Focus Features | Release Date: June 17, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
10
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Two girls from different backgrounds meet one Summer, spend time together, fall in love, Summer ends.
Decent story & well acted out by the two lead actresses &, of course, Paddy Considine.
Nice setting of a small Northern town & a good
Two girls from different backgrounds meet one Summer, spend time together, fall in love, Summer ends.
Decent story & well acted out by the two lead actresses &, of course, Paddy Considine.
Nice setting of a small Northern town & a good soundtrack to back it up.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
snewgoblinJul 31, 2007
Perfect acting, good story and anti-Christian theme make My Summer Of Love one of the best movies I've ever seen. The only weakness is that the last 20 minutes are too predictable. But it's still a fantastic movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Sep 23, 2006
The best film I've seen this year. It is stunningly beautiful. England's countryside draws you in. You won't be able to take your eyes off the principal actresses; they're brilliant. This is an art film that delivers...I The best film I've seen this year. It is stunningly beautiful. England's countryside draws you in. You won't be able to take your eyes off the principal actresses; they're brilliant. This is an art film that delivers...I hope Hollywood is paying attention. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JordanS.Jun 20, 2006
If the teenage lesbian cliches aren't enough to send you screaming from the theater ("sensitive" redhead with background of abuse meets raven-haired "sophisticated" temptress; sparks fly!), the truly contemptible class and wealth If the teenage lesbian cliches aren't enough to send you screaming from the theater ("sensitive" redhead with background of abuse meets raven-haired "sophisticated" temptress; sparks fly!), the truly contemptible class and wealth cliches will make you want to take a hatchet to Pawlikowski's head (the rich girl is always the bored, cynical, lying predator and the poor girl is always the woeful, basically well-meaning naif). And I haven't even begun to complain about the chock-full-o'-religious-fundamentalism cliches. No, this isn't the worst film ever made. But it has to be amongst the most pretentiously dishonest films I've seen. It's also one of the most ham-fisted scripts I've come across. Natalie Press made an impression. Paddy Considine- bleh. I'm sick of him, too. Oh, and... had the camera shook one more time to suggest emotional distress, a tsunami would have hit England. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shannonNov 30, 2005
If you think that this movie equates homosexuality with insanity, you've missed the whole point. And I think the anti-Christian theme was fresh and daring. Plus, the movie is quietly hilarious. Best movie I've seen in a long tiome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcK.Nov 21, 2005
I'll also agree with "Mark's" comments below. Forget the fact that the critics raved about this movie. It's not even average...it's awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Nov 2, 2005
Extremely well acted. Our sympathies lie with Mona, and even grow at the end, despite the revelation of her darker side. A very fine, emotionally genuine film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomasS.Nov 2, 2005
Beautiful, haunting and evocative. The camera, the cinematography, the environment - everything is utterly captivating. You won't always sympathise with the girls, but apparently that isn't even the director's intention. Beautiful, haunting and evocative. The camera, the cinematography, the environment - everything is utterly captivating. You won't always sympathise with the girls, but apparently that isn't even the director's intention. It's a compelling and riveting story about love and disillusionment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
sebastianl.Oct 9, 2005
Typically class obsessed UK story of 2 girls from different sides of the tracks. And yes they do end up having girl on girl sex, but you would have to be wound up pretty tight to call it pornographic. Nothing new here and not a special movie Typically class obsessed UK story of 2 girls from different sides of the tracks. And yes they do end up having girl on girl sex, but you would have to be wound up pretty tight to call it pornographic. Nothing new here and not a special movie but not as bad as some of these last reviews suggest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mitchellm.Sep 30, 2005
I agree with mark, this movie is vile, crappy, and pronographic, the only people who would like this is horny perverts who substitute sex for art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkSep 14, 2005
Apparently, there is a 3-step formula for making a profound film- shaky camera + a homosexual relationship + pseudo-intellectual ridicule of the Christian faith= this movie is a predictable, tedious waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeatherT.Aug 30, 2005
I walked out of the movie wishing to strangle the people who made this film in much the same way strangulation was portrayed on screen. What a cop-out. Another film equating homosexuality with insanity. Extremely offensive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelAug 30, 2005
An utter waste of time. glorifying lesbianism and having disdain for any christian belief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful