User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 400

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    "Everybody Runs". Yeah, away from the damn cinema screen. A convoluted, contrived, predictable and uninteresting mess. The concepts that this movie uses are such an assault on common intelligence. If this movie were a person, it would kick you in the balls, steal your wallet, wave it in your face and then try and advertise itself to you that you just had a good time sitting through it.
  2. TommyR.
    Nov 4, 2006
    0
    The most boring film I have ever seen in my life.
  3. Mike
    Dec 28, 2005
    3
    It seemed a bit confused to me, in that it couldn't figure out whether to be a thriller or a family comedy. You have very dark moments followed immediately by cute vignettes. It didn't jive well for me. The special effects are beautiful yes; they usefully serve to distract you from the horribly convoluted plot. In an ironic twist, the movie includes far more subplots and It seemed a bit confused to me, in that it couldn't figure out whether to be a thriller or a family comedy. You have very dark moments followed immediately by cute vignettes. It didn't jive well for me. The special effects are beautiful yes; they usefully serve to distract you from the horribly convoluted plot. In an ironic twist, the movie includes far more subplots and "gotchas" than the original text. One thing I didn't really care for about the visuals, though, is the bizarre use of color. I found it rather disturbing and oddly reminiscent of Gladiator's butchering of color. The ending, to use a borrowed phrase, is "spielberged". It would have been fine, had the movie finished about a half-hour before it actually did. If you've seen it, then you know what I'm talking about; if you haven't then I don't really want to spoil it for you. Lastly, I feel as though Phil Dick ought to be rolling in his grave over this movie. The "take home" message of the movie is diametrically opposed to that of the short story on which it's based. This would almost be ok (but not really), if I had agreed with the movie more, but I don't. If you think I'm some kind of purist that just doesn't like screen adaptations, you'd be right. But in this particular case, I saw the movie first; in fact, I hated the movie so much I almost didn't bother with the short story. Expand
  4. SagaBoy
    Jul 3, 2002
    3
    Minority Report was pretentious and condesending. If you think "Blade Runner" was an excellent movie, you will be sorely disappointed with Minority Report. I was actually bored through certain parts of the movie.
  5. KurtH.
    Jun 22, 2002
    0
    Boring, predictable, unoriginal, loud, without interest or merit
  6. L.Keene
    Jun 24, 2002
    3
    This is a confusing, cliche-ridden picture with an interesting premise, that once again shows that Spielberg and Cruise try too hard. They are getting long at the tooth and it shows. Spielberg's usually suspect messages take another bad turn when he mixes anti civil liberty bias with passionate individualism. Huh? Hitchcock once said that he refused to make movies with characters who This is a confusing, cliche-ridden picture with an interesting premise, that once again shows that Spielberg and Cruise try too hard. They are getting long at the tooth and it shows. Spielberg's usually suspect messages take another bad turn when he mixes anti civil liberty bias with passionate individualism. Huh? Hitchcock once said that he refused to make movies with characters who stand around explaining the plot to each other. This movie had such a rapid, confusing wrap-up that it will take a couple of viewings to get it - and then it ends up not being good story telling. A disappointment. Expand
  7. AndyS.
    Jun 23, 2002
    3
    A solid 3 on an an adjusted scale of 1 to 10, with 1 representing the entertainment value of Spielberg's previous masterpiece, AI, and 10 representing the entertainment value of getting kicked in the teeth by a rabid llama. If you want to be really bored for a very long time, experience true prescience in the form of knowing exactly what's going to happen in every scene, A solid 3 on an an adjusted scale of 1 to 10, with 1 representing the entertainment value of Spielberg's previous masterpiece, AI, and 10 representing the entertainment value of getting kicked in the teeth by a rabid llama. If you want to be really bored for a very long time, experience true prescience in the form of knowing exactly what's going to happen in every scene, sequence and act, and then have your intelligence insulted by a sappy ending so inane that even though you saw it coming you still simply cannot believe what you're watching, then see this movie. Expand
  8. BradH.
    Jun 28, 2002
    2
    It's amazing to me to see the positive reviews (like Ebert and Roepers) giving this garb "two enthusiastic thumbs up". How much of a kickback do they get? The movie is just not good. A complete insult to your intelligence. But, it is not as bad as AI....which isn't saying much.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    90
    Spielberg's sharpest, brawniest, most bustling entertainment since "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and the finest of the season's action epics.
  2. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Ferociously intense, furiously kinetic, it’s expressionist film noir science fiction that, like all good sci-fi, peers into the future to shed light on the present.
  3. This is the kind of pure entertainment that, in its fullness and generosity, feels almost classic.