IFC Films | Release Date: June 17, 2005
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 148 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
14
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ArielG.Mar 13, 2006
I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is I decided to watch this, on the strength of the great reviews that it had gotten. It was a fairly average movie, that was totally overhyped. I normally love arthouse movies, films that are different and a breath of fresh air to what is usually churned out by the big Hollywood machines, but I just didn't like this movie. I was very disappointed. I do believe that Miranda July has talent, but she didn't seem to show it in this movie. Every movie needs to have some sort of message, or moral, or point, or even just a plot - This movie didn't seem to have either. It just seemed to trudge along at a snail's pace and try to win over the audience with contrived cuteness, weirdness, or forced quirkiness. None of the characters were likeable or even memorable, and it seemed like most of the scenes only worked as individual scenes, and didn't advance the movie as a whole. The music was good though. If you're looking for a great arthouse movie, look elsewhere, because you won't find it in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MathewB.Jul 30, 2005
Bold, fun, insightful, and humane. I'm not sure that everything work, but even when something is not quite right it's so gutsy that you do not care. Honest excitment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Jul 6, 2005
I have to take issue with Pat T.'s review below. How can you say that it's more appealing to women than it is to men? I'm a man, and I loved it. The main character is a man... I'm dumfounded. Anyway, it struck me as a I have to take issue with Pat T.'s review below. How can you say that it's more appealing to women than it is to men? I'm a man, and I loved it. The main character is a man... I'm dumfounded. Anyway, it struck me as a more humane version of "Happiness". Certainly not a "whole" film, but it's extremely watchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EllenF.Jul 10, 2005
Not so much a conventional film as 2 hours of performance art. Beautiful, thoughtful, and moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TiagoM.Jul 30, 2005
This is one of those rare original independent movies that actually manages to skate in the very thin line between absolutely hilarious, just plain wrong, and rather insightful. And for their efforts at least, the cast of "Me and You" should This is one of those rare original independent movies that actually manages to skate in the very thin line between absolutely hilarious, just plain wrong, and rather insightful. And for their efforts at least, the cast of "Me and You" should be applauded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TNgoJul 3, 2005
I really liked it. Its theme about individuals longing for any kind of human connection in this lonely world ours, resonated with me. I can't wait for Miranda July's next effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesC.Jul 30, 2005
A bricolage of tricks and scenes from other and much better cutesy-only-love-matters films. Amateurish, sloppy, tired, and Miranda July is the incarnation of self-indulgence, complacency, and self-love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
roberth.Oct 17, 2005
This movie has the odor of todd solondz if not quite the whole awful stench. has nice cinematic last few minutes however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
T-O-N-YDec 1, 2005
This movie is a reflection of life @ a time in which communication and recording capability has destroyed previous concepts of honesty, and the contexts within which it can be drawn. It brings to the surface resistance against popular ways This movie is a reflection of life @ a time in which communication and recording capability has destroyed previous concepts of honesty, and the contexts within which it can be drawn. It brings to the surface resistance against popular ways of being in favor of natural and human ways of being. Miranda July is way ahead of her time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffT.Jul 1, 2005
Beautiful film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GettfordJul 8, 2005
Its beautiful like filmed performance art. Also, it was better than Batman and Land of the Dead combined.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EwenM.Aug 1, 2005
Completely loved this movie. Along the lines of the brilliant Gilbert Grape.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulD.Aug 6, 2005
Quirky to the max. An original voice appears. Sometimes opaque, sometimes funny, sometimes touching, sometimes pretentious, sometimes genuinely moving, sometimes brillantly original, but almost always involving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaPNov 1, 2005
This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world This movie ranks at the top of the worst films I have ever seen! I kept waiting for it to get better but unfortunately it never did. Andy M was right, the movie was boring. Sure it's original, and there is a reason....the world can't take another movie like this! Please Miranda July, in our contemporary world, figure out how to build a time machine so I can get back the 90 minutes I wasted watching this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MishaHNov 1, 2005
Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! Amazing! Not the film, the reviews. I can't believe that so many people liked this film. It is not often that I feel such disgust after watching a movie, and believe me it takes a lot. Someone please tell me what the hype is all about! If this is "an impressive look at how society deals with change", count me out. I'd rather stay behind than be subjected to a socitey where perverts leave pornographic messages for teenage girls on the window of their front lawn. By the way, six year olds don't have sexual fantasies....they barely understand what sex is! I'm no prude but this film left me feeling dirty AND dissatisfied! If you are going to use sex to sell a film make it sexy not perverted! The entire plot (if you can call it a plot) is absurd! Have you heard the term "trying too hard". The characters were so overdone! The whole group including the director, characters and raving critics should be committed to the nearest mental hospital! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillK.Nov 6, 2005
Best film 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyMOct 20, 2005
Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is Here 'offbeat' means 'so missing the beat that it doesn't work'. This movie is boring (as in, there's no meaningful plot or interesting characters), the characters are difficult to watch, and the dialogue is written by a mental patient. The only somewhat funny parts revolve around pedophelia. This is this year's 'Sideways', to me it's boring and overhyped, but other people seem to like it (you can't pay off that many critics...can you?). So do as you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomW.Jul 13, 2005
Just a delight. Nice twists. Engaging actors. Far more enjoyable to me than any of the highly touted studio films. It's a shame this doesn't play to a wider audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikuD.Jul 15, 2005
Fairly dissapointing. While it does contain a few interesting moments, the film is too cute by half; its contrivances and self-conscious quirkiness ultimately outweigh any moments of originality-- a film that tries too hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jonk.Jul 20, 2005
Simply the most original, most sweet-natured clear-eyed movie I have seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatTJul 2, 2005
A lot of poignent, touching scenes about lonliness and trying to connect and some other stuff about discovering sexuality, but it doesn't add up to a movie. More like looking at a scrapbook. Definitely more appealing to women than to men.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonB.Jul 27, 2005
A intelligent, serious movie. The film makes it clear that kids might be more able to deal with their sexuality than many adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaG.Jul 29, 2005
Rare to find a movie so intelligent, moving *and* funny. There is not a cliched or predictable moment in this wholely original film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
renatae.Jul 31, 2005
Unexpected and truly original. marvellous characters for someof whom i developed great affection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NicoleZAug 21, 2005
Incredibly pretentious and precious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
nickr.Aug 23, 2005
Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort Sort of watchable, but essentially flawed. Lacking in plot and character development - I didn't realte to any of them. The worst aspect of this film was the pretentiousness, the self-indulgence, trying far to hard to be quirky. It sort of reminded me of the character of "I'm so quirky" Phoebe from Friends. There's being arty and then there's random bollocks. This film falls into the latter category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 9, 2005
"Me and You and Everyone we Know" is cute in the most atypical way. Writer/director Miranda Otto finds a way to make the uproariously funny sex fantasy of a six-year-old boy seem adorable, which somehow manages to be simultaneously vulgar "Me and You and Everyone we Know" is cute in the most atypical way. Writer/director Miranda Otto finds a way to make the uproariously funny sex fantasy of a six-year-old boy seem adorable, which somehow manages to be simultaneously vulgar and humane. The on-line sex between the child and, at the time, representational woman, reveals itself to be a very smart digital-age update of the relationship between Tom Hanks and Elizabeth Perkins in "Big". In another story, Otto shows us unflinchingly how contemporary teenage girls save their reputations differently from the Sandra Dees, or even the Erin Morans, of yesteryear. Otto is prurient like Larry Clarke but goes about it without any breast or crotch shots. Her own appearance in the film is highlighted by a deconstructive meet-cute that reveals how real-life isn't like the movies. Excellent debut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CablesJul 13, 2007
One of the most pretentious films I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcK.Nov 5, 2005
It's a very interesting film to see, which is why I'll give it a "7." But if people are describing this film as "sweet," "cute," and "funny," then I have definitely missed the point of this film. It was an extremely sad movie about It's a very interesting film to see, which is why I'll give it a "7." But if people are describing this film as "sweet," "cute," and "funny," then I have definitely missed the point of this film. It was an extremely sad movie about how lonely people are. Glad it didn't go on to much longer, as the sadness almost made me want to cut my wrists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenE.Nov 5, 2005
This movie can only be boring to the young, the naive, or the blind. The silence said it all. The body and facial expressions do more for this film than any gun, explosion, or sex scene have ever done. Never perverted or pornographic in This movie can only be boring to the young, the naive, or the blind. The silence said it all. The body and facial expressions do more for this film than any gun, explosion, or sex scene have ever done. Never perverted or pornographic in anyway. Only a true artist could create such a modern piece of artwork. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
N.R.MarcusOct 15, 2005
This movie was sappy, strange and made no point. Waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexE.Oct 16, 2005
This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie This is not a film for everyone, but those who are able to survive the "pretentious" and "precious" style of this movie will find an incredibly relevant, touching, and profound message about the need for connection among people. This movie speaks more about human contact in one frame than the entirety of the belabored "Crash". Miranda July (not only writing and directing, but also giving a wonderful lead performance) has ideas about our digital age and about how we perceive sexuality, and rather than preaching as "Crash" did, she weaves them into a film rich with beautiful cinematography and realistic characters. There are scenes in this film you will never forget. There are a few considerable flaws (the last moments of the film come to mind), but in the end, you are left with an unmistakable imprint from one of the most exciting and original filmmakers to emerge in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
franklinr.Oct 16, 2005
This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that This is a great movie. There are so many little things to appreciate in every scene of this movie. In most movies you could just skip half the scenes and get to the end because that's all you care about, but not this movie. Part of that is because it doesn't really have a plot, or climax, or any element of typical movies. Just see it if you like good movies. And no it's not kiddie porn like some people say on here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
garycOct 16, 2005
Horribly pretentious, this movie presents an assortment of disturbed characters acting in ways that defy belief. It appears to be attempting to be artsy without succeeeding in the least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevYDec 15, 2005
Entertaining and funny. I don't know many people like these characters, but the themes were very real: personal connection, wanting to be loved, and the awkwardness of relationships. And if it was too pretentious for some, maybe there Entertaining and funny. I don't know many people like these characters, but the themes were very real: personal connection, wanting to be loved, and the awkwardness of relationships. And if it was too pretentious for some, maybe there should have been more car chases and explosions, the usual fodder of Hollywood movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidPDec 20, 2005
You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to You have to wonder what kind of person would give a movie like this a "O." Not one, single point?!! I can't even take your opinions seriously when you give silly scores like that. And, who walks out during a movie, anyway? It sounds to me like some people are a little to eager to hate something. In any case, I thought this was one of the best films I saw this year. Everything about it felt original, without being annoyingly experimental. This film just felt free and revealed how constrained so many other films are. I highly recommend it, unless of course you're the kind of person who walks out during a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
vanveraDec 24, 2005
So cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VicenteTDec 5, 2005
Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If Am I living on another planet? Why are so many people so in love with this film? I'm trying to think of a single positive thing to do say about it. I guess Miranda July is cute...but does she think she's the Second Coming? If it's a satire on the "quirky" genre, it succeeds! Unfortunately, it seems to take itself seriously. I walked out before the ending. Tell me, does she end it with some miraculous insight into human nature that I could only get after watching an hour of Oprah? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliusXJun 25, 2005
This is a tremendous film about people interacting with each other, doing their best given certain circumstances. It is about people assuming magical things will happen without having to go out and make them happen, persisting in the face of This is a tremendous film about people interacting with each other, doing their best given certain circumstances. It is about people assuming magical things will happen without having to go out and make them happen, persisting in the face of no hope. It is about life and how it isn't as simple as pushing a button. It is about child sexuality. Its themes are universal. Miranda July has achieved something very special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitB.Jul 11, 2005
An offbeat, original film. Very funny in spots and some surprises that tie everything together. I would have liked to have seen more depth, more background to the main female character played so very well by Miranda July.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattF.Jul 12, 2005
Incredibly pretentious and dour. However, there are a couple scenes that are interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanaM.Jul 14, 2005
Should have been titled "One flew over the Cookoo's nest 2". I've never seen a movie with more oddball characters. This movie has no plot whatsoever. If your idea of fun is to watch two early teenage girls perfom oral sex on a Should have been titled "One flew over the Cookoo's nest 2". I've never seen a movie with more oddball characters. This movie has no plot whatsoever. If your idea of fun is to watch two early teenage girls perfom oral sex on a twelve year old then this is the movie for you. Don't bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlbertN.Jul 14, 2005
The worst film I've seen in years. Disgusting, pointless, not in the least bit funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jacks.Jul 16, 2005
I went with my wife and two friends. We all hated it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobS.Jul 17, 2005
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeG.Jul 21, 2005
It's hard, if not impossible, to explain why I loved this movie. Miranda July has a goofy kind of charisma that transfixed me, and she seems to transfer this to her actors as well. Her characters are all quirky, idiosyncratic folks who It's hard, if not impossible, to explain why I loved this movie. Miranda July has a goofy kind of charisma that transfixed me, and she seems to transfer this to her actors as well. Her characters are all quirky, idiosyncratic folks who seem completely real as they struggle to find happiness in a world that isn't harsh, but is definitely indifferent to their struggles. Me and You and Everyone We Know triumphs because there isn't a message or a lesson at the end. Nothing in life comes tied up in a neat little bow - it's the little moments that are worth savoring and hanging on to. Ms. July captures the little pleasures magnificently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidM.Jul 27, 2005
Pretentious and stilted. The creators really wanted us to know how clever and deep they are. Only highlight is that little kid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyHJul 28, 2005
Bracing and totally original, ME AND YOU announces the arrival of a major talent. Miranda July's debut feature is a welcome tonic of honesty, fragility and beauty in an increasing banal and debased pop culture. At times goofy, Bracing and totally original, ME AND YOU announces the arrival of a major talent. Miranda July's debut feature is a welcome tonic of honesty, fragility and beauty in an increasing banal and debased pop culture. At times goofy, vulnerable and definitely unafraid to fly her freak flag, Ms. July leads an outstandingly assured cast of mostly unknowns. In a summer loaded with TV adaptations, remakes and bloated action spectacle, July has created a wondrous film that rises above the cacophony. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieK.Aug 1, 2005
This is an amazingly playful film. Back and Forth forever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffJAug 19, 2005
I admire the artistic attempt, but ultimately this fails to succeed as an whole movie. All of the characters are eccentric and neurotic. All of the scenes are slow and oblique. There is no discernible plot for long, tedious portions of the I admire the artistic attempt, but ultimately this fails to succeed as an whole movie. All of the characters are eccentric and neurotic. All of the scenes are slow and oblique. There is no discernible plot for long, tedious portions of the movie (although it does tie together quite nicely at the end). It's just too clever and precious, with nothing to relieve the arty wierdness. And some of the themes are not just wierd, but disturbing. I was squirming in my seat for much of this film. I think that Pat T said it well below when he described it as more a scrapbook than a movie. On the other hand, the talent potential is clearly there. July reminds me of a kinder and gentler Todd Solondz. If some of these scenes were part of another, more conventional, movie, they might be seen as brilliant. Together, they are like watching paint dry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BetsyRossAug 21, 2005
There is nothing I would change about this movie, it was absolutely perfect. I went into the theater knowing nothing about the film, but left with it being a new favorite. My date and I were rolling laughing so hard. So many subtle jokes. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
janeAug 21, 2005
A truly terrible film, with roots in the narcissism, hipster cliches and shoddy craft of performance "art". The fact that people like Miranda July get into the Whitney and manage to find film financing is a measure of the impoverishment of A truly terrible film, with roots in the narcissism, hipster cliches and shoddy craft of performance "art". The fact that people like Miranda July get into the Whitney and manage to find film financing is a measure of the impoverishment of official culture in this country. Bad art is forgiveable, but this film has none of the attributes -- focus, high intelligence, craft -- which distinguish the arts from TV culture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TMAug 24, 2005
Is it child pornography when you have kids talking about lewd and pornographic acts? I'm not sure, but it happens in this movie and it left me very queasy. This movie left me feeling like I needed a shower and wasn't nearly good Is it child pornography when you have kids talking about lewd and pornographic acts? I'm not sure, but it happens in this movie and it left me very queasy. This movie left me feeling like I needed a shower and wasn't nearly good enough to justify this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Aug 26, 2005
By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's By no means a perfect movie, and anyone who has given it below an 8 really has no true sense about the world and doesn't know much about smart and thoughtful movies. This movie is beautiful in many ways, and mostly due to it's quirky truthfulness. You'll smile, cringe, be in awe at some of the unexpected things that happen. You cannot make this movie out to more than it naturally is. Anyone who is wanting an all-encompassing, virtuostic movie-going experience need look elsewhere. Anyone who wants a truthful and fun look at the world, along with some very prolific undertones, should not hesitate to see this movie. I will be going to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FameT.Aug 27, 2005
As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the As the other reviews indicate, this movie is not for everyone. This is some sexual content that some viewers may find disturbing. Moreover, this is not the best movie to see for those demanding a linear plot. That being said, I thought the movie was fantastic. It is quirky and genuinely moving, and rewards the viewer with unexpected moments and a unique visual style. This is not a movie you have seen before. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarinF.Aug 4, 2005
A sweet, small film. Not one of those glossy, special effects films. Rather, a human and humane look at relationships. It is arty. And that's fine. The shots, dialogue, and sounds were carefully chosen. Sometimes, the quirkiness feels A sweet, small film. Not one of those glossy, special effects films. Rather, a human and humane look at relationships. It is arty. And that's fine. The shots, dialogue, and sounds were carefully chosen. Sometimes, the quirkiness feels slightly overdone, but all in all this is a touching look at the lives of some unperfect people, told with child-like sensitivity. Honest and refreshing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Aug 5, 2005
Remarkable! The human condition exposed! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeliaJ.Sep 13, 2005
Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcR.Sep 29, 2005
There is a good movie or story somewhere in here, but unfortunately it is not completely fleshed out. July mixes us up in far too many characters to get a decent grasp on any of them, therefore not letting us get close enough to really care. There is a good movie or story somewhere in here, but unfortunately it is not completely fleshed out. July mixes us up in far too many characters to get a decent grasp on any of them, therefore not letting us get close enough to really care. The film does provide some laughs and raises an eyebrow or two while watching, but you don't walk away with anything more than notions of how the movie could have been improved. A fair attempt, but misses the bulls-eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattFJan 10, 2006
To help alleviate David P's anger of seeing a couple zeros, I will gladly bestow this piece of poop a reasonable 1. I never, ever connected with this, as much as I wanted to. Boring, pretentious, calculated beyond help and so To help alleviate David P's anger of seeing a couple zeros, I will gladly bestow this piece of poop a reasonable 1. I never, ever connected with this, as much as I wanted to. Boring, pretentious, calculated beyond help and so consciously "hip" it sort of makes me want to die. Terrible film. This faux-thoughtful pretentious trendy pap needs to stooooop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrentSJan 10, 2006
Quirky enough to gag on, with Miranda July playing the most irritating character I've ever seen in a film. I had no expectations before seeing it, and tried to remain optimistic as the awkward dialogue, unrelatable characters and Quirky enough to gag on, with Miranda July playing the most irritating character I've ever seen in a film. I had no expectations before seeing it, and tried to remain optimistic as the awkward dialogue, unrelatable characters and consciously eccentric scenes piled up, but the pile obscured any positive aspects by the end of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottMJan 12, 2006
I still have a smile on my face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpongeeeJan 18, 2006
This is an odd film that pays off through and through. Great music and story and characters. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EveryoneIKnewJan 22, 2006
I saw it twice. I tried to see the pretenious side of the movie but quickly was slapped in the face by the movie and fell back on the roller coaster and enjoyed the ride. Unique characters, situations, relationships, and peotic in its story I saw it twice. I tried to see the pretenious side of the movie but quickly was slapped in the face by the movie and fell back on the roller coaster and enjoyed the ride. Unique characters, situations, relationships, and peotic in its story telling. Oh yea, the music is top notch. If you don't get it, then you just don't get it. Oh well, your loss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyF.Jan 20, 2007
Unbelievably, and UNEXPLAINABLY perfect in every way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KayO.Aug 29, 2007
Touched my heart and my funnybone in a very charming and touching way. the weirdness of the characters' actions were a deft caricature of internal states we could find in so many of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Nov 1, 2005
You want precious? Rent Wes Anderson. This is sincerity and hilarity offered up on a nicely textured platter, giving the audience equal amounts entertainment and provocation. An impressive look at how society deals with change (technology, You want precious? Rent Wes Anderson. This is sincerity and hilarity offered up on a nicely textured platter, giving the audience equal amounts entertainment and provocation. An impressive look at how society deals with change (technology, social norms, youth). Also, flat out funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
paulFNov 16, 2005
Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the Pretentious to the point of laughable. I can't even fathom what people see in a film that feels so contrived, so full of "hey, this little daily life moment is profound! And here is how!" The movie script writes this junk in the dialogue, instead of letting profound, genuine human moments just happen. Smart? I call B.S., it wears everything on its sleeve like an EMO's patchedup backpack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MBOct 15, 2005
No one in the movie ever talked like a normal person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billyg.Oct 17, 2005
"Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education "Delia J. gave it a1: Even more disheatening than this very bad and immature movie, is the lavish reception it's getting here, and that it got from the American media. Blame the school system.... People go through 16 years of education in this country and don't know the rudiments of Western culture and art, or what distinguishes good from bad. Ah, Miranda July, savoir and genuius. The muses are weeping...." is that you, grandpa? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChaiA.Oct 17, 2005
I *loved* the movie. It was so gentle and personal. I plan to go watch it a second time. BTW, I also like In the Mood for Love and Lost in Translation, in case if that is an indication of anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChelseaDDec 17, 2005
What an awful movie, I rented it and couldn't even sit through it until the end. I love movies that different from the schlock that Hollywood puts out, but this one was obviously different just for the sake of being different. I What an awful movie, I rented it and couldn't even sit through it until the end. I love movies that different from the schlock that Hollywood puts out, but this one was obviously different just for the sake of being different. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeatonK.Oct 25, 2005
A twee masterwork of hyper-romantic storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveJul 17, 2005
There are far too many quircky characters in this film for it too be taken seriously. I can undrestand 1 or two, but practically the whole cast seems to have a quircky personality, even the children! There are some good moments, but overall, There are far too many quircky characters in this film for it too be taken seriously. I can undrestand 1 or two, but practically the whole cast seems to have a quircky personality, even the children! There are some good moments, but overall, this film really tested my patience. Go see Happy Endings instead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HelenF.Jul 17, 2005
Interesting characters, touching and very funny moments throughout, an unusual and good-feeling movie that will stay with you [and cheer you up when you need it].
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZachRHJul 17, 2005
"Me and You and Everyone We Know" is the stupidest movie I have ever seen. And I have a very high tolerance for stupid movies. The biggest shame is that Miranda July wastes talented actors (including herself) on an infinitely random, "Me and You and Everyone We Know" is the stupidest movie I have ever seen. And I have a very high tolerance for stupid movies. The biggest shame is that Miranda July wastes talented actors (including herself) on an infinitely random, pointless, meaningless, and ultimately, silly script with ideas seemingly pulled at random from a hat. There is no point to this movie, and those who venture to find one are pulling ideas out of there asses. Also, the film contains a series of pedophilic encounters that are completely unneccessary and disturbing as hell. Miranda July is a performance artist, and nowadays almost anything can be considered art. This film has no reedeeming qualities in the end, and is praised by some only because of the pedigree of its filmmaker, and the increasing stupidity of the things people call art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JayE.Jul 18, 2005
When Ms. July, an apparently lonely, struggling "performance artist" decided to put herself and her nasty, immature sexual fantasies on film, who would have guessed the tasteless and embarrassing result would be lionized by the critics?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jul 18, 2005
It's hard to pay attention at times because there is no strong plot to hold onto, but the smaller stories within were fun to watch. Sometimes the female lead got a little annoying. The child actors were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
johncJul 19, 2005
Saw with a full house at an l.a. preview screening. writer, director, lead actress miranda july spoke for 1/2 hour after film. everyone loved the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jaymJul 29, 2005
An utterly self-conscious and mannered exercise, which reflects the cannibalization of culture by ambitious but talentless middle-class kids, who should be earning a decent living somewhere instead instead of insulting the arts with absurdly An utterly self-conscious and mannered exercise, which reflects the cannibalization of culture by ambitious but talentless middle-class kids, who should be earning a decent living somewhere instead instead of insulting the arts with absurdly literal exercises in narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StevieGJul 31, 2005
A good natured well intentioned film with a number of odd characters who would not be at home in most movies. The characters are interesting, if not a little to so. The manner is which these lives interact is at times charming and at times A good natured well intentioned film with a number of odd characters who would not be at home in most movies. The characters are interesting, if not a little to so. The manner is which these lives interact is at times charming and at times forced. The main thesis -- that we all need/want to connect with others -- is warm and affirming. Ms. July does a very good job as a director putting this all together. As an actor, however, she probably needs a stronger director to reign her acting in. Sitll, a very enjoyable character study with a quirky scirpt that one does not see in American film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndrewSAug 13, 2005
This is the voice of a sophomoric filmmaker not yet in a position to speak on the matters which this film attempts to address. Extremely immature and unoriginal (she employs basic film school tactics to invoke "emotion"), and her symbolist This is the voice of a sophomoric filmmaker not yet in a position to speak on the matters which this film attempts to address. Extremely immature and unoriginal (she employs basic film school tactics to invoke "emotion"), and her symbolist characters don't so much interact and develop as they serve demonstratively to validate Ms. July's one-dimensional vision of humanity. Quite possibly the worst new film I've seen this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexisAug 22, 2005
everything you could ever want from movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GroverW.Aug 22, 2005
This is why we go to movies, for an experience that takes beyond ourselves and beyond the everyday. It keeps your attention, and entertains in a most profound way. There's much more here than meets the eye, and its there in a This is why we go to movies, for an experience that takes beyond ourselves and beyond the everyday. It keeps your attention, and entertains in a most profound way. There's much more here than meets the eye, and its there in a beautifully subtle way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Aug 25, 2005
Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and Macaroni, spaghetti, linguini, gnocchi, vermicelli! Performance artist and freshman filmmaker Miranda July's miraculous film--my favorite of 2005 so far--is a work of breathtaking simplicity that's still challengingly intricate and nearly impossible to do justice to by trying to describe. As noted elsewhere, it approaches Todd Solondz territory in its circular tale of old folks, divorced people, teens, children, aspiring artists and some very strange individuals endeavoring to make various types of brief or lasting human connections...but where Solondz sees frustration and futility, July sees unending hope and possibility. (Nothing wrong necessarily with Solondz' attitude or approach; I think Happiness is one of the great films of the late 1990s...but of the two, guess which movie I"LL most likely be watching again at the close of a long hard week?) July is a humanist in the very best sense of the word; her tenderness, compassion and affection toward every character in the film (including a hapless goldfish in a precarious position) shines through in every scene. It's hard not to walk away from this film without the distincrt impression that it was done by an exceptionally nice person (and interviews with July that I've since read bear this out); the coldest, least likable individual in the movie knocks you for a loop by doing something remarkably generous and touching that just melts your heart--and this happens not once but twice! There's magic in Me and You that would make J. K. Rowling envious; July ceaselessly pirouettes on a very thin tightrope that threatens constantly to plunge her film into cutesiness or preciousness...but maintains perfect balance from beginning to end. She adds immensely to her film's success by casting herself and giving a luminous performance as a not-too-successful (and perhaps not all that talented or original) artist seeking other types of fulfillment, primarily in a relationship with a divorced shoe salesman (John Hawkes) who's wounded both literally and figuratively; her facial expression and body language in the last few minutes are as unforgettable as many of her film's other images. July's character, Christine Jesperson (great name: sound it out!) may be a dead-on parody of July the filmmaker, but the latter's work is anything but sloppy or inexact; savor the perfection of her comic dialogue (my favorite: the shoe guy's speech about not being allowed to touch the customers' feet but being free to touch the shoes all he wants), the sharpness of her staging and the wonderfully precise timing of Michael Andrew's charmingly minimalist score with the tiniest bits of onscreen activity. Some viewers and posters were offended or disturbed by July's plot threads involving two adolescent girls learning about sexual techniques (in a scene that guarantees that you'll never look at those old TV 'comparison commercials' the same way again!) and a 6-year-old who hilariously gets inadvertently involved with a cybersex website. In both cases, the material is funnier than anything in Wedding Crashers (high praise indeed) and not coarse at all, but truly insightful and touching because the characters are operating out of curiousity and innocence: July proves once again that no subject matter is out of bounds when handled by a true artist. Endlessly rich, imaginative, surprising and lovable, Me and You and Everyone We Know ranks with the all-time great one-person writer-director-star efforts with one extra plus: it has nothing to do with the filmmaker's gender or attractiveness but more with the film's warmth, sweetness and charm that no matter how much I've admired or loved one-artist- three-hat works from, say, Orson Welles, Warren Beatty or Woody Allen (among others), I've never come away from their films wanting to give the filmmaker a big hug! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimothyD.Feb 18, 2006
This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, This one didn't fire on all cylinders for me, and I found myself tempted to give it a slightly lower rating. The reason I didn't: the aspects that worked did so with surprising emotional resonance. Great work by the kids, and nice, at times touching, work by Miranda July and John Hawkes, though I found them to be more hit and miss, something I suspect had more to do with the writing than the actors' skills level. Lovely soundtrack, something that helped endow the film with more depth than it might have had for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeS.Apr 19, 2006
It was enjoyable to watch; a lot of pretty images. But it doesn't add up to a movie. I can't believe all the 10's/100's. I really doubt people's/reviewers' credibility now. 10? 100? This movie is as good as it It was enjoyable to watch; a lot of pretty images. But it doesn't add up to a movie. I can't believe all the 10's/100's. I really doubt people's/reviewers' credibility now. 10? 100? This movie is as good as it gets? This is as good as The Godfather and Gone With The Wind? Even Ebert gave it four stars. Now I have to doubt even him. A 10 or 100 means the best of the best. This movie -- enjoyable as it is -- is FAR from that. The words "masterpiece" and "masterwork" are thrown around so carelessly now. Incidentally, I agree that most of the risque child/teen sex-related material was unnecessary and served no dramatic purpose. An enjoyable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickV.May 19, 2006
I loved it--a touching, human drama that was also funny and sad and very original in what it wanted to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisB.Jan 14, 2007
Crap. Shows the void that contemporary art is dominated by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StevenF.Jun 11, 2007
Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of Quite possibly the single most pretentious movie ever made. I cannot stand quirkiness. It is too often substituted for character development (see Zach Braff films for ample examples), and in this film goes all-out with a bombardment of forced cuteness and make-believe enlightenment that makes one retch instead of even being mildly interested. Since when has putting nylons on a character's ears or having her touch stickers substituted for character development? Never, that's when. And then there was the little girl who collected for a dowry, which I guess was supposed to be a statement about womanhood, but was instead just annoying. Utterly abhorrently pretentious filmmaking of the worst kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffreyCNov 15, 2005
If you like your movies served up Hollywood style, like a frozen tv dinner, this one is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a movie that's just a little smarter (but more neurotic) than you, then this one goes If you like your movies served up Hollywood style, like a frozen tv dinner, this one is not for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for a movie that's just a little smarter (but more neurotic) than you, then this one goes well with popcorn and beer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinE.Nov 21, 2005
A refreshing strafe away from straight arrow Hollywood incarnations! I'm not sure what is worse, the reviewers who posted negative reviews not having a clue, or their copycat style of writing, reusing words like "pretentious" and A refreshing strafe away from straight arrow Hollywood incarnations! I'm not sure what is worse, the reviewers who posted negative reviews not having a clue, or their copycat style of writing, reusing words like "pretentious" and "precious" over and over and over and over. Back and forth. Forever. No wonder your reviews stink, you're copying each other! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offendedThe movie may poke fun at itself and the idea of modernism, but it's a film that really couldn't have existed at any other time today. On the surface it might look like a twee and artsy exercise (and will likely deter anyone who gets offended by those kinds of things), but more than anything it's a touching story told in an uncanny way. It also has the benefit of being positively absurd - I found myself laughing out loud more often than I do while watching most comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushMar 9, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/me-and-you-and-everyone-we-know.html

I will say straight up that I enjoyed this movie. However, it is my "type" of movie (That is; quirky, random, etc.). So I might as well put a disclaimer of sorts and say that if you expect this movie to have a well defined plot/ending. This is not your movie. If you don't like movies such as Napoleon Dynamite or Eagle Vs. Shark. This is probably not your movie. On the flip side, if you do like those movies and you don't mind a seemingly loose written movie, then I say give it a shot.

Basic plot of this movie is that it follows a few individuals and then in typical movie fashion brings them together and shows how interconnected they are. It follows a single father, his two sons, a old person taxi driver (Yes you read that right), and two teenage girls. Their stories are weird and incredibly awkward. But in the awkwardness you start to feel for the characters and at points I found myself really rooting for the characters or cringing when stuff didn't go their way.

Overall I'd say the movie is pretty good. Weird throughout and slow at times but the stories themselves I found to be surprisingly emotional and well done. Give it a shot if you like the movies I listed above or if you want to watch an atypical indie romance/quirky film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AfinsoApr 2, 2011
I like Indie movies but this past few years I learned that the Indie Trademark created by Sundance and the Cannes "Un Certain Regard" has lost its quality features. This film follows a recent trend of over analyzing everything that happensI like Indie movies but this past few years I learned that the Indie Trademark created by Sundance and the Cannes "Un Certain Regard" has lost its quality features. This film follows a recent trend of over analyzing everything that happens today in a fast passed and always changing society. This way of thinking, for me, is just a waste of time. I prefer living over thinking about living. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AoKuroiRaccoonDec 28, 2011
Brilliant, a fun and innovating way of introducing new and controversial concepts that all connect and hold in common the central element of love search. It really makes you think about everything you know and take it to the furthest extreme,Brilliant, a fun and innovating way of introducing new and controversial concepts that all connect and hold in common the central element of love search. It really makes you think about everything you know and take it to the furthest extreme, twisting it and giving you a whole different perspective of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews