Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2001
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 470 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
443
Mixed:
21
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarkH.Jan 10, 2007
Watched at least 30 times withthe kids and not once did I feel forced, fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AtTheMoviesJun 30, 2011
It may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and greatIt may not be the most sophisticated Pixar film, but is still a fantastic and charming film. The animation is as beautiful and vibrant as even newer animated films. One of the most original concepts for a film I have ever seen, and great voice acting make this a must-see. One of Pixar's best, and also one of all of animations best films. As will all other Pixar movies, animation is not just for children. This is a wittily funny movie for everyone. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelDAug 6, 2011
One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The characters are likeable and the story is original and heartwarming. Disney never fails to entertain both children and adults.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CRLAug 12, 2011
For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that,For some reason, though I like almost all Pixar films, this is my undeniable favorite. I don't know whether it's the comedic aspect or the fact that it actually drills in some suspense near the end, but this is that kind of movie that, wherever and whenever I see it on, I will watch it to the very end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is perhaps the most heart-warming film that Pixar has created. Mike and Sulley work at Monsters Inc., where their jobs are to scare children to create electricity for the monster world. When a child escapes into the monster world for the first time in history, Mike and Sulley must help her get home safely Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KnucklesChaotixMay 22, 2012
I love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times toI love this movie! It's a work of art made by Pixar in the aspects of comedy, animation, and heartwarming moments. Not to mention the marvelous one-liners and hidden jokes worked into the script so that you have to watch it numerous times to fully appreciate the hidden humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanJun 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's aMonsters, Inc. is film animation at its most heart-warming, poignant and hilarious. The film is not just a simple, pretty diversion to keep the young ones quiet for 90 minutes, but an incredibly clever, multi-faceted film for all ages. It's a buddy movie, it's a work-based sitcom, an imaginative fantasy film, and most pleasingly a biting and intelligent satire on both the world energy crisis and the over-exposure of children to increasingly horrific images in the modern world. Inventively, the monster city is not powered by electricity, gas and oil, but by children's screams, which the workers of Monsters Incorporated, dubbed "scarers" are tasked with collecting by going through portals into the human world, portals which appear as closet doors in the bedrooms of children. The monster world is facing an energy shortage due to the fact that kids "just don't get scared like they used to", resulting in some monsters resorting to increasingly drastic and amoral techniques to extract childrens' screams. The cast all give sterling vocal performances - John Goodman's hairy soft-hearted giant Sulley and Billy Crystal's minuscule green cyclops Mike make a great comedy double-act, Steve Buscemi's reptilian villain Randall is appropriately slimy and conniving, and the staggeringly multi-talented animator/writer/director/occasional actor Bob Peterson voices the cynical slug-secretary-from-hell Roz, and never fails to raise a smile. Monsters, Inc. gets the balance between vastly differing moods just right, with cuteness (Sulley's adorable father-daughter relationship with Boo), humour (anything said or done by Mike) and darkness (Randall's unsavory evil master plan) all given equal service throughout the film by director Pete Doctor and the multiple writers. I also challenge anyone who's in possession of a working heart not to blub at the film's bittersweet, utterly heartbreaking finale. This might provoke considerable debate amongst Pixar devotees (as the vast majority of the studio's output is jolly good, afterall) but I say that Monsters, Inc., while only being the fourth film released, is the very best work the animation powerhouse has produced thus far. It's truly Pixar's finest hour not only due to its flawless technical craftsmanship, but because of its abundance of heart and soul. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hacmiu36Feb 19, 2013
Beautiful, lovely, heart touching. There is a connection between Sullivan and Boo, a father- daughter coonection, nobody could think a monster could love and scared of a little human girl. You should watch this movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
The all-time favorite movie of my childhood. I loved Billy Crystal and John Goodman's chemistry during the film, which made the story even better. The series of twists at the end will not disappoint it's viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 6, 2013
These classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's,These classic pixar movies take me back, such as Toy Story 1 and 2 and Finding Nemo and this one is no exception. Monster's Inc is truly one of the most fun of all the Pixar movies. It's not only a fun adventure into a new world beyond our's, but it also really captures heart (just like most Pixar movies). To me ,(just like the earlier Toy Story movies) this is a movie that i grew up watching almost every single day. It's a fun movie for both kids and adults. Plus, I can't wait for "Monster's University" coming out this summer. Overall, it's a classic Pixar movie that truly should not be taken lightly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 19, 2013
Monsters Inc. is one of my favorite movies of all time, it is my childhood movie, that I grew up with, it is original and funny with lots of jokes and a great time for families and children, the plot is original and clever with lots of cleverMonsters Inc. is one of my favorite movies of all time, it is my childhood movie, that I grew up with, it is original and funny with lots of jokes and a great time for families and children, the plot is original and clever with lots of clever moments and touching scenes, Monsters Inc. is one of the greatest animated movies ever made! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation"Monsters Inc." brings a wonderful cast put in an inventive world that is very creative. The movie is built up on the main characters Mike and Sulley, who are incredibly likable. The animation is beautiful and really proves Pixar's animation is just superb. Its storytelling is wonderful, and is like watching as a kid again. With newer films coming out by the second, movies like "Monsters Inc." remind you of the good old days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787May 11, 2014
One of my favourite movies ever and my most beloved movies when I was a kid. Mike is one of my favourite movie characters he is just so funny. There are so many memorable scenes in this movie from all the jokes and the door scenes in thisOne of my favourite movies ever and my most beloved movies when I was a kid. Mike is one of my favourite movie characters he is just so funny. There are so many memorable scenes in this movie from all the jokes and the door scenes in this movie were great. Amazing voice acting and story made this films one of my favourite and my favourite Pixar films to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwJohnsonJan 19, 2015
This by far my favorite movie. The Story is original, the plot is engaging, and the voice acting is amazing. This is Pixar's finest work, and that's saying something considering classics such as Toy Story, Wall-E, and Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
One thing about Pixar's movies that are true to this day is their trailers do absolutely no justice for the film. There's so much depth and artistry in Pixar's work it's amazing that they have yet to falter after all of these years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Shady313Apr 13, 2015
1010 .................................................................................…………............................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanBurritoSep 10, 2015
Another instant classic from Pixar. Billy Crystal gives a wonderful performance as Mike Wasowski and it has some really moving moments that will bring a tear to even the most cynical person's eye. The story is intriguing and smart andAnother instant classic from Pixar. Billy Crystal gives a wonderful performance as Mike Wasowski and it has some really moving moments that will bring a tear to even the most cynical person's eye. The story is intriguing and smart and Randall makes a good villain. Well done Pixar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbyNov 4, 2015
As well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see forAs well as original, Monsters, Inc. is fantastic and has its charms. The main characters, Sully and Mike, are lovable, as is the adorable child 'Boo'. With great voice-acting and animation, this makes one of Pixar's best, and a must see for Pixar fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeDec 27, 2015
Monsters, Inc. has basically captured what Pixar did. It's watchable and the best for you and your family! Although not able to express the feelings of the original Toy Story and 2, but it's still great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
A film that deserves no introduction, "Monsters, Inc." is absolutely fantastic. A great story, some extremely fantastic characters, brilliant animation, humor, heart, charm, and some catchy tunes, "Monsters, Inc." has it all. There's no twoA film that deserves no introduction, "Monsters, Inc." is absolutely fantastic. A great story, some extremely fantastic characters, brilliant animation, humor, heart, charm, and some catchy tunes, "Monsters, Inc." has it all. There's no two ways about it, "Monsters, Inc." is an absolute blast that I couldn't recommend highly enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SusanoSep 3, 2010
One of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is aOne of my favourite Pixar films, and a true popular classic. While it lacks the soul of Toy Story, it's a crackingly good film, with impressive animation and loveable characters. While just missing out on perfection, Monsters Inc. is a brilliant, loveable and well done film that anyone can enjoy. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
it doesn't have the same sophistication as Toy Story, but still its an awesome Pixar movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
A fantastic movie that has a touching story, fantastic characters, and a lot of humor, one of the best animated movies for kids of all time, a must watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Apr 5, 2011
In my opinion, this is probably the least memorable Pixar movie. But on its own, its a very good movie. Better than the other big animated movie released in the same year, Shrek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Monsters Inc." is the milestone animation of Pixar's big debut to the 21st century. As expecting, the film is amazing, containing good morals that audience of every age can understand and appeal. Two thumbs up!!!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkJan 6, 2012
Monsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, whichMonsters, Inc is a great film. What it is is funny, well animated and well written. What it isn't is Pixar's best, it's still a classic, but not up there with the best of the Pixar films. Mike, Scully and the gang are a memorable bunch, which is why I suppose Pixar are making a prequel to the film for 2013. The film is great but not superb, it shows that Pixar can yet again make a great film about just about anything that is great viewing for kids and adults alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Monster's Inc is extremely heartwarming and original along with mostly going for laughs the whole time which it most definitely does. And the film may scare some children but overall it is fantastic. I give this film 86%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Kanda2012Feb 16, 2012
I have seen it three times. This movie has both funny and moving scene. I really enjoyed it. If you want to see heartwarming movie, I recommend it to you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
The connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannotThe connection of humans and monsters in this movie is so out of this world, and that is truly proven with its fantastic story. The graphics and visuals are just incredible. It is truly a delight to watch from start to finish, I just cannot fault this wonderful movie. Because of these amazing features, this film is definitely one of Pixar's best.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Excellently animated and voice acted, "Monsters Inc." is yet another reason why Pixar is the king daddy of noteworthy animated movie storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews