Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Cruise stars as Ethan Hunt, a secret agent framed for the deaths of his espionage team. Fleeing from government assassins, breaking into the CIA's most impenetrable vault, clinging to the roof of a speeding bullet train, Hunt races like a burning fuse to stay one step ahead of hisCruise stars as Ethan Hunt, a secret agent framed for the deaths of his espionage team. Fleeing from government assassins, breaking into the CIA's most impenetrable vault, clinging to the roof of a speeding bullet train, Hunt races like a burning fuse to stay one step ahead of his pursuers... and draw one step closer to discovering the shocking truth. (Paramount) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Salisbury
    100
    Enormous fun.
  2. Exciting, smart and enormously enjoyable.
  3. 75
    The bottom line on a film like this is, Tom Cruise looks cool and holds our attention while doing neat things that we don't quite understand--doing them so quickly and with so much style that we put our questions on hold, and go with the flow.
  4. 63
    This movie isn't a disaster, but, all things considered, there's little reason to make it a high priority for theatrical viewing.
  5. 50
    Whatever the reason for its disappointments, Mission: Impossible is a mission gone awry, prompting you to hope that reruns of its television incarnation will pop up on cable soon.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    50
    The result is a gracefully plotted spy film in the classic mode, with just enough self-consciousness to keep things interesting.
  7. It's the worst kind of convoluted thriller -- it can never unravel satisfactorily because there's nothing simple at its center, just more confusion.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This one is a killer! I loved the action and scenario. Even though got some holes in story, it was a less than 2 hours adventure which i willThis one is a killer! I loved the action and scenario. Even though got some holes in story, it was a less than 2 hours adventure which i will probably never forget. Expand
  2. Ozy
    Jul 11, 2014
    10
    As far as im concerned this movie changed the face of action movies for ever. WTF is wrong with these so called professional reviewers? andAs far as im concerned this movie changed the face of action movies for ever. WTF is wrong with these so called professional reviewers? and why is it that they differ so much from the general public. Idiots. This movie is legendary. Stab yourself with a shoe if you haven't already seen this movie. Expand
  3. ManfredP.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    t's been a long time coming. It's April 18th 2006. It's been ten years since this film was released and its second sequel is t's been a long time coming. It's April 18th 2006. It's been ten years since this film was released and its second sequel is less than a month away. Now seems like the perfect time to reach back into the wells of my cinematic career and re-examine one of the single most important movies in my life. This is one of the movies that made me fall in love with movies. It made me appreciate the meaning of a good plot, the importance of cerating tension, the methods with which one creates suspense...and how to flawlessly set up, construct, and execute an explosive finalé so effective that you could've swore it gave you an errection. [***SPOILERS***] The movie opens with the simplest of shots: a camera slowly tracking in on a security monitor with an unknown guy hunched keenly over it watching two equally unidentified figures talking in a room. All we know is that we are in Prague. But our ignorance soon turns to astonishment as the layers of this lie - courtesy of fictional(? ) CIA special branch, IMF (Impossible Missions Force) - are stripped away and the truth is revealed. This one opening scene effectively establishes the style for the rest of the film; confused ignorance followed by shocking revelations. DePalma crafts an extraordingary plot of intrigue and betrayal and, of course, impossible missions whose tasks include a pursuit on the roof of a high-speed train and infiltrating the Central Intelligence Agency. But as well-conceived as the plot may be, the cinematography is equally commendable. With a range of shots being able to take the viewer from a sense of extreme panic and disorientation all the way to the most in-your-face shots that allow the action and story to carry the film on their own merits. I've seen other highly commended DePalma works, including 'Scarface' and 'The Untouchables', and whilst the former is exceptional in its style and excecution the latter is miserably out-of-synch with its own content. Even against 'Scarface', 'Mission: Impossible' more than holds its own. In fact, if there is one thing that 'Mission: Impossible' has over 'Scarface', it's the presence of a much more satisfying conclusion and a much more streamlined story. Heck, even the visuals give the reverred 'Scarface' a run for its money. I must have been about twelve or thirteen when I first saw this film, and it's as affecting today as it was all those years ago. Unfortunately, I'm not a member of the 'Star Wars' generation. Nor is my childhood filled with images from 'Star Wars'. My childhood was defined by movies like 'The Neverending Story' and 'The Land Before Time'. 'Mission: Impossible' was one of the first mature films I'd actually seen. It certainly left quite an impact on me...if only for the fact that I resolved I would one day understand the plot completely. Which, you'll be pleased to know, I now do :-D Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Dec 17, 2005
    8
    I like MI-2 better, but this one certainly is more ambitious plot-wise. The safe-heist and bullet train sequences are keepers, but the other I like MI-2 better, but this one certainly is more ambitious plot-wise. The safe-heist and bullet train sequences are keepers, but the other sequences aren't that good. THe plot kept me guessing. However, that complex plot ultimately backfires on itself at the end, failing to achieve it's highly ambitious goal, but you got so many satisfying thrills out of the plot that you can forgive it's somewhat implausible ending. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    A great movie, but such boring drama scenes did not surprise me and Tom Cruise could have done a lot more in this first action adventureA great movie, but such boring drama scenes did not surprise me and Tom Cruise could have done a lot more in this first action adventure movie. Brian De Palma brings a lot of suspense to this one. Expand
  6. May 21, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first of the "Mission: Impossible" series, starring Tom Cruise as IMF Agent Ethan Hunt. Brian De Palma (Scarface/The Untouchables) directed as well.

    When a mission in Prague goes wrong and most of his team killed, Impossible Mission Forces Agent Ethan Hunt realizes that he has been set up by a mole within IMF itself, and he must assemble a rogue crew to clear his name and find out who the traitor actually is.

    A very entertaining film, but can be a little confusing if you don't like to think while watching a movie. Plus, a very nice cast including Ving Rhames (awesome as always), Jon Voight, Jean Reno and Henry Czerny.
    Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Dec 12, 2006
    2
    The movie was exciting and suspenseful, but needed a better adventure.

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers