My Brother

My Brother Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: My Brother is an inner city, New York story of two impoverished boys, one whom is developmentally disabled, and the bond they have for each other. (Codeblack Entertainment)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. The first half of Lover's film is surprisingly affecting...But the film comes apart in its second half, when James' flight triggers a long series of flashbacks to the brothers' childhood.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    40
    A heavy-handed redemption story.
  3. The movie's strongest element is the chemistry between the reflective Mr. Kearse and Mr. Scott (who really has Down syndrome). Improving on its obvious antecedent in "Dominick and Eugene," their relationship feels real, not like a movie contrivance.
  4. 40
    My Brother is brimming with would-be life lessons. But the movie goes in so many directions, and follows through on so few of them, that all it transmits is a vague glow. It's watered-down chicken soup for the soul.
  5. 30
    What it possesses in heart and goodwill, it sorely lacks in narrative skill and artistic depth.
  6. 30
    Writer-director Anthony Lover takes such a kid-gloves approach to his handicapped co-star that he achieves the opposite of the intended effect: Every time Scott enters a scene, it's as if someone just told the entire cast "Whatever you do, don't say 'retard.' "
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. JanetB.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful work, beautiful lessons, beautiful soul. Every moment I cherished. Acting exquisite.
  2. AdeleS.
    Mar 18, 2007
    8
    A warm love story of two brothers struggling in proverty when faced with the death of their mother. Flashback on train too long, ending too abrupt.
  3. JayH.
    May 4, 2008
    5
    5.5/10. It means well but winds up too preachy and tackles too many issues for it's own good. Vanessa Williams gives an earnest and 5.5/10. It means well but winds up too preachy and tackles too many issues for it's own good. Vanessa Williams gives an earnest and sincere performance, the rest of the cast does well too. Collapse
  4. JollieH.
    Mar 15, 2007
    0
    This movie sucks. Not kidding. This is a really, really, really bad movie. The VV was being kind. The director should shoot himself.

Related Articles

  1. Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked

    Every Coen Brothers Movie, Ranked Image
    Published: February 24, 2016
    What is the best film directed by the Coen brothers? Find out as we rank all 17 of their movies.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.