Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    True to the spirit of the original film, "Monsters Inc.", and matches its tone. But it never seems content to turn over old ground.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 19, 2013
    91
    Speaking of second chances, Monsters University is exactly the rebound Pixar needed after 2011's "Cars 2" left some wondering if the studio had lost its magic.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jun 17, 2013
    91
    It’s easily the most enjoyable animated film so far this year, one that is visually stunning, wickedly subversive, incredibly funny (Day's character is a hoot), and (at times) lump-in-your-throat emotional.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    83
    Keep your ears tuned for Helen Mirren as the imperious Dean Hardscrabble. Hogwarts would have loved her.
  5. Reviewed by: Trevor Johnston
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    While Monsters University can’t claim outright originality, this is a far richer movie than most were expecting.
  6. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    The animation is photoreal – startlingly and mesmerisingly so. And the depth of feeling the tale of their friendship evokes is matched only by your incredulity, as you paw at your eyes six minutes later, that you are crying about two computer-generated umbrellas.
  7. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jul 8, 2013
    80
    Dazzlingly clever and hugely funny, it succeeds both as a broadening of the Monsters universe and as a film in its own right. Monsters University had a tough task, and it’s passed with honours.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 18, 2013
    80
    Monsters University aces a two-part test—first, appealing to kids with gorgeous, hyperrealistic animation that teases out every pink hair on a beastly art student; then luring in parents with several knowing jokes about strumming your guitar on the quad or playing beer pong.
  9. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 9, 2013
    80
    Even when the story mechanics feel more than a bit secondhand, the exquisite interplay of vibrant pastel hues and almost photorealist textures (smoothly but not crucially enhanced in 3D) makes the film a continual pleasure to behold.
  10. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    A charming, family friendly endeavor and, although it falls short of the best Pixar has brought to the screen over its long association with Disney, it's nevertheless worth a trip to the theater, especially for kids.
  11. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The visuals are impressive, while the goodhearted and endearing story is a little slight.
  12. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Crystal, 65, and Goodman, 61, are a long time out of college, but they somehow manage to carry off the callowness of youth.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    It's all infectious fun, despite the lack of originality. In the art of tickling funny bones, Crystal and Goodman earn straight A's.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The ending takes an unfortunate detour that stretches the running time, but this is still quality Pixar work.
  15. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 19, 2013
    75
    True to its name, Monsters University brims with cleverly designed creatures, a student body worthy of the recently deceased Ray Harryhausen. What the movie lacks is its precursor’s human ace-in-the-hole—that pint-sized, inadvertent agent of chaos, Boo.
  16. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 19, 2013
    75
    The movie is mostly fun and ultimately disposable, which is a letdown after Pixar's previous greatness.
  17. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 9, 2013
    75
    Monsters University, the latest Pixar offering, charms in an excessively familiar way that illustrates a troublesome eventuality: Pixar has lost its edge.
  18. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    Though this is a sweet, clever, gorgeously animated movie I’d be glad to take my kid to on a Saturday afternoon, I’m not sure it’s one I’d insist all my grownup friends drop what they’re doing to see.
  19. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 20, 2013
    70
    Perhaps only Pixar could give us such a rare beast: a delightful disappointment.
  20. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 19, 2013
    70
    It’s cute, funny, exciting to look at but not quite magical.
  21. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 21, 2013
    65
    What hasn't advanced is the plotting, which was nothing special last time and is so formulaic now that it's basically surprise-free.
  22. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 21, 2013
    63
    The background designs are beautiful and there are plenty of lively sight gags, but magic isn’t in the cards.
  23. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    Though colorful and sweet-natured and occasionally capable of producing the mild chuckle, this is a safe, predictable, edge-free, nearly bland effort from a studio that rarely hedges its bets.
  24. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    Despite its brainy title, Monsters University only earns a passing grade on its looks.
  25. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 19, 2013
    63
    This is not a bad movie, and to small children it will be a very good one. But it is closer to average than one would wish from the company that gave us “Up,” “Wall-E,” “The Incredibles,” and “Toy Story 3."
  26. 63
    Monsters University is a prequel that is far more conventional, not nearly as witty or clever as that original.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 139
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc.I was pleasant with Monsters University. I was disappointed with Cars 2 and Brave then I had to see this movie because I love Monsters, Inc. It turns out that Monsters University is surprisingly imaginative and hilarious, with clever moments and insightful animation. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    If you're like me and you were extremely disappointed with "Brave" and "Cars 2" then SEE THIS MOVIE! It only proves that Pixar still has thatIf you're like me and you were extremely disappointed with "Brave" and "Cars 2" then SEE THIS MOVIE! It only proves that Pixar still has that magic touch that many skeptics were saying had faded. I saw it on an unfortunately small screen and I was still excited the entire time. This movie is also worth seeing in 3D. The animation is amazing. #seeit Full Review »
  3. Jun 22, 2013
    6
    Not a bad film but nothing special from Pixar. I am a big Monsters inc. fan and I really like the characters of Mike and Sully, but I wasNot a bad film but nothing special from Pixar. I am a big Monsters inc. fan and I really like the characters of Mike and Sully, but I was hoping for a more spirited effort. Full Review »