Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2004
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 696 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
531
Mixed:
50
Negative:
115
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JuanSebastianDec 25, 2015
Incredible touching till the end. I never imagined this movie would make me cry but it did. I think this screenplay was a great one, works really good. But this screenplay would be nothing without the fantastic direction by Clint Eastwood,Incredible touching till the end. I never imagined this movie would make me cry but it did. I think this screenplay was a great one, works really good. But this screenplay would be nothing without the fantastic direction by Clint Eastwood, acting was great too.The highlight in Million Dollar Baby I think is the strong characters that the writers created, tragic and emotional stories that relates immediately to viewer. One of my favorites movies now I've watched it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisOct 22, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Million dollar baby is a story about a female boxer who decides in her early 30's to star boxing.She goes to a gym to exercise and there she finds a coach. Million times if you see that film a tear will come out from your eye. A depressive sport movie that it is really touching and it shows friendship and love. Million dollar baby also shows how difficult is for a person that loves you to decide whether you are going to live or die. Hillary Swank was amazing in that movie. I don't know how she did that. I actually thought that i was feeling what she was feeling. I don't understand the negative reviews and I don't want to spend any time telling my opinion for them and i simply understand that some people don't have a heart. That's all I have to say for that masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ToThePointAug 3, 2015
A story of attaining hard fought self-respect. Packed with boxing action and insight that stimulates intellectually and emotionally. Brilliant and moving. Another hit for Clint Eastwood, a premier director of our generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
The greatest Hilary Swank movie. I really cryied... That heart of Courage and that friendship betwen her and the coach give something really special to the movie. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jan 27, 2015
Yes, its ending will undoubtedly tear your soul out and shred it into a thousand pieces, but there's more than enough to admire in Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" a spectacularly directed, written, and acted drama that fits snugglyYes, its ending will undoubtedly tear your soul out and shred it into a thousand pieces, but there's more than enough to admire in Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" a spectacularly directed, written, and acted drama that fits snuggly within the impressive pantheon of Best Picture Oscar winners. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
chwOct 18, 2014
Million Dollar Baby was awesome. Jay Baruchel acts as if he acts the way he does all the time, same with Morgan Freeman, Clint Eastwood, and Hilary Swank.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BigZSep 10, 2014
There are few movies that can tug at me emotionally. But This one put me on the verge of tears. You fall in love with Swank and her character. The way she compliments the performances of Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood just creates aThere are few movies that can tug at me emotionally. But This one put me on the verge of tears. You fall in love with Swank and her character. The way she compliments the performances of Morgan Freeman and Clint Eastwood just creates a powerhouse of a movie. Well done. Boxing is a sport that tends to show up in movies a lot but that is only because it has so many metaphorical connotations and digs at our own willpower to be fighters in our own lives, which is personified in this film. It's a different angle considering the fighter is a female. It gives more room to broaden the audience and be a significant and entertaining stand point for both guys and girls. It confronts the conflict of families, what makes them and what breaks them. It brings reality to the cost of chasing a dream. Watch it. The end will make you want to strangle someone, or just cry, one of the two. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBAug 25, 2014
Million Dollar Baby is a masterpiece that I honestly predicted a cheesy ending for. When I was near the third act I stopped guessing, and tears forced out of my eyes because this movie hits the right note at the appropriate time, when itMillion Dollar Baby is a masterpiece that I honestly predicted a cheesy ending for. When I was near the third act I stopped guessing, and tears forced out of my eyes because this movie hits the right note at the appropriate time, when it ended I was totally convinced this is a great showpiece, and I still am. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithJul 17, 2014
One of the best movies I've ever seen. The ending may be morally confused, but from a critical standpoint I really can't find any flaws in the whole movie. It's so poignant, so powerfully acted, and so well written that I'm going to go outOne of the best movies I've ever seen. The ending may be morally confused, but from a critical standpoint I really can't find any flaws in the whole movie. It's so poignant, so powerfully acted, and so well written that I'm going to go out on a limb and call it a true masterpiece. Eastwood's direction is impeccable, and the film's emotions feel real, natural, and unforced. The characters also seem like real people instead of just the usual cardboard cutouts. I could go on forever. This movie is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 5, 2014
Clint Eastwood's Million Dollar Baby is undoubtedly one of the best of the 2000s, great direction from Eastwood, great performances from Swank, Eastwood, Freeman and the talented supporting cast
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BetterOffDead_Jun 5, 2014
Million Dollar Baby is about a passionate female boxer who wants to make it with the guidance of frankie dunn played by (clint eastwood) clint eastwod also directed this movie and did a great job of it. hillary swank delivers a greatMillion Dollar Baby is about a passionate female boxer who wants to make it with the guidance of frankie dunn played by (clint eastwood) clint eastwod also directed this movie and did a great job of it. hillary swank delivers a great performance in this as well as the rest of the cast. dont want to give much away, but this is a just see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 5, 2014
I have seen a lot of films that have been left me emotionally reeling, but nothing like this. This film was not at all what I was expecting and I totally love that about it. Hillary Swank and Clint Eastwood were phenomenal in this film and II have seen a lot of films that have been left me emotionally reeling, but nothing like this. This film was not at all what I was expecting and I totally love that about it. Hillary Swank and Clint Eastwood were phenomenal in this film and I also absolutely loved Clint Eastwood's direction. His dark, moody direction worked perfectly here and really helped to define this film for me. Really, though, at the end of the day, this is a character driven film and both Swank and Eastwood carry this film together as a team and bring it past the finish line. It is tough to write about a film like this, aside from telling you to watch it if you have not. If you have, you know what I mean. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
neologoNov 13, 2013
Great Movie the ending almost made me cry. its not like other movies because there is no guns or sex and crap it is just a simple movie.so 10/10. watch the movie now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Million Dollar Baby is a very emotional drama about boxing, and actually competes with Rocky for the title of best boxing movie. Stallone might win, but this movie definitely deserves the silver medal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KivaAug 2, 2013
Million dollar baby is a story about a female boxer who decides in her early 30's to star boxing.She goes to a gym to exercise and there she finds a coach. Million times if you see that film a tear will come out from your eye. A depressiveMillion dollar baby is a story about a female boxer who decides in her early 30's to star boxing.She goes to a gym to exercise and there she finds a coach. Million times if you see that film a tear will come out from your eye. A depressive sport movie that it is really touching and it shows friendship and love. Million dollar baby also shows how difficult is for a person that loves you to decide whether you are going to live or die. Hillary Swank was amazing in that movie. I don't know how she did that. I actually thought that i was feeling what she was feeling. I don't understand the negative reviews and I don't want to spend any time telling my opinion for them and i simply understand that some people don't have a heart. That's all I have to say for that masterpiece. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Jul 4, 2013
The chemistry between Freeman, Swank and Eastwood work together perfectly in this knock out of a film. Eastwood does an amazing job of engaging the viewer such that they are more than just an observer but are involved in these people's lives
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
A brilliant masterpiece! For me, this is one of the best films of the decade. This is the film that Clint Eastwood will be remembered for. Such a great, touching story. Hilary Swank and Morgan Freeman are simply stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MackeyJan 5, 2013
Strong and Powerful! A touching story proved with sweat and pain, and the same time - with beauty and grace of boxing goddess! This sport-drama is one which surely leaves a warm spark into our hearts!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Swank, annoying as she is, uses everything we hate about her to plow into the the role. There'll be talks about the great performance she delivered. It wasn't great. The role just suited her. Eastwood and Freeman, on the other hand, are phenomenal.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10 movie. Great performances. Everyone gives just phenomenal performances. Story is quite remarkable. Score is good. Boxing. Matches are well made. They look great. This is one of the best sports movie ever. Overall, thisThis is a 10 out of 10 movie. Great performances. Everyone gives just phenomenal performances. Story is quite remarkable. Score is good. Boxing. Matches are well made. They look great. This is one of the best sports movie ever. Overall, this is a great film. You really should see it. It such a remarkable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 1, 2011
Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" illustrates Hilary swank (Beast performance) as a under-seen boxer emerging to her fame and ultimately, to her downfall. As expected from Clint Eastwood, the film is filmed and written richly andClint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" illustrates Hilary swank (Beast performance) as a under-seen boxer emerging to her fame and ultimately, to her downfall. As expected from Clint Eastwood, the film is filmed and written richly and immensely. It certainly is one of the year's best. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
ShahmeerApr 30, 2011
I know most of my reviews consist of 10/10, but that's because I think lots of movies are excellent. And so is this one. By all means, one of the best films I have ever seen. Million Dollar Baby is more than just a film about boxing, it'sI know most of my reviews consist of 10/10, but that's because I think lots of movies are excellent. And so is this one. By all means, one of the best films I have ever seen. Million Dollar Baby is more than just a film about boxing, it's about believing, never-giving-up, and the harsh reality of life. And truly, life. Is hard. The film has so many memorable moments. The acting, the directing, the story is all spectacular. Ive never seen a film like this. Million Dollar Baby is about a boxing trainer and manager, Frankie (Eastwood). A woman, Margaret Fitzgerald (Swank), wants him to train her. Frankie claims he can't train her, but as she grows in potential and determination, he starts to. The story follows Maggie and Frankie as they try to fulfill their dreams, and show the world that they believe. Unlike no other film I have ever seen, the acting in th
Is film is just riveting. Clint Eastwood deserved an Academy win, not a nomination. His acting was just moving and amazing throughout. He wasn't a lovable character, but Clint showed his character had a heart and was memorable all the same. Hillary Swank was outstanding, deserving her Oscar. Morgan Freeman is always a man to love. His comedic, nonchalant acting in this was stupendous. No wonder people always say he should get an Oscar for every film he does. The directing from Clint Eastwood was great, too. He always knows how to make a movie the right way. He should be directing all the intelligent and moving films out there, and then Hollywood would be even better than it is now. In the end, the movie is all about believing, which is risking it all for a dream that nobody sees...but you.
10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PigBenisDec 11, 2010
Best movie of all time. Greatest Acting by the main 3 actors, best directing in years, amazing script, completely absorbing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RONGIUAug 29, 2010
Sorry for the translation, is mechanical.

Million Dollar Baby has so much original, the drama of three people. They are stories that affect you directly, powerfully enter into your deepest instincts and the reason is because they are true
Sorry for the translation, is mechanical.

Million Dollar Baby has so much original, the drama of three people. They are stories that affect you directly, powerfully enter into your deepest instincts and the reason is because they are true stories that can happen to you, your family, your neighbor and displayed without veils. Take it or leave it. Probably what has "taken" my emotion was the presence on stage of a woman and a woman with a fighting spirit out of the ordinary.
This allows me to say that in "Million Dollar Baby" all the experience of Eastwood is made available for learning the "cadets filmmakers" and also because it was possible to add, I think, to many film called "classical" another. Eastwood manages to give us an endless alternation of emotions as if it were established and marked by a metronome, now slow hour fast.
About rhythm, the film is accompanied by music by Eastwood and narrated by Eddie Dupris, "Scrap Iron" (Morgan Freeman), former boxer Frankie (Eastwood) has trained years ago and which the manager. Scrap is a real thorn in the soul of Frankie.The two friends carry with them so frustrating and painful burden of their stories. Different but converging. if only to regret that decision probably a "past" taken in a different way would have given a different ending to their lives. The "hardness film" director, in which more than fifty years are used in this film even dissolves in tears and certainly chose the place and the right time to pay.
Frankie, professional box with years of experience as a manager and at the same time away from the professional circuit has a second chance to "return" with Maggie Fitzgerald (Hilary Swank). Swank has a starring role that in every sense, certainly comparable to the performance of Boys Do not Cry. " I said, Maggie is a waitress who receives a resounding "No!" When presented at the gym run by Frankie. The motivation is twofold. Does not train women boxers, and a thirty year old has little chance of achieving ambitious goals.
Frankie, however, only later realizes that it faces a woman determined and disciplined. Discipline gained from the "Life", which always knows how to be a teacher when he finds disciples willing to listen and to learn to translate its many meanings silences. Maggie spring. Why not let the "Life" have been told that only Frankie can help you achieve the desired objective. Fighting for the world title. Convinced for various reasons, Frankie, Maggie and Scrap start a new migration with new feelings, new feelings. Their flight is more often excitedly, almost never gliding. Maggie is found to have a meeting with the family and will be a meeting that will take effect ...
Million Dollar Baby is a film in which the personal spaces, intimate and filled are affected by a tragedy of enormous dimensions. Due because of what men can do better, particularly in sport, "not respecting the rules." "Winning at all costs." But woe to judge the choices of "others," especially if the choices are existence, what "do" with their lives. "Other" always deserve the utmost respect. Why? Why put it like a "fist meeting" that can prematurely close a match is not true that things only ever happen to "others".
The three main characters are actors and forever and this is, in my opinion, the strength of this film that catapulted him overwhelmingly in the masterpieces.

Good Ciak!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rollingstone82Aug 20, 2010
The greatest contemporary tragedy of 21st century cinema thus far.

Inspirational movies are always the top choice with conscious parents who want their kids to be well influenced. I don't deny it. Usually, inspirational films involve sports.
The greatest contemporary tragedy of 21st century cinema thus far.

Inspirational movies are always the top choice with conscious parents who want their kids to be well influenced. I don't deny it. Usually, inspirational films involve sports. Which is okay because I like films like Hoosiers and Rocky. But the biggest fault with such movies is that they follow a formula too often. The joy of watching them is lost because we pretty much know what to expect. I don't like sports films because of this: everytime, there is a sad and pathetic team lifted up by a bright coach. The dialogue when not in inspirational mode then becomes dull and boring. Sports films ultimately make me feel cheated because the real movie is only available in parts thanks to a cliched and overcooked story.

This film is not about sports. It isn't unusual because great films ironically don't have much to do with sports (Raging Bull is the best example). And Million Dollar Baby is drama. Well-played and tearjerking drama.

The film stars Clint Eastwood as a down-on-luck boxing trainer, Frank Dunn. He has the most thankless role in the sport and struggles to make contact with his daughter, after years of turmoil. His buddy, ex-boxer "Scrap Iron" (Morgan Freeman) is his moral support, the man with sense in the atmosphere of despair and loss. Then comes Maggie (Hilary Swank), a waitress who aspires to be a professional boxer but cannot due to her age and the fact that she is a woman. Maggie, despite Frank's refusal to train her, persists by training every day ignoring the jeers of the other boxers. Finally Scrap convinces Frank to train her and what follows is a journey of persistence, love, and ultimately tragedy.

The whole atmosphere of Million Dollar Baby is dark. There is hardly any vivid color. It is a tense time of strain and despair. And that is what Eastwood wants us to feel. There is no happiness. This is reality in one of the harshest degrees. Even the screenplay says so. But when Maggie and Frank work together, things take a slight turn towards the light. Both Frank and Maggie have a lack of connection with their respective families. Frank's daughter is ashamed of Frank while Maggie's family mocks her for her profession while living off her profits. Frank and Maggie's working relationship as trainer and trainee transitions into an ideal father-daughter relationship, something that both lacked. Frank finds Maggie as the daughter he lost and Maggie finds Frank as the father she never had. And it is this relationship that rises the movie above its inspirational/sports film genre. And when all fell down, I never felt the same. I felt as depressed as Frank was by the end of the movie.

It is impossible to have an inspirational film without its appropriate actors. For Eastwood, it is another performance that doesn't require excessive emotionality. But he fits perfectly as a pessimistic boxer who seamlessly transforms into a man with heart and back again. But he would not have gained the heart had it not been for his support. Morgan Freeman does another wonderful performance as a supporting actor. He proves to be a man of strength, vitality, and sense. But Swank is the movie (her role is also referenced in the movie's title). She wants to prove she is a capable boxer despite gender and age. She, like Frank, is caught in the grasps of pain but tries to ease it by becoming a great boxer. And when the pain is almost victorious, the way she begged Frank to "release" her made me cry not out of mere sympathy but love.

One point a critic may point out is the inconsistency of Maggie's role as she evolves from a person of inspiration to a depressed, hospitalized, and suicidal patient. But the movie inside isn't inspirational, in a sense. It is an assessment of human and societal nature and how two people struggle to survive in such hostile environments that eventually gets the better of them. The inspirational note in the film is not a victory but a message of hope that the world will change its ways for the better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KPSep 30, 2009
Let me first qualify that I've done many reviews on here and never given anything a 10. I save 10's for the rare movie that goes beyond being a movie. A movie that actually touches your soul. In addition to having tons of heart toLet me first qualify that I've done many reviews on here and never given anything a 10. I save 10's for the rare movie that goes beyond being a movie. A movie that actually touches your soul. In addition to having tons of heart to it, the story, acting, directing and score are all first rate as well. Anyone who rates this film less than an 8 clearly has serious personal issues. Films don't get much better than this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CraigS.Nov 29, 2008
For those of you saying the movie is too "depressing" I would like to know how on earth that makes it a bad movie. For god's sake, some of you have given it a 2, simply because it was too depressing. Maybe the fact it had such a huge For those of you saying the movie is too "depressing" I would like to know how on earth that makes it a bad movie. For god's sake, some of you have given it a 2, simply because it was too depressing. Maybe the fact it had such a huge impact on you is evidence that it had the desired effect? Not all great movies are endlessly life-affirming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasR.Nov 29, 2008
The viewer scores on this movie are ridiculous. Please, some of you. Grow a brain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BhiveshB.Jun 3, 2008
The Academy Awards' jury has a tendency to favour those dramatic motion pictures that feature protagonists' lives opersating on many levels. Million Dollar Baby is the winner of Best Motion Picture of 2004 at the 77th Academy The Academy Awards' jury has a tendency to favour those dramatic motion pictures that feature protagonists' lives opersating on many levels. Million Dollar Baby is the winner of Best Motion Picture of 2004 at the 77th Academy Awards, besides winning three more Oscars including the one for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, played by Hilary Swank. But for me this movie is chiefly about the anguished life of its male protagonist, Frank Dunn, a senile boxing trainer trying to make amends for his disturbing elusive past. He is guilt-ridden and attends the Mass everyday. He writes to his (estranged) daughter every week, hoping for a reconciliation with her. And we do not have to wait for long until we find out that his other actions are equally unclear. Their motive(s) is/are never described: (1) He is shown as attending the Mass for twenty-three years, but why he keeps pissing off the Father by asking real inane religious questions is never hinted at. (2) What is the reason behind his constant attempt to learn Gaelic? We cannot come close to even guess that. Is it his hobby-horse or is it just another minute revelation connected to his unknown past? Answer for yourself. (3) Why does Frank try to prevent Willie Jones to have his shot, until the latter loses his patience and finally leaves the old trainer ending eight-years of their professional bonding. But one thing ramains clear: Frankie's life experiences really proves that if a life's course is that of his, then indeed "Tough ain't Enough". What is required in addition to toughness is endurance-an endurnce to fight with your inner demon, to be able to sustain by grappling with melancholy memories, haunting thoughts and a hopeless existence. Frank Dunn painstakingly manages to do that. What really thrilled me about this movie are not the boxing fights, most of which I believe have been handled amateurishly, but its intense climax. You just quietly (and sadly) watch Maggie's physical condition going from bad to worse, ultimately reaching a deadlock when her existence only indicates a virtual endless death-in-life experience. This calls for her release in euthanasia, which is given to her by Frank thus increasing his own anguish to its highest level. The act leaves Frank alone and despair, gloomy and with probably a single hope to attain absolution, sooner than later. But till that hope sustains, he attempts to find a little peace at "a place set in the cedars and oak trees, somewhere between nowhere and goodbye. But that's probably wishful thinking." This psychologically motivating and emotionally engaging movie is worth a watch. Strictly recommendable! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShayneR.Mar 4, 2008
Any movie that can achieve such depth of character deserves greater respect than this movie seems to be getting. There are three major characters all of which are amazingly realistic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.May 27, 2007
Two words can best sum up this movie, brilliant and depressing! Hilary Swank gives a superb performance as a girl trying to make something of herself and leaving her past behind. Clint Eastwood and Morgan Freeman give great performances Two words can best sum up this movie, brilliant and depressing! Hilary Swank gives a superb performance as a girl trying to make something of herself and leaving her past behind. Clint Eastwood and Morgan Freeman give great performances aswell. This was a knock-out but be warned I've seen many a sad film and this IMO was almost too sad and left me almost reaching for the Samaritans! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattMay 14, 2007
It is really disappointing that metacritic accepts critical reviews from places like salon.com and Slate. They are obviously no more knowledgable about film than Joe Schmoe at your local Dunkin Donuts. Million Dollar Baby is unquestionably It is really disappointing that metacritic accepts critical reviews from places like salon.com and Slate. They are obviously no more knowledgable about film than Joe Schmoe at your local Dunkin Donuts. Million Dollar Baby is unquestionably one of the two or three best films of the past ten years. It upsets me that its overall ranking is sullied by these two completely hack "news" organizations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RirenApr 29, 2007
Swank, Eastwood and Freeman make this a must-see movie. Million Dollar Baby has a plethora of loose plot threads and a tendency to forget plot elements and randomly bring them up again 30 or 60 minutes later, but mirky directing can't Swank, Eastwood and Freeman make this a must-see movie. Million Dollar Baby has a plethora of loose plot threads and a tendency to forget plot elements and randomly bring them up again 30 or 60 minutes later, but mirky directing can't detract from three of the best performances in recent film history. The trio portray deep, sympathetic characters with three of the earthiest relationships, each a delight to follow until the disappointing ending. The story doesn't build to a climax or a final act; the final act falls onto the film, and is so out of place that it takes a half an hour to get its barings again. It's a sensationalist and provocative ending, melancholy and hard to fight morally, but it just isn't earned by where the film goes in its first 85 minutes - and the movie notices this, summoning more mood lighting and mood music than is noticeable in the rest of the picture. Also be warned that Million Dollar Baby is not a boxing movie. It's not a sports movie. It's a human drama that happens to take place in a gym a lot of the time. The fights are handled terribly, from the early montage of unbelievable knockouts to the final match that unfolds more like a bad pro wrestling match than something from televised boxing. Still I implore you, see this movie for these three performances. It will be a long time before we get three more like them, especially in the same picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryV.Apr 8, 2007
Never hits a false note, never breaks from its melancholy, reminiscent tone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VasilisP.Mar 28, 2007
100% human and sensitive film. Thanks Mr. Eastwood
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
I had very strong emotions when watching the injustice and irony in this film. It wasn't annoying, though. I liked it--I perceived it as sincere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Feb 19, 2007
Wow. Years ago, i loved Mystic River and Unforgiven, but i skipped this movie. Then, recently, i just saw Letters from Iwo Jima, and after loving that, I finally went back and saw this. Gawd, what a director Eastwood is; his spare, autumnal, Wow. Years ago, i loved Mystic River and Unforgiven, but i skipped this movie. Then, recently, i just saw Letters from Iwo Jima, and after loving that, I finally went back and saw this. Gawd, what a director Eastwood is; his spare, autumnal, solemn, measured style, mostly apparent in this and Letters, reminds me, i kid you not, of prime Ingmar Bergman. Also, I agree with Daniel K. below: this is NOT a boxing film, in the same way that Raging Bull was not a boxing film, and that Hoop Dreams was not a basketball film. Like those classics, Million Dollar Baby is a powerful human drama that just happens to have a sport in it as a backdrop, more as a setting than a subject. And, ironically, that method is what makes the greatest sports films. If you have the patience and are in the mood for a carefully paced and consistently somber film, and you don't require explosions and gross-out humor and staccato MTV editing, you'll appreciate this movie. For everyone else, i'm sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
oferDec 30, 2006
No one does it better then Mr. Clint, his films reminds us why we love movies so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IndiraR.Aug 24, 2006
This plot of this movie is original. The performance of Hilary Swank as a boxer is startling. I am still amazed by the way she trained in order to get out of the poverty. What a film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielK.Jun 26, 2006
This movie made me crying. it reached me really! it tells much about us humans and made me write a book "Sinn des Lebens"! it tells about our dreams hopes and what hurts us. i want to say: EVERYONE WHO THINKS THIS IS A BOXINGFILM IS A FOOL! This movie made me crying. it reached me really! it tells much about us humans and made me write a book "Sinn des Lebens"! it tells about our dreams hopes and what hurts us. i want to say: EVERYONE WHO THINKS THIS IS A BOXINGFILM IS A FOOL! that the boxing scenes are only secondary. this is one of the best films ive ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliciaV.Jun 4, 2006
This movie is riveting. Definetly on the top list.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmitS.May 27, 2006
Despite being full to the brim with clichés, it's difficult not to wrap yourself up in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SofiaD.Apr 5, 2006
It is the best movie I have ever seen. It is sensitive as much as entertaining. I have never seen such a great mix of such deep emotions. It was the first movie that has made me cry.!!! It needs to be good!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Mar 2, 2006
The actors don't play the characters, they breathe them. The essence of emotion was never better captured by anything in recent cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyH.Jan 23, 2006
Anyone that pans this movie needs to have his/her head examined.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EduardoR.Jan 8, 2006
A bitter movie, Million Dollar Baby shows, in a direct and merciless way, several aspecets of our miserable cruel lives. If you enjoy seeing the same old predictable stuff on the screen, this is NOT a movie for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrangeV.Oct 16, 2005
To see films like :Napolean Dynamyte, Batman Begins, and Pirates of the Carribbean have a higer score (by users) makes me sick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Oct 15, 2005
A drama about triumph that triumphs itself. I think I will have a hard time choosing: This or Vertigo?, for my #1 movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoR.Sep 29, 2005
One of the best movies I've seen lately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XavierR.Sep 20, 2005
Great movie. One of my all-time favorites, and among the best in '04. Hilary Swank is amazing. A definite must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Aug 30, 2005
Nice flow, many genuinely poignant moments. A little pretentious in spots (an east German prostitute boxer who fights dirty, come on), and ultimately enlightened defeatism, but genuinely so. Great energetic can-do performance by Swank.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimH.Aug 29, 2005
Incredible Movie. Acting first rate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryanj.Aug 27, 2005
Well written and thought out film that actually addresses some of the issues we see in society today. The score was a little overdone in some places but the general flow of the film was enjoyable and left the viewer to contemplate his/her Well written and thought out film that actually addresses some of the issues we see in society today. The score was a little overdone in some places but the general flow of the film was enjoyable and left the viewer to contemplate his/her own issues related to the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamAug 25, 2005
Alright, people that hated this, I don't care. I think this movie is an excellent film. Sure, it's a bit dreary and dark, but not all THAT dark Dave S. I love this movie, one of the best films of all time. After crap like against Alright, people that hated this, I don't care. I think this movie is an excellent film. Sure, it's a bit dreary and dark, but not all THAT dark Dave S. I love this movie, one of the best films of all time. After crap like against the ropes, it's good that great boxing films like This and Cinderella Man are in the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SinnaeC.Aug 17, 2005
Unrealistic depictions of the sport, almost-but-not-quite-there performances and sometimes illogical progressions in the characters' behaviors detract from a film that could have been great. At the end of it all, I realized that what I Unrealistic depictions of the sport, almost-but-not-quite-there performances and sometimes illogical progressions in the characters' behaviors detract from a film that could have been great. At the end of it all, I realized that what I was seeing was meant to be tragic, but Eastwood's typically stiff acting paired with the overkill on Swank-in-the-hospital scenes took away from the momentum of the movie, leaving me feeling a little disappointed and only somewhat entertained. Overall, a film worth watching, but not all that it's cracked up to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryH.Aug 11, 2005
Fantastic film--the best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintMAug 9, 2005
I just watched the movie this morning at 9am before I went to work, before my morning cup of coffee and before breakfast! But as soon as the credits began for Million Dollar Baby it had my attention until the very end. Hillary Swank and I just watched the movie this morning at 9am before I went to work, before my morning cup of coffee and before breakfast! But as soon as the credits began for Million Dollar Baby it had my attention until the very end. Hillary Swank and Clint Eastwood's (and Morgan Freeman and Clint for that matter) relationship was extremely touching and there wasn't a note of disbelief in the whole film. It hits you all the way to your core and brings your eyes to tears more than once. Props to all the actors involved for a wonderful job. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieAug 7, 2005
I rememeber being very upset at the fact that this movie got the Oscar for best picture. But then again I did not get to see it until I picked up the DVD. I honestly thought Eastwood could not overdo Mystic River. And of course, I am proving I rememeber being very upset at the fact that this movie got the Oscar for best picture. But then again I did not get to see it until I picked up the DVD. I honestly thought Eastwood could not overdo Mystic River. And of course, I am proving wrong (It happent from time to time) This film deserved any awards it got. The relationship between Eastwood and Swank is magic. I hate when i get teary when watching movies. And here I did as well. Great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ianAug 2, 2005
Why is this movie so lauded? The characters are so cliched its embarrasing: the hoary old retired boxer (Eastwood), the old black janitor (Freeman), the up & copming hero from a trashy background (Swank)...sheesh, give me a break! The film Why is this movie so lauded? The characters are so cliched its embarrasing: the hoary old retired boxer (Eastwood), the old black janitor (Freeman), the up & copming hero from a trashy background (Swank)...sheesh, give me a break! The film rips off the style of the Shawshank Redemption to an embarrassing degree, & the ending is just pure soap opera. As for the lighting style of facial close ups in poor light....please, give me something else! I was hoping thast the end might show Eastwood deftly silhouetted in half shadow as he swayed gently hanging from a tree, but alas I was denied! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LivvyM.Jul 30, 2005
LOVED IT! really loved it! we watched it in english and most of us were in tears after watching it....really touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 28, 2005
The most haunting picture in a long, long time. Million Dollar Baby sticks to your bones in that easy, effortless way of old-fashioned classics. Eastwood's story is gritty and courageous, and every performance lives up to it. I dare any The most haunting picture in a long, long time. Million Dollar Baby sticks to your bones in that easy, effortless way of old-fashioned classics. Eastwood's story is gritty and courageous, and every performance lives up to it. I dare any jaded critic who thinks cinema is dead to walk away from this one with dry eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickHJul 26, 2005
It's good, but it's not Best Picture good. Martin Scorsese was robbed of the Best Director oscar. Alexander Payne was robbed of the Best Picture oscar. The only reason this movie gets a 7 is because of Morgan Freeman and Hilary It's good, but it's not Best Picture good. Martin Scorsese was robbed of the Best Director oscar. Alexander Payne was robbed of the Best Picture oscar. The only reason this movie gets a 7 is because of Morgan Freeman and Hilary Swank, they both did amazing jobs and deserve their oscars. Eastwood got his 2 oscars because he didn't take risks. His direction was rather uninspired and the plot seemed - nearly - lifted from Rocky (but with the whole "right to die thing"). The Academy likes those who don't take risks. *** But, I think Mystic River would have swept the Oscars if LotR wasn't out. That Eastwood film was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
reproJul 23, 2005
Liked it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
peterJul 23, 2005
Good story,very emotional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyA.Jul 23, 2005
Phenominal! If I could give it an 11 I would.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.CantrellJul 17, 2005
Terrific - it is for movies like this that I still watch movies at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaddyJul 15, 2005
I could go on about the cinematography, storyline, acting, superb casting, and sharp direction, but there's ONE FACTOR that gives this film a 10/10 -- it has Hiliary Swank. She can kick my butt any day. :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GerryB.Jul 15, 2005
Maybe I just don't get Clint Eastwood as a director. I thought this and Unforgiven were mediocre, at best. I am very suprised at all the high praise this movie has received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbraarV.Jul 14, 2005
Its one of the most meaningfull movie, heart touching story line and morgan freeman, clint eastwood and HILARY SWANK ufff !!!! AWEsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottY.Jul 14, 2005
This is not the big budget movie that The Aviator was, and I can't picture *anything* else winning Best Picture other than this. I did not feel that any of it was contrived or forced, and even if it was, the story was still interesting This is not the big budget movie that The Aviator was, and I can't picture *anything* else winning Best Picture other than this. I did not feel that any of it was contrived or forced, and even if it was, the story was still interesting and the showcase of acting was remarkable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.RyanG.May 26, 2005
This film floored me. It's because I was completely wrapped up in these characters. Though I'm still not sold on Hilary Swank, Eastwood turned in the performance of a lifetime, and Paul Haggis's script allowed for pleasant This film floored me. It's because I was completely wrapped up in these characters. Though I'm still not sold on Hilary Swank, Eastwood turned in the performance of a lifetime, and Paul Haggis's script allowed for pleasant banter between Eastwood and Swank, Eastwood and Morgan Freeman, Swank and Freeman. One might say that the film is full of cliches, but those cliches work. And the film looks great. Much controversy has been manufactured by specific political groups, but the third act of the movie makes no messages at all, only giving us the chance to see these characters naturally evolve. I debated with myself and others whether this movie was good or not, and finally, I have had a very hard time not believing that the film is actually great. This film, I believe, will survive as one of the classics of its era. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
larrys.May 24, 2005
Fabulous writing and acting! The only blemish is the final fight scene which seems quite improbable. Other than that the film is a must see. Hilary and Morgan are brilliant. Another powerful Eastwood film. Don't miss it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jarredb.May 9, 2005
This movie is definately on to see, for many different reasons for one the acting was great especially for such a low budget film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GarethC.May 2, 2005
This film really got into my system. You ride a rollercoaster of emotions, sharing elation and sadness with a phenomenal cast. What brilliant directing and wonderful dialogue. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LockneO.Apr 27, 2005
Million Dollar Baby is an unbelievable motion picture. It completely deserved the Best Picture Oscar. Hillary Swank's, Clint Eastwood's, and Morgan Freeman's performances were astonishing! Make sure you see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SharminiC.Apr 22, 2005
Beautifuuly told story of human nature and life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZacharyF.Apr 18, 2005
The best film of 2004, bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamRApr 9, 2005
After reading these comments, I couldn't help but comment. For those of you who gave this movie anything less than a 7, need to rewatch and revote. This was my favorite movie of the year by far. Swank is pure class, and who can forget After reading these comments, I couldn't help but comment. For those of you who gave this movie anything less than a 7, need to rewatch and revote. This was my favorite movie of the year by far. Swank is pure class, and who can forget her incredible talent. Eastwood is pure talent, and Freeman deserved all the credit he has recieved. A remarkable film, I can't wait for it to come out on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Robbied.Apr 9, 2005
Overrated in every way possible, Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" does not deserve its acclaim. Beyond that there is some good acting (not Oscar-worthy) Interesting cinematography (in the sense that its set up to look real) some Overrated in every way possible, Clint Eastwood's "Million Dollar Baby" does not deserve its acclaim. Beyond that there is some good acting (not Oscar-worthy) Interesting cinematography (in the sense that its set up to look real) some original concepts (also a million cliches) and some good dialogue (also some empty dialogue.) The movie would probably be a better experience altogether without the acclaim and controversy, but that doesnt make it bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimG.Apr 9, 2005
Really two distinct movies - part 1 is simply a well done collage of fight movie cliches; part 2 builds a straw man agrument to deal with what otherwise is a presing social issue. Despite these flaws, the acting is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaketR.Apr 7, 2005
Million Dollar Baby is the best serious movie of 2004 hands down. After some mediocre efforts through the late 1990's and very very early 2000's Clint Eastwood has struck back with great elacrity. Mystic River was a superb brooding Million Dollar Baby is the best serious movie of 2004 hands down. After some mediocre efforts through the late 1990's and very very early 2000's Clint Eastwood has struck back with great elacrity. Mystic River was a superb brooding crime drama and this film is another superb brooding drama. The film boasts brilliant acting from Swank, Freeman and Eastwood himself, its a must see for any film buff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidKApr 7, 2005
Insterest story - obviously the "women boxing" thing was just a cover for euthanasia. Great acting overall and very controversial (will make people talk). However, I wonder how Clint feels today after a women boxer just died in a match.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlueFalconApr 3, 2005
This isn't typically my sort of movie, but I really enjoyed it. I like jeremy's oscar the grouch award idea, but it would more fittingly go to someone who thinks everything is garbage b/c they're a grouch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mohammedm.Apr 1, 2005
Its a great film, its more than excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PilarV.Mar 29, 2005
It's very real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XavierP.Mar 26, 2005
This movie is amazing, probably one of the best I've ever seen. It made me drop some tears... Simply beautiful. Go see it if not already done, Eastwood at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
basc.Mar 24, 2005
Is een super film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sarabvMar 23, 2005
It's just AWESOME!! A piece of art.... it's been a long time since I saw a film so beautiful like this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoO.Mar 20, 2005
Simply espectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiorC.Mar 20, 2005
Take quite an everyday boxing story, and make it a masterpiece. Absolutely brilliant directing brought me to the verge of tears more than once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyWMar 20, 2005
It boggles the mind that some people cannot appreciate this for the masterpiece it is. Sure, MAYBE some of the events wouldn't have happened the way they did in the movie, but in the end, isn't the only thing that matters the storyIt boggles the mind that some people cannot appreciate this for the masterpiece it is. Sure, MAYBE some of the events wouldn't have happened the way they did in the movie, but in the end, isn't the only thing that matters the story the film tells? Don't tell me you can't suspend your disbelief just a little bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianH.Mar 18, 2005
Wonderful story--a little Hollywood and a couple of medical slips, but this IS Hollywood after all. Also, the music by Clint Eastwood is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeFMar 17, 2005
Message to Arthur O, rent "Rocky", and quit whining before Hillary comes over ther and a punches ya!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WhitneyM.Mar 15, 2005
Just anyone can make it if they put thier minds to it everyone is someone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanP.Mar 15, 2005
My second-favorite movie of the year. People are inclined to pass off tear-jerking movies as "sentimental," which implies that the film's creators took an easy, empty route and it's therefore bad (which is the basic argument of My second-favorite movie of the year. People are inclined to pass off tear-jerking movies as "sentimental," which implies that the film's creators took an easy, empty route and it's therefore bad (which is the basic argument of anyone who discounts a Steven Spielberg movie). This movie, on the other hand, elicits emotion through beautiful writing (it makes boxing seem endlessly romantic, not like a barbaric, pay-per-view sporting event) and a very strong major character (Swank) with *everything* on the line. Her focus is so intense; her journey is simultaneously logical and unbelievable--it's a compelling story in which I truly have no idea what will happen to her. And she emerges as a powerful role model. This would not happen if the movie were a simple exercise in cheesy sentimentality. Her conviction is inspiring and unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BJDixonMar 15, 2005
Excellent movie. It starts out slow, and I was bored. My friend fell asleep. What I realized later was it takes a while to build the relationship of the characters, and then it all starts falling in place. By the time the movie ended I was Excellent movie. It starts out slow, and I was bored. My friend fell asleep. What I realized later was it takes a while to build the relationship of the characters, and then it all starts falling in place. By the time the movie ended I was emotionally touched, saddened and happy at the same time. We (four of us) all came to different conclusions in the way it ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregMillerMar 13, 2005
The thing about boxing movies is there are very few possible endings: either our boxer wins or our boxer loses, with few exceptions, which in my mind excuses some of the cliches here. This movie deserves all the praise it has received: it isThe thing about boxing movies is there are very few possible endings: either our boxer wins or our boxer loses, with few exceptions, which in my mind excuses some of the cliches here. This movie deserves all the praise it has received: it is wonderfully written, beautifully acted, poignant and sparse, like Mystic River. Eastwood has an eye for great films. Some of the characters are flat, but there does not NEED to be more than three rounded characters in a film, especially this one, so I did not mind Maggie's horrible family: for godssakes, it's incredible that Hollywood has produced a movie with round characters in the first place. And I cannot understand the argument of Eastwood's "politics" that have so offended: this movie, like all good movies, does not argue one way or the other: what is important is that you believe Maggie asked him for it, and that you believe Frankie did it, because it is in the end about the characters involved. Anyone so caught up in the "politics" here has mistaken this drama for something done by Michael Moore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaB.Mar 9, 2005
GREAT MOVIE!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johanneMar 7, 2005
Once you see it, you understand why Eastwood won the Oscar, a real piece of gold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMar 7, 2005
Another top-notched-Eastwood-directed movie. A very sad ending though but, nonetheless, very touching movie overall. If you liked Unforgiven and Mystic River then you will love this one, pretty sure! ... My Rating: 8.5
0 of 0 users found this helpful