Focus Features | Release Date: November 26, 2008
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 317 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
246
Mixed:
30
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ChristophTDec 5, 2009
"Milk" is surprisingly boring, the plot lacks dynamic (apart from the end which comes first), the subject is covered superficially. A big disappointment after all, given the positive ratings. Don't think it does a favour to anybody.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
ShawnG.Mar 24, 2009
It's surprising to see that the lowest score given by the critics is a 60 at the time of this posting. We can deduce one of two reasons: First, they genuinely liked it or second, they didn't want to lose their jobs. Thirty years It's surprising to see that the lowest score given by the critics is a 60 at the time of this posting. We can deduce one of two reasons: First, they genuinely liked it or second, they didn't want to lose their jobs. Thirty years ago, Harvey M. believed in something that most Californians still can't embrace. I didn't like the film for its political message. At least I can stand up and admit it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AndrasG.Apr 20, 2009
It's sad that movies like this get high scores. Because of movies like this we get all the other crap spinoffs. This is a boring movie. Don't waste money on it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JoeDMar 13, 2009
Ignoring the agenda for a moment, this film is just a long - sometimes dull - documentary. I suspect the people who gave it high marks (and an Oscar for Penn) are those who love the agenda. I gave it a 3 because it had some compelling and Ignoring the agenda for a moment, this film is just a long - sometimes dull - documentary. I suspect the people who gave it high marks (and an Oscar for Penn) are those who love the agenda. I gave it a 3 because it had some compelling and interesting moments. Most of it, however, was just boring. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TF.Mar 10, 2009
Far too much praise for a film that, despite Sean Penn's decent acting, falls way too short of the truth of what Milk was and accomplished.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JimB.Nov 30, 2008
If he weren't gay and a darling of the Hollywood elite nobody would give a damn.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GregP.Jan 14, 2009
None of the reviews above are stepping back and being objective. As a piece of cinema, this film is BORING. In reality, Harvey Milk was a twisted soul who drove four of his five lovers to suicide -- THAT might have been an interesting film, None of the reviews above are stepping back and being objective. As a piece of cinema, this film is BORING. In reality, Harvey Milk was a twisted soul who drove four of his five lovers to suicide -- THAT might have been an interesting film, but here they sanitize away details like that, trying to make Milk into Gandhi, and succeeding in putting me to sleep. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
HarveyM.Jan 2, 2009
This movie wasn't even about milk!! I saw no cows or farms or even farmers!! i hated it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JordanSFeb 10, 2009
Incredibly over-rated.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
commentscommentsFeb 23, 2009
This movie gets an E for Effort, but nothing beats the original documentary from which all this stems: THE TIMES OF HARVEY MILK. MILK thought so much of it that it completely stole its structure from it, even its stock footage. however much This movie gets an E for Effort, but nothing beats the original documentary from which all this stems: THE TIMES OF HARVEY MILK. MILK thought so much of it that it completely stole its structure from it, even its stock footage. however much this movie represents a triumph to the makers for getting it made (it's been in the works since the documentary premiered twenty five years ago with Oliver Stone and Kevin Kline participating), a chimp could have done what these filmmakers did, using the documentary as a source, which it liberally did. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PaulFeb 6, 2009
Milk is an appropiate title: it milked me for my admission and left me wondering if I should get up and walk out. A complete butchery of the real events and man, which is a great shame, as the real story is very interesting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
CynthiaGJun 28, 2009
Mr. Milk might have led a watershed moment, but this film doesn't do him or it justice. It was just plain boring. I was not engaged by any of the characters at all -- there was almost no life to them. James Franco was the only actor who Mr. Milk might have led a watershed moment, but this film doesn't do him or it justice. It was just plain boring. I was not engaged by any of the characters at all -- there was almost no life to them. James Franco was the only actor who allowed me to engage with his emotional journey. The wrong actors were nominated and won. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
UncleSamDec 11, 2008
Trying to sell a movie celebrating behavior and mores that the majority of Amercians find morally and socially repugnant is tough... unless you have the biased media behind you. Look at all those 100s: you'd think it was "Casablanca." I Trying to sell a movie celebrating behavior and mores that the majority of Amercians find morally and socially repugnant is tough... unless you have the biased media behind you. Look at all those 100s: you'd think it was "Casablanca." I give it one point for a fine turn by Penn, but it's right up there with 'Triumph of the Will' as far as I'm concerned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidHDec 27, 2008
This is basically a boring gay propaganda film. The only redeeming value is an excellent performance by Penn, also there was a bit of historical value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregoryAFeb 26, 2009
If this is a true story it's clear gay issues not ordanary people were at the top of milks political agenda. Only iin San Francisco!! .. Worst movie I ever have seen..Bring a pillow to the theater so you can get some sleep!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NicolasK.Nov 28, 2008
It is astounding to read the reviews of this film; all the critics spend as much time discussing Prop 8 as they do Harvey Milk (a noble cause by all means but NOT a film review). The fact is the film is a mess; badly written, shoddily It is astounding to read the reviews of this film; all the critics spend as much time discussing Prop 8 as they do Harvey Milk (a noble cause by all means but NOT a film review). The fact is the film is a mess; badly written, shoddily constructed and badly directed--characters shift positions with alarming frequency; if it weren't for Sean Penn's full passion devotion to the role, the film would be unwatchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
csw12Aug 18, 2013
A pathetic movie that was extremely boring with James Franco that gets on my nerves every time I see him on screen. A good attempt that failed miserably.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews