Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 21, 2006
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 260 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
217
Mixed:
21
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RobertxxxxOct 9, 2006
Well cast, with some genuinely fresh moments in what could have been a disaster.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
If it weren't for Uma this might have been a horrible movie, but she was just great. In fact, the entire cast was great. The movie was just kind of decent. Nothing great, but still good enough to enjoy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesSep 2, 2013
It has its charms aplenty, and a cast that works to surprising efficiency, but the humor is only sporadically funny and the script is too conventional to add any real spark to the film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesJun 18, 2014
Wow, these filmmakers really know how to punch us in the face, don't they? This movie offers you absolutely nothing, boasting a solid cast and a terrible, terrible script that possesses lame jokes that are more depressing than funny.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
GerrickC.Aug 2, 2006
Yeah, okay, the premise is nice, but unfortunately this movie didn't surpass the new Superman movie. You got Uma Thurman on this one, but it still can't compete with the Man of Steel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherW.May 9, 2007
Promising premise is consistently undermined by its presentation. This should have been a lot more fun and certainly much funnier. Instead it plays more like 'Fatal Attraction,' instead of the romantic comedy I'm sure was Promising premise is consistently undermined by its presentation. This should have been a lot more fun and certainly much funnier. Instead it plays more like 'Fatal Attraction,' instead of the romantic comedy I'm sure was intended. Thurman's reckless overbearing character quickly grows insufferable and oppressive. The film grows increasingly more preposterous and silly as it goes along, all the while unraveling like a dropped ball of yarn. Big disappointment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnC.Sep 1, 2006
This is one of those movies where the critcs start reveiewing each other's reviews and lose sight of what is actually in the movie. This is by far the funniest movie all summer, with four excellent perfomances. Even more importantly, This is one of those movies where the critcs start reveiewing each other's reviews and lose sight of what is actually in the movie. This is by far the funniest movie all summer, with four excellent perfomances. Even more importantly, the movie has a consistent aesthetic that enables it to create its own world - necessary for anything involving superheroes. I find it hard to believe that there's anyone out there that didn't have a good time watching this movie. I'm afraid this is a rare movie that is crippled by having a premise that is too obviously good. This film executes on the premise perfectly. Go see it if you can so the studios will know that audiences will pay to see elaborate comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkBarfootAug 11, 2006
This film is as good as superman returns!!!! shame that film was awful too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Aug 7, 2006
Moviegoers who attend or rent LOTS of films--especially ones where the commercials or trailers are the best thing about them--are all too used to hearing, reading or uttering phrases like "This was a really interesting/ original/ cute idea, Moviegoers who attend or rent LOTS of films--especially ones where the commercials or trailers are the best thing about them--are all too used to hearing, reading or uttering phrases like "This was a really interesting/ original/ cute idea, but the way they pulled it off was totally disappointing/ unimaginative/ bad". My Super Ex-Girlfriend is NOT one of those movies. The tale of a hapless Everyman (Luke Wilson) who unwisely dates superheroine G-Girl (Uma Thurman), then even more unwisely dumps her only to find that she's as much Alex Forrest as Diana Prince, this completely delightful, thoroughly refereshing coctail is not only the terrific, souffle-light antidote we all needed to this summer's curious run of dismal Rotten Relationship movies (Failure to Launch, The Breakup, Click) but it's also a smarter, more insightful Superheroes Need Love Too flick than that really expensive one out there about the guy who got Lois Lane pregnant. After last year's abysmal romcom Prime, Thurman has found a role (TWO roles, actually) that she sinks her teeth into with flawless timing and great energy: as both G-Girl and her secret identity, mousy-but-smoldering Jenny Johnson, she proves that allowing five acting nominations in comedy as well as drama is the one area where the Golden Globes do it smarter than the Oscars: Thurman is absolutely deserving of nominations for both awards. And talk about sibling rivalry: while brother Owen is currently smelling up the screen in his latest been-there-done-that incarnation as a slacker dude in Me, You & DePoo, Luke Wilson gives an utterly charming, classic leading man performance that easily calls up memories of 1930s James Stewart and 1950s Jack Lemmon. Comic character actress Anna faris (the Scary Movie movies, Just Friends) gets to play it relatively straight and sympathetic as the co-employee that Wilson's really got his eye and heart on--and she's nothing short of absolutely adorable, particularly in the film's last 1 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ReidF.Feb 2, 2007
This was supposed to be a comedy, but it just wasn't funny. In fact, it wasn't much of anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
juliankennedy23Oct 27, 2014
My Super Ex-Girlfriend: 7 out of 10: Director Ivan Reitman hasn't had a great film since Ghostbusters. In fact for such a big name in Hollywood he has had only two great films (Ghostbusters and Stripes both over twenty years ago), one decentMy Super Ex-Girlfriend: 7 out of 10: Director Ivan Reitman hasn't had a great film since Ghostbusters. In fact for such a big name in Hollywood he has had only two great films (Ghostbusters and Stripes both over twenty years ago), one decent film (Dave), some quite mediocre films (Legal Eagle, Six Days Seven Nights, Junior, Kindergarten Cop, and Evolution) and some very serious flops(Fathers Day, Ghostbusters 2).

So needless to say with that track record I expected a high concept comedy such as My Super Ex-Girlfriend to be mediocre at best. Instead it hung in tight at decent.

The film had two personal aces in its corner with me. I like Uma Thurman and I just saw Superman Returns.

The fact I had recently sat through two and a half hours of Superman stalking Lois Lane admittedly greatly added to the humor of this film. The main character actually seems to enjoy her super powers and this movie ironically is one of the more realistic demonstrations of how a mortal given superpowers would act. (Compare to the whining Jessica Alba lays on in Fantastic Four or the angst the X-men feel about not fitting in. If I could fly and shoot fireballs I assure you I would fit in. Hell I would be the center of bloody attention.)

Some superheroes are designed to be dour types (Batman and the Punisher come to mind) but most come across like whining athletes. Thurman is clearly enjoying herself. Uma Thurman fits the role to a tee. In fact all the actors do a great job with special kudos to Anna Faris as the other woman.

Sure some of the gags are juvenile and the movie really could have used an R-rating but when I get to see a super heroine throw a great white shark into the apartment of her rival I feel nothing but pure joy.

It certainly beats some male model in a superman cape moping out side of Lois's house spying with his x-ray vision pretending to be Jesus.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews