User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 177
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw this at TIFF I don't think have ever been so bored watching a movie in my life. There was no one or nothing to route for. They just sat around and waited to die. At least In the movie The Island, when they discovered what they were in for they fought to stay alive. These people sat around a whined about how unfair it was. I wanted to scream "THEN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!" But that something never came. I don't respect people who don't at least try to change their circumstances. Awful story, Normal I cry like a baby at these movies and I didn't shed a single tear because I didn't Feel anything for any of them. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    2
    Highly Implausible plot... I kept thinking why on earth wouldn't ALL the organ donors volunteer to be "caregivers" and why would a caregiver opt to become a donor... Acting was good, but the plot was annoying. Its hard to get involved in a film when there are such gaping holes in the logic of the narrative.
  3. Nov 5, 2010
    2
    Disappointing because this could have been a really compelling movie and I loved the premise. The film on it's own has a gaping fatal flaw, a fundamental question REQUIRED for us to continue suspension of disbelief and immerse ourselves in the story. Perhaps this is why the book readers rated it higher. It's insulting to the audience not to acknowledge the elephant in the room or evenDisappointing because this could have been a really compelling movie and I loved the premise. The film on it's own has a gaping fatal flaw, a fundamental question REQUIRED for us to continue suspension of disbelief and immerse ourselves in the story. Perhaps this is why the book readers rated it higher. It's insulting to the audience not to acknowledge the elephant in the room or even attempt to address it's presence. Maddeningly stupid decision or oversight that reduces the rest of the film to fairly useless fiction. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2011
    2
    I was mesmerized by the book. When I heard there was a film, I wondered how they would make a movie of this quite, emotionally laden, non-high speed action book. I just finished the movie and was dismayed that I bought the DVD. The film seemed like a made-for-TV video. I personally added emotion to the viewing because I had such an attachment to the book characters. Had I not had thatI was mesmerized by the book. When I heard there was a film, I wondered how they would make a movie of this quite, emotionally laden, non-high speed action book. I just finished the movie and was dismayed that I bought the DVD. The film seemed like a made-for-TV video. I personally added emotion to the viewing because I had such an attachment to the book characters. Had I not had that attachment to them prior to watching the film, I would have shut it off and done the laundry or the dishes. I absolutely did not care for the movie. Having said that, I really didn't know how anyone could take all that thought and emotion from the book and translate it to a medium that calls for some action in the conflict. Great Book. Terrible Film. Keira Knightly = ick. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2011
    1
    This movie was sooooooooo boring and dull!!! I found it very unoriginal!!! Keria Knightly is an awful actress!!! She is always doing movies she feels she'll get an Oscar nomination for!!! Any movie that stars Keria Knightly is going to be c**p that's a guarantee. I lost interest in this movie within the first 30 seconds!!!
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    0
    In 35 years this is the worst film I have ever seen. Boring Boring Boring Boring. The most exciting thing that happened was at the end of the movie watching plastic bags stuck to a fence fluttering in the wind. What a waste of 2 hours of my life. I have seen all 3 main actors in other films where they have been fantastically directed. They should all feel embarrased by this movie. IIn 35 years this is the worst film I have ever seen. Boring Boring Boring Boring. The most exciting thing that happened was at the end of the movie watching plastic bags stuck to a fence fluttering in the wind. What a waste of 2 hours of my life. I have seen all 3 main actors in other films where they have been fantastically directed. They should all feel embarrased by this movie. I would rather watch paint dry than see this film again. Expand
  7. Jon
    Feb 5, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had no expectations to this film, I just read the introduction to what the plot of the film was and then I pressed play. After twenty minutes the film finally reveals what the plot is about, so anyone who have not read the cliffnotes will have no idea what it is about.
    I'm gonna sum up this movie in a short dialog.

    "Do you want to die?"
    - No.
    "Too bad, because eventually we will kill you."
    - Please don't kill me.
    "What are you going to do about it?"
    - I'm gonna go sit down in that corner over there and start crying.

    I'm not joking, this is seriously the plot of the movie. It is boring, it won't make you think about the theme after you've watched it and you won't feel anything for any of the characters in this movie.
    Expand
  8. Feb 17, 2011
    1
    In an alternative reality taking place in the 20th century, clones of people are being raised in boarding schools for them to grow up as walking organ donors to aid mankind to lead longer lives. The film follows the short lived lives of several of them from childhood up, in the most lifeless and dragged out fashion imaginable. There isn't much of a story here, in between the excruciatinglyIn an alternative reality taking place in the 20th century, clones of people are being raised in boarding schools for them to grow up as walking organ donors to aid mankind to lead longer lives. The film follows the short lived lives of several of them from childhood up, in the most lifeless and dragged out fashion imaginable. There isn't much of a story here, in between the excruciatingly overacted drama and ponderous thought provoking (the term is used loosely here) clichés, that is. The premise is asinine (Do they transplant brains too? Can't they just create lifeless bodies and put them in stasis until such time an organ is needed or something to that effect) and the execution vapid and nonsensical. Any interesting ground that could have been explored, was conveniently reduced to a heap of hopelessly boring platitudes about inter human connections and done to death ethics involving human cloning. It plods and then plods some more. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    I suffered thru the first 20 minutes, skipped a bit forward and suffered some more. It just drags along and it must expect that its audience has an immense reserve of patience as i had to cut it short. Perhaps something happens in the movie but i would rather read the summary than having to endure such a slow death.
  10. Jun 7, 2012
    2
    A sci-fi movie written by the master of elegance Kazuo Ishiguru? Sign me up! Unfortunately, Never Let Me Go turns out to be a beautifully shot but utterly tedious affair. The characters show no backbone or fight. Talking of fighting; I was fighting boredom all the way through this art-house turd... and boredom won! A severely disappointing film.
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Completely depressing. Who would even write a book like this let alone make it into a movie, The characters have absolutely no spark, no will to live. I mean seriously, why not just run away. Alternate reality or not. Where they genetically engineered to have no sense of survival?? Even the simplest of life forms have the will to live. A gallery to see if they have souls at all, how depraved is that?? I think the actors are great but the movie just brought me down. Completely and utterly depressing, I would keep going, but i don't want to waste anymore time writing about how awful it is. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Feb 7, 2011
    80
    A beautifully realised adaptation of a profoundly affecting novel. Intelligent sci-fi provides the backdrop, while in the foreground is a trio of truly impressive performances from Mulligan, Knightley and Garfield.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2010
    88
    A beautifully mopey adaptation of Kazuo Ishiguro's much-praised novel.
  3. 90
    The drama boasts a stellar cast, exquisite performances and a tense atmosphere. It is a film that the author's fans and lovers of mature, measured storytelling will embrace.