New Line Cinema | Release Date: November 21, 1997
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 426 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
323
Mixed:
31
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
"Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" is just terrible. It's like watching a PG-13 version of sesame street, where they all fight with poor effects rather than to talk out. Don't, just don't waste your time on this.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
DeviousBastardApr 20, 2011
Beyond awful. Crap acting, script, effects, and action. Everything in this movie fails. One of the worst films I've every seen. Awful, awful, awful, awful!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
JamyzDec 22, 2011
this is a terrible movie so much that the actor that plays as johnny cage told his agent to kill him off thats how bad this movie is its hard to believe that they could make a crap version of mortal kombat 1 its like throwing up on a polishedthis is a terrible movie so much that the actor that plays as johnny cage told his agent to kill him off thats how bad this movie is its hard to believe that they could make a crap version of mortal kombat 1 its like throwing up on a polished turd the only reason i give this movie a one cause its a whole lot of fun to make cracks at this movie and to see how not to make a movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
MKfan95Mar 1, 2012
Quite possibly one of the worst sequels ever to be released in theaters, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation literally Destroyed All Expectations, the plot makes no sense, and they literally tried to cram inIn almost every single one of theQuite possibly one of the worst sequels ever to be released in theaters, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation literally Destroyed All Expectations, the plot makes no sense, and they literally tried to cram inIn almost every single one of the characters from both the games Mortal Kombat II and MK3 without giving them sufficient screen-time nor development, aside from that, the film suffers from bad recasting and acting, lackluster fight scenes, cheap production values, and some of the worst CGI ever to assault cinema screens. My advice: stick to the original, and avoid this at all cost. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
idanidan123Mar 6, 2015
I'll give it 1 because it's **** FUNNY !!
OMG the effects, i cried from laughter... BEST MOVIE EVERRRR !
I bet the positive reviews are people who laugh all the way until the ending and they think it's a comedy movie about Mortal Kombat....
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
nathanboJun 10, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can can one possibly enjoy from this.

Kitana: Mother, you are alive!

Sindel: Too bad you will be dead!

If the dialogue isn't ad enough, this film completely killed the lore and intrigue of the first film. Within the first five minutes they just go ahead and kill one of the beloved main characters of the first film. I think I could choreograph better action and the special effects are the worst that have ever existed. There is literally a scene where both the protagonist and the antagonist turn into claymation dragons that fight each other. Robot Chicken has higher quality stop motion animation than this movie. All the actors from the beginning were strapped to wires, as everyone is just unrealistic flying and punching through the air in a way that would only make Joel Schumacher proud. Ten minutes in and you want the film to end. I'm surprised I sat through the whole thing. I can honestly say this is the worst video game to film adaptation. Uwe Boll needs to step up his game if he wants to claim the title.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
PatrickNMar 14, 2008
The most time-wasting movie that i watched.Can your face still be in perfect shape when you get hit by a steel hatchet in the face?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JayE.Nov 14, 2005
The soundtrack was awesome. The movie, not so much. Buy the soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamOct 20, 2005
I wouldn't nessecarily say I was dissapointed with this movie, but I was remotley surpised how truly awful it was. Lame acting, characters, effects, need I go on?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NPOct 3, 2009
It is one of the worst movies I have ever seen! It makes the first movie (which was a masterpiece) a joke. Just watch the first one (its better).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LBJul 14, 2009
I had heard this was horrible, but my sanity was simply annihilated as I watched this on TV. Bad acting, terrible fight scenes, and the plot makes no sense. Characters just randomly show up and fight random characters. The first one was I had heard this was horrible, but my sanity was simply annihilated as I watched this on TV. Bad acting, terrible fight scenes, and the plot makes no sense. Characters just randomly show up and fight random characters. The first one was actually pretty decent, but they really should have left it alone after that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FredB.Oct 18, 2006
When I watch this movie I try to think why it's so bad but I cant pick a reason why. The acting is par and the fighting is par. It doesn't offer anything different form the first film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JBAug 11, 2006
Absolute Trash. The only thing this film annihilates is your sanity. If you can find it on VHS, feel free to use it as a door stop, plate or makeshift ironing board.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GabboEOct 2, 2008
Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, that's pretty much the description of this sequel, it annihilated the opportunity of New Line ever doing another Mortal Kombat movie, i really liked the first Mortal Kombat movie, but i did not like this one Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, that's pretty much the description of this sequel, it annihilated the opportunity of New Line ever doing another Mortal Kombat movie, i really liked the first Mortal Kombat movie, but i did not like this one as much as i liked the first one, what went wrong with this one was that almost everyone of the original cast has been replaced except for Robin Shou as Liu Kang and Talisa Soto as Kitana, the costumes were terrible, the special effects were vomit, the dialogue was absolutely cheesy, the fights were not as good as the fights in the first MK movie and there were too many characters jumping in and out, bottomline: the original Mortal Kombat movie is an excellent masterpiece, but the sequel Mortal Kombat: Annihilation is a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChristianS.Aug 8, 2009
Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is faithful to the video game that i played when i was 10, the whole film is brought down by terribly cheesy Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is faithful to the video game that i played when i was 10, the whole film is brought down by terribly cheesy and outdated visual effects, corny dialouge, annoying characters, and a terrible script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeS.Nov 17, 2005
The first Mortal Kombat movie was probably one of the first above average movies based on videogames but this one...... avoid at all costs if its on tv or something and there is nothing on MAYBE watch it while doing something else soundtrack The first Mortal Kombat movie was probably one of the first above average movies based on videogames but this one...... avoid at all costs if its on tv or something and there is nothing on MAYBE watch it while doing something else soundtrack is pretty good though maybe just have it on in the background to listen to the music IF you like Techno as much as im badmouthing this movie I really cant give it a zero your movie doesnt even the right to be called a movie if it gets a zero from me. You might be fine with it if your really interested in seeing where the kombatants ended up after Mortal Kombat of course this has NOTHING to do with that at all so maybe you wont. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WesE.Nov 15, 2005
Imagine that, if after buying the MK: Annihialation DVD, that you open the case, however instead of finding a disc, you opened up Pandora's Box, which in turn sent millions of acidious, flesh-eating parasites straight for your genital Imagine that, if after buying the MK: Annihialation DVD, that you open the case, however instead of finding a disc, you opened up Pandora's Box, which in turn sent millions of acidious, flesh-eating parasites straight for your genital area. I would have said this about this sad lump of dying termite queens even if I weren't disappointed. And I was disapointed; I'd choose a lifelong career drowning puppies than watch this movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EdgarVNov 25, 2008
A very bad movie at all levels even though in my opinion is a little- but only a little- better than the first which was pretty awful itself... From bad acting to ridiculous special effects the experience turns into un unbearable torment... A very bad movie at all levels even though in my opinion is a little- but only a little- better than the first which was pretty awful itself... From bad acting to ridiculous special effects the experience turns into un unbearable torment... This is definitely the movie you should be looking forward... to avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
j30Feb 13, 2012
The first Mortal Kombat movie made a lot of money, why not make another one? Mortal Kombat: Annihilation is exactly why you don't make another one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
KadeemluvmusicOct 12, 2012
With no Paul W.S. Anderson and no returning cast (just Robin Shou), I watched Annihilation and I think it's one of the worst video game movies or sequels I've ever saw. New Line just subsequently alienated the sequel into a circus filled withWith no Paul W.S. Anderson and no returning cast (just Robin Shou), I watched Annihilation and I think it's one of the worst video game movies or sequels I've ever saw. New Line just subsequently alienated the sequel into a circus filled with bad acting, a terrible script, and a useful excuse of putting my favorite characters from Mortal Kombat II (Kitana and Mileena) into nothing but prostitutes. Don't buy it, matter of fact, don't rent it on Blu-Ray. I should really stick to the original Kombat and maybe soon Warner Bros. could find a way to reboot the Mortal Kombat franchise and turn it into an R-rated format because the game series is rated M for Mature, so why not bring on the fatalities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Rox22Feb 13, 2013
While I do give this movie some credit for trying to remain loyal to the games, it kind of get lost in trying to do too much and not doing anything significant to explain a thing to the audience. Even a die-hard MK fan as myself had to go WTFWhile I do give this movie some credit for trying to remain loyal to the games, it kind of get lost in trying to do too much and not doing anything significant to explain a thing to the audience. Even a die-hard MK fan as myself had to go WTF when watch this movie. Overall: An extremely poor example of a movie that just seems to be there to milk the franchise for all its worth. Not to mention the extremely BAD "acting." Almost makes the Street Fighter movie look like Shakespeare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
marcmyworksAug 24, 2016
Why oh why was this made the way it was? First off why was most of the original cast replaced by worse actors. Then why add a myriad of characters only to give them minutes of screen time and finally why clump them together in non-impressiveWhy oh why was this made the way it was? First off why was most of the original cast replaced by worse actors. Then why add a myriad of characters only to give them minutes of screen time and finally why clump them together in non-impressive action sequences. This film should really have been made to measure the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SuperWooperMay 22, 2016
Just barely misses out as one of those "so-bad, it's good" movies. The acting is cringingly bad, the costumes are terrible, the special effects are god awful, the action scenes are boring, the story is bad, absolutely no character is likable,Just barely misses out as one of those "so-bad, it's good" movies. The acting is cringingly bad, the costumes are terrible, the special effects are god awful, the action scenes are boring, the story is bad, absolutely no character is likable, not even Sub-Zero. and turning into one of the most controversially goriest gaming franchises of all time into a PG-13 movie is an extreme disappointment. This movie is a disgrace to the Mortal Kombat franchise and proof that NO video games should ever be made into movies, because even the best concepts get screwed up by Hollywood.

The music is decent at least, earning it 1 point.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
evokingsSep 8, 2016
I can remember being a kid and watching the first MK movie, I watched this movie with high expectations,..well I knew there was something wrong with the movie immediately, the movie opens with horrid cg effects, and a lot of the original castI can remember being a kid and watching the first MK movie, I watched this movie with high expectations,..well I knew there was something wrong with the movie immediately, the movie opens with horrid cg effects, and a lot of the original cast has been replaced, with less qualified actors for the roles, and along the way to the end of the movie the effects are laughable at best, this movie is a slap in the face to the viewers of the first movie, and the first movie had it's faults, but I feel it had a point of quality that it would not drop below ...now you ask me what is this movie good for? ...well as a chapter in the series of Mortal Kombat it fails [in my opinion] but in some ways this movie is good... Ahem well a good example of a movie thats so bad it's good lol, if you want a good laugh watch it with friends I laughed at the choppy effects, silly dialog, and the less then passable [some times over the top] [and under the top at times] acting, most all the raiden bits make me laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KaprawiecJun 23, 2015
This movie was pretty **** even back in the days it was first released - i would give it 4/10 then. What a waste... My first 0 on imdb goes to a movie based on one of my favourite series. Worst MK product.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheDude-Nov 1, 2015
Mortal Kombat Annihilation is embarrassingly awful with some of the most amateur acting, special effects, dialogue and plot ( that is also filled with inconsistencies.) the only thing positive i can mention is that the film has a goodMortal Kombat Annihilation is embarrassingly awful with some of the most amateur acting, special effects, dialogue and plot ( that is also filled with inconsistencies.) the only thing positive i can mention is that the film has a good soundtrack other than that it is one of the worst films i have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rehmedies97Oct 7, 2016
Oh boy, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation. An almost perfect example of how not make a sequel or a adaptation. There were two good things in this movie that I was able find. The recycled theme song from the first film, and a somewhatly interestingOh boy, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation. An almost perfect example of how not make a sequel or a adaptation. There were two good things in this movie that I was able find. The recycled theme song from the first film, and a somewhatly interesting premise. The CGI is beyond awful, despite it having almost twice the budget of the first film. Most of the actors have been replaced and do really poorly jobs with the debatably more awful script. The set design is mostly so-so. The choreography in the fights mostly consisted of mindless backflips and this martial arts flick seem more a ballet. And the costumes are strictly dime store cosplays. The film in itself was just all around horrendous and painful to sit through. Seems like film that Uwe Boll would crap out in his early career. Overall 17/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
P_PhillipsJul 11, 2016
The big problem with the movie is there are far to many characters probably because they jumped to Mortal Kombat 3 in the game sequence skipping game 2. So while there are a number of characters in game 3 they incorporate a few game 2The big problem with the movie is there are far to many characters probably because they jumped to Mortal Kombat 3 in the game sequence skipping game 2. So while there are a number of characters in game 3 they incorporate a few game 2 characters as well. In order to provide screen time for all the characters they jump from one scene to the next without any real logical connection between them. Just too much was going on had they extended it (possibly made 2 films) and given it a bit of story and provided a bit of character development like the first movie rather than just a bunch of fight sequences to showcase all the characters it could have been good instead of the mess that was actually provided. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews