Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 8, 2003
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 343 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
252
Mixed:
28
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
spadenxDec 15, 2011
People are idiots, SImple as that. Mystic River is a great film - Great acting by the cast, Interesting story, and a very satisfying ending. Sean Penn and Tim Robbins are untouchable in this.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
4
AlexRMar 20, 2006
wow, I can find some seemingly good aspects about this film if I try, but come on!.. a 10? Award nominations? I just can
3 of 5 users found this helpful
0
JeffG.Dec 10, 2004
This was one of the most pretentious pieces of s..t I've ever seen! It seems all we need for a collective, critic circle jerk is to have Sean, Tim, Kevin, and child molestation in the same film. A story can enlighten, inform, unite, This was one of the most pretentious pieces of s..t I've ever seen! It seems all we need for a collective, critic circle jerk is to have Sean, Tim, Kevin, and child molestation in the same film. A story can enlighten, inform, unite, mystify, amuse, or frighten. Can anyone explain to me how this film did any of the above? A trailer that seemed to hint that Tim Robbins's character would track down his molesters with the aid of friends he hadn't seen in years, a plot that my wife and I figured out at the halfway point, and enough dead-end/pointless plot devices to fill Boston Harbor. Above all, this film carried with it the most reviling aspect of 'hip,' modern film-making, and that was the moral vacuum that this film resides in. Thank you for the forum. Jeff Graham-Tulsa, OK. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
4
ExKingNov 29, 2013
you can sum up Mystic River by two things only, weird and far away from reality.
i mean it's like watching a movie by Paul Thomas Anderson.
because everything that the characters do in this movie is the exact opposite from what people do in
you can sum up Mystic River by two things only, weird and far away from reality.
i mean it's like watching a movie by Paul Thomas Anderson.
because everything that the characters do in this movie is the exact opposite from what people do in these types of situations.
my point is you can't relate to these characters actions at all. a man just told his wife that he killed the wrong guy, and the wife tell him, "that what kings do", WHAT.
and the innocent man who got killed confessed about a crime he didn't commit for no obvious reason, and the people who actually did the murder have no motive at all.
and it's keep getting weirder and weirder to the point that you keep scratching your head after the movie ends.
i mean seriously Clint Eastwood.
and i can't understand why Tim Robbins nabbed an Oscar for best actor, all what he ever did was few face expressions and 4 or 5 lines.
and Clint Eastwood stretched some scenes way too much so you can relate to the performances but it was iffy and cold for all of them.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
patrickd.Oct 30, 2005
5.1?????? Movie like Napolean Dynamyte got a better score than this?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveW.Mar 21, 2005
How can you make a movie like this and sleep at night. Clint Eastwood should be ashamed. Making a movie like this should bring him down. Clint Eastwood knows better then to show a movie that crap. I give this movie a 0.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
ChuchoMar 23, 2005
Eh. Expecting something more interesting. Tried to make twists at the end, but just came out looking lame. What were all the raves about. I think critics just trying to get Eastwood to give them an interview or something. Almost seemed like Eh. Expecting something more interesting. Tried to make twists at the end, but just came out looking lame. What were all the raves about. I think critics just trying to get Eastwood to give them an interview or something. Almost seemed like they wanted to go in the direction of that movie whose name I can't remember right now. Deniro is a Priest. That British chic is in it. Sleepers or something. Anyways...that movie was great...this not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SteveM.Nov 11, 2003
I give it a 1 because one of the aerial shots of Boston was well-done. That, of course, left me with another 136 minutes to calculate the average number of white dots on an Ice Cap (28). Sadly, this intensive labor proved more profound than I give it a 1 because one of the aerial shots of Boston was well-done. That, of course, left me with another 136 minutes to calculate the average number of white dots on an Ice Cap (28). Sadly, this intensive labor proved more profound than the movie. One wonders what is going on with our society that so many people would slobber over this film. It may be time to move to Canada. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
StevenZ.Sep 25, 2007
The most overrated movie of all time. Hideous, offensive, and soul-destroying. The kind of movie that tells you life sucks and everything's awful, and then fakes the evidence. Every plot twist is rigged and unbelievable, every line is The most overrated movie of all time. Hideous, offensive, and soul-destroying. The kind of movie that tells you life sucks and everything's awful, and then fakes the evidence. Every plot twist is rigged and unbelievable, every line is ponderous and humorless, and the experience leaves you thinking there's nothing that can be accomplished in life. And don't blather to me about the "powerful acting." The best performances in this movie--the fine, quiet work done by Kevin Bacon, Laura Linney, and Laurence Fishburne--were, of course, the least acclaimed. All the praise and Oscars went to the overdone hamming of Penn, Robbins, and Marcia Gay Harden (who, to be fair, was given nothing to play but scaredy-cat.) It was embarrassing seeing the great Ms. Linney trying to make that bogus Lady Macbeth scene at the end believable. One of those movies that's trying to impress you rather than tell a story, which you're supposed to learn a lesson from. "Life sucks" is not an original message, nor one that will come as a great surprise to many people, but overpraised hack directors always seem to think they're doing something daring by trotting it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film blew me away. At first, you feel for Jimmy, then you slowly grow to hate him. Terrible events always seem to bring these three friends together and I felt like I had been punched in the face when it had finished. Sean Penn brings this energy that feels like the most powerful energy a man can emit. Tim Robbins made me feel so bad for the character of Dave. He did a great job of portraying the mentally deteriorated rape victim. Dave was the character that made me feel so sad. He is like the ultimate hero and ultimate victim of this whole movie. Jimmy's daughter may have been the one that was killed, but Dave was raped as a child, kills a pedophile in the act of molestation, is blamed for the murder of the daughter and is then killed by one of his childhood friends in an act of vengeance. I don't care how big of a stupid loose cannon Jimmy is. I felt like the death of his daughter was almost an excuse to get back into his old ways. I wish that Jimmy could get what was coming to him. Losing a loved one is painful, but this character has no excuse for murder. His accusations were purely based on blinding vengeance. I'm sure that several fathers would kill their daughters murderer which makes me feel like my incredible dislike for Jimmy is a little harsh. Look at this ramble! Eastwood just made me feel for his characters and got me emotionally indulged in his film. Such an accomplishment of acting by every character involved in this movie. Acted to perfection, directed to perfection and written to perfection, Mystic River touches on several issues of lost childhoods, loss and our relationships with others. I can't even think of better things to say about this movie, it was so good. Absolutely incredible film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
It was on TV recently and talk about not able to hold my attention. I popped in now and then to see if I could stand it as there was nothing else on. Bad.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
CameronS.May 6, 2004
This is perplexingly appalling, my fourth favorite (of 180 films) of 2003 has a 4.7 average. This is beyond foolish, but the score is not my statement. Mystic River is a harrowing, well-performed drama. A film similar to classics because it This is perplexingly appalling, my fourth favorite (of 180 films) of 2003 has a 4.7 average. This is beyond foolish, but the score is not my statement. Mystic River is a harrowing, well-performed drama. A film similar to classics because it is an emotional thriller. I say more things in a more organized manner but I'm just so struck by how many people hated this. With this and the other two of the other four films that were nominated for best picture were excellent and both have scores pretty low. The browsers of metacritic have to be dumber than the ones of other sites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankO.Feb 9, 2006
One of Clint Eastwood's best movies, if not the best. Outstanding cast and direction. Eastwood did a great job with a dark story created by Dennis Lehane. Eastwood stayed true to the storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveZJul 20, 2007
I should give this a 10, but there are two areas of a film that are most important... the beginning and the end. Great movie overall except the artist didn't know when to put down the brush. Sorry Clint, you should have cut out the last I should give this a 10, but there are two areas of a film that are most important... the beginning and the end. Great movie overall except the artist didn't know when to put down the brush. Sorry Clint, you should have cut out the last scene, we already got the feeling you wanted us to have and the feeling (of disgust) was wonderful. You pushed it farther than it had to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenJul 7, 2008
Anyone who gave this movie less than a 6 needs to have their head scanned. This movie is truly epic, from the cast to the story. You will NEVER see a darker, or deeper story on film. This truly is Clint's masterpiece. I guess it Anyone who gave this movie less than a 6 needs to have their head scanned. This movie is truly epic, from the cast to the story. You will NEVER see a darker, or deeper story on film. This truly is Clint's masterpiece. I guess it doesn't have enough over-the-top gore or CGI to get a high score from the viewers here...... Pretty damn sad that Mystic River and There Will Be Blood don't get the credit they deserve from you unknowledgable hacks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrinApr 26, 2010
This is one of the best movies I've seen in the last ten years. Sean Penn's performance is completely masterful, you feel his raw energy whenever it's called for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackOct 13, 2003
Like Elliott below, I too was very disappointed with the movie. It was calculated and the actors seemed as though they were trying to outdo each other. It was highly disturbing and consistently gloomy - I can handle distubing fare, but Like Elliott below, I too was very disappointed with the movie. It was calculated and the actors seemed as though they were trying to outdo each other. It was highly disturbing and consistently gloomy - I can handle distubing fare, but Mystic River is just flat-out unpleasant. I wanted it to end long before it did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobA.Jan 15, 2006
A noble effort by Eastwood, but ultimately a movie that leaves the audience unsure if they should really care. The editing is disjointing, the solution to the murder mystery is unsatisfying, the twist is shallow and the acting is the A noble effort by Eastwood, but ultimately a movie that leaves the audience unsure if they should really care. The editing is disjointing, the solution to the murder mystery is unsatisfying, the twist is shallow and the acting is the equivalent of the lunatics taking over the asylum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianDJan 29, 2010
This is hands-down the most depressing movie I've ever seen. Ever. That being said, though, it was really good. It was incredibly well-acted, the plot was great (albeit depressing, of course) and Clint Eastwood, as usual, put his This is hands-down the most depressing movie I've ever seen. Ever. That being said, though, it was really good. It was incredibly well-acted, the plot was great (albeit depressing, of course) and Clint Eastwood, as usual, put his directing talents to work. Although it was still really fucking depressing. Now that I think about it, and without trying to spoil it, the kids in this movie will turn out like the adults in this movie, plagued by tragedy. Still. Depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenA.Dec 1, 2003
Mystic River never let me down. I heard great things, and they were all true. I was not disappointed by any aspect of the story. I'm glad they spent the extra money to shoot it in Boston instead of Toronto. I really liked the Mystic River never let me down. I heard great things, and they were all true. I was not disappointed by any aspect of the story. I'm glad they spent the extra money to shoot it in Boston instead of Toronto. I really liked the neighborhood they shot it in, it gave it such a human feel to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Oct 26, 2005
This was the best film of the year, one of those all too rare examples of a work that deserves all of the praise bestowed on it. What Clint Eastwood has done here is show once again that understatement will win out over extravagance any This was the best film of the year, one of those all too rare examples of a work that deserves all of the praise bestowed on it. What Clint Eastwood has done here is show once again that understatement will win out over extravagance any time. The film doesn't have a single false note. Brilliantly acted by an ensemble cast who have never given better performances, Mystic River has a deliberate pace that perfectly complements its narrative structure and style. It has been superbly designed, photographed, scored and edited, the result being the full realization of a classical tragic tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackTJan 16, 2007
I found this film to be one of the most spiritually profound works to come out of the Hollywood studio system in quite some time. Eastwood sorts through the rubble of his characters' lives with an assurance and patience that's I found this film to be one of the most spiritually profound works to come out of the Hollywood studio system in quite some time. Eastwood sorts through the rubble of his characters' lives with an assurance and patience that's reminiscent of his better works. The film has its ciphers (namely Laura Linney's Lady Macbeth) and its fair share of summarizing speeches Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticOct 26, 2009
I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic job certainly worthy of an Academy Award. But the movie itself I can't understand the praise for. There's plenty of gritty and realistic dialogue here and all of it very well-acted but. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
I have watched this film countless times and I still love it. It has a great story, great acting, and its just an overall great film that I love. This is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
IndianbuffOct 29, 2010
Clint Eastwood promises a lot but does not deliver what he would have wanted to.Sean Penn & Tim Robbins steal the show by portraying their well written roles like only they can .Though the film does haunt you ,it leaves a lot of looseClint Eastwood promises a lot but does not deliver what he would have wanted to.Sean Penn & Tim Robbins steal the show by portraying their well written roles like only they can .Though the film does haunt you ,it leaves a lot of loose ends.That said, one cannot take any credit away from Eastwood who manages to deliver yet another rewarding experience though this is obviously not even anywhere near his best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
A mesmerizing experience as MR keeps you glued to your seat with a stimulating adventure, ideal character development, and epic performances. MUST WATCH!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I don't understand why people find it bad! I don't often trust the 'Oscar winner' type of movies, but this movie deserved the award! The actors were all formidable! you couldn't ask for a better cast, because this filmAbsolutely fantastic! I don't understand why people find it bad! I don't often trust the 'Oscar winner' type of movies, but this movie deserved the award! The actors were all formidable! you couldn't ask for a better cast, because this film has a deluxe- cast! I think some people are usually biased thinking that a big Hollywood movie, is either 'bad' or 'overrated' and, quite frankly, that type of attitude doesn't help a person to appreciate a movie for what it is. I am sorry but I disagree...Hollywood has good and bad movies, same happens in Europe, Latin America, Asia, Africa, and my dear Australia! so just because this is a USA blockbuster it doesn't mean is a bad movie...and I am not American, but YEAH, I firmly believe this is an excellent movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
Absolutely loved this movie. Well acted, Kept you interested from start to finish, and it was really good. I am suprised that users have rated it so low.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Mystic River is haunting in absolutely every way. There isn't a human truth Clint Eastwood does not successfully touch on and move you with. It's thrilling... and certainly an ensemble to be remembered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Dec 23, 2013
Mystic river has plenty of good acting but nothing interesting to say. The movies pace is too slow and in the end I felt empty because the film itself is empty; it's devoid of ideas, meaning, and purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is amazing. Mainly Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. Score is good. Story is great. Real thrilling story. I agree a lot with what spadenx, except the ending. It's all right but he kills an innocent man andFirst off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is amazing. Mainly Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. Score is good. Story is great. Real thrilling story. I agree a lot with what spadenx, except the ending. It's all right but he kills an innocent man and they just like " oh well". That makes me aggravated. Still a great movie. Overall, this is a great thriller. It'll keep you on guessing. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyOct 1, 2012
Sean Penn, Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon, great actors .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
Great movieGreat movie . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
My favorite movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 19, 2014
This one is tragically beautiful. What this one did really well is instill the dark mood as loss in many different ways acts like a fog that covers the entire film. Overall, the story is really interesting. On the surface, it is simply aThis one is tragically beautiful. What this one did really well is instill the dark mood as loss in many different ways acts like a fog that covers the entire film. Overall, the story is really interesting. On the surface, it is simply a crime thriller where they try to find out who did it and what not, but it is also a representation of human suffering and tragedy. In many ways, it shows how these three troubled boys are not unscathed by the things that have happened to them and how all of them have suffered and will suffer profound losses that consume them entirely. I think the script by Brian Helgeland was fantastic and the direction from Clint Eastwood was really good as well. However, the real star is Sean Penn. I thought Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon were pretty good in their roles here, but Sean Penn stole the entire show. His performance was absolutely marvelous and he really drew you into him, which makes his role in the film all the more believable. It is not surprise that he won for Best Actor.

In terms of complaints, I see a lot of user reviews calling this one boring and slow, ham-handed, pretentious, and predictable. The only one I can sort of agree with is predictable, though I did not figure it out until the people in the film did (well, part of it, I figured out one part of it early on, but I think we were supposed to). Plus, I do not have a problem with predictability. In addition, this one was anything but boring. It is slow, yes, but it was a perfect showcase of acting and script-driven film. The intensity and sadness of this one were also top-notch and really helped quell any boredom that may set in. As for it being ham-handed or pretentious, no. I honestly do not understand that criticism at all. At no point did I ever find it to be either of those things. It tries to tackle bigger purposes, yes, but that does not mean it is pretentious, especially when it covers it well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 13, 2012
One of the most powerful American films of the decade, Mystic River is hypnotic and unforgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 13, 2012
Friggin' yes! A mid-tempo and ominous thrill ride, overcast from beginning to end by a shadow of dark things to come. Also, one of the best acting ensembles I've seen. Clint Eastwood is the man, and Mystic River is just another sparkling example.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SamSkJun 30, 2013
Mystic River is a very good film but is let down by a story-line that appears to be slightly all over the place and a couple of plot-holes (just my opinion). However, it is a solid, powerful movie and hats off to Clint Eastwood. The actorsMystic River is a very good film but is let down by a story-line that appears to be slightly all over the place and a couple of plot-holes (just my opinion). However, it is a solid, powerful movie and hats off to Clint Eastwood. The actors play their characters very well, especially Kevin Bacon, I really like his character. Definitely worthy of a Best Picture Nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WymasterJul 26, 2013
It's funny, because a lot of times you'll hear people say "I didn't like that movie because I couldn't root for any of the characters." A lot of people feel that way about this film. All of the characters, in their own way, do bad things.It's funny, because a lot of times you'll hear people say "I didn't like that movie because I couldn't root for any of the characters." A lot of people feel that way about this film. All of the characters, in their own way, do bad things. Some are worse than others, yes, but there is no one who you want to "win," because this is a movie where no one wins. The ending is terribly sad, and you walk out of the movie so shocked and dismayed at what happened, because even if you don't root for anyone, you still care so deeply about the characters. You still want the best for them, even if you can't root for them, if you can't stand beside them and say "I stand for the same ideals that this person stand for." You want to know who killed Katie, and you don't want it to be Dave, but do you root for Dave to win? Do you root against whoever you think killed Katie? No. This is an incredibly difficult film to watch, and it will not make you smile. It will make your heart sink, and your eyes tear up. It is so very powerful, and delivers such a strong message, it remains impossible not to watch. The acting is phenomenal, and while both Penn and Robbins won Oscars, the show is stolen by Robbins, who turns in one of the best supporting performances I've ever seen (on par with something out of the Godfather). From the opening scene, with those 3 boys playing hockey in the street, until the closing credits, it is relentless. But it is phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AwsafDec 2, 2013
Absolutely massive movie.With the right collaboration.The movie makes another space in the mind to think about misunderstanding. Awesome directing by Clint Eastwood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 8, 2014
Eastwood's Mystic River haunts you for days, it just breaks your heart in half. Sean Penn, Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon put on career-best performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Apr 21, 2015
Mystic River is an excellent movie based on the novel of the same name. The film is anchored by a strong cast containing some of the best actors of he past 20 years. Sean Penn delivers one of his strongest performances and wins his firstMystic River is an excellent movie based on the novel of the same name. The film is anchored by a strong cast containing some of the best actors of he past 20 years. Sean Penn delivers one of his strongest performances and wins his first Oscar. Really the early 2000'sare the years where Sean Penn could do no wrong. Tim Robbins also shines as a mysterious character who was also worthy of an Oscar for best supporting actor. It was the first time since 1959 that the winners of Best Actor and Supporting Actor were in the same film. The cast is rounded out by Kevin Bacon, Laurence Fishburne and Marcia Gay Harden. Mystic River is a dark story and a dark film but it could not be displayed any other way. Clint Eastwood who was on the top of his game in the directors chair at this point in his career as well shows that he is a jack of trades in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Derrick19Jan 14, 2015
Mystic River is a great movie. It's that simple. Great directing by Clint Eastwood, wonderful acting, and overall a fulfilling and haunting story that leaves an impression on you forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
derilFeb 18, 2015
changeling is far better.........,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..........................................................,,,,,.no moral at all
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
solomsApr 17, 2015
Impressive! I love Sean Penn, he's one of the most incredible actors and directors in hollywood. This movie is like a virus. You have to see it over and over again. Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Giorgi751Nov 15, 2015
There is something about this film that seems entirely forced. Clint Eastwood is a good director but the fact that he holds strong connection with the material isn't enough. Either the story was inappropriate for a movie or it was ClintThere is something about this film that seems entirely forced. Clint Eastwood is a good director but the fact that he holds strong connection with the material isn't enough. Either the story was inappropriate for a movie or it was Clint Eastwood who carried out the wrong mark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews