Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 9, 2014
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
133
Negative:
58
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
jlplattenMay 12, 2014
Did I watch the same movie as everyone else? I'm sorry, but I can't laugh at scenes that make no sense. I'm too busy questioning the actions of these characters to care about what's going on in the story. Why do these parents even care aboutDid I watch the same movie as everyone else? I'm sorry, but I can't laugh at scenes that make no sense. I'm too busy questioning the actions of these characters to care about what's going on in the story. Why do these parents even care about their noisy neighbors? They love partying, doing drugs, and leaving their infant child home alone. Why would these parents care if their baby can't sleep? They are already having intercourse in front of the child... Also, why would a police officer rat out a neighbor that filed a noise complaint? Why would someone dry hump a bush sculptor of a person bent over to get rid of it? Just cut it down! It's like an 8 year old wrote this script. I found myself asking constantly, "Why is this happening?" I must have missed the part where I was suppose to laugh. I was expecting to find a funny clever film like This is the End... Oh, how wrong I was. Good job everyone. You fooled me into paying a lot of money to see this garbage. The joke's on me. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
1
namelessMay 12, 2014
I had so much wanted to like this. There is 30 minutes of funny material... unforutnately you have to sit through the rest of the movie. Rent it so you can fast forward. It shows that it was cobbled together as a studio project for namedI had so much wanted to like this. There is 30 minutes of funny material... unforutnately you have to sit through the rest of the movie. Rent it so you can fast forward. It shows that it was cobbled together as a studio project for named hollywood types. When you walk out you will feel like you wasted your time and money. I have no idea why others think this is so funny... because there is so much talking about what they are going to do. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
eeeemeMay 10, 2014
The baby was the best actor. To much dick humor, Crude unrealistic plot. Lot of jokes I have seen in other movies played out over and over again. Nothing new, nothing creative. Waste of time.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
3
handjiveMay 27, 2014
"Neighbors" has been terribly over-rated by most critics. Mostly the flick is the usual mixed bag of tired and gratuitous sex gags. Seth Rogen's schtick is way past it sell-by date. I was pleased to watch the feisty Rose Byrne and I'd very"Neighbors" has been terribly over-rated by most critics. Mostly the flick is the usual mixed bag of tired and gratuitous sex gags. Seth Rogen's schtick is way past it sell-by date. I was pleased to watch the feisty Rose Byrne and I'd very much like to see her in a better picture. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
DonutMunMay 18, 2014
About as average as a R-rated comedy can get. The typical dick comedy with crude unfunny jokes that are clearly there just for the sake of trying so hard to make you laugh at how repulsive and/or immature they are to get the R-rating. This isAbout as average as a R-rated comedy can get. The typical dick comedy with crude unfunny jokes that are clearly there just for the sake of trying so hard to make you laugh at how repulsive and/or immature they are to get the R-rating. This is the kind of movie you go into expecting a lame sex-joked r-movie and walk out feeling the same way you'd think you'd feel.

I've been a adult for about a year and it's fun to go out with friends and see a movie, but through my adulthood of seeing these r-rated movies so far they've all been the same, lazy excuse for comedy. I'm done with them. It's time to stick to either kid's films which have at the very least some morsal of originality and funny writing. m|n this movie
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MovieReviewerxMay 18, 2014
It Stunk...I didn't laugh once. The twins that played their kid were better actors than anyone in that movie. If you haven't seen it...don't waste your money.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
LowbrowCinemaMay 10, 2014
NEIGHBORS is too long, not funny though Zac Efron looks great with his shirt off. Haven't filmmakers realized that long drawn out scenes of people having fun are never fun.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
TomHugMay 9, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ugh. Tedious. Loooong setups for a few extremely funny gags. The pièce de résistance is when the movie turns preachy about how the grown-ups prefer their domestic life.

On the whole this movie has about as many laughs as a good sit-com (Big Bang Theory). But you have to sit through 60 additional minutes of **** and pot-smoking to get to them.

I had much higher (no pun intended) expectations than the movie delivered. I'd like my 1 hour and 37 minutes back, please. The baby was cute, though
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
WhySoSerious54May 16, 2014
First of all I loved Animal House, Pinapple Express, This is the End, Superbad, etc. The laughs are few, the dialogue is terrible, the gags have been seen way too many times. The story is plotless, the child abuse is not funny at all, theFirst of all I loved Animal House, Pinapple Express, This is the End, Superbad, etc. The laughs are few, the dialogue is terrible, the gags have been seen way too many times. The story is plotless, the child abuse is not funny at all, the racism is completely out of the blue, and Seth Rogan's same stoner act is getting tiring. The scenes are a complete mess with a severe lack of direction. One after the other you start to realize nothing is making sense. I walked about after 1 hour beyond terrible. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
anonovichMay 11, 2014
Predictable, formulaic garbage to be fed to the same cretins who quote lines from Old School, South Park, and Family Guy. In other words, it's for unfunny douchebags. Lap it up.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
manny1364May 13, 2014
Please save your money.Sure, it 's #1 now, but this movie will fall faster than a prom date's panties once word of mouth get's out.There have been very few movies that I have considered walking out of, I even had to apologise to my wife forPlease save your money.Sure, it 's #1 now, but this movie will fall faster than a prom date's panties once word of mouth get's out.There have been very few movies that I have considered walking out of, I even had to apologise to my wife for bringing her along.The shame of it is, I liked Rogen's movies.But this falls flat.I truly believe these positive reviews are mostly from paid shills.They want your money opening weekend. They got mine, don't let then get yours.You were warned. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
mountaincoreMay 16, 2014
Total garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learn something else.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
fantasyMay 21, 2014
My adult son told me to see this as he thought it was hilarious. Just crude juvenile humor in a formula comedy. The acting was bland without any memorable performances. Not my cup of tea. Probably appeals more to today's young teens andMy adult son told me to see this as he thought it was hilarious. Just crude juvenile humor in a formula comedy. The acting was bland without any memorable performances. Not my cup of tea. Probably appeals more to today's young teens and young adults. Sorry but it was just dumb. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722Nov 18, 2014
Neighbors is one of the most poorly written and executed comedies I've seen in a long time. The entire concept is terrible and they failed completely at coming up with even a plausible premise. No, this isn't science fiction. You should notNeighbors is one of the most poorly written and executed comedies I've seen in a long time. The entire concept is terrible and they failed completely at coming up with even a plausible premise. No, this isn't science fiction. You should not be required to throw reality out the window in order to enjoy it. Seth Rogen's typical charm is non-existent in this film and when Dave Franco gives maybe the movie's best performance, you've got to question what you could've been doing during those 90 minutes that wouldn't have been as painful. Bamboo shoots underneath finger nails comes to mind. That being said, there were two redeemable elements to the movie. The first is that Rose Byrne is absolutely gorgeous. She is stunning and should be in more movies than she is. The second is that the fight scene in the end with Rogen and Zac Efron is hilarious. That's honestly the only part in the entire film that was even remotely funny. In all honesty though, those two things are not worth even bothering to watch the film. Twiddle your thumbs instead... you're welcome. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
TSTINKERSJun 1, 2014
This movie isn't funny. I sat through the whole thing and didn't laugh once. It's hard to believe it's the same guy who wrote Super Bad. It's like he's made his millions and doesn't care anymore.

In saying this, there were some people
This movie isn't funny. I sat through the whole thing and didn't laugh once. It's hard to believe it's the same guy who wrote Super Bad. It's like he's made his millions and doesn't care anymore.

In saying this, there were some people in the theatre laughing... so... this movie does have some appeal... but it's not a broad appeal.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
sd-tennisSep 6, 2014
I really couldn't get it. When there has been about 30 minutes since the start of a comedy and no laugh, means this is not a comedy. I didn't watch the whole movie, toooo boring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AxgrinderOct 27, 2014
I recommend this movie if you:
a) Enjoy seeing Seth Rogen naked.
b) Think the ‘F bomb’ is an excellent substitute for dialogue. c) Like listening to Seth Rogen talk incessantly for 97 minutes without ever taking a breath. d) Are in the
I recommend this movie if you:
a) Enjoy seeing Seth Rogen naked.
b) Think the ‘F bomb’ is an excellent substitute for dialogue.
c) Like listening to Seth Rogen talk incessantly for 97 minutes without ever taking a breath.
d) Are in the 8th grade and can talk your parents into letting you see an “R Rated” movie.
Seth Rogen can be a funny guy, and there were three or four times when this movie made me laugh out loud, but that isn’t enough to make this movie worth watching, even as a rental. If you wouldn’t be surprised to learn that the genesis of the idea for this movie came amid a bunch of empty beer bottles in a hazy smoke filled room, then by the same token, you shouldn’t be surprised to hear me tell you that the script is woefully under developed and that Rogen doesn’t seem to have any set dialogue. As the movie progresses his lines morph into long rambling utterances and I wondered to myself if he was ever going shut up, even for just a second. You get the feeling that he (or possibly the writers) thought it was just too much trouble to flesh out the script and decided to improv the dialogue. (Maybe he got the idea from watching a bunch of those Adam Sandler movies that get cranked out on a regular basis like so much sausage?) Zac Efron’s character (Teddy) is equally underdeveloped and confused. Teddy is president of the fraternity that moves in next door. Teddy’s main goal in life is to throw an epic party that will be remembered and revered as part of the mythic lore of fraternities everywhere. The problem is that Teddy is a kind-of-dumb, mildly vindictive, pretty boy who - unlike a Greg Marmalard or Doug Neidermeyer of Animal House - you can neither root for nor against because, in the end, the character he plays is neither evil nor good, just pathetic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gsa9onlineJun 6, 2014
The only good part was heisenbaby, which I saw in the trailers. Humor was just predictable, overused and boring. The plot was useless, and very unrealistic. I doubt they would go THAT long without someone in the WHOLE damn street complainingThe only good part was heisenbaby, which I saw in the trailers. Humor was just predictable, overused and boring. The plot was useless, and very unrealistic. I doubt they would go THAT long without someone in the WHOLE damn street complaining besides them. Just utterly dumb, don't trust the critics like I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
flobob33Sep 18, 2014
Neighbors was been over rated by critics and viewers.
The jokes are vulgar, not funny at all and the trailer spawl the few good one!
The acting stays pretty nice but it's not sufficient to make a good movie!! I've waited that movie and it
Neighbors was been over rated by critics and viewers.
The jokes are vulgar, not funny at all and the trailer spawl the few good one!
The acting stays pretty nice but it's not sufficient to make a good movie!!
I've waited that movie and it was disapointing...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
pacifier666Jul 18, 2014
I do not get whats so great about this movie . Seth rogen has been way funnier just see this is the end.The premise was great but they should have gone more r rated or more animal house way
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews