New Year's Eve

New Year's Eve Image
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "New Year's Eve" celebrates love, hope, forgiveness, second chances and fresh starts, in the intertwining stories told amidst the pulse and promise of New York City on the most dazzling night of the year. (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 20 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 7, 2011
    67
    New Year's Eve is dunderheaded kitsch, but it's the kind of marzipan movie that can sweetly soak up a holiday evening.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 7, 2011
    50
    New Year's Eve is not unbearable. It's not bad, but it's not good, either. It delivers exactly what you expect: pretty faces, shallow romance and a mythical fanaticism about an event in a friendly Manhattan unblemished by hyper-vigilant security measures, obnoxious drunks or New York Jets fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 8, 2011
    40
    An inferior retread of Marshall's equally contrived "Valentine's Day," only dressed up with coats and confetti.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 8, 2011
    25
    New Year's Eve is fun in the way that eating at a buffet is fun. It's two hours of foods that have nothing to do with each other piled high on a plate because it was too cheap to resist.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 8, 2011
    25
    The sanitized setting and sappy script are so littered with cardboard characters and crass product placements that you'll mourn for the muggers and porno theaters that De Niro cursed in "Taxi Driver."
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Dec 12, 2011
    20
    Even with the bar lowered, this seems appallingly bad, a lazy assortment of weak punch lines, sentimental music cues, and trite situations.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Bad beyond belief.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Really best! One of my favourit!
  2. May 1, 2012
    8
    It all comes down to what you expect before you start watching the movie. I expected cheesy, sappy, chick flick and basically this is whatIt all comes down to what you expect before you start watching the movie. I expected cheesy, sappy, chick flick and basically this is what I've got. However, I was surprised by some of the stories (Michelle Pfeiffer & Zac Efron, Josh Duhamel). I would like to point that Michelle & Zac have a very strange chemistry and their story seemed believable and offered hope. This movie is a great holiday movie as it awakes optimism and strengthens the belief that finally everything will be alright. Everything else, really doesn't matter... Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Didn't go into it expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised It's corny I'll give it that but it's also an enjoyable film to watch, plusDidn't go into it expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised It's corny I'll give it that but it's also an enjoyable film to watch, plus it's fun guessing what's going to happen next! The all-star cast works well together especially the couples linked with one another. It's similar to other films with large casts like 'Love Actually' and while not as good as that was it's still a decent effort and it will hit the right audiences, so overall it's worth a shot. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    how delicious for critics to sink their teeth into and lambaste movies. i'm an armchair critic, buti kinda liked this one. consider all themhow delicious for critics to sink their teeth into and lambaste movies. i'm an armchair critic, buti kinda liked this one. consider all them boy gets girl/boy loses girl/boy gets girl twaddle flicks that've fared better than news years eve. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    Likable cast, but completely pointless. I honestly have no idea why this movie was made. Overall I was entertained, but it left no mark on meLikable cast, but completely pointless. I honestly have no idea why this movie was made. Overall I was entertained, but it left no mark on me whatsoever. Expand
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    3
    This was so painful. So, so painful. I'm not sure what the draw is to getting big casts and compiling them into crappy holiday movies, thisThis was so painful. So, so painful. I'm not sure what the draw is to getting big casts and compiling them into crappy holiday movies, this and valentines day were a huge waste of time. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    Don't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im stillDon't waste your time with a movie that seems merely to have been made to showcase as many name actors as humanly possible. Story? Im still not clear on what that may have been. It's not a movie I would tend to go see but I got roped into it and it couldn't have been more painful. At least each actor I can't stand is only in it for a handful of minutes. It seems like just long enough for them to pick up a paycheck really. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.