Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is a romantic comedy set in Paris about a family that goes there because of business, and two young people who are engaged to be married in the fall have experiences there that change their lives. It's about a young man's great love for a city, Paris and the illusion people have that a life different from theirs would be much better. (Sony Classic Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 8, 2011
    100
    Allen eventually gets to the heart of this matter: the allure and danger of nostalgia.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 19, 2011
    90
    The best Allen movie in 10 years, or maybe even close to 20 - is all about that idea: Reckoning with the past as a real place, but also worrying about the limits of nostalgia.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 2, 2011
    88
    Midnight in Paris is not a perfect movie - as in "Julie & Julia" one senses its creator's impatience to leave the bleached-out present for the colorful past. But it is warm and effortless, qualities that make it embraceable.
  4. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    May 17, 2011
    80
    The latest in a long line of actors playing a "Woody Allen type" in a Woody Allen film, Wilson bends his own recognizably nasal Texan drawl into an exaggerated pattern of staccatos and glissandos that's obviously modeled on the writer/director's near-musical verbal cadences.
  5. 75
    Certainly, his (Allen) work here feels effortless, and that feather-light touch gives the picture its charm – modest but real.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 27, 2011
    75
    Sheer pleasure to watch, full of rich visuals and felicitous comic turns.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    A hymn to that beautiful city, is among his least consequential efforts. It's attractive and easy to slip into, but he didn't put enough thought into the design, and it soon falls apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 120
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    It may not boast the depth of his classic films, but the sweetly sentimental Midnight in Paris is funny and charming enough to satisfy this Woody Allen fan. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A truly beautiful film by the great Woody Allen. Mesmerizing and astonishing it's a film that should definitely be watched. Owen Wilson is great in this role and the meeting of history's greatest was amazing. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Original beyond belief featuring strong performances and charm and laughs and just an amazing story. Woody Allen directs an amazing movie. With a bit of low budget charm. I give this 94% of a good movie. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    In my opinion this movie is a very good movie. The setting, Paris, is a very beautiful city, which is a great setting for a movie. I think the story was well told, along with the acting, which made me fell good about the movie at the end. This is definitely a movie worth seeing. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't really say what I was expecting, but this was completely different than what I thought it would be; it's a good thing, too, because it was unlike anything I have ever seen before. I loved it! It really made me wonder what it would be like to live in another era and meet all those important historical figures. This was actually my first Woody Allen film, so I can't really say how this stacks up with some of his other films, but it was certainly a very good directorial effort. The cast here, featuring a lot of household names, is perfect; everyone gives fine performances. It's definitely one of my favorite things about the film. The scenery and music is good as well. I also thought the writing was extremely solid. I loved the script, and it's no surprise that it was nominated for an Oscar. Including Best Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture, Midnight in Paris was nominated for 4 Academy Awards. One of the best films of 2011! Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    This movie is Woody Allen's love affair with Paris. It is warm and tender. The cinematography is outstanding. Still, I would not call it Allen's best. Some parts of the movie are quite cheesy. Hearing Owen Wilson speak is as if listening to Woody. I found it somewhat annoying. As if Wilson is playing Woody himself. But overall, quite a good piece of entertainment. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's another boring indie flick for hipsters about spoiled rich people who are stupid and hallucinating. The obscure references alienate normal people. Critics are truly stupid nowadays. Don't read or believe any positive reviews about this movie. They are shills. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).