Mulholland Dr.

Mulholland Dr. Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 497 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this complex tale of suspense, set in the unreal universe of Los Angeles, writer/director David Lynch explores the city's schizophrenic nature, an uneasy blend of innocence and corruption, love and loneliness, beauty and depravity. (Universal Focus)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. By surrendering any semblance of rationality to create a post-Freudian, pulp-fiction fever dream of a movie, Mr. Lynch ends up shooting the moon with Mulholland Drive.
  2. 100
    Not just everything you want in a David Lynch movie, but damn near everything else you want in ANY movie.
  3. 100
    Lynch's Hollywood is a grand old girl, but she's one with some very treacherous curves. To trace the contours of her sensuality, you need a camera as sensitive as a set of fingertips. Lynch's is.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A genuinely ominous and suspenseful thriller.
  5. It will frustrate viewers who like stories to make instant sense, but fans of provocative puzzles will have mind-teasing fun.
  6. It's a lush, lovely dreamscape of a movie, steeped in familiar vernacular (film noir), yet capable of shooting off in totally unfamiliar, surreal directions.
  7. Mulholland Drive is an extended mood opera, if you want to put an arty label on incoherence.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 152
  1. s.roberts
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    There are not enough positive words to describe this movie and the experience of watching it.
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece. Emotional and incredible feeling when you are watched this movie. So many thanks David Lynch. In my opinion Mulholland Dr. bestMasterpiece. Emotional and incredible feeling when you are watched this movie. So many thanks David Lynch. In my opinion Mulholland Dr. best movie ever. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    This was voted by the LA Films Critic as the movie of the decade, and for good reason..It is one of the very few movies in which the piecesThis was voted by the LA Films Critic as the movie of the decade, and for good reason..It is one of the very few movies in which the pieces not only add up to much more than the whole, but also supersede it with a series of (for the most part) fascinating fragments...If you are looking for a linear structure and the typical hollywood garbage, where the story is neatly tied up - this is not the movie for you..The symbolism, dream structure and the overall feeling in this movie is incredible -

    For those of you who didnt "get" the movie - you can go on the internet and actually find out that about 95% of the movie can be easily explained..But if you think this movie is bad - you know ZERO about movies - and you are better off watching $hit like Inception..or any quinten tarentino movie David Lynch is amazing and so is this movie...I am so glad there are still true artists out there working today..I have personally not seen a better movie since watching this in 2001..Movie of the decade and one of the best movies ever made - touches parts of your soul and goes places where you never thought possible..You will not understand it the first time, and might not fully comprehend it on future viewings..leave logic at the door..open up your heart and soul and this movie will amaze you 10+++
    Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    One of David Lynch's best movies to date!! I think I've watched it a total of 11 times, and each time it gets me. When I first watched theOne of David Lynch's best movies to date!! I think I've watched it a total of 11 times, and each time it gets me. When I first watched the movie, I walked out thinking, what the hell is this movie about. As I began to read articles online, I discovered what a piece of art this movie is. Naomi Watts is amazing. She is one of my favourite actors I always enjoy watching. Expand
  5. May 22, 2015
    8
    I was hesitant coming into this one as my only prior exposure to David Lynch was Wild at Heart, which I completely despised. However, this oneI was hesitant coming into this one as my only prior exposure to David Lynch was Wild at Heart, which I completely despised. However, this one is decidedly better and most certainly worthy of the praise heaped upon it. Featuring a great starring turn from the always stellar Naomi Watts and great direction from Lynch, Mulholland Dr seems to be great proof that Lynch hates his audience and typical storytelling conventions, which make for a great combination in this film. One of the most confusing puzzles I have ever come across in film, Mulholland Dr has some seriously great writing and manages to have numerous moving parts that it brings together quite nicely. Not all the pieces fit and it is hard to determine what the puzzle is actually of, but there's an answer somewhere. What the answer is, I have no idea, because I have no idea what I do not know at this point. The film really manages to set you up nicely and the pull the rug right out from under you with constant twists and turns that you do not expect that makes coming to a conclusion about what you just witnessed all the more difficult. All I know is that something sinister is afoot in Hollywood in this film that feels like a nightmare from beginning to end.

    *SPOILERS*
    The best conclusion I can come up with is just a fragment of a singular conclusion. For one, it is certainly a comment on people coming to Hollywood who are entirely idealistic and how Hollywood corrupts them, messes with their mind, and makes them entirely jaded. In Hollywood, things seem to happen at random, but rather, they are controlled by a single entity who oversees everything and determines who will have success and who will not have success. The haves and have nots are ultimately determined by who gives in to those in power. If you do, your wildest dreams will come true. However, at the end of the day, to me the key to unlocking this box (lol) is Club Silencio. From that moment in the film on, things certainly take a turn and to fully understand this one, I think that serves as a good starting point. The answer is somewhere there, but what the answer is, I have no idea.
    *END SPOILERS*

    Ultimately, Mulholland Dr is a fun film to sit down and try to dissect. It's a beautiful work that deserves the praise it has received in spades and will certainly be a film that keeps me thinking for a while after its ending.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My first movie review on metacritc and I've decided to do a movie which didn't impress me at all. Watching movies like Primer, Momento, Triangle, and Pulp Fiction I was recommended by a friend to watch this movie. So I did watch it, and I had high expectations for it because everyone was praising this movie as a masterpiece so my standard for this movie was 9/10.

    So after watching this movie (with an open mind and watching all the details.) I thought to myself. "what the hell did I just watch?" The movie was so weird after the 1 hour and 55 minute mark that it was confusing but in a terrible way. Scenes didn't make sense, transitions were awful and abrupt that I couldn't tell what if it was a "flashback" or if it was real life. The movie asked more questions then rather just answered them. If David Lynch could have executed these scenes a lot better instead of adding nonsense scenes in the first part of the film this movie could have been a lot better. And it seems that David Lynch has never had a dream before because half the time Rita was focused in the first 80% of the film. And since it's Diane's dream... wouldn't the dream be in Diane/Betty's prospective because it's her dream and not Rita's?

    The problem with this movie is that it couldn't make it's point clear like the other movies I have watched, (momento, triangle, primer all had moral elements that were clear to the audience.) This movie relied on too many symbols and elements that can only be caught in a 3rd time viewing this movie. But Naomi's Acting was amazing and I found the "dream's plot" somewhat interesting but after Rita looked in the Blue Box... all hell went loose and that's why this movie deserves a 5/10. I would recommend if you are a David Lynch fan but if you are looking for a causal mind twisting movie.. then skip it.
    Expand
  7. NV
    Feb 19, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland Drive, you owe me 2.5 hours of my life back! Expand

See all 152 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.