User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 225

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    I love the game series. Obviously the game is much better. But I thought the movie was pretty decent. Had a good story, and dark tone that we all know and love. Could've used more action sure. And the supporting characters needed more of a personality. But Mark Whalberg did a fine job.
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    Max Payne the film falls short of the Max Payne game series. John Moore takes the concept of the game it's story line and creates something basic. The fans of Max Payne were a bit disappointed at the films depute. Unfortunately the story and comics in the first game were so impressive for that time and made such a huge impact in the gaming industry and most importantly in the player's, or better gamers minds. Therefore it would be very hard to make a movie with a similar impact and create a Max Payne as Bad ass as you could possibly make it in the game. I mean you as a player. It is a shame, the film could have done more justice to the Max Payne novelty. Maybe future remakes will be taken into accord although I know the reason they are not at the moment. The directors saw how hard it was to make an actual impression on the fans. It is a shame really, Mark Walkberg is a decent actor but unfortunately he did not make a true impact in this film. I would suggest a more sickening looking kind a character. But hey, we cannot really get exactly what we want can we? Well.. sometimes we can. Film-makers have shows us before and will do so again.. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    Mark Wahlberg plays popular game hero Max Payne, a cop who sets out to find the man who killed his wife and child, while doing so he uncovers a potential conspiracy that could lead him to the killer.

    While Max Payne boasts a great tone, atmosphere and great cinematography, the overall film wasn't really all that great, the acting was tough to judge, there were some good performances but
    the actors seem like they didn't have much to work with, the action scenes are minimal, and was just a ton of shooting and they weren't all that exciting, however if you are interested in this film, you can watch it, but I feel that there are better options.

    Without comparing it to the game, I felt they could have done more to make it a bit more interesting and exciting, and possibly add more to Max Payne's back story and they could've been more inventive with the action scenes instead of making people just shoot at each other.

    Otherwise, its a good concept and is well shot, but the execution needed a little more work.
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    Esta pelicula me gusto, tuvo accion de la buena y buenos personajes; a mi me parecio una buena adaptacion de la saga de juegos Max Payne, actuaron bien los actores de Max Payne.
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    "Payne-ful" to watch, unwatchable if you're a fan of the videogames. I am a HUGE fan of the games, and near the beginning a scene starts to shape up like a part of the videogame. I get a little giddy...then I sit through an hour and fifteen more minutes of nonsense, insanity, not plot, terrible acting, and even mediocre action. Mark Wahlberg as the title character was the stereotypical east coast detective. You could have plugged one of 50 actors into the role and gotten the same thing. As a stand alone film, it's really bad. As something with even a semblance of "inspiration" from the video games, it's even worse. Avoid this. If it's free turn it down, if it costs money, punch somebody in the face. One of the ten worst movies I've ever seen....and I've seen Glitter. Collapse
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    It's pretty entertaining in some point, but even then it's only on a superficial level. "Max Payne" is a pretty lame attempt at recreating what the games did so well.
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this movie. Unfortunately, the movie seems to chug at a very slow pace and the action scenes are way too far and few between. Even the shootdodge that Marky Mark does in the movie doesn't even look that proper. However, even without all the action, the movie does stay very true to form to the video games, as it is as dark as the games is.
  8. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen. This movie mocks everything fans love about Max Payne, if you really want to see a movie worth seeing watch WANTED that's one bad ass movie
  9. May 12, 2012
    2
    Worst Video game adaption i've ever seen. I'm a great fan of Max Payne Video game series and expected the movie will be thrilling too. it's cheesy,boring,horrible and atrocious.Even Mark Wahlberg didn't left any effect.Mila Kunis looked like doing a cameo. Writer messed up everything in the script. So-known slow motion sequences are way too short as compared to game. I'm very disappointed. May be it will please the non-gamers a bit but for Game fans ,it's just a waste of time. Expand
  10. Apr 21, 2012
    2
    Definitely not worth watching if you are a fan of the videogame Max Payne. Horrible movie that is nowhere near the original game. Though i give 2 for the effort. -the-epikninja
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    If John Woo directed this movie, there would be more action scenes than ever and the movie would have been longer. The plot in this movie does not match with the one in the original Max Payne game which winds up to be a technical flaw. An enemy as an angel with wings? That did not exist in that game.
  12. Feb 3, 2011
    3
    I loved Max Payne (video game) so there's a film! I watch the trailer and it doesn't really look like the game
    I didn't know what to expect, so I watch it and the action scenes are nice but everything else sucks. The best part is, none of it makes sense, its nothing like the game, what about the train station scene (Roscoe street station) the thugs just walk right in and want his watch.
    Isn't he supposed to kill them whilst they wait for the train? They've all mixed it up and the characters have a terrible roll. They even chose the wrong character that they kill in the ending. Nope, NOT Nicole Horn, someone else! I mean, how can they choose the wrong character! Skip this film, its not worth the time. Expand
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. Max Payne offers max pain along with min invention, and the only thing that keeps it out of the bottom of the Dumpster--it’s more of a top-of-the-Dumpster movie--is the presence of Mark Wahlberg.
  2. A banal revenge melodrama-cum-detective story, but fans of the video game on which it is based should not be alarmed.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    30
    Stylishly made, armed to the teeth and ludicrous in the extreme.