Mean Girls

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 307

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    Previously home schooled in Africa Cady Heron (Lohan) has recently moved to a small town near Chicago and immediately runs afoul of the notorious Regina George. Along with her two friends she soon devises a plan to get her own back.

    Being a thirty year old male I guess I am not exactly the target audience for this film but seeing as it was written by Tina Fey, creator of the excellent
    Previously home schooled in Africa Cady Heron (Lohan) has recently moved to a small town near Chicago and immediately runs afoul of the notorious Regina George. Along with her two friends she soon devises a plan to get her own back.

    Being a thirty year old male I guess I am not exactly the target audience for this film but seeing as it was written by Tina Fey, creator of the excellent 30 Rock, I was hoping for a few more out and out laughs and the movie can also border on being slightly too ‘Disney’ in the way everyone learns their lesson in the end.

    Despite this Mean Girls makes for an enjoyable watch as it is clear that this is a subject matter that is close to the heart of Fey. Her immense writing talent is demonstrated in the way she injects heart into the script making the audience sympathize for characters that could easily come across as unlikable. The performances from the cast also help to move the film along at a good pace. Lohan is particularly good and with all her recent problems it is easy to forget what a talented actress she is.
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2011
    6
    It might seems one more teen movie at a school, but the idea of the movie goes furthermore. Mean Girls can portrays very well what really happens in the girlâ
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    5
    I only watched the last hour of the movie and from what I've watched, the movie is OK at best. Lohan acts okay and the plot is original enough.
  4. patrickd.
    Dec 16, 2005
    5
    Best movie ever? Why? I really wantto say something....... It's not that good.
  5. Lisa
    Feb 15, 2006
    6
    This movie was okay. But, I really do not think this movie is good for little kids. Like, when that girl talks about her wide-set vagina.. I mean thats just nasty!! And, I'm not exactly for gays anyways, so the queer that was her friend was weird too for me. But, I can't choose how the movie will go. The movie was too bad, I like how in the end, she realized who her true friends This movie was okay. But, I really do not think this movie is good for little kids. Like, when that girl talks about her wide-set vagina.. I mean thats just nasty!! And, I'm not exactly for gays anyways, so the queer that was her friend was weird too for me. But, I can't choose how the movie will go. The movie was too bad, I like how in the end, she realized who her true friends were. And how the plastics broke up and continued to talk to others too. It may not have had a good beginning but it had a great end! Expand
  6. MarcK.
    Dec 23, 2004
    4
    "Heathers"-lite. Maybe all the people who liked this movie never saw "Heathers." Now THAT was worth watching!
  7. MarkM.
    Sep 30, 2004
    4
    Painfully predictible. Maybe I've seen too many teen movies. A Doll's House and Ghost World showed this subject can be funny and say something new.
  8. GaborA.
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    The first half of this film is amusing and funny but as the second half comes around the laughs die only to be replaced by cliche scenes dictating cliche messages in the most cliche way.
  9. BenA.
    Apr 29, 2004
    5
    I was surprised. This movie was a lot better than I thought it would be. There were a handful of good laughs, but I wouldn't pay to see it.
  10. LaneH.
    May 1, 2004
    6
    Pretty solid teen movie- but ending too perfect, too cliched, too upbeat. Pre-ending too lecture-y Believability wanes throughout final third. Lindsey Lohan, loveable in Freaky Friday remake is actually "hot" in an adult way here- although eventually overdoes the "plastic" thing. Supporting cast is weak, SNL friends, especially Meadows, are miscast. Movie would probably be a 3 without Pretty solid teen movie- but ending too perfect, too cliched, too upbeat. Pre-ending too lecture-y Believability wanes throughout final third. Lindsey Lohan, loveable in Freaky Friday remake is actually "hot" in an adult way here- although eventually overdoes the "plastic" thing. Supporting cast is weak, SNL friends, especially Meadows, are miscast. Movie would probably be a 3 without Lohan, so if you are not a fan of hers, stay away. She is in every scene. Not as biting as Heathers, not as real as many others, but less fake (for a little while) than most. Expand
  11. KarenJ.
    May 2, 2004
    6
    Because of all the great reviews this ended up being disappointing. The problem with this movie is it tries too hard to be an appealing family movie when you just know if they didn't try for the PG-13 instead of R it would have been much funnier. There is too much preaching and not enough laughs. Go rent Heathers for dark teen comedy or Clueless for teen parody. Mean Girls is stuck Because of all the great reviews this ended up being disappointing. The problem with this movie is it tries too hard to be an appealing family movie when you just know if they didn't try for the PG-13 instead of R it would have been much funnier. There is too much preaching and not enough laughs. Go rent Heathers for dark teen comedy or Clueless for teen parody. Mean Girls is stuck in a rut between those two great movies. Expand
  12. TonyL.
    May 5, 2004
    6
    Mildly amusing, but it is not in the class of Clueless, Heathers and Fast Times at Ridgemont High. I didn't realize how attractive Tina Fey is. Lindsey had that WonderBra working on overtime! Matinee or rental only.
  13. Fantasy
    May 4, 2004
    5
    Same old - same old teen movie with nothing really new. Just okay in spots but never takes off where it is dropdead funny. Nice way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon but not much more.
  14. tiffany
    Mar 5, 2005
    6
    I like te movie mean girls accept the fact that my friends try to act like them at the age of 13 and 14 then if i dont play along with there little game they get mad at me. so if u have friend that love that movie so much thats they do what my use to be friends done good luck.
  15. Jan 28, 2011
    6
    Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) grew up in Africa and is home-schooled, well, until now. Her parents move to America and decide that it's time for Cady to start high school. Then Cady is left to struggle with the non-written laws of the human world. The film is basically a chick-flick, with a high school theme.

    Cady makes friends with the Plastics, who are the royalty of their school. They're
    Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) grew up in Africa and is home-schooled, well, until now. Her parents move to America and decide that it's time for Cady to start high school. Then Cady is left to struggle with the non-written laws of the human world. The film is basically a chick-flick, with a high school theme.

    Cady makes friends with the Plastics, who are the royalty of their school. They're these three beautiful girls, one of them stupid, one of them the servant bee, and one of them the queen bee. Queen bee, Regina George (Rachel McAdams), is both smart and evil, and the most glamorous of them all. First, Cady makes friends with them but after she sees Regina steal her crush from her, she plots a plan against the Plastics with two outsiders, Janis and Damian.

    I had never watched a Lindsay Lohan movie before, and I'm surprised that she can actually act. She looked right for the role, and wow, she was looking decent before all those drugs and partying. She could've progressed into a good actress. Rachel McAdams makes a good smug, plotting, evil **** We're bored of seeing her in romantic dramas one after another, she must try different roles. Amanda Seyfried looked like she was having fun playing the stupid blonde, and that makes the viewers have fun too. And the girl who plays the outsider Janis, Lizzy Caplan, she's the chick from Cloverfield, in case "Who was that girl?" got stuck in your head.

    Well, it's not a deep, meaningful movie. You can watch it just to have fun, or to spend 1,5 hours not thinking deeply. It's a high school comedy with girls plotting against each other, but it's not that bad. The cast is good. There is even Tina Fey. And the Janitor from Scrubs. It's watchable.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Results in an edgy comedy, where laughs stem at times from uncomfortable situations. In other words, Mean Girls lives up to its title.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    70
    This sassy if wildly uneven comedy navigates the treacherous high school jungle that separates cool cliques from wannabes, wading through some nasty behavior before delivering its moral message.
  3. 70
    Director Waters and screenwriter Tina Fey (also cast as the voice-of-reason math teacher) aim less for the usual high-gloss caricature than acutely hilarious sociology, nailing the servile malice of 15-year-old girls.