Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 23, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 457 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
367
Mixed:
53
Negative:
37
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LarryS.Dec 29, 2005
Excellent film! Cast, writing and direction were all extremely well done. Nice to have a film where you have to think! Quite frankly those who rated the film poorly would have been better off seeing Cheaper by the Dozen 2 or King Kong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrahamM.Dec 31, 2005
This is the best film of 2005, definately. very intelligent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
billys.Dec 30, 2005
Oh, now I get it... Palestinians are evil doers who kill Jews and feel nothing. Jews are good people who can kill Palestinians for revenge, but they're still good because they will suffer terrible guilt for doing it. Speilberg says the Oh, now I get it... Palestinians are evil doers who kill Jews and feel nothing. Jews are good people who can kill Palestinians for revenge, but they're still good because they will suffer terrible guilt for doing it. Speilberg says the film shows both sides fairly but the closing shot sure tells you which way He's leaning! The fall from my anticipation high for this film might be critical! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GavinM.Dec 30, 2005
This is a very reckless piece of film making. In many ways it is morally corrupt, and is the more distasteful because of its "based on true events", post 9/11, moviemaker of his generation, mainstream movie credentials. It attempts to make This is a very reckless piece of film making. In many ways it is morally corrupt, and is the more distasteful because of its "based on true events", post 9/11, moviemaker of his generation, mainstream movie credentials. It attempts to make an emotional connection between the "good" killers and the viewer, but it ends up being just an ugly manipulative, and sometimes pornographic work. The twin towers analogy, with its Shindlers List - lite soundtrack is insulting in content and predictability, and the sex/violence montage near the end is pathetic. The worst scene morally includes the murder and disrobing on a woman, and is equal in its "lust" to portray the killers depravity as any of the Nazi killings in Spielbergs Schindlers List. If this was the film makers point then he hit it, but the joy displayed in this "kill" as opposed to the horror in the previous film, is disturbing. Beyond that, Spielberg continues to make shiny, but emotionless movies - excepting SL and perhaps Saving Private Ryan. Eric Bana does a creditable job, as does Cairan Hinds, but characters are painted in such broad stripes that it is obvious that Spielberg hasn't lived in the real world for many many years Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterG.Jan 11, 2006
One of the most incredible thought provoking movies in years. I was skeptical to view such a long movie at first but this movie kept me on the edge of my seat until the credits began to roll. This may very well be the best movie I have ever One of the most incredible thought provoking movies in years. I was skeptical to view such a long movie at first but this movie kept me on the edge of my seat until the credits began to roll. This may very well be the best movie I have ever seen. Every element from cinematography, music, acting, and plotline were amazingly well executed with exciting action and mind stimulating dialogue. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkT.Jan 14, 2006
Another Spielberg masterpiece, but not always clear on character motivation. Many loose ends not always explained. Special efects are superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonL.Jan 16, 2006
I just got back from seeing this film. It was excellent. I have read a number of reviews here on Metacritic and I think it's funny that the people giving it the lowest scores treated Munich like a Tom Cruise action film. Munich was a I just got back from seeing this film. It was excellent. I have read a number of reviews here on Metacritic and I think it's funny that the people giving it the lowest scores treated Munich like a Tom Cruise action film. Munich was a real event and there was retaliation for it. I'm not suggesting, even for a moment that Munich was not a fictionalized account of events. But people should keep in mind killing people is a horrible affair, and when you kill people it affects you. You need look no further than some of our own Vietnam vets and some of the guys coming home from the Gulf. We need to look at this film's real message. Hate breeds hate and that breeds death. I would never suggest that anyone should ever negotiate with terrorists, but perhaps its time to put under the microscope how they become that way? Stop looking to Tom Cruise action heroes for the answers. Munich doesn't have them either, but it does raise some interesting questions about where peace begins. Avoid this film if you don Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichG.Jan 18, 2006
Gripping well acted and thrilling. Great use of the handheld camera. A most see for movie makers and movie goers. with a fantastic serious story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ConnieM.Feb 19, 2006
Warning: Spielberg's 'Munich' was filled with graphic violence, sex and gore. This is not a film to teach a class 'history'. I am glad that the movie was made because as with Schindler's List people need to be Warning: Spielberg's 'Munich' was filled with graphic violence, sex and gore. This is not a film to teach a class 'history'. I am glad that the movie was made because as with Schindler's List people need to be reminded of the inhumanity Anti-Semitism breeds; but, 'Munich' lacked detail and background in an effort to be what too many see as a 'balanced' point of view. The cineamatography was wonderfuly European and slick. The 'jewish injokes' were fabulous (I fear I was the only one who 'got it' here in Kansas) and I could not get over how much detail was given to locations and sets. Yet I fear it was too long. After all the emotional abuse I didn't have much left for the end. They should do a tighter, more spartan 'directors cut' for the DVD. PS If anybody wants more background they should pick up "One Day in September' a documentary about what happened in 'Munich'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeB.Mar 19, 2006
Impeccable looking movie, sags a bit in the second half as we examine and reexamine the angst of violence. Most important, the director's striving for "balance" between Israel and Palestine is emotional camouflage. His true bias is Impeccable looking movie, sags a bit in the second half as we examine and reexamine the angst of violence. Most important, the director's striving for "balance" between Israel and Palestine is emotional camouflage. His true bias is distinctly American. Spielberg preaches "peace" in this film. No doubt he's sincere. As it happens, though, Israel can only be maintained by struggle. Realistically, how else can a few million people expect to hold out among more than a billion Muslims? Spielberg is not a Jew in any absolute sense. In the end his lead character in the movie abandons the land given by God to his ancestors and the director clearly approves. Why be a fanatic, he suggests, when you can retreat to Manhattan and live comfortably. The Jews are at bottom a religion, that's why they've endured as a distinct entity. By comparison, Zionism is very young but the two impulses tend to bond strongly in their commitment to Israel. Religious Jews believe that they are a covenant people with a unique relationship to the Creator. If that's true, Islam will erode and crumble before Jewry, whatever the odds look like now. In the Jewish view (and Christian), there is no God but God and Mohammed is not His prophet. His religion is built on sand, it will fall sooner or later, as the Lord decrees That statement would earn me a death sentence in many Islamic countries. I wonder if this website's editor will permit it to pass. Religious and Zionist Jews do not expect the defense of Israel to be easy. Any more than defending freedom will be easy. Quitters are easy to understand but not so easy to admire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DamianP.May 12, 2006
Well made, but fairly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreA.Dec 19, 2005
Excellent. People who have strong biases either way will not enjoy this movie because it does not have enough red meat for either side (Palestine vs. Israel). But that's the point. There was a movie a long time ago called WarGames. The Excellent. People who have strong biases either way will not enjoy this movie because it does not have enough red meat for either side (Palestine vs. Israel). But that's the point. There was a movie a long time ago called WarGames. The computer became self-aware and it looked for a moment like it would launch missles and blow up the whole world. With suitable wisdom, it concluded that the only way to win was not to play. When you see this movie, you'll see the parallel I'm drawing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryH.Dec 22, 2005
This is one of Spielberg's very best films. It is strong, haunting, and impeccably made. There's not a lot of validity in some of the criticisms.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanB.Dec 24, 2005
It's pretty silly, as any sort of commentary. It's like what Syriana would have been if it wasn't smart and didn't do its research. The acting is great (but Bana seems to always be good no matter what he's in?), and It's pretty silly, as any sort of commentary. It's like what Syriana would have been if it wasn't smart and didn't do its research. The acting is great (but Bana seems to always be good no matter what he's in?), and as a film it's not bad. But it's just a bunch of make believe. Which would be ok except that its purporting to be *real*, but all it's got is a bunch of Hollywood pathos. I mean come on--the scene near the end with the main character doing his wife, intercut with memories of the murder in Munich? Gag me. I don't think it portrays either the Israelis or the Arabs particularly well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.GoldDec 25, 2005
To disagree with a truthfulness of a story is okay (even if it's true) but to stop it from enjoying the film is retarded, so don't listen to those people. It may seem preachy to goyim, but to anyone who actually understands the To disagree with a truthfulness of a story is okay (even if it's true) but to stop it from enjoying the film is retarded, so don't listen to those people. It may seem preachy to goyim, but to anyone who actually understands the issue at hand should be proud of the middle ground that this film impressively takes. It works on so many levels including an action film. Great acting, directing, script and not overlong even though it's close to 3 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThewisekingDec 25, 2005
Obvious, overwrought monologues damn near killed this film. The story should just have been told, without the upper west side liberal american jewish guilt layered all over it. Trust me. Mossad agents whose families went up in smoke in Obvious, overwrought monologues damn near killed this film. The story should just have been told, without the upper west side liberal american jewish guilt layered all over it. Trust me. Mossad agents whose families went up in smoke in Europe just one generation before, were not very likely to be engaging in lumpy theatrical monologues of self doubt when bumping off palestinian terrorists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattS.Dec 27, 2005
Dull. beautiful to look at. but poorly acted and scripted. unlike movies like 'goodnight and goodluck' and 'brokeback mountain', the script for 'munich' has to spell out everything. the ending shot of the twin Dull. beautiful to look at. but poorly acted and scripted. unlike movies like 'goodnight and goodluck' and 'brokeback mountain', the script for 'munich' has to spell out everything. the ending shot of the twin towers in nyc at the end of the 70s is manipulitative and offensive. like many Spielberg 'serious' films, it looks good, it's marketed well.....and its thuddingly dull and moderately offensive to those w/a working brain. its also technically a marvel to look at. the academy will somehow overlook many, many superior films and include this in the 5 best picture academy award nominees. it will not win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Dec 29, 2005
[***Possible Spoilers] I had a real problem with the politics of this movie. Additionally, Spielberg uses a lot of typical Hollywood film cliches...the worst one being at the end when he's cross-cutting between the shooting of the [***Possible Spoilers] I had a real problem with the politics of this movie. Additionally, Spielberg uses a lot of typical Hollywood film cliches...the worst one being at the end when he's cross-cutting between the shooting of the Isreali athletes in Munich and the lead character making love to his wife. Oh yeah...this film was very, very long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikN.Dec 29, 2005
Solid movie from Steven Spielberg. A bit too much of a left wing slant, and a tad too long and sluggish in spots, it is nonetheless extremely powerful and violent. A tough movie to watch, but brilliant in spots and great overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DullDullerDec 29, 2005
1 point for the art direction and costumes. 1 point for the cinematography. 1 point for all the exotic locales. The rest is dull, pointless, uninteresting and totally unmoving. I didn't identify nor care about any of the characters 1 point for the art direction and costumes. 1 point for the cinematography. 1 point for all the exotic locales. The rest is dull, pointless, uninteresting and totally unmoving. I didn't identify nor care about any of the characters especially the main lead played by Bana. What I found particularly offensive is how Spielberg kept trying to emotionally connect the main character to the events in Munich - all of which felt extremely forced as it was constantly crammed down the audience's throat. I nearly laughed when I saw a sweat-covered Bana making love to his wife whilst having "nightmares" about the hostages. There was absolutely no emotional connection whatsoever between the story and any of the players. I have a feeling that this work would've been better served by being two films - one for bonding all the characters to the event and the other for the ten little indians routine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
OrsonO.Dec 29, 2005
First, some real history: this Spielberg film claims to have been "inspired" by history - but in fact is neither. There is not enough life in the story telling for us to actually believe people so dumb actually set out to do tasks requiring First, some real history: this Spielberg film claims to have been "inspired" by history - but in fact is neither. There is not enough life in the story telling for us to actually believe people so dumb actually set out to do tasks requiring actual intelligence. For instance, could any such team get to gether and not discuss their justifications? Speilberg actually believes that eye-for-an-eye vengeance is enough. It ain't La-la land anymore, it's Lamewood! If you, like I do, actually enjoy the theme of how killing challenges poeple to remain on fthe side of the good, see HBS's "Sword of Gideon" (1986). At least several sequences were directly lifted from this superior film. But Speilberg turns the film into agit-prop for anti-nationalistic pacifism and to obscenely equate killing murderers with murder itself: the concluding scenes (fornicating to murder, and the twin towers) were truly offensive to any thinking person. Taking "Schindler's List" together with "Munich" and we have: killing Fascists in uniforms is good - but those wearing hoods and weilding AK-47s is bad; saving Jews from death by industrial means is good, but saving industrious Jews and free Arabs (1-2 milion in Israel) from further terror and Islamic slavery - that's bad! Now if that ain't offensive to you, then you're offensive to me! Anti-Israel and anti-American and self-proclaimed marxist screenwriter Tony Kushner can be thanked - or better yet, blamed - for the recurrent opulent scenes of food - to the point of complusion by our 'hero,' played by the dull Bana. The implication is that the poor dispossessed Palestinians are kept that way by evil Jews! This will comes a surprise the rising middle classes - hundresds of millions of people - in India and China each. Or pehaps Kushner's ideology blinds him to absorbing the news of globalization and direct foreign invewstment's success. At any rate, bor-ing - dated - false "Munich." In fact, contrary to "Munich's" marxist fairy tale - killing PLO assassins saved lives and dimminished terrorism. Terror attacks declined through the mid-late 70s. Not 11 (a contrivance hitting you over the head in case you don't get the "eye-for-an-eye" makes the world blind idiocy that even Ghandi rejected - because he knew Pale Jihadi's weren't the moral equals of British imperialists) were hit, but 18, and the only surviving one lives escaping justice thanks to totalitarian Baathist Syria. There were numerous Mossad teams, ot one, and in fact they didn't have to be miserly "receipt" obsessed Jews to do it. In reality, Israel did the world a favor that Germany ignominiously refused to do. Back then, the PLO found that terrorism didn't pay ans drew down its activities in Eruope because of it. (See Aaron Klein's "Striking Back" for historical details; or see "One Day in September," the Oscar winning documentary from 1999.) 9/11 put the US in Israel's position to prevent expanding evil: needing to strike out agsainst gathering threats before (now nuclear) terrorism reaches us. Now, sensible people will differ as to the best means to reach these just ends - but they cannot disagree with the goal, unless you live in Hollywierd and pray at the church of Speilberg's sophomoric IR! Pray on, loonies. To judge by the tribe of professional reviewers, Speilberg's got loads of brain-dead company. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancescoSDec 31, 2005
Out and out the best Movie of the year!! Bravo! Mature, Complex, Involving, Brilliant, Challenging & Beautifully made. I don't understand what all the fuss is about. Spielberg's Best. He's a Genious. A "Must See".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
UncleChuDec 10, 2010
A decent watch, tracking the descent into madness an undercover agent goes through as he works for the benefit of his state. Bana's performance is excellent, as is the rest of the cast. It certainly went on for too long, which is strangeA decent watch, tracking the descent into madness an undercover agent goes through as he works for the benefit of his state. Bana's performance is excellent, as is the rest of the cast. It certainly went on for too long, which is strange considering there are explosions and murder. Compare it to the Insider which goes on just as long but remains very gripping solely through character interactions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
The events surrounding the 1972 Olympics in Munich, Germany are terrifying real-life acts of terrorism--prime for a cinematic take. Unfortunately, Spielberg loses focus somewhere along the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 26, 2016
A surprisingly compassionate look at the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the aftermath of the Munich massacre, Munich is an expertly crafted historical drama-thriller from Steven Spielberg. The film really provides moments of sheer thrills atA surprisingly compassionate look at the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the aftermath of the Munich massacre, Munich is an expertly crafted historical drama-thriller from Steven Spielberg. The film really provides moments of sheer thrills at times and is always endlessly watchable. However, similar to his later historical works, Munich suffers from being overlong, emotionally distant, and from occasionally poor pacing. Munich, in spite of its sheer entertainment value at times, can slow down to a drag and be a tough watch. When it is humming, it is a brilliant work, but when it slows down, it is merely a dull look at the situation. Fortunately, these moments are infrequent, but noticeable enough over the course of the nearly three hour film to detract from the overall product. That said, the film is well crafted with good acting from Eric Bana and, obviously, Spielberg knows what he is doing in the director's chair. Overall, Munich could be better, but as it stands, it is a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkshayJoshiJun 14, 2016
Great Film, I like Spielberg for variety of subjects in his films, this one is his on of the best, nicely composed and edited film. In some scenes you think you watching A Quentin's film, action sequences are done nicely. Screenplay is mostGreat Film, I like Spielberg for variety of subjects in his films, this one is his on of the best, nicely composed and edited film. In some scenes you think you watching A Quentin's film, action sequences are done nicely. Screenplay is most powerful part of this film! 8/10 to this film from me, a must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrailesqueNov 29, 2016
A very powerful film. It starts out like a pro-Israel spy/terrorist thriller but by the end becomes a LeCarre-like examination of the ambiguities and struggles of covert warfare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews