Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 25, 2008
2.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 446 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
20
Negative:
317
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MovieLoverAug 25, 2009
It's interesting that most people gave this movie either the lowest or the highest rating. Anyway, the average so far is 2.7/10, which seems to show that keeping our sense of humour is as difficult as keeping our money these days.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
IlaniMar 24, 2008
i was bored and i had 10 bucks. i had two choices. stare at a wall all night, or spend 10 bucks. i went, i laughed, i was entertained. the movie wasnt the best but it did its job, thanks!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JudyJ.Feb 15, 2010
I know this movie is bad but, I laughed through the whole thing, which makes it pretty much okay in my book. It's supposed to be bad. I've never seen a parody movie that could win an Oscar, have you? Plus, it's a hot guy-fest, I know this movie is bad but, I laughed through the whole thing, which makes it pretty much okay in my book. It's supposed to be bad. I've never seen a parody movie that could win an Oscar, have you? Plus, it's a hot guy-fest, so, yeah. I liked. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimCJan 21, 2008
I decided to rate this movie because when I saw it on here, it got 1.2/10. For me, that is way to low. I just saw this movie, and as a very big fan of 300, it is just a bunch of fun watching a slack hangover idea, and it isn't that I decided to rate this movie because when I saw it on here, it got 1.2/10. For me, that is way to low. I just saw this movie, and as a very big fan of 300, it is just a bunch of fun watching a slack hangover idea, and it isn't that funny once you get into it. But despite that, to settle the results, this movie was surprisingly good. It is very pleasant, the acting was terrible, but from what I saw, they intrigued me, their ideas are very basing and never off colour when relating to each movie. Anyways I thought it was a blast, much better than last year's Epic Movie crap. And the quality was actually very good, good screenplay, and good script too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GlenCJan 21, 2008
The style and fashion is exactly the same as Epic Movie's, which is probably the only reason why people are saying awful things about this. But from my opinion, this is a flawless, fun, thrilling, sweet little adventure fueled with a The style and fashion is exactly the same as Epic Movie's, which is probably the only reason why people are saying awful things about this. But from my opinion, this is a flawless, fun, thrilling, sweet little adventure fueled with a high adrenaline of 2007 movie spoofs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeanF.Jan 25, 2008
Best movie ever made! You guys dont know youre talking about! The Transformer was super awesome! F U
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattS.Jan 26, 2008
I thought the movie was quite entertaining. A better parody comedy then most.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JorjeG.Jan 26, 2008
You just don't expect Hollywood to produce a masterwork so early in the new year. This slice of celluloid dynamite will floor you. Meet The Spartans speeds by in a single harrowing day. It grips you in a vise of suspense that Kiefer You just don't expect Hollywood to produce a masterwork so early in the new year. This slice of celluloid dynamite will floor you. Meet The Spartans speeds by in a single harrowing day. It grips you in a vise of suspense that Kiefer Sutherland couldn't hope to match on 24, even with that show's tricked-up editing. There are no tricks up the sleeve of writer-director Aaron Seltzer. Most of the time his camera hunkers down rock-steady and observes. The subject is humanity and its oppression. And like the best political films, its focus is intensely personal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JimC.Jan 27, 2008
It kept me laughing throughout the whole movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KingTutJan 30, 2008
Lets face it, This movie was going to be bad and I'm not saying it wasn't. It was not though horrible. It was a simple hit and miss comedy with hits like the Spartan skipping along and singing i will survive and misses like the Lets face it, This movie was going to be bad and I'm not saying it wasn't. It was not though horrible. It was a simple hit and miss comedy with hits like the Spartan skipping along and singing i will survive and misses like the opening Shrek joke. Unfortunately the misses outweigh the hits. Also I don't know what the casting director was thinking when he was hiring impersonators because they do not look like the people they are trying to. I think it was achieving what it was meant to a few cheep laughs but it wasn't great at that. I say wait for the DVD. Official grade C. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
smijatovJun 10, 2012
When one thinks he's seen all the stupid films in the world, along comes "Meet the Spartans." There is, truthfully, very little one can and should say about this beyond the fact that it is atrocious. So utterly unoriginal and boring, withWhen one thinks he's seen all the stupid films in the world, along comes "Meet the Spartans." There is, truthfully, very little one can and should say about this beyond the fact that it is atrocious. So utterly unoriginal and boring, with stupid slapstick humour, horrible screenplay and straightout insultingly bad acting, this offers NOTHING positive. If you are an 13 year pubescent boy, you might find something interesting, but even then, that's still a question. Utterly horrible. 0/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
wordy_actionsAug 28, 2011
Vomit. Pure pop-culture vomit. This movie references other movies and events and expects you to laugh at the mere mention of them. It's the worst kind of 'comedy'. The 88 good reviews for this movie are a disgrace. Shame on everyone who likesVomit. Pure pop-culture vomit. This movie references other movies and events and expects you to laugh at the mere mention of them. It's the worst kind of 'comedy'. The 88 good reviews for this movie are a disgrace. Shame on everyone who likes this movie, you're better than this. You don't have to be a mindless troglodyte. This movie is unfunny, offensive, homophobic, and repetitive beyond belief. There is no creativity and no funny performances. This movie is sh*t. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
carlj12345Nov 13, 2011
One of the most awful films I have watched, was very predictable and bought out nearly every cliche in the book. Also is the same as nearly every other parody movie that has ever been written. I strongly suggest you don't ever even thinkOne of the most awful films I have watched, was very predictable and bought out nearly every cliche in the book. Also is the same as nearly every other parody movie that has ever been written. I strongly suggest you don't ever even think about watching this film. The only reason I scored it as 1 is because it is indeed a film, and yes they used a camera to film it, that is all I can take away from this dreadful experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
FozzyMar 8, 2014
This movie is chock full of terrible humour, if it can be called that. We know this. We knew this before the movie came out, we knew this during its theatrical run and, six years after its release, we still know this. As a comedy, this filmThis movie is chock full of terrible humour, if it can be called that. We know this. We knew this before the movie came out, we knew this during its theatrical run and, six years after its release, we still know this. As a comedy, this film fails on all counts, because it's brutally unfunny. This film represents the very worst of American comedy. This is comedy that's gone through liposuction, and is suffering the immediate after-effect. It's painfully boring, painfully unfunny and painfully painful.

And what makes this even worse is the fact that Seltzer and Friedberg could actually be... talented. Bear with me for a moment, let me explain. Look at this film. While the humour and the parody (i.e. the reason we're watching the movie) fail, this film is competently made. The camerawork's quite good, as is the lighting, and I think, if it wasn't a comedy movie, the writing could be acceptable. If Seltzer and Friedberg were to sit down and try to write a decent story with decent dialogue that relied in no way on humour or wit, it would be decent.

It wouldn't be astounding, but it'd be decent. If they pushed the actors far enough, they could deliver good performances, I'm sure of that. I seriously doubt that all of the guys in this film are actually bad actors. Greg Sestero isn't a bad actor, as much as The Room will make you think otherwise. And I think a lot of the cast of this film could give decent performances. Not great, mind you, but decent. I think, if this movie were different, not a parody film but an actual movie, it would be decent. Certainly not great, probably not good, and maybe not even average, but it wouldn't be as absolutely god awful as this was. This film is a failure on almost all counts, and shouldn't exist.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
iKevinMay 26, 2012
I can say about this movie? is bad, bad, bad. Does not entertain much, bad actors, mocks good movies, history nonexistent. It has 3 or 4 scenes that make you laugh, but man! could not make it better? much it cost?
It is one of the worst
I can say about this movie? is bad, bad, bad. Does not entertain much, bad actors, mocks good movies, history nonexistent. It has 3 or 4 scenes that make you laugh, but man! could not make it better? much it cost?
It is one of the worst movies of the year, or decade.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
XgashhJul 28, 2012
Watched it 4 years ago at cinema it was terrible, jsut a wasting of money nothing more this movie sux alot some lame jokes and naked men. 1 point or paris hilton
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
chemicalreaperNov 1, 2012
5 minutes was all I could watch of this film. It was so horrendously bad that, if it were any worse, it should have caused mass suicides at movie theaters everywhere.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
SeriosityMar 22, 2013
The worst of the Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer movies. Plenty of comedies are simply not funny, but this is something much worse: an abomination with complete disregard for film as an art form.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Rox22Sep 29, 2013
This has to be the worst "movie" I ever saw. There is nothing redeeming about it at all. The jokes are stupid, the "acting" an insult to the profession.

Overall: I would rather spend 83 minutes being beaten with razor wires, than watch
This has to be the worst "movie" I ever saw. There is nothing redeeming about it at all. The jokes are stupid, the "acting" an insult to the profession.

Overall:
I would rather spend 83 minutes being beaten with razor wires, than watch this abomination again. Jason Friedberg & Aaron Seltzer, you should be ashamed (an ideally publicly castrated.)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
ScreenagerApr 5, 2013
I HATED this movie. In fact it's not even a movie. It is a poorly compiled collection of sketches rife with pop-culture references and toilet humour. The "jokes" are all old and get annoying very fast. The only "funny" thing about the movieI HATED this movie. In fact it's not even a movie. It is a poorly compiled collection of sketches rife with pop-culture references and toilet humour. The "jokes" are all old and get annoying very fast. The only "funny" thing about the movie is that there are people stupid enough to pay to see it. NB If you like this movie you should go see a psychiatrist. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
This film is nothing but another terrible parody of movies by the same guys who directed Date Movie. Like always they contain nothing but stupid humor, dull gags and plot less situations. In other words I thought the film was "utterly dreadful".
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KevinT.Aug 22, 2008
Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer have successfully destroyed what the Wayans Brothers started, with the help of Carmen Electra, Craig Mazin and Ken Davitian. Witless, terrible.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
survivorfan989Jan 16, 2013
When I first saw this I thought it was pretty bad, but now that I've seen it a second time it actually isn't as bad as I first thought. Sure it's not winning any awards and some of the jokes just miss the target, but there is enough here toWhen I first saw this I thought it was pretty bad, but now that I've seen it a second time it actually isn't as bad as I first thought. Sure it's not winning any awards and some of the jokes just miss the target, but there is enough here to keep you entertained and have a good laugh, especially if you're in need of one. Sean Maguire is quite funny as Leonidas and the cast are overall quite funny. It's not the best spoof film out there, but not the worst either so it's worth a look for a laugh. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
BoredJan 25, 2008
I'm with Jim C... It's not that funny and the acting is terrible. Let's give it a 10!
3 of 5 users found this helpful
0
DesmondLAug 5, 2009
I don't like this movie, unfunny, bad humor, a Persian is a Rapper, Worst movies in 21th century. 300 movies is better than this unfunny movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BrianVMar 20, 2010
The worst movie i have ever seen. The biggest problem: it desperately TRIES to be funny, but it certainly is not. It if full of crude and bad humor, bad acting and no story whatsoever: this movie excists only of events from the real 300 The worst movie i have ever seen. The biggest problem: it desperately TRIES to be funny, but it certainly is not. It if full of crude and bad humor, bad acting and no story whatsoever: this movie excists only of events from the real 300 movie. i REALY can't believe this piece of garbage made it to the cinema. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KoonH.Feb 1, 2008
I'm just putting a 10 for fun. I haven't actually seen the movie though but the trailer looked simply marvelous! But the ratings are extreamly low so I guess it isn't what I intended, so I simply must go watch this little I'm just putting a 10 for fun. I haven't actually seen the movie though but the trailer looked simply marvelous! But the ratings are extreamly low so I guess it isn't what I intended, so I simply must go watch this little parody of the great movie 300. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SlothharR.Jun 5, 2008
One of the funniest films i have ever seen. Films like Clerks or Superbad, wich i was forced to watch, are terrible. It definately beats scary movie 4 though which was my favorite film. The bit with britney spears was hilarious, she got One of the funniest films i have ever seen. Films like Clerks or Superbad, wich i was forced to watch, are terrible. It definately beats scary movie 4 though which was my favorite film. The bit with britney spears was hilarious, she got kicked down the well. Lol. Serves her right for being bald. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LeviW.May 5, 2010
I think this film is excellent and i watch it every day because it if so funny and u should bring meet the Spartans 2 out and i would buy it i think it is and excellent film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ColinFeb 1, 2008
This should be enough to get their WGA membership revoked.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DeanBApr 13, 2008
Painful to watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LiamR.Apr 24, 2008
Terrible. Completely, Utterly, Terrible. It left me sitting there trying to figure out towards the end if what they were saying was actually meant to be funny. About 500 jokes too many. Worst film i have ever seen.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilhelmB.Jun 27, 2008
As much as I understand why people love artsy movies like Schindler's List, which is in fact a good movie, what I do enjoy the most is a good comedy. It's no wonder I liked this movie, really, as I've seen every Family Guy As much as I understand why people love artsy movies like Schindler's List, which is in fact a good movie, what I do enjoy the most is a good comedy. It's no wonder I liked this movie, really, as I've seen every Family Guy episode to date, and Scary Movie 1-4, and I loved them all. It seems some people are under the impression that pop-culture references are not jokes. But the point of a joke is to make you laugh, and that's also the point of pop-culture references. With that out of the way, on to the actual review. Meet the Spartans is a sea of pop-culture references, that doesn't border on being overkill, it throws itself headlong into overkill. To truly enjoy this movie, you may need a strong knowledge of American culture, so if you live in the USA, you are all set. But if you live in Europe, you would benefit from studying up on general USA life. I am a European myself, and I can say this, watching Family Guy and South Park really helps. If you enjoy these series, or Scary Movie, you are much more likely to enjoy this movie. It's overflowing with hilarious pop-culture references and, while short on original jokes, it works fine anyway. So, go see it, unless you're hooked on The Godfather. And to all the people who think the ones who like this movie are idiots, I am 14 years old, and English is not my native language. Yet, here I am, writing this elaborate review, proving that you don't need to be stupid to see this movie. In fact, it's the complete opposite. You need to be intelligent to enjoy this movie. Perhaps you will see the movie, perhaps not. If not, you are definately missing out on something great. And with that, I leave you all to your thoughts. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DiegoL.Jan 5, 2009
Terrible. It's not funny, rude and disgusting. Watch "300", the original, and enjoy it. This is ofensive.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AaronMJan 25, 2008
I'm not even going to see this movie. I just want to respond to Kenny M who critiqued Jim C. I like how you call someone else an idiot when you typed "there they same thing". Umm, 3rd graders know better grammar than you! Learn the I'm not even going to see this movie. I just want to respond to Kenny M who critiqued Jim C. I like how you call someone else an idiot when you typed "there they same thing". Umm, 3rd graders know better grammar than you! Learn the difference between their, they're, and there before you try to judge someone else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
eriksJul 5, 2009
This is an immense film. i was laughing the whole way through. All the people who don't like it either don't have a sense of humor or are over 30. A must see for people wanting a good laugh.
5 of 11 users found this helpful
2
GerrickC.Jun 20, 2008
There are some entertaining and even funny elements to this terrible movie, but most of the time you will wonder why you paid someone to see it. At times you will feel insulted by its outright stupidity and at other times you will feel deep There are some entertaining and even funny elements to this terrible movie, but most of the time you will wonder why you paid someone to see it. At times you will feel insulted by its outright stupidity and at other times you will feel deep regret for giving time to Meet the Spartans. So while there is little quality and even less purpose to watch it, there are a few redeeming qualities, but not many. And there are certainly not enough to warrant a single viewing let alone a purchase. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
EthanM.Feb 7, 2008
It was the worst movie I ever saw. The jokes weren't funny at all.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Atari800Mar 20, 2008
I am giving this a 10 because I think you need to re-between the lines. I think that Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer realized their movies suck so bad, since they can not climb the "I'm original or funny" ladder, they must go in the I am giving this a 10 because I think you need to re-between the lines. I think that Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer realized their movies suck so bad, since they can not climb the "I'm original or funny" ladder, they must go in the opposite direction as fast as possible. Yes it was like YouTube clips put together by a 9th grade Audio/Video Club. But look at the sheer brilliance of how they picked the most boring material that can be gathered at the time. Happy Feet with a black gansta attitude? American Idol and Dancing with the Stars reviewers? I mean truly think they said to themselves "what can we add now? Quick turn on the TV. Hey American Idol - put that in there. Hey Miami:CSI put that..no wait dont put that in there, it's funny. Ok look at youtube for an idea. Wait how about a transformer with a youtube video on it? Hurry up, this script needs to be done by tomorrow morning". So I give it a 10 for being the ultimate unfunny, boring rehash of unfunny, boring pop culture references that will definitely leave anyone between 11-70 wondering "didnt the actors who read the script realized this is lame?" Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JimJJun 28, 2008
Best movie ever!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
RonSJan 21, 2008
The worst movie in years. Why would they do this to us? Why?!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
bartekkoFeb 23, 2011
Some movies are good and other ones are not. some people don't like Monty python and some do.
Reason why i'm talking about this is you don't have to like this movie because of it's kind of humor.
however we can say this kind of things about
Some movies are good and other ones are not. some people don't like Monty python and some do.
Reason why i'm talking about this is you don't have to like this movie because of it's kind of humor.
however we can say this kind of things about any movie in world as well as music,games,
___________REVIEW STARTS HERE-------------------------------------------------------->
Meet the Spartans is not a movie to watch alone.
However, even worse would be watching it with a girlfriend because the gags are focused on man's things. The best way of watching it is with friends, especially if you like games(there are a few references to them)
this movie wasn't even meant to be good, and that's what makes it so good.
bad playing, pop references,bad special effects.
to me it was a nice movie,with some really marvelous scenes, playing on popular culture
every man is different: you may like it hate it, but you won't change it (if everyone was the same then there wouldn't be wars, no good or bad movies (just average)
SO....
i wonder what do you expect from a spoof because i got what i wanted ( a stupid movie based on another and making fun of it)
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
JimJJan 25, 2008
Best movie ever!
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
LukaFJan 30, 2008
These people should of really stopped at scary movie 3 date movie was crap scary movie 4 even more crap than date movie epic movie even more crap than scary movie 4 see the pattern??
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CWFeb 1, 2008
Quite possibly one of the least funny movies you'll ever see. The worst part is the director/writers who consider themselves the current king's of parody don't actually realize it's only because no one else is doing them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PeterC.Feb 5, 2008
I can describe this in a nutshell: THIS IS SPARTA!! (kicks Jason and Aaron into the pit) I haven't watched this movie and judging by the trailers and the exclusive clips, I don't want to!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GarryK.Mar 12, 2008
What a thoroughly dreadful
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndyJ.Mar 10, 2008
How do these films keep getting an audience?and surely it would have been much funnier if the guys didn't look in great shape! these movies are bizarre,they seem aimed at 4 year olds ,yet have numerous sexual references and images
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
FelixK.Mar 3, 2008
There was one scene, that made me smile, but I've already forgotten which scene that was, because the other 63 3/4 minutes were disgusting and completely unfunny. Not even this "300"-crap deserves such a parody !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PsychosheepMar 31, 2008
id agree with most of these reviews, i went too watch it in the cinema instead of bowling and i have to say i left within 15 minutes, wasted 10quid on a film that sucked so bad, too many pathetic witless jokes, parodies over and over again id agree with most of these reviews, i went too watch it in the cinema instead of bowling and i have to say i left within 15 minutes, wasted 10quid on a film that sucked so bad, too many pathetic witless jokes, parodies over and over again which make this 1 of the worst films ive ever seen. ive seen the scary movie films and enjoyed them, but this is an abomination of what a spoof film really is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamesM.Mar 3, 2008
I was amazed by how Meet the Spartans could so shamelessly reuse so many 'jokes' in just 80 minutes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TomW.Jun 5, 2008
Quite possibly one of the worst films i have ever had the misfortune to see. I actually owe one of my friends 65 minutes of life as payment for forcing them to watch this piece of trash. However i paid it back by letting them watch blade Quite possibly one of the worst films i have ever had the misfortune to see. I actually owe one of my friends 65 minutes of life as payment for forcing them to watch this piece of trash. However i paid it back by letting them watch blade runner directors cut! That said meet the spartans is a terrible film and 9/11 was funnier. Fact. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousAug 6, 2008
Wilhelm B. is either a troll or a complete moron.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidKMay 9, 2009
Awfull it was about as funny as the plague. Crap actors crap actresses and crap writers. Be ashamed at this poor work. Nobody above 15 would give this anymore than a 1.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RogerPNov 4, 2008
I haven't seen this movie yet. you've all spoiled it for me. the rating of 0 is for all you spoil sports. can't you at least wait for everyone to see the movie before you start trashing it? I'm very disappointed and i I haven't seen this movie yet. you've all spoiled it for me. the rating of 0 is for all you spoil sports. can't you at least wait for everyone to see the movie before you start trashing it? I'm very disappointed and i don't mind telling you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobbyVJan 24, 2008
Phil, I love Digimon, so shut up. Anyways, this movie pretty much signals the end of the genre. It has come a long way from the endless wit seen in Airplane and The Naked Gun movies. Sure, it has been dying since the mid-90s, but this movie Phil, I love Digimon, so shut up. Anyways, this movie pretty much signals the end of the genre. It has come a long way from the endless wit seen in Airplane and The Naked Gun movies. Sure, it has been dying since the mid-90s, but this movie should pretty much be the last nail in the coffin of spoof-comedies. It makes me sad, but at least we'll always have Hot Shots to look back on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NathanSt.AmandJan 25, 2008
Someone needs to stop these two lunatics from making "movies".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnL.Jan 25, 2008
Kenny, its "They're" not "There". Plus, this movie looks absolutely despicable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobQ.Jan 26, 2008
This is the worst movie everrr!!! Their was sooo many parts in the previews that worn't even in the them movis ( say hello to my little friend, spiderman your fired) what i swith this totaly messed upo movie????
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CicelyM.Jan 26, 2008
HA HA HA HA HA, I recognize all the allusions to pop-culture in 2007! That must mean I'm clever and witty, just like the screen writers! I don't even have to think about it- just BOOM! I recognize it- that must mean it's HA HA HA HA HA, I recognize all the allusions to pop-culture in 2007! That must mean I'm clever and witty, just like the screen writers! I don't even have to think about it- just BOOM! I recognize it- that must mean it's funny. (really though- movies like this just make me angry and sad with the world). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NelsonPJan 27, 2008
A young man I mentor asked to go see this movie and being a 55 year old open minded individual I decided to try it without reading the reviews. What a mistake I made. Garbage, absolute garbage and I paid $6.50 a ticket plus concessions but A young man I mentor asked to go see this movie and being a 55 year old open minded individual I decided to try it without reading the reviews. What a mistake I made. Garbage, absolute garbage and I paid $6.50 a ticket plus concessions but more importantly, exposed a teenager to lower than life behaviors - parody or not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarcusT.Feb 1, 2008
What I found especially annoying was that there were so many MORE opportunities to spoof "The 300" that they missed, and I already had it in my head ready to view them on the wide screen. "The 300" was a rather over-blown gladiator flick What I found especially annoying was that there were so many MORE opportunities to spoof "The 300" that they missed, and I already had it in my head ready to view them on the wide screen. "The 300" was a rather over-blown gladiator flick with self-indulgent aspirations of artfullness that were totally absurd. I looked forward to seeing "300" shredded in "Meet the Spartans". Instead, I got to view some feeble adolescent slapstick stretched to 60 minutes. Shame on the producers for having so badly squandered a good idea on such trash as this. I hope when released on DVD, the manufacturer will have the sense to use re-recordable media. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JD.Feb 18, 2008
The first 15-20 minutes of the movie had some funny lines-gags but it still needed some help. Not worth the money to see it. I did like the part where he goes and sees the oracle.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikePFeb 19, 2008
This movie was absolutely atrocious... enough said, I at least thought I would get a bit of a laugh out of this but the idea of this movie is a laugh in itself!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TaylorE.Feb 2, 2008
Quite simply the worst movie I've ever seen. I wasn't expecting brilliance, but I smiled maybe three times throughout the entire thing. Mostly just an excuse to have awful gay jokes and disgustingly stupid gross-out gags.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaelU.Mar 12, 2008
This movie is such a piece of s**t that I don't even want to talk about it. Watch literally anything else instead.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JacquesM.Mar 1, 2008
The only funny thing about this movie was the trailer. This was truly the worst most utterly crap movie in the history of crap movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KennyMar 30, 2008
This film is the worst film I ever saw. I wasted my money for this film and now I am regretting it. If you think this film is brilliant or good then you must find most things in everyday life very funny. This film was like some other films, This film is the worst film I ever saw. I wasted my money for this film and now I am regretting it. If you think this film is brilliant or good then you must find most things in everyday life very funny. This film was like some other films, commercials, and celebrities and their problems mixed together. The best part of this film was when it ended. I did find VERY FEW parts of the movie some what hilarious, but thats about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JonLApr 11, 2008
Utter rubbish. The worst film ever made, I think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
To begin with this film looked promising with some very childishly giggleing moments, but as the film went on the gags began to stale and i became bored with the cheesy and poor jokes, the GTA reference was quite amusing yet the end song To begin with this film looked promising with some very childishly giggleing moments, but as the film went on the gags began to stale and i became bored with the cheesy and poor jokes, the GTA reference was quite amusing yet the end song with American Idol was rather boring, a somewhat poor sequel to the funny Epic Movie.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaxD.Apr 4, 2008
WACKY POP CULTURE REFERENCE MONTAGE! This movie will be outdated by the time is comes out on DVD, just like its material by the end of production.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ColinCJun 15, 2008
I have a friend...well, had a friend. His name was Mike. Mike was generally a happy kid. But unfortunately, a simple kid. You see, he was fooled by the promising trailers for Meet The Spartans. Poor guy, went to see it opening night.... A I have a friend...well, had a friend. His name was Mike. Mike was generally a happy kid. But unfortunately, a simple kid. You see, he was fooled by the promising trailers for Meet The Spartans. Poor guy, went to see it opening night.... A few hours later I receive a phone call... Mike was found in the back of the theater. He had eaten his own hand, suffocating himself... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DandyForeverJun 24, 2008
There aren't any jokes, just endless pop culture references! It's not funny just because you say it! There has to be humour involved!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MikhailRJun 25, 2008
In all honesty, this movie isn't nearly as bad as it is being made out to be. Apparently everyone is jumping on the "Ooh, the critics thought it was awful so im just mindlessly agree with them" bandwagon. Sure, the jokes were mostly pop In all honesty, this movie isn't nearly as bad as it is being made out to be. Apparently everyone is jumping on the "Ooh, the critics thought it was awful so im just mindlessly agree with them" bandwagon. Sure, the jokes were mostly pop culture references and even those were hit-and-miss, but honestly good comedy is hard to come by these days. IT pulled a few laughs out of me, and although I didn't love it, it fullfilled its purpose. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimJJun 28, 2008
Best movie ever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PeterJ.Jun 6, 2008
This movie is an insult to anyone who has an IQ over 4.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TomSJun 9, 2008
You'd think that a film would actually attempt to catch the user's attention in the opening scenes. Not this film. It starts right out with the bestiality, torture, and groin "jokes" that were not funny in the least. We're not You'd think that a film would actually attempt to catch the user's attention in the opening scenes. Not this film. It starts right out with the bestiality, torture, and groin "jokes" that were not funny in the least. We're not sure where it went from there since we didn't make it much further than 5 minutes. What a stinker. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndrewB.Jul 10, 2008
Wilhelm, I can understand what you're saying, as I've also seen every Family Guy episode and Scary Movies 1-4 (I wasn't a fan of 4, though). However, a piece of toaster strudel would have enough knowledge of pop culture to get Wilhelm, I can understand what you're saying, as I've also seen every Family Guy episode and Scary Movies 1-4 (I wasn't a fan of 4, though). However, a piece of toaster strudel would have enough knowledge of pop culture to get every reference in this film, and the piece of toaster strudel would still find the film insufferable. This film makes the Scary Movie series look like the original Star Wars trilogy. The two writers who also directed this, Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, are basically prostitutes who get money from mentally impaired 10-year-olds for shameless references mixed with Z-grade slapstick. An online petition should be created in the vein of the one for Uwe Boll: to stop these morality-devoid plagiarizers from ever making another film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AdrianN.Jul 12, 2008
These two incompetent idiots should be ashamed of their work...any other person would have lost their job for producing such rubbish.....this story is based on a real event where three hundred sacrificed themselves...and to have these two These two incompetent idiots should be ashamed of their work...any other person would have lost their job for producing such rubbish.....this story is based on a real event where three hundred sacrificed themselves...and to have these two despicable people make fun of this is abhorrent...it's like making fun of Schindler's List or the holocaust. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DanL.Jul 12, 2008
American Idol reference might have been funny when it premiered in 2003, but they aren't funny any more. All the jokes tried too hard and despite the fact that I saw it for free, I have never felt like I wasted more time in my life.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeAAug 30, 2008
I went to see this after being told it was meant to be pretty funny, knowing absolutely nothing about the film except it was a parody of The 300. Which sounded like it could be a pretty good idea! GOD that was a mistake. Never AGAIN. It I went to see this after being told it was meant to be pretty funny, knowing absolutely nothing about the film except it was a parody of The 300. Which sounded like it could be a pretty good idea! GOD that was a mistake. Never AGAIN. It clunked along from unfunny joke to obvious pop culture reference, never once approaching anything remotely resembling humour. Which wouldn't be so bad if the jokes weren't so obviously stitched in! The entire film read like a sketch show gone wrong, like not a moment could go by without some "wacky" reference being ploughed into our faces. Humour works best when it's integrated into the film but, amazingly, here it serves to make it even MORE unfunny and distracting. Meet The Spartans is, easily, the worst film I have ever seen and probably ever will see, and there's no reason for anyone to want to watch it again. Come on. Let's forget this film ever existed. We can do it, guys. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GirenI.Aug 5, 2008
Just write this review makes me wanna puke. I'll give this movie minus 10 if could.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Redwolf2kMar 25, 2009
I had promised myself after seeing the trailers that i would not watch this movie...ever. Well, one rainy boring afternoon I caved and decided to download it and let me say I am glad no one got my money for this movie. When people go and see I had promised myself after seeing the trailers that i would not watch this movie...ever. Well, one rainy boring afternoon I caved and decided to download it and let me say I am glad no one got my money for this movie. When people go and see movies like Meet the Spartans and Date Movie etc. they are telling hollywood that they approve of it's bottom barrel swill being poured out every 4-5 months when they need to make a quick buck. The pop-culture references are well overdone, almost all the jokes drag on and all of them are unfunny. The fact that this has received reviews of 10 by people who honestly believe this is how a good parody movie is made, just shows me how MTV has dumb down this generation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RobertBJun 6, 2009
Absolutely excruciating to watch. The only laugable part of the movie was the man boobs joke. You must be mentally retarded to laugh at this so called comedy. They ate up pop culture and puked it back up and made a movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SeanH.Apr 15, 2010
As a movie its one of the worst I've seen but it still made me laugh a good few times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MovieFanJan 21, 2008
This is the worst film in the history of time. In fact, calling it a 'film' is more praise than it deserves. It is simply a mess, without a single redeeming feature. The only people who would enjoy this are either drunk, stoned or This is the worst film in the history of time. In fact, calling it a 'film' is more praise than it deserves. It is simply a mess, without a single redeeming feature. The only people who would enjoy this are either drunk, stoned or severely brain-damaged. I thought the Scary Movies were good for a laugh, but it is really obvious now that Friedberg and Setzer are utterly devoid of talent and were simply relying on the Wayans Brothers to cover for them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ShodanJan 23, 2008
I weep for any one who actually sees this. It looks so stupid it actually makes me angry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PhilC.Jan 24, 2008
Those of you who are giving it a ten need to die. you're retarded. go kill yourself, because you're probably like 9 years old and you're parents hate you. I wouldn't be surprised if you went home today from elementary Those of you who are giving it a ten need to die. you're retarded. go kill yourself, because you're probably like 9 years old and you're parents hate you. I wouldn't be surprised if you went home today from elementary school with all your Pokemon clothing and Digimon games on your lawn, with all your windows and doors locked so you can't get back in. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ChrisH.Jan 24, 2008
This movie was more or less just as good as epic movie. Leonidas was actually fairly close to looking like the 300 leonidas, but that's about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JimJonesJan 24, 2008
This movie was another failed attempt at funny for Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer. Other than the Brittney Spears bit, there was nothing of merit in this movie. Perhaps their next flick should be called "Funny Movie" because the name is This movie was another failed attempt at funny for Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer. Other than the Brittney Spears bit, there was nothing of merit in this movie. Perhaps their next flick should be called "Funny Movie" because the name is never indicative to the content when it's coming from these two. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JakeL.Jan 25, 2008
DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE! I cannot stress that enough. After being dragged to the Comebacks, I was foolish enough to think that Meet The Spartans might actually be good. Not surprisingly, it wasn't good at all. Hollywood needs to realize DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE! I cannot stress that enough. After being dragged to the Comebacks, I was foolish enough to think that Meet The Spartans might actually be good. Not surprisingly, it wasn't good at all. Hollywood needs to realize that the spoof genre needs a break. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshKJan 25, 2008
yeah, its a shame that this even gets funding from a studio. this should not be allowed in the same theatres that actually show films that had effort and thought put into them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CameronL.Jan 25, 2008
I was going to give this film a 1 out of sheer awe of the filmmaker who is willing to attach his name to this pile of garbage. But wait, Aaron Seltzer is a pseudonym, so the film gets a zero. But, in all seriousness, I'm half convinced I was going to give this film a 1 out of sheer awe of the filmmaker who is willing to attach his name to this pile of garbage. But wait, Aaron Seltzer is a pseudonym, so the film gets a zero. But, in all seriousness, I'm half convinced that the writers/directors are out to intentionally insult the intelligence of their audience. Rather than being an engaging pastiche of homage, allusion, and playful parody, the film is a repulsive Kindergarten's collage of non-sequitor, lowbrow humor that panders to an audience group even lower than the fanboys. The movie caters to those who would rather laugh for one second than think for even three, as evidenced by the frantic pacing of the mostly slapstick jokes. I doubt that the filmmakers could execute a simple pratfall without having whatever character trip through three or four unfunny pop culture allusions on his way down. The simple solution to this spreading problem of low moviemaking standards is not to see this film. The studios clearly don't care about how well-reviewed their movies are, so the only way to stop them from putting out another awful spoof movie is to avoid seeing the ones that they are producing right now. It will be by the grace of God if this movie makes less than 2 or 3 million, because awful profit margins are the only way to cut off Friedberg and Seltzer's funding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ErinJan 25, 2008
Worst movie. Ever. Wasted 8 dollars and my time. Watched another movie to make up for it afterwards. I highly recommend that you do not watch this. It was full of unfunny "humor". I don't think I've seen more body fluids in any Worst movie. Ever. Wasted 8 dollars and my time. Watched another movie to make up for it afterwards. I highly recommend that you do not watch this. It was full of unfunny "humor". I don't think I've seen more body fluids in any other non-gore or non-porn film. There were points when the movie was meant to be funny, but the audience went "ha, ha, ha" to mock it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jan 25, 2008
Of course this movie is terrible. What do you expect? And all these people ranting is disgust about its complete lack of intelligence, why did you help to secure next years witless wonder parody film by paying the price of admission? I snuck Of course this movie is terrible. What do you expect? And all these people ranting is disgust about its complete lack of intelligence, why did you help to secure next years witless wonder parody film by paying the price of admission? I snuck into the theater then left after ten minutes and demanded my money back from the manager (didn't get it naturally). One thing I will say about these movie is I sure love to hate them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CaitlinM.Jan 26, 2008
Go Cameron! That was a very articulate response, and I totally agree with you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MOVIEgirlreviewJan 26, 2008
This was the worst movie in history!!! If there was a worst movie ever competition this movie would win 1st place. There were a lot of things in the commercials that were never in the movie. This movie is a waist of money!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GaborA.Jan 26, 2008
I'm not gonna lie. Never seen it, but if you have you're too stupid to function. You can't even read so continuing to write would be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ColinBJan 26, 2008
Considering this has been such a stellar season for American cinema, I detest the notion that some people choose to eat this dog waste when you can munch on glorious cinematic steak for the same price. But I must admit, Sean Maguire's Considering this has been such a stellar season for American cinema, I detest the notion that some people choose to eat this dog waste when you can munch on glorious cinematic steak for the same price. But I must admit, Sean Maguire's little impression of Leonidas is actually quite good...too bad the rest of the film is so pitifully uninspired that Mr. Maguire will receive no acolades for this performance. I only saw 20-minutes of this film before I left to go see "There Will Be Blood"...and those were 20-minutes, God forbid, I'd rather spend with "Norbit." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JimR.Jan 26, 2008
Someone bought me tickets and I've seen better film on teeth!
0 of 1 users found this helpful