User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 4 out of 27
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianaM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    I just saw this documentary today (05-09-04 ) and I this is one of the BEST documentaries I have seen.
  2. CarrieE.
    May 13, 2004
    10
    We need more people like Susan Tom and her family in this world. Best documentary I have ever seen.
  3. LauraT.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    If there were an 11, this documentary WOULD BE IT! Saw it last night, on Mother's Day, made me go in and kiss my child and be thankful for her more than ever. Also heard that it's up for an Academy Award... THERE WILL BE NO OTHER COMPETITION.
  4. LucasF.
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    I've seen this documentary twice and both times I cried tears of sadness as well as tears of joy. It is by far the most moving piece of work I have ever had the privilege of viewing. My heart goes out to Susan Toms and all her wonderfully beautiful amazing children. Seeing their laughter and smiles opens my soul to the world like nothing else can.
  5. ChristinaW.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    If I could rate this, I would give it way more than a ten. I saw this at 4 in the morning, and it really moved me. I think everyone should watch this!
  6. NicholasP.
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    Your attitude toward what is possible for children with severe handicaps will be transformed.
  7. OzieL.
    May 18, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best documentary movies i have ever seen. i really enjoyed it.
  8. PattiD.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    This movie is the by far the best I have ever seen. It is so real. To have the actual people in it is great. It is very heartfelt and I hope I can find it in DVD. I would like to have my family and friends be able to see it.
  9. LauraleeA.
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    This documentary is so great! It is so touching! Susan Tom is an amazing woman who has changed the world and inspired me to adopt less fortunate children. I can only hope to find this on dvd. I hope whoever hasn't seen this-will!!!!
  10. Christian
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Make a second film about the Toms, it would be apricciated. I actually watched the film on danish television (I'm swedish). The feeling you get is that you just want to be a part of helping out children with these problems, and I hope I will be able to do that some day. I want to know more about how the Toms are today so please consider to make a follow-up.
  11. Debbie
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    This movie is inspiring as well as heartwrenching. I don't remember the last time I cried like this, much less while watching a movie. Thank goodness I watched this at home, I couldn't imagine what I would of looked like coming out of a theater after watching this. If only the world had more people like Susan Tom And the kids, not once did I see one of those children take pity This movie is inspiring as well as heartwrenching. I don't remember the last time I cried like this, much less while watching a movie. Thank goodness I watched this at home, I couldn't imagine what I would of looked like coming out of a theater after watching this. If only the world had more people like Susan Tom And the kids, not once did I see one of those children take pity on themselves or cry because of their disability. They are all heroes in my book. This is definitely a MUST SEE! Expand
  12. KatiS.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    heyy...if you read this susan tom. this is kati schwarz. My brother had cystic fibrosis and he was in hospital room right next door to joe. im so sorry for your. Sadly on Feb. 08, 2004 billy died. i love your documentary, i watch it whenever it comes on. ill try to keep in touch.best of luck. Make another movie...
  13. KristinM.
    May 18, 2004
    10
    It was an excellent documentary, and it makes you realize that all the stuff you think is important isn't really that important.
  14. LisaP.
    May 21, 2004
    10
    I was amazed by this movie i was so inspired i'm only 12 but i think i know what i want to do with my life thank you.
  15. SherryV.
    May 22, 2004
    10
    I just saw this movie early this morning, it is now 6 p.m. and I still cannot get it out of my head. I just wish that I could be half the woman Susan Tom is. Thank You for sharing your life with us.
  16. AaleXXXus
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    This documentary was incredible. I really give Susan credit for enduring all of what she went thru and is going thru now, and all of it was done by HER CHOICE. I recommend everybody check it out if they havent already done so :-)
  17. RichardS.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable display of courage, compassion and strength for one individual. It provides hope that the human race might survive itself. Truly an inspiration of the kind of difference one individual can make in the live of others. Excellent documentary!
  18. BrianS.
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    I've just watched the documentary yesterday (25/06/05) and i must say its one of the most heart touching documentary's i've ever watched. Normally im used to see many harsh things as i am a officer in the danish army and therefor have encountered many horrible sights during the time ive been on a mission, but alll the courage i've heard about in the military don't I've just watched the documentary yesterday (25/06/05) and i must say its one of the most heart touching documentary's i've ever watched. Normally im used to see many harsh things as i am a officer in the danish army and therefor have encountered many horrible sights during the time ive been on a mission, but alll the courage i've heard about in the military don't even compare to the work this amazing women does. If there was way i could support her fantastic work with these unfortunate yet fantastic children, i would do so Brian Stokholm Denmark Aarhus. and Susan if you should ever read this... "keep doing your fantastic work, we're many people who admire the size of your heart and work." Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Doug Brunell
    80
    If you view life as being full of rainbows and ponies, you'll see this film as a remarkable display of courage and hope. If you wake up to reality, though, you'll see this as a depressing exercise in futility.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    One leaves My Flesh and Blood with admiration for the lenser's craftsmanship, and for her ability to remain an unobtrusive observer during moments of extreme emotional turmoil.
  3. You'd have to be a stone not to be affected by My Flesh and Blood, but the director, Jonathan Karsh, merges compassion with voyeurism until you can't tell the difference.