Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 2004
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
262
Mixed:
30
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BenS.Jan 25, 2005
hilarious
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobP.Apr 2, 2006
Best movie ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MegH.Mar 6, 2005
The best movie ever!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KymSep 17, 2005
I've watched it 8 times.... It's the sort of film that is better teh 2nd and 3rd time around. So many classic moments. Unlce Rico is the funniest character. Just because he is the biggest loser in it. "Back in '82 I could I've watched it 8 times.... It's the sort of film that is better teh 2nd and 3rd time around. So many classic moments. Unlce Rico is the funniest character. Just because he is the biggest loser in it. "Back in '82 I could throw a pigskin a quarter mile!" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackH.Jan 8, 2006
An instant classic for me. One of the most funny films I have ever seen! I feel sorry for those of you who are like, "What is all the fuss about?". Either you "get" this movie or you don't. I have a feeling people that don't An instant classic for me. One of the most funny films I have ever seen! I feel sorry for those of you who are like, "What is all the fuss about?". Either you "get" this movie or you don't. I have a feeling people that don't understand why it's funny are old and don't understand. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JordanA.Feb 19, 2006
This movie is so wonder ful for so many reasons - not the least of which is that it defies comedic cliches at every turn. Just when you think you know the punchline, the movie suprises you over and over again. (ex. Kip really DOES have a This movie is so wonder ful for so many reasons - not the least of which is that it defies comedic cliches at every turn. Just when you think you know the punchline, the movie suprises you over and over again. (ex. Kip really DOES have a girlfriend!) Another point generally missed: this movie looks like where I grew up! You don't realize how little the inter-mountain west is put into films until you see a movie like this. And the characters! While characatured to a point, they represent much more closely the people I actually knew growing (as a middle class white kid) up than most movies about teenagers these days, which focus either on hood life or the high life, neither of which really effects many, many teens. (Except in movies!) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJul 24, 2006
I watched it at my cousins and it was HILARIOUS! At one point I almost choked on food, and at another point water came out my nose, and I remember I could'nt breath at one point either. I really thought this movie was funny. I love how I watched it at my cousins and it was HILARIOUS! At one point I almost choked on food, and at another point water came out my nose, and I remember I could'nt breath at one point either. I really thought this movie was funny. I love how he says ramdom things. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TimS.Oct 21, 2007
Absolutely hilarious - refreshingly everyday, not a special effect in sight. Its inspired me to become a porn director.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorL.May 5, 2007
This is the kind of movie you either get, or you don't. If you do, you will be rewarded with what is quite possibly the funniest movie of all time. This is in spite of the fact you're hard pressed to find more than a couple "jokes" This is the kind of movie you either get, or you don't. If you do, you will be rewarded with what is quite possibly the funniest movie of all time. This is in spite of the fact you're hard pressed to find more than a couple "jokes" or "gags". Sometimes you're laughing at the absurdity of Napoleon's actions, but at the same time you are rooting for him; it's not a case of mean spirited mocking. In fact, I would bet most of the people who enjoy the movie probably identify with the character. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DylanCJul 24, 2008
The first time I saw this movie was in theaters; I left thinking, "What a waste of 2 hours!" Then I saw it again a few months later and "got" it. Plotless, true. It is the characters and grade-a acting that delivers. The only reason you The first time I saw this movie was in theaters; I left thinking, "What a waste of 2 hours!" Then I saw it again a few months later and "got" it. Plotless, true. It is the characters and grade-a acting that delivers. The only reason you would hate this movie is because you cannot relate with the characters, but the acting is undeniably solid. Having said all this, the true magic of this film comes off-screen: the quotability has potential to be endless. Cult Classic for sure. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerD.Aug 29, 2005
This is a classic, IMO. For those who don't like this movie, get a sense of humor. This movie is freaking genius in every way possible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonatanN.Aug 28, 2006
This is the best movie ever! Every time I see it I like it more I bet I would give it an 11 if I watched it a few more times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MobiusAug 31, 2006
Fantastic and Funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyM.Jun 27, 2009
This is movie is incredibly peculiar. It has this bleak and depressing tone, yet it still manages to be heartwarming, uplifting, and comedic. It doesn't hit you over the head with gags, as some people might have expected when they first This is movie is incredibly peculiar. It has this bleak and depressing tone, yet it still manages to be heartwarming, uplifting, and comedic. It doesn't hit you over the head with gags, as some people might have expected when they first saw it in theaters. Rather, it has this quirky, subtle, eccentric appeal that grows on you. Great acting, great soundtrack... it's a must-see film. John Heder plays this role perfectly (though, sadly, he can't play any other role). You can keep coming back to this film, and it will only get better. Just... don't expect a blockbuster teen comedy. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AndrewBSep 9, 2009
How can you not like this movie? Its absolutely perfect. the absence of celebrities just makes it seem more like a documentary then the absolute comedic masterpiece that it really is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianGNov 2, 2005
This was the funniest movie I have ever seen in my life.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Mar 18, 2005
So funny!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DennisAug 24, 2005
I was late to this one. It is a classic in my book. This movie either hits with the viewer or it doesn't, not much in between. Has the most qoutable script in some time. Much deeper than it apprears the first time watching it. The I was late to this one. It is a classic in my book. This movie either hits with the viewer or it doesn't, not much in between. Has the most qoutable script in some time. Much deeper than it apprears the first time watching it. The triumph of Napoleon and Pedro makes it complete. Vote For Pedro !!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DrewR.Nov 22, 2007
Fine line betweeng enius and stupidy, Napoleon dynamite earns the nobel prize!!!! if you did not find this hilarious and heart warming, then you didnt get it and should not b reviewing films, nuff said!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyP.Jun 12, 2007
If you watched Napoleon and thought "nothing happened" or you didn't laugh or you thought the bike scene was the only funny part, then watch it again. That is exactly how I felt, but with the 2nd and 3rd viewing I completely enjoyed the If you watched Napoleon and thought "nothing happened" or you didn't laugh or you thought the bike scene was the only funny part, then watch it again. That is exactly how I felt, but with the 2nd and 3rd viewing I completely enjoyed the movie and how it was so underplayed. It takes a little getting used to, because it is the opposite of most movies and characters that are so in your face. This movie clearly shows that it is not necessary to have a hysterical movie, lovable characters and a constantly moving "plot". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoryG.Nov 29, 2008
this movie is amazing. one of my favorite parts that i always love to just act out is "break the wrist, walk away." its not supposed to have a real plot, it just kind of exists, and makes people laugh in the process. the casting for the this movie is amazing. one of my favorite parts that i always love to just act out is "break the wrist, walk away." its not supposed to have a real plot, it just kind of exists, and makes people laugh in the process. the casting for the parts was great, especially pedro. i loved his apathetic attitude. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
Brilliant. Perfect. An instant classic cult film. Hilarious. I flippin love this movie. It's genius and all the haters just don't know how to laugh or see creativity.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
siddersftSep 12, 2010
O.M.G are you crazy, have you gonme round the bend?

64!! This is an epic film atleast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is so epic that when i walk into the shop to buy it they said " Excuse me sir but are epic enough to buy this conveniently
O.M.G are you crazy, have you gonme round the bend?

64!!

This is an epic film atleast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

it is so epic that when i walk into the shop to buy it they said " Excuse me sir but are epic enough to buy this conveniently incredibly epic film?

EPIC!!!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerJun 12, 2011
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen, it really captures the average socially awkward teen and dysfunctional family perfectly, I loved every character and every moment of this hilarious movie, while some say some of the scenes areOne of the funniest movies I've ever seen, it really captures the average socially awkward teen and dysfunctional family perfectly, I loved every character and every moment of this hilarious movie, while some say some of the scenes are useless I disagree, I felt they were all necessary in defining the characters, if you like comedies or just good movies, this is a must see, this is a masterpiece that is deserving of nothing less that a perfect 10. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
dubbleqJul 5, 2011
It is simple, if u do not give this movie a 10 then you don't get it. This movie was not designed for all you intellectual "genius" movie reviewers to beat up on and rant on how you "just didn't think it was funny." This movie isn't supposedIt is simple, if u do not give this movie a 10 then you don't get it. This movie was not designed for all you intellectual "genius" movie reviewers to beat up on and rant on how you "just didn't think it was funny." This movie isn't supposed to make your head numb, it is just a silly funny movie that, when you don't think too hard, is a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
High school teenage issues in a backwards town where everyone dresses as if they are in the 80's, a little behind the times. Phones with long cords, moon boots, 80's hair styles and Tupperware RULE! Napoleon is the sweetest and clueless ofHigh school teenage issues in a backwards town where everyone dresses as if they are in the 80's, a little behind the times. Phones with long cords, moon boots, 80's hair styles and Tupperware RULE! Napoleon is the sweetest and clueless of them all. It was created, written, produced and acted by college/college graduates and unknowns, won awards, was made on a shoestring and made lots of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellApr 7, 2013
One of the best comedies ever made. Up there with Step Brothers, Austin Powers in Goldmember, and South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut. Every little reaction that the characters make are memorable. There is a sweet, honest touch to the movieOne of the best comedies ever made. Up there with Step Brothers, Austin Powers in Goldmember, and South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut. Every little reaction that the characters make are memorable. There is a sweet, honest touch to the movie that most films recently have lacked. The humor mostly pokes fun at the nerdiness of high school, and it is perfectly relatable. The Napoleon dance scene alone is what makes it worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oscarlizardNov 16, 2012
Fabulous film, good humor, quite the movie. 10 out of 10.
How could anyone not love this wonderful movie.
Watch this movie, you will not regret this. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Relentlessly hilarious, with uncommonly unique characters dishing out pithy, yet unforgettable one-liners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrilobiteGFeb 13, 2016
Napoleon Dynamite is the cinematic equivalent of a plate of really good Nachos. As it's opening credit's suggest, the food cooked in Napoleon Dynamite is not a cuisine of highest excellency, it's not a tour de force but it shouldn't be. LikeNapoleon Dynamite is the cinematic equivalent of a plate of really good Nachos. As it's opening credit's suggest, the food cooked in Napoleon Dynamite is not a cuisine of highest excellency, it's not a tour de force but it shouldn't be. Like Nachos, it's tortilla chips are pathetic, or can be pathetic at times which is the film's release of fantastic comedic moments. Pathetic is the film's number one aim, which in turn the conflict arises is petty, dumb yet oh so humorous. Your body quickly adapts to it's rolling of the eyes styled backing board of the movie as Napoleon hangs a toy from a string from the school bus window. Why does he do this? I have no idea but it sets the tone ever so well. The cheese topping this fine plate of greasy, oily fried goodness is the fantastical imagination released in it's climax, a battle of the cringes, through dance and music and humble revelations to every character's infinite frustrations. It's what makes this film special and unique. Napoleon Dynamite is a hidden hero amongst minority men, the batman of fat lard city, a poorly drawn fantasy. A Liger in it's central crest... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
glasses1Dec 21, 2013
This is my favorite movie, ever since I was young. I've always appreciated independent film, since the filmmakers have a very adventurous and free spirit. Napoleon dynamite is a wonderful attribution to genre, that has been a slump for a longThis is my favorite movie, ever since I was young. I've always appreciated independent film, since the filmmakers have a very adventurous and free spirit. Napoleon dynamite is a wonderful attribution to genre, that has been a slump for a long time now. Jon Heder gives a revolutionary performance as the socially awkward Napoleon, with his overtly exaggerated but very comical mannerisms. Perfectly acted and scripted and also appropriate for the whole family for a rainy day or movie night. An excellent 'underdog' flick Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenJ.Sep 7, 2005
A classic! One of those few movies that you can watch more than once.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisM.Oct 21, 2007
Best enjoyed with friends.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SophieJul 31, 2007
Fantastic stuff.. there's something really great about this movie. Excellent acting from everyone, really funny.. don't find the dance scene nearly as amazing as everyone else seems to.. but still.. truly a really good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Mar 27, 2006
First time is saw it I tuned it off after 15 min ,and thought it totally sucked , watched again about six months later and totally loved it... Its one of those movies when you start talking about it you reallize it was truly a unique and First time is saw it I tuned it off after 15 min ,and thought it totally sucked , watched again about six months later and totally loved it... Its one of those movies when you start talking about it you reallize it was truly a unique and great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EmmeS.Jun 17, 2006
Okay. My kids said "Don't watch it. You'll feel bad for the geek. You won't enjoy it. You'll watch it like a mom." And then my youngest 9 and bravest)son brought it home and dared me to watch it. The movie went from weird Okay. My kids said "Don't watch it. You'll feel bad for the geek. You won't enjoy it. You'll watch it like a mom." And then my youngest 9 and bravest)son brought it home and dared me to watch it. The movie went from weird to funny, and then when I about choked laughing at the school bus-and-the cow scene, I found that I was actually it. By the end I really liked all those strange, yet endearing characters. My wiseacre kids gave the DVD to me as one of my Mother's Day gifts, because I didn't "watch it like a mom". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilAug 14, 2007
Past the childish hype and those who see it as stupid humor, a creepily good and more mature movie is there, both funny and charming.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Realism for the geeks and nerds, Napoleon Dynamite is a very fascinating movie centered on a town of misfits. You'll find it surprisingly rich and inspirational while figuring out what it really means.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JacobNJan 21, 2012
This is an incredible and very unique movie, and i found it hilarious. For the most part it lacks music and a plot, making it a perfect slice of teenaged life in the Midwest. unfortunately it gave rise to a number of movies with a similarThis is an incredible and very unique movie, and i found it hilarious. For the most part it lacks music and a plot, making it a perfect slice of teenaged life in the Midwest. unfortunately it gave rise to a number of movies with a similar comedic style, like Nacho Libre, and most of these movies were not nearly as funny Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 31, 2012
Napoleon Dynamite is a classic film in my view. It has some of the funniest lines and scenes i have ever seen in a movie. I thought Jon Heder was fantastic. An extremely simple film but funnier than 90% of the comedies today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
thekingwatchesJul 20, 2013
This film is awesome in every aspect. First chance you get, WATCH IT! It will most likely leave the answering the question "Will You ever watch it again?" Saying "HECK YES I WOULD!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LatinCritic13Jul 29, 2017
When it comes to Napoleon Dynamite, you probably see him as a weird high school kid with a outrageously weird background. Seeing Napoleon Dynamite in action for this movie is extremely satisfying to watch for when it comes to the stylishWhen it comes to Napoleon Dynamite, you probably see him as a weird high school kid with a outrageously weird background. Seeing Napoleon Dynamite in action for this movie is extremely satisfying to watch for when it comes to the stylish directing and the juicylicious soundtrack. No wonder that this movie is a cult classic... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NickL.Jun 2, 2006
This was a good movie. Like one of my friends said, it's destined to become a cult classic. If you don't think this movie was "flippin' sweet," then go practice your "knunchuck skills," or I'll shoot you with "a This was a good movie. Like one of my friends said, it's destined to become a cult classic. If you don't think this movie was "flippin' sweet," then go practice your "knunchuck skills," or I'll shoot you with "a freakin' 12 gauge." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Trev29Jun 22, 2013
A cult classic. So many funny parts and re-memorable lines. I don't know who the hell came up with this movie, but it just worked well. What I like even better, is how there hasn't been a sequel
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesJan 22, 2013
Absolutely hilarious and original. Definitely a hit or miss comedy, and this one was a hit for me big time. Remains one of my favorite comedies alongside Dumb & Dumber.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
missexpensiveDec 27, 2013
I think it describes perfectly what means being weird or different in highscool and because of that a lot of people have liked and felt identified with the movie and the characters. Napoleon Dynamite is definitely a cult film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NealS.Jun 7, 2006
Although there are many funny parts to this movie, it loses any real direction and fails to deliver any closure to the movie. The film is so much more than just about Napoleon and should have been renamed something similar to "Geeks and Although there are many funny parts to this movie, it loses any real direction and fails to deliver any closure to the movie. The film is so much more than just about Napoleon and should have been renamed something similar to "Geeks and Freaks". The characters are those that we hated or ignored (or were) in high school and are lovable in their own quirkiness. But this movie falls flat on satisfying the audience at the end, leaving us to want to watch more idiocy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
OzAug 5, 2008
It is funny in parts but i also found it hard almost cruel to watch.But i love the ending as its funny and thoughtful a strong moral.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
steverNov 6, 2005
I don't see it as making fun of the geeks. I see the geeks as heros. It's a statement about how clueless everyone is that age. No exceptions! And how many people stay clueless through some sort of arrested development. Friends I don't see it as making fun of the geeks. I see the geeks as heros. It's a statement about how clueless everyone is that age. No exceptions! And how many people stay clueless through some sort of arrested development. Friends stand by friends. Family by family -- as best they can. Creativity and individuality and self-confidence are celebrated. All the characters get what they want. Plus, its refreshing to see a film with a really unusual style become so popular. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JacobJun 2, 2015
While its difficult to know what to make of Napoleon Dynamite, I’m pretty sure I liked it. The film takes the familiarity of high school and makes it strange and abnormal through three strange/unique characters whose experiences prevent theseWhile its difficult to know what to make of Napoleon Dynamite, I’m pretty sure I liked it. The film takes the familiarity of high school and makes it strange and abnormal through three strange/unique characters whose experiences prevent these moments from feeling cliché. I’m glad I saw this film while I’m still in my teens because I feel like this film does capture the awkwardness of those years quite nicely. I’d probably have to see this film a couple more times to really be able to understand/express what it is I liked and didn’t like about it but I definatetly won’t forget about it. With characters so bizarre and some unnatural dialogue this is one of the more unique films I’ve seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fungusgnatOct 6, 2011
I found this film entertaining, though as a comedy, itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geedupJul 5, 2012
This is one of the quirkest movies I have seen. Matter of fact, first time I didn't like it, but grew on me. If you like offbeat humor and unusual characters/circumstances-this is for you. I can't imagine another character playing napolean!This is one of the quirkest movies I have seen. Matter of fact, first time I didn't like it, but grew on me. If you like offbeat humor and unusual characters/circumstances-this is for you. I can't imagine another character playing napolean! But most people either really like this movie or HATE it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineNov 23, 2013
The nerdy Napoleon Dynamite and a bunch of other freaky characters, a lot of awkwardly stupid situations happening, the overall bizarreness of situations make this movie at least look unusual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
Napoleon Dynamite is a funny film. But is meant to target a specific audience. It has dislikes, I'm sure of it but for a first feature by Jared Hess I'd have to say this is decent. No, not decent but funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
DANGER! There's 0's here! DANGER! DANGER! We should get rid of these 0's here to go to my 0's so we can treat them what's a better movie to watch. Let's just love it or you owe me money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews