Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2007
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 206 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
88
Mixed:
72
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
LadyfingerJan 1, 2008
The success of this sequel at the box office only goes to prove that once the first movie is a hit no matter how truly awful the subsequent movies are it really doesn't matter. As much as we loved the original the characters, the polar The success of this sequel at the box office only goes to prove that once the first movie is a hit no matter how truly awful the subsequent movies are it really doesn't matter. As much as we loved the original the characters, the polar opposite is true with the sequel. It is simply awful with bad acting, writing and directing. In truth it is a movie for idiots. You need to suspend all belief before entering the theater. And even then the story isn't even the slightest bit plausible. They will make another and my recommendation is to wait to see what the moviegoers like us say before putting down our hard earned dollars to watch garbage like this. I feel so cheated. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
VirginaJan 2, 2008
I was robbed. This is a movie for mindless simpletons.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ZenonJan 4, 2008
A major disappointment of epic productions. I realize in an action adventure story that we have to suspend belief in entering the theater but this was just sooooo bad that no one could get into it. It was sleepwalking for the actors and one A major disappointment of epic productions. I realize in an action adventure story that we have to suspend belief in entering the theater but this was just sooooo bad that no one could get into it. It was sleepwalking for the actors and one really felt embarassed for Helen Mirren. For someone of royal acting ability to take a part in this juvenile crass ridculous motion picture really hurt the most. Shame on you Hollywood for churning out this garbage. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AmberJan 5, 2008
What have they done? How do you take a formula that was so great in the original and completely ruin it? Somehow the produers of this awful movie have managed to do that. You need to be completely brain dead to believe this film. Just awful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AgnesDec 25, 2007
Leave it to Hollywood to totally screw it up. The story is unbelievable and appears to be written in about an hour. And the acting was just as bad sans Helen Mirren but she must be embarassed to have made such a terrible movie. Big Buzz Leave it to Hollywood to totally screw it up. The story is unbelievable and appears to be written in about an hour. And the acting was just as bad sans Helen Mirren but she must be embarassed to have made such a terrible movie. Big Buzz because of the PR lured us in but word of mouth will quickly kill this Christmas turkey. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JulieLJan 3, 2008
Brainless twaddle, which is usually fun, but in this movie was merely an empty space into which many dumb and lusterless lines substituted for dialogue and frenetic, physically impossible stunts substituted for action. It reminds me of Brainless twaddle, which is usually fun, but in this movie was merely an empty space into which many dumb and lusterless lines substituted for dialogue and frenetic, physically impossible stunts substituted for action. It reminds me of Mission Impossible Two, but without the memorable theme song. I hope they get it right on number three. Also, if you are Native American, you will despise this movie and the blue-coat it rode in on. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RasputinJan 7, 2008
For this turkey of a movie to be number one at the box office three weeks in a row only goes to prove that we are a nation of sheep or that the advertising campaign sold us a pig in a poke. Either way this movie is downright bad from the For this turkey of a movie to be number one at the box office three weeks in a row only goes to prove that we are a nation of sheep or that the advertising campaign sold us a pig in a poke. Either way this movie is downright bad from the lame script to the poor acting. Awful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BeatriceDec 30, 2007
Who writes this stuff? Just dreadful.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JeremyJan 20, 2008
Let me sum it up perfectly. A movie for idiots made by idiots. If you plan on seeing this turkey check your brains in at the door. Revolting!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
FrankV.Mar 31, 2008
The movie was poor. Plot was full of flaws and holes and puzzle solving and action sequences (main part of the movie) are uninteresting. Even Cage looked bad. But I didn't expect anything else.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeMJun 11, 2008
This is why ppl don't go to the movies anymore. This movie was just plain insulting to any logical mind. So many unbelievable situations- the car chase in London (where he uses a red light camera to take a picture of the clue, then This is why ppl don't go to the movies anymore. This movie was just plain insulting to any logical mind. So many unbelievable situations- the car chase in London (where he uses a red light camera to take a picture of the clue, then tosses it overboard to get rid of the bad guys- come on), kidnapping the president, pouring water on the rocks to find the eagle....on an on...OMG someone in Hollywood was itching for their next dollar. Then they wander why ticket sales go down. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AndresC.Jan 8, 2008
Braindead fun... the ending is an insult to pre -colombine history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GazcomsatApr 18, 2008
I liked the first film but the sequel is just plain bad. Some of the scenes are just totally cringe-worthy particularly the one where Nick Gage pretends to lose his mind to get arrested. I found this and the so called argumentative banter I liked the first film but the sequel is just plain bad. Some of the scenes are just totally cringe-worthy particularly the one where Nick Gage pretends to lose his mind to get arrested. I found this and the so called argumentative banter between Voight and Mirren very uncomfortable to watch. I couldn't wait for this movie to be over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewDec 26, 2007
If Stan could give this abomination a 9 then I should be able to give it a minus 90. No suspense whatsoever as whoever wrote this script and directed it must have read Sequels for Dummies. Awful effort all the way around. They should be If Stan could give this abomination a 9 then I should be able to give it a minus 90. No suspense whatsoever as whoever wrote this script and directed it must have read Sequels for Dummies. Awful effort all the way around. They should be ashamed to turn out this kind of trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KingC.Dec 27, 2007
Great special effects for a video game. But for a movie? A HS kid can write a better more plausable script than this. And the actors walked through their lines as if they were coloring by the numbers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FreaksterDec 27, 2007
Jason stop sniffing that glue. Obviously you are having fun as you want other moviegoers to be tortured as we were. This movie is a total turkey devoid of anything worth mentioning in a positive review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NeilL.Dec 27, 2007
If you have an IQ of 60 or less, this film is for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArdenDec 24, 2007
How does Hollywood take an absolute can't miss follow-up to the original and totally destroy it and the characters. Everything we loved about the first movie is gone in Book of Secrets. Think of the Jaws trilogy after the original and How does Hollywood take an absolute can't miss follow-up to the original and totally destroy it and the characters. Everything we loved about the first movie is gone in Book of Secrets. Think of the Jaws trilogy after the original and you have the exact same formula that doomed a classic. Nothing here than a bunch of flawed actors collecting a paycheck. And where did they find Riley as he is awful! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FantasyDec 24, 2007
As much as I loved the original this sequel is disappointing. It's basically a continuation of the first Treasue except that the nervous suspense that kept us on the edge of our seats is totally absent. In its place is juvenile humor as As much as I loved the original this sequel is disappointing. It's basically a continuation of the first Treasue except that the nervous suspense that kept us on the edge of our seats is totally absent. In its place is juvenile humor as the actors simply walk through their paces to collect a big fat paycheck. The movie is like one big joke that is repeated and repeated adnauseum until it is no longer funny nor suspenseful. And Ed Harris as the :bad guy" isn't that bad at all which makes the movie even worse. Theflick is forgotten the minute you leave the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JaredDec 24, 2007
You have to be kidding? The first movie was so good that I couldn't wait to see the sequel. And as good as the first one was that is how bad this movie is. You start looking at your watch as this is a grown up version of a video game You have to be kidding? The first movie was so good that I couldn't wait to see the sequel. And as good as the first one was that is how bad this movie is. You start looking at your watch as this is a grown up version of a video game and a bad one at that. Nothing is realistic, the actors are never in real danger and the ending is ridiculous. Nothing in this movie works although you want to love it. Terrible writing, directing and acting. Quite frankly it is boring and that is hard to do with an action adventure movie. Avoid. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MelissaM.Dec 26, 2007
Lame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimboH.Dec 27, 2007
You have to REALLY suspend your disbelief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ElenaDec 27, 2007
I loved the original but this is so polar opposite of the fun and excitement that was captured in the first movie. It is awful and without any suspense whatsover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tristinDec 28, 2007
reminded me of a really bad disney channel movie. don't go see it its a waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobbieDec 28, 2007
I just came back from seeing this travesty. All I can say is REFUND. How can you take something so good and turn out a movie that is this BAD? I feel so cheated. Shame on Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jACKDec 29, 2007
REFUND!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TammyDec 24, 2007
Bland just a repeat of the first one without much credibility to the storyline. Not believable and without suspense. Most of the actors walk through their lines. An example is Harvey Keitel who basically does a cameo in this one. If they had Bland just a repeat of the first one without much credibility to the storyline. Not believable and without suspense. Most of the actors walk through their lines. An example is Harvey Keitel who basically does a cameo in this one. If they had edited him out of the first and put those same lines in this one it would have been the exact same thing. Just a bad movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GoffyDec 24, 2007
Down right awful! They should be ashamed to turn out a product this bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CynthiaDec 28, 2007
Formulaic and dull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Dec 28, 2007
The first one was bad and this one is worse. Dumbest. Plot. Ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VerichaiApr 3, 2011
This film was painfully bad. The dialog was so poorly written that many of the lines are downright embarrassing. The shot sequences felt rushed and the performances were not engaging. I am all for suspending some sense of realism for the sakeThis film was painfully bad. The dialog was so poorly written that many of the lines are downright embarrassing. The shot sequences felt rushed and the performances were not engaging. I am all for suspending some sense of realism for the sake of an exciting story line but jeez, some of the stuff going on here is so unrealistic and so poorly executed, it's almost laughable! I do not understand Nicholas Cage as an actor. In this role, particularly, I do not understand his hair, his smugness or his delivery. The only saving grace of this film is the lovely Diane Kruger, who shines despite the ambivalence of her fellow actors, or maybe because of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
A Book of Secrets on how to make you vomit.
National Treasure creates a very unnecessary sequel to the mediocre prequel. A very illogical, uninteresting, soulless piece of trash formulated as a pure cash grab.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AaronWasserman1Apr 23, 2016
Just like its predecessor, this movie is really terrible at pacing, story, acting and just about everything except its score and visuals. It is just as dumb as any Nicolas Cage flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews