkable. This was a pretty dull action film, but it just managed to barely save itself from sucking. I recommend the video game films I mentioned long before I'd recommend this lazy and rather boring film. It's not bad, but it's just not that good. Too bad, especially considering Twentieth Century Fox did such a good job with Hitman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JorgeMJul 16, 2009
This was a good adaption from the video game. The plot was awesome it was good how they captured everything from the game, the cast was good, and the characters were okay, and the scene's were okay could of been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RenánBJul 21, 2009
One of the worst video game adaptations ever made. This flick is quite inept in so many levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
eliascAug 6, 2009
A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly A terrible adaptation of the game. Witless and confusing, and badly acted, the only saving grace for tis film is the visual style that the director uses, or more accurately, attempts to copy from the video game., However viewers will quickly tire of the monotonous use of CGI snow and rain to show us how dismal this fantasy version of New York is. Save your time and skip this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
the-epikninjaApr 21, 2012
Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
QuexorOct 17, 2012
I really wanted to like this movie. Unfortunately, the movie seems to chug at a very slow pace and the action scenes are way too far and few between. Even the shootdodge that Marky Mark does in the movie doesn't even look that proper.I really wanted to like this movie. Unfortunately, the movie seems to chug at a very slow pace and the action scenes are way too far and few between. Even the shootdodge that Marky Mark does in the movie doesn't even look that proper. However, even without all the action, the movie does stay very true to form to the video games, as it is as dark as the games is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RickyBoobyJan 2, 2013
"Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen"Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical east coast detective. You could have plugged one of 50 actors into the role and gotten the same thing. As a stand alone film, it's really bad. As something with even a semblance of "inspiration" from the video games, it's even worse. Avoid this. If it's free turn it down, if it costs money, punch somebody in the face. One of the ten worst movies I've ever seen....and I've seen Glitter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Claudius101Feb 23, 2014
Max Payne the film falls short of the Max Payne game series. John Moore takes the concept of the game it's story line and creates something basic. The fans of Max Payne were a bit disappointed at the films depute. Unfortunately the story andMax Payne the film falls short of the Max Payne game series. John Moore takes the concept of the game it's story line and creates something basic. The fans of Max Payne were a bit disappointed at the films depute. Unfortunately the story and comics in the first game were so impressive for that time and made such a huge impact in the gaming industry and most importantly in the player's, or better gamers minds. Therefore it would be very hard to make a movie with a similar impact and create a Max Payne as Bad ass as you could possibly make it in the game. I mean you as a player. It is a shame, the film could have done more justice to the Max Payne novelty. Maybe future remakes will be taken into accord although I know the reason they are not at the moment. The directors saw how hard it was to make an actual impression on the fans. It is a shame really, Mark Walkberg is a decent actor but unfortunately he did not make a true impact in this film. I would suggest a more sickening looking kind a character. But hey, we cannot really get exactly what we want can we? Well.. sometimes we can. Film-makers have shows us before and will do so again.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews