TLA Releasing | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
4
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Mysterious Skin is the story of two boys and an event one summer, that changed their lives forever. Both had different reactions to it and both had their whole lives consumed by it. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays Neil, and does an outstandingMysterious Skin is the story of two boys and an event one summer, that changed their lives forever. Both had different reactions to it and both had their whole lives consumed by it. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays Neil, and does an outstanding job. Neil is a male prostitute, cold and heartless on the outside, but lonely and miserable on the inside. JGL does a great job of portraying both to the audience. Be warned thou, this is one graphic film, not for the faint of heart. There are a lot of raw scenes featuring Neil, in fact, I don't think I've ever seen someone get undressed as many times in one movie as JGL does in this one. As for the film, it starts out strong, then in the middle, it seems like your typical, weird, indie flick. Don't turn it off just yet, because it gets better and better, building up to one of the strongest endings I've seen in a long time. This isn't something that hasn't been done before, but a combination of a great cast, top notch acting, and a brutally graphic depiction of events, makes it unique and something that you're going to want to see. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarkAngelFeb 5, 2013
Sad, odd and viscerally beautiful film about the act itself and the aftermath of child molestation. A film about how profoundly such experience can affect the free will, the choices the victims make later in their life and ultimately theSad, odd and viscerally beautiful film about the act itself and the aftermath of child molestation. A film about how profoundly such experience can affect the free will, the choices the victims make later in their life and ultimately the constitution of their personality. Is there a lesson to be learned here? With all the uncompromising depiction and dialogue all over the place, i really doubt that. All that you are left with is the wish that you yourself were able to change the past of these poor souls. Trust me, that implausible and irrational wish will linger on you for days just like some mysterious skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itsmybodysplanOct 31, 2012
People can't face the truth. Araki didn't create the alien idea. It is 0% fictional. Maybe the most incredible story of the last 10 years. The movie is perfect on itself.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
j30Feb 19, 2012
Mysterious Skin is gut wrenching story, tragedy with great acting from Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Brady Corbet. Mysterious Skin is a movie that stays with you, it's impossible to shake off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FannyAug 26, 2010
Shocking, simply shocking! Granted any intelligent viewer would have anticipated the denouement long before it was revealed, still through the masterful work of the director you are held spellbound! wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PaulaS.Aug 1, 2008
One of the most harrowing and strangely touching movies I've seen in many years. The writing and acting are equally terrific.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SiriusC.Aug 2, 2007
This movie was the best depiction on child abuse I've ever seen. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is amazing. The matter in focus is the most delicate subject you can ever put into live pictures, and yet, Gregg Araki manage to put in two seperate This movie was the best depiction on child abuse I've ever seen. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is amazing. The matter in focus is the most delicate subject you can ever put into live pictures, and yet, Gregg Araki manage to put in two seperate storylines, which in the end, connects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Feb 27, 2007
I didn't like it at first but as it went on it kind of made it difficult not to accept and keep watching. Whatever that means. It's really well made. It's not for everyone and I'm not sure, even though I liked it, that it I didn't like it at first but as it went on it kind of made it difficult not to accept and keep watching. Whatever that means. It's really well made. It's not for everyone and I'm not sure, even though I liked it, that it needed to be as graphic as it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Sep 11, 2006
Sometimes it's like a gay "X-Files", and sometimes it's like the third season of "My So-Called Life" that never was(Ricky and Brian Krakow become best friends); all I know is that "Mysterious Skin" is compulsively watchable, a Sometimes it's like a gay "X-Files", and sometimes it's like the third season of "My So-Called Life" that never was(Ricky and Brian Krakow become best friends); all I know is that "Mysterious Skin" is compulsively watchable, a movie whose irreverent treatment of child abuse is grounded with irony-free angst (it's nothing like the equally brilliant "Happiness" by Todd Solondz) and a soundtrack (a Fraser-less Cocteau Twins) that perfectly encapsulates the feeling of alienation in a small-town. How the celibate boy's story is actually the same story as the chicken-hawking Goth Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GaborA.Aug 15, 2006
I never walk out of movies. I'll suffer through anything to criticize it afterwards and warn others. That was until I tried to watch this movie. Utterly unwatchable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ScottW.Apr 17, 2006
Why is it that those who dislike movies about tough subjects, tend to dismiss them entirely without consideration? Why watch the movie in the first place? Anyway, this was a well-made movie and provides a path forward for those kids that Why is it that those who dislike movies about tough subjects, tend to dismiss them entirely without consideration? Why watch the movie in the first place? Anyway, this was a well-made movie and provides a path forward for those kids that were abused. To me, it certainly is far superior to the movies like Mystic River and Sleepers that also make attempts at exploring this stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NolanD.Apr 6, 2006
I was furious watching this movie, not because of the content but because of the treatment of the content. It's one of the most delicate subjects, if not THE most delicate subject, and this director went at it like a bull in a china I was furious watching this movie, not because of the content but because of the treatment of the content. It's one of the most delicate subjects, if not THE most delicate subject, and this director went at it like a bull in a china shop, and then in an interview claims he's not trying to shock anyone, which is such utter @#$!. I agree with Matt A., and I truly don't know what to make of the general response that this movie has recieved. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Mar 11, 2006
If you don't recognize the beautiful acting and the that provoking plot, you should not be able to rate this movie. Though dreadfully disturbing in some parts, it is terribly compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattA.Jan 26, 2006
Just because the film tackles a taboo subject like molestation and sex with minors doesn't mean that it's good. Ridiculously acted (especially you 3rd rock from the sun kid), terribly written, and directed with about as much Just because the film tackles a taboo subject like molestation and sex with minors doesn't mean that it's good. Ridiculously acted (especially you 3rd rock from the sun kid), terribly written, and directed with about as much subtlety as a sledge hammer to the head, this film easily wins my award for not only most overrated film of the year, but the worst film as well. Kenneth Turan is a grade-A boner for saying this is the best film of the year, and I will never trust his reviews again because of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PedroDec 23, 2005
Worst movie ever!......what the hell is wrong with Araki??
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MattNov 30, 2005
Well-acted and shot, if not the most involving movie experience. Ian M is spot on
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichOct 28, 2005
Awesome yet disturbing movie See it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobOct 28, 2005
This film was a surprisingly faithful adaptation to Scott Heim's controversial novel. If anything, Araki has improved upon the novel's slightly ametuerish writing while still capturing the same plot. Another surprising part of this This film was a surprisingly faithful adaptation to Scott Heim's controversial novel. If anything, Araki has improved upon the novel's slightly ametuerish writing while still capturing the same plot. Another surprising part of this film was how Araki changed the character of Eric from a melodramatic character, to a comedic one, supplyign an amusing balance to the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryJ.Oct 21, 2005
I viewed Mysterious Skin for the first time about 8 hours ago and still feel a tremendous emotional reaction to this most unique film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 17, 2005
Amazing story and acting! very powerful and very disturbing....worth watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GazB.Sep 17, 2005
I don't normally comment much on the movies I see, and thats probably because most leave me pretty ho-hum. I like a movie that takes you somewhere, wrenches your gut, stirs all sorts of emotions and leaves you numb and thoughtful. I I don't normally comment much on the movies I see, and thats probably because most leave me pretty ho-hum. I like a movie that takes you somewhere, wrenches your gut, stirs all sorts of emotions and leaves you numb and thoughtful. I also like a movie that is real. I saw Mysterious Skin tonight and thought it was one very amazing movie, telling a very real story many of us know about, but don't share with but a handful of people. Even though it was very difficult to watch in parts, it was handled with alot of care to bring out an understanding of the feelings and emotions that are set alight in the abused, and the abusers. I especially liked the way the two boys very different experiences of dealing with the abuse were handled, and the different ways they found to cope with the missing link to love. Although some have said it wasn't graphic, I felt it was, but then the emotion that was stirred due to seeing the confusion and the pain of the boys cut at a deep level for me. If you're willing to understand the inner depth of the abused, then this is a must-see. The cast were brilliant, not one of them could be criticised for anything less than a perfect performance. The soundtrack by Harold Budd and one of my all-time fave bands, The Cocteau Twins, guitarist Robin Guthrie was excellent, very moving and matched the emotive scenes exceptionally well. I'm out to buy this tomorrow. Five stars for this. Best movie I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseG.Aug 30, 2005
Very well done and very watchable film from a director who has always promised so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenH.Jun 24, 2005
This is the most visually arresting, challenging, and haunting film not only of this year, but possibly of the last five years. The performances, across the board, are riveting and amazing. The script is brilliant, taken from a brilliant This is the most visually arresting, challenging, and haunting film not only of this year, but possibly of the last five years. The performances, across the board, are riveting and amazing. The script is brilliant, taken from a brilliant novel; Gregg Araki establishes himself as one of the most fearless directors of our time. This film should be distributed to wider release. It's a small masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful