Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 3, 2012
    40
    Jang and Odagiri are good as the rival runners and soldiers. But they are surrounded by over-the-top performances, which play out like a mugging contest.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 2, 2012
    50
    The most expensive South Korean film ever made is also one of the most realistic (read: gory) depictions of the horrors of war, specifically World War II, global cinema has ever produced.
  3. Reviewed by: G. Allen Johnson
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    Kang is so over the top and jumbled in his storytelling, this could be his Michael Cimino ("Heaven's Gate") moment.
  4. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Apr 20, 2012
    50
    My Way is not, as the title might suggest, a Frank Sinatra biopic. No, it's an eye-popping, empty-headed World War II epic made in South Korea.
  5. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    Many films are saved in the editing room, but how many are ruined there?
  6. 50
    Adolescent boys will savour My Way's bombast and solemnity. Cringing adult audiences will more likely beat a retreat before final call.
  7. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Apr 19, 2012
    40
    The bloody chaos can be suitably overwhelming, but you're too aware of the whizzing camerawork, helter-skelter editing and bombastic score.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 19, 2012
    30
    The nonstop adversity lacks any real sense of danger. Or, for that matter, emotional punch. Why these two long-distance runners keep each other alive should be of front-and-center concern. Instead, My Way is mostly an endurance test.
  9. Reviewed by: Benjamin Mercer
    Apr 17, 2012
    20
    Perhaps the most charitable thing that can be said about the 143-minute marathon My Way - with a reported budget of almost $25 million, the costliest Korean motion picture ever produced - is that it does nothing by halves.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 17, 2012
    40
    The paeans about national pride and brotherhood may be regional, but constant slow-motion battle scenes and squishy sentimentality are strictly wanna-be Tinseltown.
  11. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Apr 15, 2012
    10
    So bloated that it's forever on the verge of bursting – a sentiment reflected by the film's overindulgence in ear-splitting pyrotechnics.
  12. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    Apr 15, 2012
    20
    Picture operates on the notion that indiscriminate action in service of a formulaic script will keep audiences clutching their armrests, but the results fail to grip.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Maybe it's just because I've been dying to see a new and decent World War II movie, but I really enjoyed My Way and it is easily one of the best war movies I've seen in the past two years. If you can handle reading subtitles and the occasional melodrama present in East Asian films, you'll be in for a great experience. The battle scenes and CGI were amazing and even the story held together well for being as seemingly far-fetched as it was. The only reason I didn't give My Way a 10 is because the story was too rushed. The producers should really have made this into a trilogy or at least a mini-series. Other than that, if you liked Tai Guk Gi and are sick of the crap Hollywood has been unloading on us for the past four years then pick this one up; you won't regret it. Full Review »