Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 527 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
354
Mixed:
136
Negative:
37
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
HappymonkJul 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Men in Black III is the best film I have seen this year (in the cinemas), it's writing seems slightly sloppy and out of date but it doesn't harm the movie, in fact it may make it more enjoyable (it's not Shakespeare is it?). The special effects are very good, which makes me wish I watched the film in 3D. The acting by all involved is top-notch, especially that of Josh Brolin as a "Young K": Who's onscreen chemistry with Will Smith is fantastic to watch. The antagonist this time is more enjoyable and memorable than that of either the first or (particularly) the second film, maybe helped by Jermaine Clement, who always adds some originality and fun to films (when you see his USP, you might even cringe a little). The ending of the film is sweet, although it is a little confusing. It may not be the first film (which I haven't seen in ages) but it is certainly very good. Bring on Men in Black 4! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaMay 30, 2012
A definite improvement over the second film, Men In Black 3 is breezy fun, especially when they went back to the past. While you are waiting for PROMETHEUS, this is a good film to watch. Don't expect something deep though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
quincytheodoreMay 25, 2012
While it doesnâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
NoCellphonesAug 1, 2012
The revival of the Men In Black series is definitely a good closing argument. Agent J(Will Smith) and Agent K(Tommy Lee Jones) don the iconic black suits for a time travelling and unravelling adventure. It presents action from the gate asThe revival of the Men In Black series is definitely a good closing argument. Agent J(Will Smith) and Agent K(Tommy Lee Jones) don the iconic black suits for a time travelling and unravelling adventure. It presents action from the gate as Boris the Animal(Jermaine Clement) escapes from a prison on the moon. The film cost $215 million total, (no doubt all spent on keeping Jones young enough to stand next to age defying Smith) landing it spot number 11 on the list of most expensive films of all time. But the experience is worth the bill.
Without spoiling, Agent J has to go back in time to save the world and Agent K. And while Tommy
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
manapourimanMay 25, 2012
fantastic movie big steep up from its disappointing sequel. almost as better as the 1st one. action packed, funny enemies and lots of soft and deep moments
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
PC-Gamer-FanMay 25, 2012
Fantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into theirFantastic movie. Almost as good as MIB1. It concentrates more on the J + K relationship than anything else. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones both play their parts like they were still filming MIB1 scenes they really stepped right back into their parts very well & have some strong onscreen chemistry. But the bonus here is Josh Brolin also has strong oncreen chemistry with Will Smith. Boris is the villain and let me just say he is one of the more memorable in many years & easily the most menacing MIB villain to date. Seriously creepy voice & makeup FX. Barry Sonnenfeld movies usually either work or sink. Happily MIB3 works very well especially considering the time travel plotline could easily have become tiresome instead it serves the story very well & there are some genuine surprises/twists regarding the characters & how they become who they are. There is quite an emotional climax to the movie which made me feel close to tears. For a modern big budget blockbuster (this does not have wall to wall VFX either just a few big set pieces) its quite some feat to make a jaded moviegoer like me feel something. I am very happy to report MIB3 does that in an unforced genuine way you will never see it coming either. For such a complex time travelling storyline the filmakers have told it very well in a straightforward fashion which anyone can follow. The 1969 period is very well handled & overall this movie just works & does not feel forced/artificial like most recent big budget movies. Here they go back to the past but it connect the characters in unique way. If you liked MIB1 this is almost as good which is quite frankly an amazing achievement in 2012. I cannot wait to see this again & again & buy the Bluray in 4 months please Sony!! Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeMay 26, 2012
Extremely good movie. Awesome plot, good action, great acting, etc. Basically everything you want in a movie and it's Men In Black. Just as good as the first one and much better than the second. Definitely see this movie if you want a good time.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
So a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thatsSo a new movie theater just opened up in my town, and whats the first movie they are showing? You guessed it! Men in Black III. With a broad mix of humor and story, its a winner. Men in Black III is probably the best of the series, and thats surprising considering that Men in Black II was a large dissappointment for some. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
KirjakukkaMay 25, 2012
Good movie. Just like the rest of the MIBs. Loved the "young" Tommy Lee Jones and liked all the jokes. Tommy Lee Jones himself looked really old tho', Will Smith made some funny jokes about it in the movie too. Good movie nevertheless.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MalteseMay 25, 2012
MIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I justMIB3 is entertaining and fun movie. I didn't expect it to be an awesome movie when I went to the theater but it turned out to be a surprise. If I judge whether a movie is boring or fun by the number of times I check my watch, I think I just checked my watch once during the movie. And I was even moved by the last part of the movie . Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
sLmMay 26, 2012
Time-travelling, hilarious scenes, and an amazingly well connected backstory with the present, near the end of the film. What else? 10.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
conboydudeMay 25, 2012
This personally strongly ended the trilogy. I enjoyed this very much, going to it I had low expectations that it would provide a strong end. The ending to this film makes my top ten I love the time travel, multiple futures, and unexpectedThis personally strongly ended the trilogy. I enjoyed this very much, going to it I had low expectations that it would provide a strong end. The ending to this film makes my top ten I love the time travel, multiple futures, and unexpected crossing of paths makes me just look up at the sky and wonder how the hell? The acting was good some unneeded awkward moments with weird noises and cringe worthy jokes. But overall a fair ending to the series as so we think..... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
WalterGiraoMay 25, 2012
This film nailed it!

After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out. I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that: -There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters -Will smith
This film nailed it!

After the disaster that was MIB 2 I was not expecting anything that great to come out.

I won`t spoil anything... You only need to know that:
-There are 3 new REALLY interesting and well performed characters
-Will smith feels like MIB 1 even after becoming senior (unlike MIB2)
-You don`t have to worry about Josh Brolin as young K. He got it better than the best of expectations
-You will get that feeling again from the first MIB... of how small everything gigantic that is happening in the screen really is compared to a larger even incomprehensible universe

Go see it!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
WesfanMay 28, 2012
This installment was definetly better than the first two and better jokes that made me laugh. But there were some inappropriate parts in there so use caution when taking your children under thirteen
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GenuineOpinionMay 25, 2012
It was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although IIt was pretty dang good in my opinion. PC Gamer is right, it focuses mostly on J and K, but I don't see that as a bad thing. Was the humor the same as the first one? No, but it didn't need to be, and it felt like Men in Black.... although I was a bit surprised that there wasnt a graffiti monster in the movie like the ad said.... Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
53bload53May 26, 2012
best sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'mbest sequel ever!!! mib was epic, mib 2 was not that good like mib but good enough if you wanna watch an awesome film and this one it's just amazing. This one was pretty much like mib except that it's actually a different storyline and i'm pretty sure that the director couldn't make a better sequel for this saga, good job! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DekkoMay 26, 2012
Great entertainment, on a par with the original. Highly recommended. Josh Brolin performance is particularly memorable. Time travelling narrative is a winner
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MagnificentMMay 26, 2012
It was just ok. The best part of the movie was Josh Brolin as a young K, and he is a perfect fit for the role. The banter between him and J is great. But there are a lot of problems, most notably the end showdown which is veryIt was just ok. The best part of the movie was Josh Brolin as a young K, and he is a perfect fit for the role. The banter between him and J is great. But there are a lot of problems, most notably the end showdown which is very anticlimactic. There were also just to many Will Smith moments of him making stupid faces or something like that. There was a great Bill Hader cameo as Andy Warhol and Emma Thompson was pretty good as Agent O., but I was not a huge fan of Jemaine Clement as Boris the Animal (the bad guy). Anyways, if you're a fan of the other Men in Black movies, I think you'll like this one. If not, then I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
9
fantasyMay 31, 2012
I must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forgetI must tell you I didn't expect it to be as good as it was. The characters J & K {old and young} had tremendous chemistry. As for the storyline who really cares as you know they will save the world. It's a comedy lest any of us ever forget it. Josh Brolin had Tommy Lee Jones down pat to his every mannerism. I do hope they do this again as it is just a wonderful popcorn movie. If you can take it for what it is you will have a great time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
gvazdasMay 26, 2012
This movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered oneThis movie is amazing: I watched in 3D in my local cinema with a few relatives. The movie is great. The actors are amazing as they were before and the new casting crew is fresh, giving the movie more reason to watch it. I've encountered one or two plot holes (one being at the near end of the movie), but it didn't matter much. Go watch it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMay 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember the last two Men In Black movies. The first is an amazing classic, but the second is very regular, now appear Men In Black III a movie that intent repair the problems that have the second movie, and I wanna say, Men In Black III do better things than the last movie, but have some problems, and the most biggest problem is intent put in the movie some teen idols, and this things do that the movie are for the people that don't meet the other two movies. The rest is great. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
wishmasterMay 30, 2012
Disappointing in almost every respect, bad special effects, bad soundtrack, bad performances, bad history, in short almost everything wrong, perhaps saved by their shared sense of humor that you produced a laugh at least one occasion.Disappointing in almost every respect, bad special effects, bad soundtrack, bad performances, bad history, in short almost everything wrong, perhaps saved by their shared sense of humor that you produced a laugh at least one occasion. otherwise this film follows the rule that if a series is "good", the trilogy is the worst thing you can do. Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
2
JunghovaJun 2, 2012
Sadly a pretty weak movie with nice special effects. James Brolin was brilliant in his role, Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith both dialed in their performances..I just couldnt get into, nor buy into the story. On another note, I didnt realizeSadly a pretty weak movie with nice special effects. James Brolin was brilliant in his role, Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith both dialed in their performances..I just couldnt get into, nor buy into the story. On another note, I didnt realize the world was pining for another MiB movie.... Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
SteBayleyJun 24, 2012
There are many things that shouldn't have happened in this world, Nazi Germany, Mai Lai you can now add Men In Black 3 to that list. A film which should have been dumped somewhere in 2004's movie schedule. But instead trumps everyone andThere are many things that shouldn't have happened in this world, Nazi Germany, Mai Lai you can now add Men In Black 3 to that list. A film which should have been dumped somewhere in 2004's movie schedule. But instead trumps everyone and comes in 10 year after the last time (Which I quite enjoyed). It's not a good sign that the filmmakers stopped production 1/2 way through because they discovered that this piece of **** doesn't make sense. Jolly Will Smith then steps in to save the day with this god-awful time travel plot. The story has more holes then a sieve. Arrr and it cost so much money, $225million and for what? Will Smiths wage? There is no big time action set pieces and shoddy CGI. And it has the campiest villain since Battlefield Earth. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 17, 2013
just horrible.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
KidoMay 25, 2012
Except for the J and K, acting of every other character is a pain to watch. The plot is even more shallow than you would expect for an MIB movie. The ending "secret" which is suppose to be shocking, tear bringing or whatever , is totallyExcept for the J and K, acting of every other character is a pain to watch. The plot is even more shallow than you would expect for an MIB movie. The ending "secret" which is suppose to be shocking, tear bringing or whatever , is totally bland and feels irrelevant, because the movie has not take time to build the story up to support such plot twist - therefore the audiences would feel minimal emotional involvement toward the climax.

The action scene and special effect which suppose to be the selling point is nothing noteworthy. The style and theme are suppose to pay homage to the '70 feel, but all they achieve is a superficial and cheesy re-imagining.
Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
5
txrangersfan72May 26, 2012
What made MIB special was the interaction between Agents J and K, along with the special humor their interactions sparked. However, in the first half hour of MIB III, the viewer is so ready for this movie to be over as the chemistry andWhat made MIB special was the interaction between Agents J and K, along with the special humor their interactions sparked. However, in the first half hour of MIB III, the viewer is so ready for this movie to be over as the chemistry and humor just aren't there. If one can get past the first half hour, though, the true magic is recreated with an incredible portrayal of a "young" K by Josh Brolin. At the same time, the story, which began as a very generic MIB adventure not capturing my interest at all, swerves into an unexpected direction with a very special ending that made the whole movie worthwhile. Will looks too old to play Agent J and has lost his youthful appeal, though I guess we all do. Tommy Lee is overly made up and must have wanted very little to do with this movie because he's hardly in it and hasn't been featured much in the trailers. MIB III has a very different feel than the previous two, but I suppose that is because its original audience is older. I'm not sure viewers could consider it a worthy film, but if one has any love for these characters, you will be pleasantly surprised at where this film ends. Unfortunately, the dialogue is weak, the pacing is almost painful, especially in the first half hour, and, had I not been so interested in the ending, I would heavily question why this film was even made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryMay 30, 2012
It's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of hisIt's been a decade since 2, but the wait has been worth it. Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are back and the only way to stop an Earth-threatening alien attack is for Smith to travel back in time. There, he meets the younger version of his partner (well-played by Josh Brolin) and proceeds to alter the future. Enough of plot. What we care about is cool creatures, neat effects and funny stuff. This one has plenty of it all! Some of the CG look cheesy, but there's much to enjoy, plus a touching story surprise. The most fun at the movies this summer (so far). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
FDT44May 25, 2012
This left-for-dead, decade-lasting-hiatus, three-quel goes close to matching the original, and soars highly above its predecessor, offering extraterrestrial blockbuster fun for MIB franchise aficionados and foes alike. It's at times funny,This left-for-dead, decade-lasting-hiatus, three-quel goes close to matching the original, and soars highly above its predecessor, offering extraterrestrial blockbuster fun for MIB franchise aficionados and foes alike. It's at times funny, visually aesthetic, and captures Josh Brolin as Young Agent K at the top of his game--or as far as impersonations go--he's jutting out Tommy Lee Jones from every pore of his craggy-mannered self. Such praise, sadly can't be given for anyone else who look the exhaustion experienced from this publicly low-demanded third installment that tries to make up for a subpar script with a loud bark, a frenetic orientation, and disjointed wag; it assumes its blockbuster countenance with discordant effects, shabby gags and dialogue, but given the off-course path of its continuation and demise ten years earlier, 'MIB III' should be considered a triumph and rebound for the series. However, it doesn't necessary present any real justification for another installment either--while this one does offer some comedic value, you won't be needing a Neutralyzer--one's mind will find things far more integral to hold in its occupany. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TastyJamProjectMay 30, 2012
After the abortion that was Men In Black II, and the concerning re-writes and budget mishaps with it's follow-up, MIB III was a great surprise. At almost two hours, it runs at a brisk pace, Rick Baker's aliens deserve an Oscar and the dynamicAfter the abortion that was Men In Black II, and the concerning re-writes and budget mishaps with it's follow-up, MIB III was a great surprise. At almost two hours, it runs at a brisk pace, Rick Baker's aliens deserve an Oscar and the dynamic between J and K is stronger than ever. This is a thoroughly enjoyable popcorn flick that is a little more special than your average summer fare. A worthy follow up to the first film, and Brolin's performance is uncanny. I don't know if he should win, but he sure as hell deserves an nomination for his transformation into Tommy Lee Jones. Just a warning - there is a surprising amount of cold blooded murder by the grotesque villain, so I wouldn't take any young kids to see this, as it's definitely the most violent of all the films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews