Muscle Shoals

Muscle Shoals Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Dave Hoekstra
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    Do not leave the film until the last credit rolls by.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan DeLuca
    Oct 11, 2013
    88
    Muscle Shoals isn't perfect. Neither Bono nor Alicia Keyes has any business being in the movie, though Bono does wax poetic about the genius of the music recorded there, and Keyes teams with the Swampers for a strong performance of Dylan's "Pressing On."
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Sep 27, 2013
    85
    Only the genre's most studious followers will be able to watch Muscle Shoals without being regularly astonished: Even if it sometimes gets lost in its byways, Greg "Freddy" Camalier's documentary tells an extraordinary story.
  4. Reviewed by: David Gritten
    Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Overall, it’s joyous, uplifting – and as funky as the music at its heart.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Sep 27, 2013
    80
    A trove of great stills and movie footage accompanies the colorful anecdotes, but the film's most consistent pleasure is the way interviewees recall the moments before the tape rolled on an immortal recording.
  6. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Oct 10, 2013
    75
    The hits just keep on coming in Muscle Shoals, a hugely entertaining, perhaps overlong, documentary about the renowned recording studios in the small Alabama town of the film's title. It's mandatory viewing for fans of the classic rock, soul and rhythm and blues of the 1960s and '70s.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 26, 2013
    50
    At once overstuffed with interviews and intellectually underdeveloped, the movie charts the area’s music industry and what is lyrically if elusively called the Muscle Shoals sound.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This is a fantastic & beautifully filmed documentary. It really captures the magic that went into all the music made at that legendaryThis is a fantastic & beautifully filmed documentary. It really captures the magic that went into all the music made at that legendary recording studio. I would love to own a copy of the soundtrack. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2014
    10
    This is the single best music documentary I've ever seen, and somewhere in the top 30 films I've ever watched. I'll admit my ignorance of theThis is the single best music documentary I've ever seen, and somewhere in the top 30 films I've ever watched. I'll admit my ignorance of the subject but after about 40 minutes of this film I was completely captivated and amazed at the story it is telling. The film is beautifully shot, impeccably researched and genuinely floored me at times. If you have any interest in popular music of the last 50 years I urge you to see it. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    A small town in Alabama became the birth[place of some of the great classic soul hits in the 60s. That was only the beginning for a group ofA small town in Alabama became the birth[place of some of the great classic soul hits in the 60s. That was only the beginning for a group of mostly-white men, who created two studios in Muscle Shoals. Later, numerous big names from the Stones to Lynyrd Skynyrd recorded there. This doc outlines 50 years thru interviews with the founders and some of the stars. Great music and a fascinating history. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for one final quote. Collapse

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings