Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 8, 2014
    100
    What makes Neighbors exceptional, rather than merely great, is its successful attempt to reinvent the studio comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 8, 2014
    83
    There's a subtle wisdom to this screenplay that complements its exceedingly bad taste, small lessons among the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    May 6, 2014
    80
    You’ll laugh if you’re young, you’ll laugh if you’re old.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 8, 2014
    75
    Efron makes you believe he’s capable of anything. Neighbors is rude, brazen and merrily offensive, and the movie mines the homoerotic undertones of fraternities to fine (if lowbrow) comic effect. But Efron, of all people, gives the film a curious edge.
  5. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    May 6, 2014
    70
    While it’s occasionally distasteful, it’s an engaging hangout film from beginning to end, thanks to its game performances and smart direction.
  6. 63
    The fun is supposed to build from the elaborate plots the marrieds and the bros engage in to foil each other. Only, it doesn’t.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 8, 2014
    20
    Neighbors stakes its claim in suburban-property cliches. Given the dull, stale results, maybe the end of the world was a better fit.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 90
  2. Negative: 21 out of 90
  1. May 11, 2014
    10
    Great laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supportingGreat laugh-out-loud comedy. Laughs all the way through. All of the cast are stellar. Rogen and Efron have great chemistry and the supporting cast of Dave Franco, Rose Byrne and newcomer Jerrod Carmichael really impress and help to offer more great laughs. 10/10 Expand
  2. May 13, 2014
    9
    A hilarious new offering from seth rogen and nicholas stoller lives up to the hype. Bad Neighbors the funniest movie of 2014 so far. TheA hilarious new offering from seth rogen and nicholas stoller lives up to the hype. Bad Neighbors the funniest movie of 2014 so far. The chemistry between Seth Rogen and Zac Efron and Rose Byrne is fantastic. Rose is actually the funniest bit of this film. Zac proves himself to be a force of nature in hollywood and he shows in this film that he is here to stay. Yes it has some flaws but everything else is SO GOOD! I can ignore those problems. For me it gets a VERY FRESH! score of 85100 Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    8
    I know I am not going to see a movie that has Seth Rogen in it where it will be just funny as This is The End but I know that I would I haveI know I am not going to see a movie that has Seth Rogen in it where it will be just funny as This is The End but I know that I would I have some good laughs in this movie.

    The plot was okay and a bit predictable but Seth Rogen’s signature brash, over-the-top humor makes it up for it.

    I liked the cast of this movie which attributes why I like the characters in this movie. I am amazed at Zac Efron’s comedic effort in this movie. He is now shying himself away from the “chick flick romantic lead guy” which is great for his career. I also liked Zac Effron and Seth Rogen’s dynamic together. It seemed like they’re old buddies exchanging jokes to each other. I also like Rose Byrne’s comedic effort in this movie especially with his chemistry with Seth Rogen, she manages to be funny without trying too hard.

    The length of the movie is what I have a problem with. It seemed like it should have been shorter considering its concept that could be solved much more easier and faster.

    Although this movie is not one of my favorites like This is The End and 22 Jump Street, Neighbors is a funny movie thanks to the cast’s great comedic effort. This movie is better watched with your friends.
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    6
    Neighbors is a funny movie if you're a Seth Rogen fan, because most of his movies are based around his humor. Although, i'm not the biggestNeighbors is a funny movie if you're a Seth Rogen fan, because most of his movies are based around his humor. Although, i'm not the biggest fan of Seth Rogan, the movie had its moments and i'll give it that. But it's not a movie i think i would be excited to watch again is all. Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    6
    There are plenty of laughs to be had, but it's not nearly as funny as the initial Metascore (in the 80s?) would suggest. The trailer makes itThere are plenty of laughs to be had, but it's not nearly as funny as the initial Metascore (in the 80s?) would suggest. The trailer makes it seem as though there's a tit-for-tat prank war between the frat and the neighbors, but it's not nearly that cut-and-dried. Ike Barinholtz steals ever scene he's in.... Booosh! Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2014
    4
    This review won't take long. It very funny at times, don't get me wrong, but really not funny enough for many scenes to stick with me.This review won't take long. It very funny at times, don't get me wrong, but really not funny enough for many scenes to stick with me. Honestly, thinking about it now, I saw the film a couple weeks ago and I can only remember two really funny parts, the rest is kind of a blur. I have several suggestions for this film: PUT THE BABY IN THE STORY, Isn't that what this revolves around? Two parents trying to raise a child next to a fraternity? Creative and hilarious concept, but that turned out not to be what it was even about. It simply was Seth Rogen and Rose Byrne reliving their unexplained college days, while leaving their child next door... They like kept wanting to party with the frat and they did, but then they asked them to "keep it down". I guess the idea behind partying with them was to get on their good side or something I don't even know. Stupid. Basically the story structure after that was frat pranks parents, parents prank frat, back and forth until someone wins. Would the story not have been better had the baby been in some sort of dangerous event, forcing the parents and frat to work together or something? As cheesy as it sounds, it would have made it way better and given it some sort of moral, which Seth Rogen films usually tend to have. Does not come anywhere near as good as "This Is The End." Funny dialogue and gags. Very underdeveloped whole. Expand
  7. May 16, 2014
    0
    Total garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learnTotal garbage movie - from beginning to end. Don't even see it for free. Writer, director, and producer need to go back to school to learn something else. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers