Lions Gate Films | Release Date: December 26, 2001
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 111 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
13
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RyanK.Jun 1, 2005
Nothing but cheap, depressing & degrading movie. Doesn't do anything for black women nor black people in General. The only excuse for this movie is so Hollywood could see her screwing the O' Massa butt naked & that's a dirty Nothing but cheap, depressing & degrading movie. Doesn't do anything for black women nor black people in General. The only excuse for this movie is so Hollywood could see her screwing the O' Massa butt naked & that's a dirty cheap excuse to win an Oscar. Monsterball is nothing to be proud of. GET REAL!!!! Oh, & I get sick of people making excuses saying Hallie's character was raped when she was willing to perform like a weak needy hoe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PompèE.Jun 28, 2005
This film was terrible. I was embarrassed, actually. How did Berry win the Oscar? She deserved the Razzie! Bad film. And barely any sex!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
XivixZ.Jun 30, 2002
What the heck is up with Hollywood thinking that crappy endings are good? This movie is pretty good, it has a built up and cry effect like "The Green Mile" but its just humorous seeing P. Diddy fry. This is a cool movie because it gets up What the heck is up with Hollywood thinking that crappy endings are good? This movie is pretty good, it has a built up and cry effect like "The Green Mile" but its just humorous seeing P. Diddy fry. This is a cool movie because it gets up close and personal to racism and gives it a swift kick in the butt. But when the credits roll and you turn off the T.V. you realized this movie was just a 2 hour waste of your life. Don't watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnC.Jul 22, 2002
Polemic. "That boy he just love all those red gumballs." What writing!!! This is Hollywood at its very worst. Self-aggrandizing and emotionally false.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexK.Mar 4, 2002
Pretentious Southern melodrama in the guise of a "meaningful" independent film. Billy Bob pulls the same performance as in "The Man Who Wasn't There," except this time it DOESN'T work, and as for Halle Berry's 10-minute porn Pretentious Southern melodrama in the guise of a "meaningful" independent film. Billy Bob pulls the same performance as in "The Man Who Wasn't There," except this time it DOESN'T work, and as for Halle Berry's 10-minute porn scene for "art's sake"... well, enough said. This movie disappointed me terribly--it is manipulative, inconsistent trash. If you want to see a real independent gem, I recommend "Lantana," or, if you still haven't seen it, "In the Bedroom." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DannyG.Sep 15, 2002
I know deep deep but very deep down this is a good movie, i just couldn't see that in the two and a half horrific hours i was in the theather. I like dramas as much as the next guy, but this one is so depressing and boring i just wanted I know deep deep but very deep down this is a good movie, i just couldn't see that in the two and a half horrific hours i was in the theather. I like dramas as much as the next guy, but this one is so depressing and boring i just wanted to shoot myself, i was looking for a gun the entire movie to get me out of my misery, you want a good drama you can enjoy and survive?, stick to beautiful mind and gladiator. This one is a little more dramatic than we bargained for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RodrigoR.Aug 7, 2004
The only thing that might have made this film worth the time waste was Halley Berry's acting... and it's just not enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BurcO.Jun 24, 2002
The acting is sublime, but the suicidal thoughts you get at the end prove more potent than the great acting. How depressing can you get?
0 of 0 users found this helpful