Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the city that never sleeps, love is always on the mind. Those passions come to life in NEW YORK, I LOVE YOU – a collaboration of storytelling from some of today’s most imaginative filmmakers and featuring an all-star cast. Together they create a kaleidoscope of the spontaneous,In the city that never sleeps, love is always on the mind. Those passions come to life in NEW YORK, I LOVE YOU – a collaboration of storytelling from some of today’s most imaginative filmmakers and featuring an all-star cast. Together they create a kaleidoscope of the spontaneous, surprising, electrifying human connections that pump the city’s heartbeat. Sexy, funny, haunting and revealing encounters unfold beneath the Manhattan skyline. From Tribeca to Central Park to Brooklyn the story weaves a tale of love as diverse as the very fabric of New York itself. (Vivendi Entertainment) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. 75
    Oddly, the filmmaker best known for his Valentines to New York, Woody Allen, is not participant.
  2. The film is an omnibus ride through Brighton Beach, Central Park, the West Village, and Tribeca.
  3. Reviewed by: Erica Abeel
    70
    Most of these linked "shorts" succeed remarkably in nailing the serendipitous flavor of love, New York-style.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    50
    As with its predecessor, "Paris je t'aime," there are hits and misses.
  5. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    42
    The segments don’t form anything like a coherent whole, but they aren’t distinctive enough to clash meaningfully with each other, either.
  6. Cutesy and generic, New York, I Love You is almost colossally inept at capturing five-boroughs flavor.
  7. 25
    When New York, I Love You was previewed in Toronto a year ago, there were two additional segments that have since been cut. So you'll have to wait for the DVD to see just how bad Scarlett Johansson's directing debut is.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. JanY
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Come on, let
  2. teenagerreview
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    The actors and dicectors are great. in every story there are 2 great actors who are in a relationship, in love, or just have a moment. every The actors and dicectors are great. in every story there are 2 great actors who are in a relationship, in love, or just have a moment. every thing here is great. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    I've been to New York and seen the good side of it. I don't want to see the bad side of it. If you want to watch this movie with me,LOL!I've been to New York and seen the good side of it. I don't want to see the bad side of it. If you want to watch this movie with me,LOL! Don't see it. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2011
    6
    Thiz movie is an anthology about different kind of love stories in the setting of New York. It is also a reincarnation of 2006s France movie,Thiz movie is an anthology about different kind of love stories in the setting of New York. It is also a reincarnation of 2006s France movie, PARIS J TAIME. A full All-Star Casts and directed by many well-known Directors. The movie contains about eleven segments (which I approximately counted). Each Segment has unique style and combines in one atmosphere. I know it is very hard to criticize thiz kind of film where each segment could be the weakness or the strength of whole film itself. So these are my evaluation based on impression that left to me. Mira Nair segment tells about a glimpse of love, played by Natalie Portman. Portman also made her directing debut in one of the segments, which it revolves around a little girl and a man spend some time at the park, Later We knew that man was her father. Portman direction only tried to describe the situation. Shekhar Kapur segment is the most thoughtful scene. We should take time to muse wisdom inside. It is about love, tragedy, and the meaning of life. The roles played by Julie Christie, Shia LaBeouf, and John Hurt. The script made by the late Anthony Minghella. Yvan Attal and Allen Hughes segments were more about passion and lust. Attal segment it starred by Ethan Hawke and Maggie Q. It underlined love seduction. Hughes part is more about sex and the hesitation that comes along after one night stand relation, played by Bradley Cooper and Drea de Matteo. The Brett Ratner segment is probably the most easy-watching part. It is about unique prom night story. This Part played by Anton Yelchin, Olivia Thirlby, and James caan. I think Thirlby gives a delightful performance here. Ratner direction is on pop-standart level. And finally, the most hilarious part is about an old-couple. The dialogue is so tickling. Thiz segment is directed by Joshua Marston. The other segments for me just come through without any deep impression. Other Casts are: Hayden Christensen, Rachel Bilson, Andy Garcia, Orlando Bloom, Christina Ricci, Shu Qi, and many. In overall, NEW YORK, I LOVE YOU could not gives maximum freshness that what we have seen in PARIS J TAIME before. However, the transition of various New York landscape between one segment and with the others is very smooth enough. Thiz movie maybe is not a specific movie about lovers, but more about love in universal way.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  5. eggyg
    Jan 18, 2010
    5
    A mixed bag of short movie with bland overall after taste. NY portrayal is just too gloomy and unromantic. Even standard vampire movie is A mixed bag of short movie with bland overall after taste. NY portrayal is just too gloomy and unromantic. Even standard vampire movie is mostly more romantic than this film. Expand
  6. AE
    Oct 28, 2009
    5
    I really wanted to like this film and the city it celebrates more than I did. Though there are many tender human moments, the overwhelming I really wanted to like this film and the city it celebrates more than I did. Though there are many tender human moments, the overwhelming feeling saturating the film is an oppressive isolation wherein the millions in their midst ironically make connections exponentially more difficult. It is a relief, then, to see A.O. Scott say the film makes NYC "a parallel city that no one would want to live in, much less visit. Expand
  7. Ata
    Nov 5, 2009
    1
    Glad to see barely 2 boroughs depicted in this film. This movie is so contrived. It's like an 11-car Crash.

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers